yes, therapy helps!
Guinea pigs have a positive effect on young people with Autism

Guinea pigs have a positive effect on young people with Autism

November 27, 2021

We know from many studies that domestic animals they can have very interesting therapeutic applications. We comment on articles like the one of the therapy or the one of the therapy with dogs, but, as it is easy to intuit, it is not necessary to use these animals specifically to see progress in different types of intervention in mental health.

For example, today we know that children with some form of autism spectrum disorder (TORCH ) You can find benefits in the company of some curious beings : the guinea pigs, also known as guinea pigs.

Animals that help people with Autism

That is the conclusion reached by a team of American researchers whose article has been published in the journal Developmental Psychobiology. Specifically, guinea pigs can influence young people with autism spectrum disorders by cushioning the anxiety caused by contact with adults and making it easier for them to focus on tasks related to others (or even take the initiative when interacting with adults). the rest of the people).


Generally speaking, these rodents they act as a kind of anxiolytic of social root, since its presence or company has some effects on these children that are medically measurable.

Investigation

To carry out the study, the group of researchers took as a reference a group of children diagnosed with some disorder of the autistic spectrum and another group of children without any diagnosed disorder. In total, the sample of volunteers was composed of 99 boys and girls of primary school age.

The research used as an objective reference measure the level of electrical conductivity of the skin, a way to indirectly estimate the state of mental activation and stress of children.


To study their level of electrical activation through the skin, bracelets were placed on all the young people and then it was seen how different activities affected these measurements. The contexts studied to compare results were:

  • Read silently (to obtain baseline results).
  • An activity at school that included having to read aloud.
  • A time to play freely with toys and with other people of the same age.
  • A while to play freely with other people of the same age and with guinea pigs.

Results

The researchers verified how the electrical activity measured in the skin of boys and girls with autism spectrum disorder was greater than that of the rest of young people and all situations except in the game with guinea pigs. In comparison to the context in which they could play with toys, the game with guinea pigs produced a lower activation level by 43% . This responded to the reassuring and anti-stress effect that these animals seem to have on children with ASD who interact with them.


A therapeutic company

The interesting thing about this type of studies focused on the relationships between humans and animals is that the applications of their discoveries are cheap and easily applicable in many cases. The guinea pig company has no negative effects on young people and the use of this type of measures can be combined with other therapies and forms of intervention . In addition, animals also enjoy interaction with other living beings and appreciate the moments dedicated to the game.

There is no doubt that many advances are still lacking. Progress not only in terms of intervention measures for people diagnosed with ASD, but also in the type of research aimed at knowing the needs of these people and the ways in which society can adapt to them. For now, the company of domestic animals such as guinea pigs can make things easier and make it easier for thousands of young people to learn to empathize and get involved in social dynamics of all kinds.


"How Guinea Pigs Help Autistic Children" - An Informative Speech (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les cochons d'Inde ont un effet positif sur les jeunes autistes

Les cochons d'Inde ont un effet positif sur les jeunes autistes

Novembre 30, 2022

Nous savons de nombreuses études que animaux domestiques ils peuvent avoir des applications thérapeutiques très intéressantes. Nous commentons des articles tels que celui de la thérapie ou celui de la thérapie avec des chiens, mais comme il est facile de deviner, il n’est pas nécessaire d’utiliser ces animaux spécifiquement pour constater les progrès des différents types d’intervention en santé mentale.

Par exemple, nous savons aujourd’hui que les enfants atteints d’une forme de trouble du spectre autistique (THÉ ) Vous pouvez trouver des avantages en compagnie de certains êtres curieux : le cobayes, également connu sous le nom de cobayes.

Animaux qui aident les personnes atteintes d'autisme

C’est la conclusion à laquelle est arrivée une équipe de chercheurs américains dont l’article a été publié dans la revue Psychobiologie du développement. Plus précisément, les cobayes peuvent influencer les jeunes atteints de troubles du spectre autistique en atténuant l'anxiété causée par le contact avec des adultes et en leur permettant de se concentrer plus facilement sur des tâches liées aux autres (ou même de prendre l'initiative lorsqu'ils interagissent avec des adultes). le reste des gens).


De manière générale, ces rongeurs ils agissent comme une sorte d'anxiolytique de racine sociale, car sa présence ou son entreprise a sur ces enfants des effets médicalement mesurables.

Enquête

Pour mener à bien l’étude, le groupe de chercheurs s’est référé à un groupe d’enfants diagnostiqués avec un trouble du spectre autistique et à un autre groupe d’enfants sans trouble diagnostiqué. Au total, l’échantillon de volontaires était composé de 99 garçons et filles en âge de fréquenter l’école primaire.

Les recherches utilisées comme référence objective mesurent le niveau de conductivité électrique de la peau, un moyen d'estimer indirectement l'état d'activation mentale et de stress des enfants.


Pour étudier leur niveau d'activation électrique à travers la peau, des bracelets ont été placés sur tous les jeunes et on a ensuite vu comment différentes activités influaient sur ces mesures. Les contextes étudiés pour comparer les résultats étaient:

  • Lire en silence (pour obtenir les résultats de base).
  • Une activité à l'école qui consistait à lire à haute voix.
  • Un temps pour jouer librement avec des jouets et avec d'autres personnes du même âge.
  • Un temps pour jouer librement avec d’autres personnes du même âge et avec des cobayes.

Les résultats

Les chercheurs ont vérifié que l'activité électrique mesurée dans la peau des garçons et des filles atteints de troubles du spectre autistique était supérieure à celle du reste des jeunes et de toutes les situations, sauf dans le jeu avec des cobayes. En comparaison avec le contexte dans lequel ils pourraient jouer avec des jouets, le jeu avec les cobayes a produit un niveau d'activation inférieur de 43% . Cela répondait à l'effet rassurant et anti-stress que ces animaux semblent avoir sur les enfants atteints de TSA qui interagissent avec eux.


Une entreprise thérapeutique

La chose intéressante à propos de ce type d’études axées sur les relations entre les humains et les animaux est que les applications de leurs découvertes sont peu coûteuses et faciles à appliquer dans de nombreux cas. La société cobayes n’a aucun effet négatif sur les jeunes et le recours à ce type de mesures peut être combiné avec d'autres thérapies et formes d'intervention . En outre, les animaux apprécient également les interactions avec d’autres êtres vivants et apprécient les moments consacrés au jeu.

Il ne fait aucun doute que de nombreuses avancées font encore défaut. Les progrès réalisés non seulement en termes de mesures d’intervention auprès des personnes atteintes de TSA, mais aussi dans le type de recherche visant à connaître les besoins de ces personnes et les moyens par lesquels la société peut s’y adapter. Pour le moment, la compagnie d'animaux domestiques tels que les cobayes peut faciliter les choses et permettre à des milliers de jeunes d'apprendre plus facilement à faire preuve d'empathie et à s'impliquer dans toutes les dynamiques sociales.


Le pouvoir des couleurs | Jean-Gabriel Causse | TEDxDunkerque (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes