yes, therapy helps!
Gustav Theodor Fechner: biography of the father of psychophysics

Gustav Theodor Fechner: biography of the father of psychophysics

January 22, 2021

Although interest in the human psyche has existed since antiquity, it is not until the contributions of Wilhelm Wundt and the creation of the first laboratory dedicated to his research that it is not considered the birth of psychology as a scientific discipline.

But the truth is that in addition to Wundt, other authors have been of great importance in the beginnings and development of psychology as a science, the first moments of which are linked to the creation of psychophysics. In this sense the figure of Gustav stands out Theodor Fechner, considered the father of this discipline and of which in this article a brief biography is presented .

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Brief biography of Gustav Theodor Fechner

Son of a Protestant pastor, Gustav Theodor Fechner was born on April 19, 1801 in Gross-Särchen , territory belonging to Germany at present. His initial education was traditional and in a religious setting, the spiritual being an aspect that would have great relevance in his life. His father died of illness when Fechner was five years old. What followed next was one of the most important careers in the scientific study of psychophysics.


Years of formation, marriage and position as a teacher

Fechner was initially interested in medicine, beginning his studies in this field at the Medizinisch-Chirurgische Akademie in Dresden. However, in 1818 he would enter the University of Leipzig, where he would meet and work with Weber. His interests were changing towards the world of physics. At 29 he would meet Clara Volkmann , with whom he would marry three years later. In 1834, a year after getting married, he would accept a position at the university as a professor of physics.

It would be when he began to investigate about color when he would begin to show professionally his interest in the psychic, working initially with the perception of color and subjectivity with which he was caught, performing different experiments in this matter.


Brief incapacitation and reflection on philosophy

In 1840 Fechner would suffer a severe vision problem , caused in large part by a prolonged exposure of his retina to the sun, which would blind him. The effects of the blindness, together with the pressure to which he was subjected as a university professor ended up causing Fechner to be incapacitated in such a way that he had to temporarily leave his position as a professor in the university. He suffered a deep depression for about three years.

In this period of their life they grew his concerns about the essence of things and metaphysical aspects such as the soul and the body. This author considered that the physical and spiritual were not separate elements, but reflected different faces of the same reality. He maintained that all living beings had their own soul, and even inorganic matter possessed spirit, a point of view reminiscent of the philosopher Baruch Spinoza. After three years, he left his depressed state to begin to feel sensations of well-being, euphoria and exaltation that he himself would call the pleasure principle.


The interest in the metaphysical aspects of reality and the conviction that body and mind were united would lead to it, once recovered, I went back to the University of Leipzig as a teacher , but this time of philosophy. In 1848 he would publish Nanna; oder Über das Seelenleben der Pflanzen (Nanna or about the spiritual life of the plants) and Zend-Avesta; oder Über die Dinge des Himmels und des Jenseits, von Standpunkt der Naturbetrachtung (Zend-Avesta or things of heaven and beyond from the point of view of nature), both works that would treat elements such as the link between body and spirit.

The birth of psychophysics

Fechner would perform various experiments to demonstrate the mind-body connection, and looked for years for a mathematical model and an equation that determined the existence of a relationship between the material and spiritual / mental aspects.

His research includes the analysis and observation of the models proposed by Weber and the observation of the existence of absolute and relative thresholds in the collection of stimuli, having great importance in the improvement and expansion of the so-called "Weber's Law".

In 1860 he systematized his works and discoveries and published the book that would cause psychophysics to be born as a discipline , "Elements of psychophysics", in which he explored the mathematical and physical relationships between body and mind through the investigation of sensation and perception.

He also explored aspects such as measurement errors , and his interest in the spiritual continued in aspects such as spiritualism or what is now known as parapsychology. He continued publishing various works dedicated to different aspects, such as aesthetics, and expanding his interest and research in subjects close to his pleasure principle or humor.

  • Related article: "Psychophysics: the beginnings of Psychology"

Death and legacy of Fechner

Gustav Theodor Fechner died on November 1887 in Leipzig. His works have been a remarkable advance that allowed psychology to be born as a science, influencing authors such as Wundt or Sigmund Freud.

Psychophysics and the psychometry that derives from it , likewise, it continues to be an important part of current experimental psychology, especially that which has to do with behaviorism.


Gustav Fechner (January 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Gustav Theodor Fechner: biographie du père de la psychophysique

Gustav Theodor Fechner: biographie du père de la psychophysique

Décembre 9, 2021

Bien que l’intérêt pour la psyché humaine existe depuis l’Antiquité, ce n’est qu’avec les contributions de Wilhelm Wundt et la création du premier laboratoire dédié à ses recherches que l’on ne considère pas la naissance de la psychologie comme une discipline scientifique.

En réalité, outre Wundt, d’autres auteurs ont joué un rôle important dans les débuts et le développement de la psychologie en tant que science, dont les premiers moments sont liés à la création de la psychophysique. En ce sens, la figure de Gustav se démarque Theodor Fechner, considéré comme le père de cette discipline et dont une brève biographie est présentée dans cet article .

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Brève biographie de Gustav Theodor Fechner

Fils d'un pasteur protestant, Gustav Theodor Fechner est né le 19 avril 1801 à Gross-Särchen. , territoire appartenant actuellement à l’Allemagne. Son éducation initiale était traditionnelle et dans un contexte religieux, l’être spirituel étant un aspect qui aurait une grande importance dans sa vie. Son père est mort de maladie quand Fechner avait cinq ans. Ce qui a ensuite suivi a été l’une des carrières les plus importantes dans l’étude scientifique de la psychophysique.


Années de formation, de mariage et d'enseignant

Fechner s'est d'abord intéressé à la médecine, débutant ses études dans ce domaine à la Medizinisch-Chirurgische Akademie de Dresde. Cependant, en 1818, il entre à l'Université de Leipzig, où il rencontrera et travaillera avec Weber. Ses intérêts évoluaient vers le monde de la physique. À 29 ans, il rencontrerait Clara Volkmann , avec qui il se marierait trois ans plus tard. En 1834, un an après son mariage, il acceptera un poste à l'université en tant que professeur de physique.

Ce serait quand il a commencé à enquêter sur la couleur quand il a commencé à montrer professionnellement son intérêt pour le psychique, travailler d'abord avec la perception de la couleur et la subjectivité avec lequel il a été pris, effectuant différentes expériences dans cette affaire.


Brève incapacité et réflexion sur la philosophie

En 1840, Fechner souffrait d'un grave problème de vision. , causée en grande partie par une exposition prolongée de sa rétine au soleil, qui l’aveuglait. Les effets de la cécité, ainsi que les pressions exercées sur lui en tant que professeur d'université, ont fini par provoquer l'incapacité de Fechner, qui a dû quitter temporairement son poste de professeur à l'université. Il a souffert d'une dépression profonde pendant environ trois ans.

Dans cette période de leur vie, ils ont grandi ses préoccupations sur l'essence des choses et des aspects métaphysiques tels que l'âme et le corps. Cet auteur a considéré que le physique et le spirituel n'étaient pas des éléments séparés, mais reflétaient différents visages d'une même réalité. Il a maintenu que tous les êtres vivants avaient leur propre âme et même la matière inorganique possédait un esprit, un point de vue rappelant celui du philosophe Baruch Spinoza. Après trois ans, il a quitté son état dépressif pour commencer à ressentir des sensations de bien-être, d'euphorie et d'exaltation qu'il appellerait lui-même le principe du plaisir.


L’intérêt pour les aspects métaphysiques de la réalité et la conviction que le corps et l’esprit étaient unis l’y conduiraient, une fois rétabli, Je suis retourné à l'université de Leipzig en tant qu'enseignant , mais ce temps de philosophie. En 1848, il publierait Nanna; ou plus encore de seelenleben der Pflanzen (Nanna ou sur la vie spirituelle des plantes) et Zend-Avesta; il y a 2 jours, il y a 2 jours, comparez les prix, cliquez ici (Zend-Avesta ou les choses du ciel et au-delà du point de vue de la nature), les deux œuvres qui traitent d'éléments tels que le lien entre le corps et l'esprit.

La naissance de la psychophysique

Fechner effectuait diverses expériences pour démontrer le lien entre l’esprit et le corps et cherchait pendant des années un modèle mathématique et une équation déterminant l’existence d’une relation entre les aspects matériel et spirituel / mental.

Ses recherches incluent l'analyse et l'observation des modèles proposés par Weber. et l'observation de l'existence de seuils absolus et relatifs dans la collection de stimuli, ayant une grande importance pour l'amélioration et l'expansion de la loi dite de Weber.

En 1860, il systématisa ses œuvres et ses découvertes et publié le livre qui ferait naître la psychophysique en tant que discipline , "Elements of psychophysics", dans lequel il explore les relations mathématiques et physiques entre le corps et l'esprit à travers la recherche de la sensation et de la perception.

Il a également exploré des aspects tels que les erreurs de mesure , et son intérêt pour le spirituel a continué dans des aspects tels que le spiritualisme ou ce que l’on appelle maintenant la parapsychologie. Il a continué à publier divers ouvrages consacrés à différents aspects, tels que l’esthétique, et à développer son intérêt et sa recherche dans des domaines proches de son principe de plaisir ou de son humour.

  • Article connexe: "Psychophysique: les débuts de la psychologie"

Mort et legs de Fechner

Gustav Theodor Fechner est décédé à Leipzig en novembre 1887. Ses travaux ont constitué une avancée remarquable qui a permis à la psychologie de devenir une science et d’influencer des auteurs tels que Wundt ou Sigmund Freud.

La psychophysique et la psychométrie qui en découle De même, il continue d’être une partie importante de la psychologie expérimentale actuelle, en particulier de celle liée au comportemental.


Jean-Guy Fechner - Biographie (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes