yes, therapy helps!
Hallucinations: definition, causes, and symptoms

Hallucinations: definition, causes, and symptoms

June 24, 2021

The perception is the process by which living beings capture the information from the environment in order to process it and acquire knowledge about it, being able to adapt to the situations we live.

However, in many cases, whether or not there is a mental disorder, perceptions that do not correspond to reality occur, and these perceptual alterations can be grouped into distortions or deceptions, mainly.

While in perceptual distortions a real stimulus is anomalously perceived, in perceptual deceptions there is no stimulus that triggers the perceptual process. The clearest example of this last type of perceptual alteration are hallucinations .


Hallucinations: defining the concept

The concept that we just mentioned, hallucination, it has evolved throughout history and its description has been enriched over the years. Hallucination can be considered as a perception that occurs in the absence of a stimulus that triggers it , having who suffers it the sensation that this one is real and that it happens without the subject being able to control it (being this characteristic shared with obsessions, delusions and some illusions).

Although they are generally indicators of mental disorder (being a diagnostic criterion of schizophrenia and being able to appear in other disorders, such as during manic episodes or during depressions), hallucinations can also appear in many other cases, such as neurological disorders, of substances, epilepsy, tumors and even in non-pathological situations of high anxiety or stress (in the form of nervous paroxysm due to the object of our anxiety, for example).


An example of hallucination

Let's see an example below to help us understand what a hallucination is

"A young man comes to a psychologist's office. There, he tells his psychologist that he has come to him because he is very afraid. Initially he is reluctant to talk to the professional, but throughout the interview he confesses that the reason for being in his office is that whenever he looks in the mirror he hears a voice talking to him, insulting him, saying that he does not it will come to nothing in life and manifesting that it should disappear. "

This example is a fictitious case in which the supposed patient has perceived a stimulus that does not really exist from a specific situation (look in the mirror). The young person really has had that perception, being for him a very real phenomenon that he can not direct or control . In this way, we can consider that it has all the aforementioned characteristics.


However, not all hallucinations are always the same. There is a wide variety of typologies and classifications, among which the one that refers to the sensory modality in which they stand out stands out. In addition, not all appear in the same conditions, there being also multiple variants of the hallucinatory experience.

Types of hallucinations according to sensory modality

If we classify the hallucinatory experience according to the sensory modality in which they appear, we can find ourselves with several categories.

1. Visual hallucinations

First of all you can find the visual hallucinations , perceived through the sense of sight. In this case the subject sees something that does not exist in reality. These stimuli can be very simple, such as flashes or lights. However, more complex elements can be seen, such as characters, animated beings or vivid scenes.

It is possible that these elements are visualized with measures different from those that would be perceived to be these real stimuli, being called Lilliputian hallucinations in the case of smaller and gulliverian perceptions in the case of seeing them enlarged. Within the visual hallucinations is also autoscopy, in which a subject sees himself from the outside of his body, in a way similar to that reported by patients with near-death experiences.

Visual hallucinations are especially frequent in organic pictures, trauma and substance use, although they also appear in certain mental disorders.

2. Auditory hallucinations

Regarding auditory hallucinations , in which the perceiver hears something unreal, can be simple noises or elements with complete meaning such as human speech.

The clearest examples are hallucinations in the second person, in which, as in the example described above, a voice speaks to the subject, hallucinations in the third person in which voices are heard that speak of the individual among them or imperative hallucinations, in the that the individual hears voices that command him to do or stop doing something. Hallucinations of this sensory modality are the most frequent in mental disorders , especially in paranoid schizophrenia.

3.Hallucinations of taste and smell

In regard to the senses of taste and smell, hallucinations in these senses are rare and they are usually related to the consumption of drugs or other substances, in addition to some neurological disorders such as temporal lobe epilepsy, or even in tumors. They also appear in schizophrenia, usually related to delusions of poisoning or persecution.

4. Haptic hallucinations

The haptic hallucinations are those that refer to the sense of touch. This typology includes a large number of sensations, such as temperature, pain or tingling (the latter being called paresthesias, and highlighting among them a subtype called dermatozoic delirium in which one has the sensation of having small animals in the body, being typical of consumption of substances such as cocaine).

Apart from these, related to the senses, two more subtypes can be identified.

In the first place the cenesthetic or somatic hallucinations, that cause perceived sensations with respect to the own organs, normally linked with strange delirious processes.

In second and last place the kinesthetic or kinésicas hallucinations refer to sensations of movement of the own body that are not produced in the reality, being typical of the patients of Parkinson and of the consumption of substances.

As already mentioned, regardless of where they are perceived, it is also useful to know how they are perceived. In this sense we find different options.

Different modes of false perception

The so-called functional hallucinations are unleashed in the presence of a stimulus that triggers another, this time hallucinatory, in the same sensory modality. This hallucination occurs, begins and ends at the same time as the stimulus that originates it. An example would be the perception of someone who perceives the tune of the news every time he hears the traffic noise.

The same phenomenon occurs in the hallucination reflects , only that on this occasion the unreal perception occurs in a different sensory modality. This is the case given in the example above.

The extracampina hallucination it occurs in cases in which false perception occurs outside the perceptual field of the individual. That is, something is perceived beyond what could be perceived. An example is to see someone behind a wall, with no other information that could suggest their existence.

Another form of hallucination is the absence of perception of something that exists, called negative hallucination . However in this case the behavior of patients is not influenced as if they perceive that there is nothing, so in many cases it has come to doubt that there is a true lack of perception. An example is the negative autoscopy , in which the person does not perceive himself when looking at himself in a mirror.

Finally, it is worth mentioning the existence of pseudoalucinations . These are perceptions with the same characteristics as hallucinations with the exception that the subject is aware that they are unreal elements.

Why is there a hallucination?

We have been able to see some of the main modalities and types of hallucinations but, Why do they occur?

Although there is no single explanation in this regard, several authors have tried to shed light on this type of phenomenon, some of the most accepted being those that consider that the hallucinating subject mistakenly attributes his internal experiences to external factors .

An example of this is Slade and Bentall's theory of metacognitive discrimination, according to which the hallucinatory phenomenon is based on the inability to distinguish real from imaginary perception. These authors consider that this capacity for distinction, which is created and is possible to modify through learning, may be due to an excess of activation due to stress, lack or excess of environmental stimulation, a high suggestibility, the presence of expectations as regards what is going to be perceived, among other options.

Another example, focused on auditory hallucinations, is the suboffice theory of Hoffman , which indicates that these hallucinations are the subject's perception of subvocal speech itself (that is, our internal voice) as something alien to itself (theory that has generated therapies to treat auditory hallucinations with some effectiveness). Nevertheless, Hoffman considered that this fact was not due to a lack of discrimination, but to the generation of involuntary internal discursive acts.

Thus, hallucinations are ways of "reading" reality erroneously, as if there were elements that are really there although our senses seem to indicate the opposite. However, in the case of hallucinations our sensory organs work perfectly, what changes is the way in which our brain processes information that arrives Normally, this means that our memories are mixed with the sensory data in an anomalous way, uniting visual stimuli experienced previously to what is happening around us.

For example, this is what happens when we spend a lot of time in the dark or blindfolded so that our eyes do not register anything; the brain begins to invent things because of the anomaly that involves not receiving data through that sensory path while awake.

The brain that creates an imaginary environment

The existence of hallucinations reminds us that we do not limit ourselves to recording data about what is happening around us, but that our nervous system has the mechanisms to "build" scenes that tell us what is happening around us. Some diseases can lead to uncontrolled hallucinations, but these are part of our day to day, even if we do not realize it.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association (2002). DSM-IV-TR. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Spanish edition. Barcelona: Masson. (Original in English of 2000).
  • Baños, R. and Perpiña, C. (2002). Psychopathological exploration. Madrid: Synthesis.
  • Belloch, A., Baños, R. and Perpiñá, C. (2008) Psychopathology of perception and imagination. In A. Belloch, B. Sandín and F. Ramos (Eds.) Manual of Psychopathology (2nd edition). Vol I. Madrid: McGraw Hill Interamericana.
  • Hoffman, R.E. (1986). Verbal hallucinations and language production processes in schizophrenia. Behavioral and Brain Science, 9, 503-548.
  • Ochoa E. & De la Fuente M.L. (1990). "Psychopathology of Attention, Perception and Consciousness". In Medical Psychology, Psychopathology and Psychiatry, Vol. II. Inter-American Ed. McGraw-Hill. Fuentenebro. Madrid, pp. 489-506.
  • Seva, A. (1979). "Psychopathology of Perception". In: Clinical Psychiatry. Ed. Spaxs. Barcelona, ​​pp 173-180.
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 01. CEDE. Madrid.
  • Slade, PD. & Bentall, R.P (1988). Sensory deception: A scientific analysis of hallucination. Baltimore: The Johns Hopkins University.

Schizophrenia Overview | Clinical Presentation (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hallucinations: définition, causes et symptômes

Hallucinations: définition, causes et symptômes

Septembre 21, 2022

La perception est le processus par lequel les êtres vivants capturent les informations de l'environnement afin de les traiter et d'acquérir des connaissances à ce sujet, en étant capables de s'adapter aux situations que nous vivons.

Cependant, dans de nombreux cas, qu’il y ait ou non un trouble mental, des perceptions qui ne correspondent pas à la réalité se produisent et ces altérations de la perception peuvent être regroupées principalement en déformations ou en tromperies.

Alors que dans les distorsions perceptuelles, un stimulus réel est anormalement perçu, dans les déceptions perceptuelles, il n’existe aucun stimulus qui déclenche le processus perceptuel. Les hallucinations sont le meilleur exemple de ce dernier type de modification de la perception. .


Hallucinations: définir le concept

Le concept que nous venons de mentionner, hallucination, il a évolué au cours de l'histoire et sa description s'est enrichie au fil des ans. Hallucination peut être considéré comme une perception qui se produit en l'absence d'un stimulus qui le déclenche , ayant qui en souffre la sensation que celle-ci est réelle et que cela se passe sans que le sujet puisse la contrôler (caractéristique partagée avec des obsessions, des illusions et des illusions).

Bien qu’elles soient généralement des indicateurs de troubles mentaux (critère de diagnostic de la schizophrénie et apparaissant dans d’autres troubles, tels que les épisodes maniaques ou les dépressions), des hallucinations peuvent également apparaître dans de nombreux autres cas, tels que des troubles neurologiques, des substances, de l'épilepsie, des tumeurs et même dans des situations non pathologiques d'anxiété élevée ou de stress (sous la forme de paroxysme nerveux dû à l'objet de notre anxiété, par exemple).


Un exemple d'hallucination

Voyons un exemple ci-dessous pour nous aider à comprendre ce qu'est une hallucination

"Un jeune homme se rend chez un psychologue. Là, il dit à son psychologue qu'il est venu le voir parce qu'il a très peur. Au début, il hésite à parler au professionnel, mais tout au long de l'entretien, il avoue que la raison pour laquelle il est dans son bureau est que, chaque fois qu'il se regarde dans le miroir, il entend une voix qui lui parle, l'insultant, disant qu'il ne le fait pas. cela n'aboutira à rien dans la vie et manifestera qu'il devrait disparaître. "

Cet exemple est un cas fictif dans lequel le patient supposé a perçu un stimulus qui n’existe pas vraiment dans une situation donnée (regardez dans le miroir). Le jeune a vraiment eu cette perception, étant pour lui un phénomène très réel qu'il ne peut ni diriger ni contrôler . De cette façon, on peut considérer qu’il présente toutes les caractéristiques susmentionnées.


Cependant, toutes les hallucinations ne sont pas toujours les mêmes. Il existe une grande variété de typologies et de classifications, parmi lesquelles se distingue celle qui fait référence à la modalité sensorielle dans laquelle elles se distinguent. En outre, ils ne se manifestent pas tous dans les mêmes conditions, l’expérience hallucinatoire étant également multiple.

Types d'hallucinations selon la modalité sensorielle

Si l'on classe l'expérience hallucinatoire en fonction de la modalité sensorielle dans laquelle elle apparaît, on peut se retrouver avec plusieurs catégories.

1. hallucinations visuelles

Tout d’abord, vous pouvez trouver le hallucinations visuelles , perçu à travers le sens de la vue. Dans ce cas, le sujet voit quelque chose qui n'existe pas dans la réalité. Ces stimuli peuvent être très simples, tels que des flashs ou des lumières. Cependant, des éléments plus complexes peuvent être vus, tels que des personnages, des êtres animés ou des scènes vives.

Il est possible que ces éléments soient visualisés avec des mesures différentes de celles qui seraient perçues comme étant de réels stimuli, appelées hallucinations lilliputiennes dans le cas de perceptions plus petites et de gulliverian dans le cas où elles seraient agrandies. Dans les hallucinations visuelles, il y a aussi l'autoscopie, dans laquelle un sujet se voit de l'extérieur de son corps, d'une manière similaire à celle rapportée par des patients ayant des expériences de mort imminente.

Les hallucinations visuelles sont particulièrement fréquentes dans les images organiques, les traumatismes et la consommation de substances, bien qu'elles apparaissent également dans certains troubles mentaux.

2. hallucinations auditives

En ce qui concerne hallucinations auditives , dans lequel le percepteur entend quelque chose d’irréel, peuvent être de simples bruits ou des éléments ayant une signification complète tels que la parole humaine.

Les exemples les plus clairs sont les hallucinations chez la deuxième personne, dans lesquelles, comme dans l'exemple décrit ci-dessus, une voix parle du sujet, les hallucinations chez la troisième personne dans lesquelles on entend des voix qui parlent de l'individu parmi elles ou des hallucinations impératives, que l'individu entend des voix qui lui commandent de faire ou de cesser de faire quelque chose. Les hallucinations de cette modalité sensorielle sont les plus fréquentes dans les troubles mentaux , en particulier dans la schizophrénie paranoïde.

3Hallucinations du goût et de l'odorat

En ce qui concerne les sens du goût et de l'odorat, les hallucinations dans ces sens sont rares et ils sont généralement liés à la consommation de drogues ou d'autres substances, en plus de certains troubles neurologiques tels que l'épilepsie du lobe temporal ou même des tumeurs. Ils apparaissent également dans la schizophrénie, généralement liée à des idées délirantes d'empoisonnement ou de persécution.

4. hallucinations haptiques

Le hallucinations haptiques sont ceux qui font référence au sens du toucher. Cette typologie comprend un grand nombre de sensations, telles que la température, la douleur ou des fourmillements (ces dernières étant appelées paresthésies et mettant en évidence un sous-type appelé "délire dermatozoique" dans lequel on a la sensation d'avoir de petits animaux dans le corps, ce qui est typique. consommation de substances telles que la cocaïne).

En dehors de ceux-ci, liés aux sens, deux autres sous-types peuvent être identifiés.

En premier lieu, les hallucinations cénesthétiques ou somatiques, qui provoquent des sensations perçues vis-à-vis des propres organes, généralement liées à d’étranges processus délirants.

En deuxième et dernière place, les hallucinations kinesthésiques ou kinésicas se rapportent à des sensations de mouvement du propre corps qui ne sont pas produites dans la réalité, étant typiques des patients de Parkinson et de la consommation de substances.

Comme déjà mentionné, indépendamment de l'endroit où ils sont perçus, il est également utile de savoir comment ils sont perçus. En ce sens, nous trouvons différentes options.

Différents modes de perception erronée

Les soi-disant hallucinations fonctionnelles se déclenchent en présence d'un stimulus qui en déclenche un autre, cette fois hallucinatoire, dans la même modalité sensorielle. Cette hallucination se produit, commence et finit en même temps que le stimulus qui la crée. Un exemple serait la perception de quelqu'un qui perçoit l'air des nouvelles chaque fois qu'il entend le bruit de la circulation.

Le même phénomène se produit dans le hallucination reflète Seulement, à cette occasion, la perception irréelle se produit dans une modalité sensorielle différente. C'est le cas donné dans l'exemple ci-dessus.

Le hallucination extracampina cela se produit dans les cas où la fausse perception survient en dehors du champ perceptuel de l'individu. C'est-à-dire que quelque chose est perçu au-delà de ce qui pourrait être perçu. Un exemple est de voir quelqu'un derrière un mur, sans autre information pouvant suggérer son existence.

Une autre forme d'hallucination est l'absence de perception de quelque chose qui existe, appelé hallucination négative . Cependant, dans ce cas, le comportement des patients n’est pas influencé, comme si ils percevaient qu’il n’y avait rien, alors il est souvent arrivé de douter qu’il existe un véritable manque de perception. Un exemple est le autoscopie négative , dans lequel la personne ne se perçoit pas quand elle se regarde dans un miroir.

Enfin, il convient de mentionner l’existence de pseudoalucinations . Ce sont des perceptions ayant les mêmes caractéristiques que les hallucinations, à la différence que le sujet sait qu’il s’agit d’éléments irréels.

Pourquoi y a-t-il une hallucination?

Nous avons pu voir certaines des principales modalités et types d’hallucinations mais, Pourquoi se produisent-ils?

Bien qu’il n’existe aucune explication à cet égard, plusieurs auteurs ont tenté de faire la lumière sur ce type de phénomène, certains des plus acceptés étant ceux qui considèrent que le sujet hallucinant attribue à tort ses expériences internes à des facteurs externes .

Un exemple de ceci est la théorie de Slade et Bentall sur la discrimination métacognitive, selon laquelle le phénomène hallucinatoire est basé sur l'incapacité de distinguer la perception réelle de la perception imaginaire. Ces auteurs considèrent que cette capacité de distinction, créée et qu'il est possible de modifier par l'apprentissage, peut être due à un excès d'activation dû au stress, à l'absence ou à un excès de stimulation de l'environnement, à une suggestibilité élevée, à la présence d'attentes vis-à-vis de ce qui va être perçu, parmi d'autres options.

Un autre exemple, axé sur les hallucinations auditives, est la théorie de sous-bureau de Hoffman , ce qui indique que ces hallucinations sont la perception par le sujet de la parole subvocale elle-même (c'est-à-dire notre voix interne) comme d'une chose qui lui est étrangère (théorie qui a généré des thérapies pour traiter les hallucinations auditives avec une certaine efficacité). Hoffman a néanmoins estimé que ce fait n'était pas dû à une absence de discrimination, mais à la génération d'actes discursifs internes involontaires.

Ainsi, les hallucinations sont des moyens de "lire" la réalité à tort, comme s'il y avait des éléments qui sont réellement là même si nos sens semblent indiquer le contraire. Cependant, dans le cas des hallucinations, nos organes sensoriels fonctionnent parfaitement, quels sont les changements? la façon dont notre cerveau traite l'information qui arrive Normalement, cela signifie que nos souvenirs sont mélangés avec les données sensorielles de manière anormale, en unissant les stimuli visuels expérimentés auparavant à ce qui se passe autour de nous.

Par exemple, c’est ce qui se passe lorsque nous passons beaucoup de temps dans l’obscurité ou avec les yeux bandés afin que nos yeux n’enregistrent rien; le cerveau commence à inventer des choses à cause de l'anomalie qui implique de ne pas recevoir de données par le biais de ce chemin sensoriel quand il est éveillé.

Le cerveau qui crée un environnement imaginaire

L'existence d'hallucinations nous rappelle que nous ne nous limitons pas à enregistrer des données sur ce qui se passe autour de nous, mais que notre système nerveux dispose des mécanismes nécessaires pour "construire" des scènes nous indiquant ce qui se passe autour de nous. Certaines maladies peuvent conduire à des hallucinations incontrôlées, mais elles font partie de notre quotidien, même si nous ne le réalisons pas.

Références bibliographiques:

  • American Psychiatric Association (2002). DSM-IV-TR. Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Édition espagnole. Barcelone: ​​Masson. (Original en anglais de 2000).
  • Baños, R. et Perpiña, C. (2002). Exploration psychopathologique. Madrid: synthèse.
  • Belloch, A., Baños, R. et Perpiñá, C. (2008) Psychopathologie de la perception et de l'imagination. Dans A. Belloch, B. Sandín et F. Ramos (Eds.) Manuel de psychopathologie (2e édition). Vol I. Madrid: McGraw Hill Interamericana.
  • Hoffman, R.E. (1986) Hallucinations verbales et processus de production du langage dans la schizophrénie. Behavioral and Brain Science, 9, 503-548.
  • Ochoa E. & De la Fuente M.L. (1990). "Psychopathology of Attention, Perception and Consciousness". Dans Psychologie médicale, Psychopathologie et psychiatrie, Volume II. Édition interaméricaine McGraw-Hill. Fuentenebro. Madrid, pp. 489-506.
  • Seva, A. (1979). "Psychopathologie de la perception". Dans: Psychiatrie clinique. Ed. Spaxs. Barcelone, pp 173-180.
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathologie Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 01. CEDE. Madrid
  • Slade, PD. & Bentall, R.P (1988). Déception sensorielle: analyse scientifique de l'hallucination. Baltimore: Université Johns Hopkins.

La schizophrénie (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes