yes, therapy helps!
Guilford's Intelligence theory

Guilford's Intelligence theory

September 20, 2022

Intelligence is a complex construct that throughout history has been conceptualized in very different ways by different authors.

From a classic view that intelligence is treated as a unique and unitary capacity to others that consider that it was a set of independent capacities among themselves and passing through others that stipulated the existence of hierarchically organized skill sets, a a lot of theories and models that try to explain what intelligence is, how it is structured and how it acts.

One of these theories is the Guilford's theory of intelligence .

  • Related article: "The theories of human intelligence"

Intelligence as a construct

As just mentioned, there is a great variety of perspectives regarding what the term intelligence means, and the investigations carried out have varied greatly the focus of its study and analysis.


However, in a general way we can consider that it is the capacity or set of mental abilities that allow our adaptation , allowing us to manage our cognitive resources in the most efficient way when dealing with different situations.

Thanks to intelligence we are able to capture and analyze information correctly from the environment or from ourselves, establish strategies and ways to manage resources and solve problems, plan our behavior and carry it out successfully.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Francis Galton's theory of intelligence"

Guilford's theory of intelligence

Joy Paul Guilford was an American psychologist whose contributions to the study of intelligence converge in a theory of intelligence that together with Raymond Cattell and Thurstone is one of the models of the most relevant contributions in regard to the conception of intelligence as a set of skills.


Guilford's model is based on the consideration of intelligence as the process by which the human being transforms the information of the environment into mental contents, so that he has an operational vision of it. The author establishes three separate and independent dimensions based on perception, transformation of information and response issuance.

Specifically, it talks about input elements or contents, operations and output or product elements s. His model is therefore three-dimensional, and is usually represented as a cube in which the interactions between the three large dimensions are interrelated to form up to 120 different factors.

It is a taxonomic model that considers the different capacities as non-hierarchical, being the different skills independent. The intelligence is therefore a set of skills separated from each other that allow our adaptation to the environment.


  • You may be interested: "Gardner's Theory of Multiple Intelligences"

The three dimensions of Guilford

For Guilford's theory of intelligence, the three main dimensions of each of the skills that shape the intelligence are three: the contents or perceptions, the operations that are carried out with them and, finally, the products or results of developing the first .

1. The contents

By contents are understood all that set of information and data collected, whether from the external environment or from the subject itself. It is mainly about the data, without any work being done on them . In short, we are talking about the basic element from which the agency works to develop content from operations.

Within the contents, we can find different types of information.

  • Figural: it is about the visual information that we capture, that is, the images
  • Symbolic: it is also visual information, but in this case they are elements used as signs of a language to represent a concept or idea and that have no meaning for themselves.
  • Semantics: mental contents linked to the meaning of symbols.
  • Behavioral or behavioral: all that data coming from the connection with the environment or with other individuals. It includes gestures, desires, intentions or attitudes.

2. The processes or operations

The operations refer to the set of procedures that the agency performs to transform the input information into other output information. In other words, it is the processing of the information of the contents in such a way that some products are generated in the form of a mental or physical response.

Within these operations we find the following processes:

  • Cognition : awareness or understanding of information. It is based on the ability to extract the meaning of the information collected.
  • Memory : it is based on the retention of information in order to operate at some time with it.
  • Converged production : creation of possible alternatives based on the information obtained previously. It involves the agglutination of previous information to select the appropriate response.
  • Divergent production : it is an act of creation of alternatives different from the habitual ones and contained in the memory. It is based on generating a novel response from the data obtained without.
  • Evaluation : realization of comparisons between the different contents that allows establishing relationships.

3. The products

The products can be understood as the result of the transformations carried out through operations to the contents. Thus, it refers to the expression or response generated by them, be it behavioral or mental.

Within the products, Guilford's theory of intelligence considers the existence of several types .

  • Units : simple and basic answers. A word, idea or elementary action.
  • Lessons : conceptualizations or organizations of similar units in some sense.
  • Relations : it is the idea of ​​a connection between the different information handled. For example, lightning is linked to thunder.
  • Systems : organizations of diverse information that interact with each other.
  • Transformations : any modification carried out with respect to the information collected.
  • Implications : establishment of connections between information suggested by a specific element without this connection appearing specifically as information. Relations of causality or covariation between elements are established.

Divergent thinking and creativity

Regardless of whether Guilford's theory of intelligence is more or less valid, one of the main and most important contributions to the conception of intelligence is the incorporation of divergent thinking as a distinctive element that is part of intelligence. Previously, it was not considered that the creation of alternatives was an indication of intelligence , based on his study in the search for a single correct alternative.

From Guilford, however, the study of creativity began to work as part of the intellectual capacity. The generation of new response alternatives equally efficient among them or even more efficient than the pre-established ones allow modifications and flexible action in known situations, and may generate new results. In fact, today the presence of creativity is a basic requirement to talk about subjects with intellectual giftedness.

Bibliographic references:

  • Hernangómez, L. and Fernández, C. (2012). Psychology of personality and differential. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 07. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Guilford. J.P. (1977). The nature of human intelligence. Buenos Aires, Paidós.

P62. Intelligence – Guilford’s Structure of Intellect (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de l'intelligence de Guilford

La théorie de l'intelligence de Guilford

Avril 15, 2021

L'intelligence est une construction complexe que tout au long de l’histoire a été conceptualisée de manières très différentes par différents auteurs.

D’un point de vue classique, l’intelligence est traitée comme une capacité unique et unitaire vis-à-vis de ceux qui considèrent qu’il s’agissait d’un ensemble de capacités indépendantes entre elles et passant par d’autres, qui stipulait l’existence de compétences hiérarchisées, beaucoup de théories et de modèles qui tentent d'expliquer ce qu'est l'intelligence, comment elle est structurée et comment elle agit.

Une de ces théories est la La théorie de l'intelligence de Guilford .

  • Article connexe: "Les théories de l'intelligence humaine"

L'intelligence en tant que construction

Comme nous venons de le dire, il existe une grande diversité de points de vue sur la signification du terme renseignement, et les enquêtes effectuées ont considérablement varié en ce qui concerne son étude et son analyse.


Cependant, d’une manière générale, nous pouvons considérer que c’est la capacité ou ensemble de capacités mentales qui permettent notre adaptation , nous permettant de gérer nos ressources cognitives de la manière la plus efficace possible dans différentes situations.

Grâce à l'intelligence nous pouvons capturer et analyser les informations correctement de l'environnement ou de nous-mêmes, établissez des stratégies et des moyens de gérer les ressources et de résoudre les problèmes, de planifier notre comportement et de le mener à bien.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La théorie de l'intelligence de Francis Galton"

La théorie de l'intelligence de Guilford

Joy Paul Guilford était un psychologue américain dont les contributions à l'étude de l'intelligence convergent vers une théorie de l'intelligence qui, avec Raymond Cattell et Thurstone, constitue l'un des modèles des contributions les plus pertinentes en ce qui concerne la conception de l'intelligence en tant qu'ensemble de compétences.


Le modèle de Guilford repose sur la prise en compte de l'intelligence en tant que processus par lequel l'être humain transforme l'information de l'environnement en un contenu mental, de sorte qu'il en ait une vision opérationnelle. L'auteur établit trois dimensions séparées et indépendantes basée sur la perception, la transformation de l'information et l'émission de réponses.

Plus précisément, il parle de éléments d'entrée ou de contenu, opérations et éléments de sortie ou de produit s. Son modèle est donc tridimensionnel et est généralement représenté par un cube dans lequel les interactions entre les trois grandes dimensions sont interdépendantes pour former jusqu'à 120 facteurs différents.

C'est un modèle taxonomique qui considère les différentes capacités comme non hiérarchiques, c'est-à-dire les différentes compétences indépendantes. L'intelligence est donc un ensemble de compétences séparées les unes des autres permettant notre adaptation à l'environnement.


  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Théorie de Gardner des intelligences multiples"

Les trois dimensions de Guilford

Pour la théorie de l'intelligence de Guilford, les trois dimensions principales de chacune des compétences qui façonnent l'intelligence sont trois: le contenu ou les perceptions, les opérations effectuées avec elles et, enfin, les produits ou les résultats du développement de la première. .

1. Le contenu

Par contenus, on entend tout cet ensemble d'informations et de données collectées, que ce soit de l'environnement externe ou du sujet lui-même. Il s'agit principalement de les données, sans aucun travail sur eux . En bref, nous parlons de l'élément de base à partir duquel l'agence travaille pour développer le contenu des opérations.

Dans le contenu, nous pouvons trouver différents types d'informations.

  • Figural: il s'agit des informations visuelles que nous capturons, c'est-à-dire des images
  • Symbolique: c’est aussi une information visuelle, mais dans ce cas ce sont des éléments utilisés comme signes d’un langage pour représenter un concept ou une idée et qui n’ont aucune signification pour eux-mêmes.
  • Sémantique: contenu mental lié à la signification des symboles.
  • Comportementale ou comportementale: toutes ces données provenant de la connexion avec l'environnement ou avec d'autres individus. Cela inclut les gestes, les désirs, les intentions ou les attitudes.

2. Les processus ou opérations

Les opérations font référence à l'ensemble de procédures que l'organisme effectue pour transformer les informations d'entrée en d'autres informations de sortie. En d'autres termes, il s'agit du traitement de l'information du contenu de telle sorte que certains produits soient générés sous la forme d'une réponse mentale ou physique.

Dans ces opérations, nous trouvons les processus suivants:

  • Cognition : connaissance ou compréhension de l'information. Il repose sur la capacité d'extraire le sens des informations collectées.
  • La mémoire : il est basé sur la rétention d'informations afin de pouvoir fonctionner avec elle à un moment donné.
  • Production convergente : création d'alternatives possibles sur la base des informations obtenues précédemment. Cela implique l’agglutination des informations précédentes pour sélectionner la réponse appropriée.
  • Production divergente : c’est un acte de création d’alternatives différentes des solutions habituelles et contenues dans la mémoire, reposant sur la génération d’une nouvelle réponse à partir des données obtenues sans.
  • Évaluation : réalisation de comparaisons entre les différents contenus permettant d’établir des relations.

3. Les produits

Les produits peuvent être compris comme le résultat des transformations effectuées à travers les opérations au contenu. Ainsi, il fait référence à l'expression ou à la réponse générée par celles-ci, qu'elle soit comportementale ou mentale.

Dans les produits, La théorie de l'intelligence de Guilford considère l'existence de plusieurs types .

  • Unités : réponses simples et basiques. Un mot, une idée ou une action élémentaire.
  • Les cours : conceptualisations ou organisations d'unités similaires dans un certain sens.
  • Les relations : c’est l’idée d’une connexion entre les différentes informations traitées. Par exemple, la foudre est liée au tonnerre.
  • Systèmes : organisations d’informations diverses qui interagissent entre elles.
  • Transformations : toute modification effectuée par rapport aux informations collectées.
  • Des implications : établissement de liens entre des informations suggérées par un élément spécifique sans que ce lien apparaisse spécifiquement comme information. Les relations de causalité ou de covariation entre les éléments sont établies.

Pensée divergente et créativité

Que la théorie de Guilford sur l’intelligence soit plus ou moins valable, l’une des contributions principales et les plus importantes à la conception de l’intelligence est l’incorporation d’une pensée divergente en tant qu’élément distinctif faisant partie de l’intelligence. Auparavant, il n'a pas été considéré que la création de solutions de rechange était une indication d'intelligence , sur la base de son étude sur la recherche d’une seule alternative correcte.

De Guilford, cependant, l'étude de la créativité a commencé à fonctionner dans le cadre de la capacité intellectuelle. La génération de nouvelles alternatives de réponse tout aussi efficaces, voire plus efficaces que les solutions préétablies, permet des modifications et une action flexible dans les situations connues, et peut générer de nouveaux résultats. En fait, aujourd'hui, la présence de la créativité est une exigence fondamentale pour parler de sujets dotés de talents intellectuels.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hernangómez, L. et Fernández, C. (2012). Psychologie de la personnalité et différentielle. Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 07. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Guilford. J.P. (1977). La nature de l'intelligence humaine. Buenos Aires, Paidós.

Spearman’s Two Factor Theory (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes