yes, therapy helps!
Hallucinogenic mushrooms: these are their effects on our mind

Hallucinogenic mushrooms: these are their effects on our mind

October 1, 2022

If it's natural it can not be bad, right? Guided by this fallacious reasoning there are many young people, and not so young, who firmly believe that the consumption of hallucinogenic mushrooms will do them more good than bad.

Nothing is further from reality, because these mushrooms, which contain psilocybin in uncontrolled doses, are quite dangerous. A bad trip in a brain predisposed to suffer disorders can have dramatic consequences.

It is true that ancient cultures used hallucinogenic mushrooms for all kinds of purposes , especially of spiritual and religious type. There are numerous rituals in Central America where hallucinogens are used to reach altered states of consciousness as a means to reach certain spiritual goals.


Through the knowledge of these practices we have reached part of what we know about hallucinogenic mushrooms as well as mythology and its aura of mysticism. The truth is that if we ignore for a moment all the magic paraphernalia, what we have left are fungi with estimated amounts of psychedelics .

  • Related article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

What do hallucinogenic mushrooms contain?

The secret ingredient that makes us hallucinate when eating hallucinogenic mushrooms is psilocybin. It does not exist in a single species of fungus, but rather it is a family of more than 200 different species of mushrooms. All of them produce this compound, so that they are grouped under the same category of hallucinogenic mushrooms.


In addition to psilocybin, they contain psilocin and baeocystin , which fulfill the same function, but to a lesser extent.

Properties of psilocybin

Psilocybin is a compound with psychoactive properties. It is a prodrug : a precursor that is transformed into psilocin once ingested and metabolized. Once transformed is when it acts on the brain in all its psychedelic splendor.

It acts as a serotonin functional agonist since it is similar to this in its structure. In this way, it binds to many of the serotonin receptors, activating the same routes as this one. In addition, it indirectly influences the production of dopamine in the basal ganglia. The coupling in serotonin receptors and the production of dopamine, together explain the hallucinogenic effects.

Metabolism and hallucinogenic mushrooms

Due to its pharmacokinetic properties, mushrooms take between 20 and 90 minutes to be digested, pass through the liver and reach the bloodstream. It is not until then that one notices its effects, which will last between 3 and 6 hours .


It is estimated that the typical recreational dose ranges from 10 to 50 milligrams of psilocybin, and that each gram of fresh hallucinogenic mushrooms contains one milligram of this compound, while each gram of dehydrated hallucinogenic mushrooms contains 10 milligrams of psilocybin.

However, each person's metabolism is different. Some people are more sensitive than others to this compound and with very little dose they can already have hallucinatory experiences. Because of this and because the amounts of compound in hallucinogenic mushrooms are estimated, people often ingest more than they should and end up having a hard time.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychotic outbreak: definition, causes, symptoms and treatment"

Effects of hallucinogenic mushrooms

Although they receive this name because it is the star effect or the really desired one when they are consumed, there are many effects that occur at the same time .

Recall that psilocybin is a non-selective agonist of certain serotonin receptors, so that it will be coupled indiscriminately in those places where its structure allows it, especially in the frontal cortex involved in thinking, the state of encouragement and perception.

1. Hallucinatory experiences and sensory alteration

Hallucinations include content of all kinds. These can be of any modality, visual, auditory, sensitive, gustatory or olfactory. As well as the presence of hallucinations, the normal perception itself is sharpened and changed, both properties are mixed. It is possible to see the common objects of colors that do not correspond or to perceive them as distorted forms, to appreciate with greater intensity sounds that in an unaltered state would not be object of attention, etcetera.

Even though most of the hallucinatory experiences have a positive tone and they are lived in a pleasant way, the own state of mind and the state induced by the properties of the mushrooms can turn these experiences into a bad trip that will last a lot in time.

  • Related article: "Hallucinations: definition, causes, and symptoms"

2. Wellness and openness experiences

Many people, similar to the experience with MDMA, open up more and become more creative.It is possible to feel a form of peace and be in tune with the rest of people and objects accompanied by a need to open up and share with others this pleasant feeling.

3. Relaxation or anxiety

Although these wellness experiences occur in a state of deep relaxation, this is not always the case. Some people say experiencing abrupt periods of anxiety during the trip with hallucinogenic mushrooms . These periods can go from a few minutes to occupy the entire psychedelic experience and be extremely unpleasant, so that they break with the magic of hallucinations and turn them into a bad drink that is impossible to escape.

4. Physiological changes

Physiological changes include sweating, tachycardia, nausea, rapid breathing and dilated pupils . Fortunately, hallucinogenic mushrooms do not make very drastic changes in physiology and a high dose is not as dangerous in the physical sense as it is with other drugs.

5. Unpleasant effects

Along with hallucinations and alterations in perception and thinking, another kind of unwanted effects may occur. One of the most frequent unpleasant effects is paranoia , that is, the conviction that one is persecuted or the object of some kind of plot. It is a very aversive experience that borders on the psychotic and can be established if it becomes serious enough.

In the long term, the effects of misuse of hallucinogenic mushrooms can include persistent psychotic symptoms with hallucinations, delusions and disturbances of thought and persistent emotional disorders such as major depression or dysthymia.

Although it is not frequent, these dramatic consequences are unpredictable. Anyone with sensitivity to hallucinogenic mushrooms, who has not been well informed, who has taken too much dose, who has not been well accompanied or has consumed in an unwelcoming environment may end up developing this type of pictures that, besides being unpleasant, do not They tend to be completely reversible and leave sequels in the personality of those who suffer.


Your Brain On Shrooms (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Champignons hallucinogènes: ce sont leurs effets sur notre esprit

Champignons hallucinogènes: ce sont leurs effets sur notre esprit

Juillet 22, 2022

Si c'est naturel, cela ne peut pas être mauvais, non? Guidé par ce raisonnement fallacieux, nombreux sont les jeunes, mais moins jeunes, qui croient fermement que la consommation de champignons hallucinogènes leur fera plus de bien que de mal.

Rien n’est plus éloigné de la réalité, car ces champignons, qui contiennent de la psilocybine à des doses non contrôlées, sont assez dangereux. Un mauvais voyage dans un cerveau prédisposé à souffrir de troubles peut avoir des conséquences dramatiques.

C `est vrai que les cultures anciennes utilisaient des champignons hallucinogènes à toutes sortes de fins , en particulier de type spirituel et religieux. En Amérique centrale, il existe de nombreux rituels dans lesquels les hallucinogènes sont utilisés pour atteindre des états de conscience modifiés afin d'atteindre certains objectifs spirituels.


Grâce à la connaissance de ces pratiques, nous avons atteint une partie de ce que nous savons des champignons hallucinogènes ainsi que de la mythologie et de son aura de mysticisme. La vérité est que, si nous ignorons un instant tout l'attirail magique, il ne nous reste que champignons avec des quantités estimées de psychédéliques .

  • Article connexe: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

Que contiennent les champignons hallucinogènes?

La psilocybine est l’ingrédient secret qui nous fait halluciner lorsque nous mangeons des champignons hallucinogènes. Il n’existe pas dans une seule espèce de champignon, mais plutôt dans une famille de plus de 200 espèces différentes de champignons. Tous produisent ce composé, de sorte qu'ils sont regroupés dans la même catégorie de champignons hallucinogènes.


En plus de la psilocybine, ils contiennent de la psilocine et de la baeocystine , qui remplissent la même fonction, mais dans une moindre mesure.

Propriétés de la psilocybine

La psilocybine est un composé aux propriétés psychoactives. C'est un prodrogue : un précurseur transformé en psilocine une fois ingéré et métabolisé. Une fois transformé, c’est quand il agit sur le cerveau dans toute sa splendeur psychédélique.

Il agit comme un agoniste fonctionnel de la sérotonine puisqu'il est semblable à celui-ci par sa structure. De cette façon, il se lie à de nombreux récepteurs de la sérotonine en activant les mêmes voies que celui-ci. De plus, il influence indirectement la production de dopamine dans les noyaux gris centraux. Le couplage des récepteurs de la sérotonine et la production de dopamine expliquent ensemble les effets hallucinogènes.

Métabolisme et champignons hallucinogènes

En raison de ses propriétés pharmacocinétiques, la digestion, la traversée du foie et la circulation sanguine prennent entre 20 et 90 minutes. Ce n’est qu’alors que l’on remarque ses effets qui dureront entre 3 et 6 heures. .


