yes, therapy helps!
Hallucinosis: causes and characteristics of this alteration

Hallucinosis: causes and characteristics of this alteration

July 18, 2024

The brain is an extremely complex organ that is responsible for, among many other things, processing all sensory information, that is, controlling everything we perceive around us. But there are certain situations in which our brain plays with these perceptions, leading to the not-known hallucinosis .

People who suffer or at some point have suffered from these hallucinosis, report experiencing a series of visual and / or auditory illusions.

  • Related article: "The 10 rarest mental syndromes that are known"

What is a hallucinosis?

Within this hallucinatory picture, hallucinosis is typical of non-psychiatric diseases, and refers to the state in which a person can experience hallucinations but being fully aware that what he perceives is not real.


The difference with the rest of hallucinations is that, in these cases, the person is able to discern perfectly that they are not real ; being fully able to perceive that something is not working correctly and, consequently, ask for help.

During an episode of hallucinosis the patient is attentive and well oriented, and can even enter and leave this state with complete lucidity, being able to narrate in detail what he is perceiving in hallucinosis at that precise moment.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Hallucinations: definition, causes, and symptoms"

Differences between hallucination, pseudo-hallucination and hallucinosis

Besides being able to be both auditory and visual, these three paintings have in common the fact of appearing in an external space and possess the properties of corporeality and objectivity typical of normal perceptions.


However, unlike hallucinations and pseudo hallucinations, those who experience them are aware that it is a hallucination and therefore it does not take long to ask for help .

As for hallucinations and pseudoalucinations, these usually appear in psychiatric illnesses such as schizophrenia or the manic phase of bipolar disorder.

However, hallucinosis is more typical of diverse diseases such as intoxication, consumption or deprivation of drugs and substances of abuse or the well-known alcoholic hallucinosis. All of them are explained below.

  • Related article: "The differences between hallucination, pseudoalucination and hallucinosis"

Causes

As detailed above, hallucinosis is not typical of psychiatric disorders, but rather occurs as a consequence of situations of abuse of alcohol, psychoactive substances or drugs; although it may also happen, exceptionally, in some brain disorder .


1. Alcoholic hallucinosis

This type of hallucinosis consists in the perception of an object or phenomenon that is not present at that moment due to an excess of alcohol consumption.

When this happens, the person notices the deception that his mind is infusing him and can associate it as something caused by his state.

The most typical cause of this symptom is related to the sudden elimination of excessive alcoholic habits , so it is usual that these hallucinosis are lived during the withdrawal syndrome.

Patients who manifest this type of hallucinosis caused by alcohol should be treated urgently to try to control the symptoms, because if it does not receive adequate treatment immediately it can be aggravated; thus becoming a delirium tremens.

This syndrome is characterized by being a serious condition that includes dehydration, fever, visual and auditory hallucinations , and that can even lead to death due to acute intoxication.

2. Substances of abuse or psychotropic drugs

Among all the harmful effects that the use and abuse of drugs and psychotropic drugs have both in the body and in the brain, hallucinosis are the most common.

The most common hallucinogenic drugs are:

  • Ecstasy (MDMA)
  • Psilocybin (DMT)
  • Mescaline
  • Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD)

Ecstasy, psilocybin and mescaline are made from certain species of hallucinogenic mushrooms and cactus, while LSD is obtained by synthesizing ergoline and tryptamines in a laboratory setting; being this much more powerful than any of the previous ones.

3. Brain disorders

There are certain brain diseases whose manifestations include episodes of hallucinosis. These disorders can be either neurological, genetic, or caused by brain tumors or injuries. These symptoms vary a lot depending on the patient and the severity of the disease.

Charles Bonnet syndrome or organic hallucinosis

One of the cases in which hallucinosis has an organic cause is in the Charles Bonnet Syndrome, hence it is also known as organic hallucinosis.This name comes from the fact that there is something measurable, measurable or quantifiable that causes this disease.

The Charles Bonnet syndrome is a disease associated with people suffering from visual loss . In these specific cases, patients also present complex visual hallucinations.

This disorder affects people who are mentally healthy but suffer from significant visual loss. These patients experience recurrent visual hallucinations, alive and complex, having as a peculiarity that the characters or perceived objects are smaller than usual .

Since they are hallucinosis and not hallucinations, those who suffer from them know perfectly well that they are not real, and since they are purely visual, they do not affect any other sense.

Those who suffer from Charles Bonnet syndrome can perceive a wide variety of hallucinations. From the most common, as complex colored patterns and people , to animals, plants and animated objects.

Charles Bonnet syndrome is associated with lesions of any segment of the visual pathway, and is usually caused by macular degeneration related to advanced age (AMD) and large visual field defects. These hallucinations usually cease when the patient performs some eye movement.


92% WILL HALLUCINATE WHILE WATCHING THIS OPTICAL ILLUSION (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hallucinose: causes et caractéristiques de cette altération

Hallucinose: causes et caractéristiques de cette altération

Février 24, 2020

Le cerveau est un organe extrêmement complexe responsable, entre autres choses, du traitement de toutes les informations sensorielles, c'est-à-dire du contrôle de tout ce que nous percevons autour de nous. Mais il y a certaines situations dans lesquelles notre cerveau joue avec ces perceptions, conduisant à l'hallucinose non connue .

Les personnes qui souffrent ou ont souffert de ces hallucinoses déclarent avoir vécu une série d’illusions visuelles et / ou auditives.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 syndromes mentaux les plus rares connus"

Qu'est-ce qu'une hallucinose?

Dans cette image hallucinatoire, l'hallucinose est typique des maladies non psychiatriques et fait référence à l'état dans lequel une personne peut avoir des hallucinations, tout en étant pleinement conscient du fait que ce qu'il perçoit n'est pas réel.


La différence avec le reste des hallucinations est que, dans ces cas, la personne est capable de discerner parfaitement qu'elle n'est pas réelle ; être pleinement capable de percevoir que quelque chose ne fonctionne pas correctement et, par conséquent, demander de l'aide.

Au cours d'un épisode d'hallucinose, le patient est attentif et bien orienté. Il peut même entrer et sortir de cet état en toute lucidité et être en mesure de raconter en détail ce qu'il perçoit comme hallucinose à ce moment précis.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Hallucinations: définition, causes et symptômes"

Différences entre hallucination, pseudo-hallucination et hallucinose

En plus de pouvoir être à la fois auditives et visuelles, ces trois peintures ont en commun le fait de figurer dans un espace extérieur et posséder les propriétés de corporéité et d'objectivité typique des perceptions normales.


Cependant, contrairement aux hallucinations et pseudo hallucinations, ceux qui en font l'expérience sont conscients qu'il s'agit d'une hallucination et donc il ne faut pas longtemps pour demander de l'aide .

En ce qui concerne les hallucinations et les pseudoalucinations, celles-ci apparaissent généralement dans des maladies psychiatriques telles que la schizophrénie ou la phase maniaque du trouble bipolaire.

Cependant, l’hallucinose est plus typique de diverses maladies telles que intoxication, consommation ou privation de drogues et substances d'abus ou l'hallucinose alcoolique bien connue. Tous sont expliqués ci-dessous.

  • Article connexe: "Les différences entre hallucination, pseudoalucination et hallucinose"

Les causes

Comme indiqué ci-dessus, l'hallucinose n'est pas typique des troubles psychiatriques, mais résulte plutôt de situations d'abus d'alcool, de substances psychoactives ou de drogues; bien que cela puisse aussi arriver, exceptionnellement, dans certains désordres cérébraux .


1. hallucinose alcoolique

Ce type d’hallucinose consiste en la perception d’un objet ou d’un phénomène qui n’est pas présent à ce moment en raison d’une consommation excessive d’alcool.

Lorsque cela se produit, la personne remarque la tromperie que son esprit l'infuse et peut l'associer à quelque chose causé par son état.

La cause la plus typique de ce symptôme est liée à l'élimination soudaine des habitudes excessives d'alcool Il est donc habituel que ces hallucinoses se vivent pendant le syndrome de sevrage.

Les patients présentant ce type d'hallucinose provoquée par l'alcool doivent être traités d'urgence pour tenter de contrôler les symptômes, car s'ils ne reçoivent pas un traitement adéquat immédiatement, ils peuvent s'aggraver. devenant ainsi un delirium tremens.

Ce syndrome est caractérisé par le fait qu’il est une maladie grave comprend la déshydratation, la fièvre, les hallucinations visuelles et auditives , et cela peut même entraîner la mort en raison d'une intoxication aiguë.

2. Substances d'abus ou drogues psychotropes

Parmi tous les effets néfastes que l’usage et l’abus de drogues et de psychotropes ont à la fois sur le corps et sur le cerveau, les hallucinoses sont les plus courantes.

Les drogues hallucinogènes les plus courantes ils sont:

  • Ecstasy (MDMA)
  • Psilocybine (DMT)
  • Mescaline
  • Diéthylamide d'acide lysergique (LSD)

L'ecstasy, la psilocybine et la mescaline sont fabriquées à partir de certaines espèces de champignons et de cactus hallucinogènes, tandis que le LSD est obtenu par synthèse d'ergoline et de tryptamines en laboratoire; être aussi beaucoup plus puissant que les précédents.

3. Troubles cérébraux

Certaines maladies du cerveau dont les manifestations comprennent des épisodes d'hallucinose. Ces troubles peuvent être neurologiques, génétiques ou causés par des tumeurs ou des lésions cérébrales. Ces symptômes varient beaucoup en fonction du patient et de la gravité de la maladie.

Syndrome de Charles Bonnet ou hallucinose organique

L'un des cas dans lesquels l'hallucinose a une cause organique est le syndrome de Charles Bonnet, d'où son surnom d'hallucinose organique.Ce nom vient du fait qu'il y a quelque chose de mesurable, mesurable ou quantifiable qui cause cette maladie.

Le syndrome de Charles Bonnet est une maladie associée aux personnes souffrant de perte de vision . Dans ces cas spécifiques, les patients présentent également des hallucinations visuelles complexes.

Ce trouble affecte les personnes en bonne santé mentale mais qui souffrent d'une perte de vision importante. Ces patients présentent des hallucinations visuelles récurrentes, vivantes et complexes, ayant pour particularité que les personnages ou objets perçus sont plus petits que d'habitude .

S'agissant d'hallucinoses et non d'hallucinations, ceux qui en souffrent savent parfaitement qu'elles ne sont pas réelles et, puisqu'elles sont purement visuelles, elles n'affectent aucun autre sens.

Ceux qui souffrent du syndrome de Charles Bonnet peuvent percevoir une grande variété d'hallucinations. Du plus commun, comme motifs colorés complexes et personnes , aux animaux, aux plantes et aux objets animés.

Le syndrome de Charles Bonnet est associé à des lésions de n’importe quel segment de la voie visuelle et est généralement causé par une dégénérescence maculaire liée à l’âge avancé (DMLA) et d’importants défauts du champ visuel. Ces hallucinations cessent généralement lorsque le patient effectue un mouvement oculaire.


Hallucinose (Février 2020).


Articles Connexes