On estime que la dose récréative typique varie de 10 à 50 milligrammes de psilocybine, et que chaque gramme de champignons hallucinogènes frais contient un milligramme de ce composé, tandis que chaque gramme de champignons hallucinogènes déshydratés contient 10 milligrammes de psilocybine.

Cependant, le métabolisme de chaque personne est différent. Certaines personnes sont plus sensibles que d’autres à ce composé et avec une dose très faible, elles peuvent déjà avoir des expériences hallucinatoires. Pour cette raison et parce que l'on estime la quantité de composé dans les champignons hallucinogènes, les gens ingèrent souvent plus qu'ils ne le devraient et finissent par avoir des difficultés.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Épidémie psychotique: définition, causes, symptômes et traitement"

Effets des champignons hallucinogènes

Bien qu’ils reçoivent ce nom parce que c’est l’effet étoile ou celui que l’on désire vraiment quand ils sont consommés, il y a beaucoup d'effets qui se produisent en même temps .

Rappelons que la psilocybine est un agoniste non sélectif de certains récepteurs de la sérotonine, de sorte qu’elle sera couplée indifféremment aux endroits où sa structure le lui permet, notamment dans le cortex frontal impliqué dans la pensée, l’état de encouragement et perception.

1. Expériences hallucinatoires et altération sensorielle

Les hallucinations incluent des contenus de toutes sortes. Ceux-ci peuvent être de toute modalité, visuelle, auditive, sensible, gustative ou olfactive. En plus de la présence d’hallucinations, la perception normale elle-même est affinée et modifiée, les deux propriétés étant mélangées. Il est possible de voir les objets communs de couleurs qui ne correspondent pas ou de les percevoir comme des formes déformées, d’apprécier avec une plus grande intensité des sons qui, dans un état non altéré, ne seraient pas des objets d’attention, etc.

Bien que la plupart des expériences hallucinatoires ont un ton positif et ils sont vécus de manière agréable, l'état d'esprit et l'état induit par les propriétés des champignons peuvent transformer ces expériences en un voyage qui durera beaucoup dans le temps.

  • Article connexe: "Hallucinations: définition, causes et symptômes"

2. Expériences de bien-être et d'ouverture

De nombreuses personnes, similaires à l'expérience de la MDMA, s'ouvrent davantage et deviennent plus créatives.Il est possible de ressentir une forme de paix et d'être en accord avec le reste des personnes et des objets, accompagné d'un besoin de s'ouvrir et de partager avec les autres ce sentiment agréable.

3. Relaxation ou anxiété

Bien que ces expériences de bien-être se produisent dans un état de relaxation profonde, ce n'est pas toujours le cas. Certaines personnes disent avoir des périodes d'anxiété soudaines pendant le voyage avec des champignons hallucinogènes . Ces périodes peuvent aller de quelques minutes à occuper toute l'expérience psychédélique et être extrêmement désagréable, de sorte qu'elles rompent avec la magie des hallucinations et les transforment en une mauvaise boisson impossible à échapper.

4. Changements physiologiques

Les changements physiologiques comprennent la transpiration, tachycardie, nausée, respiration rapide et pupilles dilatées . Heureusement, les champignons hallucinogènes ne modifient pas radicalement la physiologie et une dose élevée n’est pas aussi dangereuse sur le plan physique que pour les autres drogues.

5. effets désagréables

Outre les hallucinations et les modifications de la perception et de la pensée, un autre type d'effets indésirables peut se produire. Un des effets désagréables les plus fréquents est la paranoïa , c’est-à-dire la conviction qu’on est persécuté ou l’objet d’un complot. C'est une expérience très aversive qui frise le psychotique et peut être établie si elle devient suffisamment sérieuse.

À long terme, les effets d'une utilisation abusive de champignons hallucinogènes peuvent inclure des symptômes psychotiques persistants avec hallucinations, délires et troubles de la pensée et des troubles émotionnels persistants tels que la dépression majeure ou la dysthymie.

Bien que cela ne soit pas fréquent, ces conséquences dramatiques sont imprévisibles. Toute personne sensible aux champignons hallucinogènes, mal informée, prenant trop de doses, mal accompagnée ou consommée dans un environnement peu accueillant peut finir par développer ce type de photos qui, en plus d'être désagréables, ne Ils ont tendance à être complètement réversibles et à laisser des séquelles dans la personnalité de ceux qui souffrent.


Arte Documentaire Fr Les Champignons Hallucinogènes (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes