yes, therapy helps!
Hamilton Depression Scale: what it is and how it works

Hamilton Depression Scale: what it is and how it works

November 11, 2022

If we talk about depression, we speak of one of the most prevalent mental disorders and known worldwide, causing a high level of suffering in those who suffer. Throughout history, a great amount of tools and instruments have emerged to evaluate the existence and affectation caused by this problem. One of them is the Hamilton Depression Scale .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychometrics: studying the human mind through data"

The Hamilton Depression Scale: main features

The Hamilton Depression Scale is an evaluation instrument designed by Max Hamilton and published in 1960, created with the objective of serving as a method of to detect the severity of depression symptoms in previously diagnosed patients , as well as the existence of changes in the patient's condition over time. In this way, its main objectives are the assessment of this severity, the assessment of the effects of possible treatments on each of the components that it evaluates and the detection of relapses.


This means that the Hamilton Depression Scale is not intended for diagnosis, but for the evaluation of the condition of patients who have previously been diagnosed with major depression. However, despite this being its original objective, it has also been applied to evaluate the presence of depressive symptoms in other problems and conditions, such as in dementias.

Structure and score

This instrument consists of a total of 22 items (although the initial one consisted of 21 and later a reduced version of 17 was also elaborated), grouped into six main factors. These items consist of an element that the subject has to assess on a scale that ranges from zero to four points. Among these items we find mainly different symptoms of depression, such as feelings of guilt, suicide, agitation, genital symptoms or hypochondria, which will end up being assessed in the six factors mentioned above.


Specifically, the factors in question are the assessment of somatic anxiety, weight (do not forget that depression is frequent in the presence of eating disorders), cognitive impairment, diurnal variation (if there is diurnal deterioration for example) , slowing down, and sleep disturbances. But nevertheless Not all of these factors are equally important , the different aspects having a different weight and being weighted differently in the score (for example the cognitive alteration and the slowing down are more valued and less the agitation and insomnia).

It is a scale initially proposed to be applied externally by a professional, although it is also possible to fill in by the same subject evaluated. In addition to the scale itself, which is filled in during a clinical interview, External information can also be used, such as information from relatives or the environment as a complement.


  • You may be interested: "Are there several types of depression?"

Interpretation

The interpretation of this test is relatively simple. The total score ranges between 0 and 52 points (this being the maximum score), with most of the items having five possible answers (from 0 to 4) with the exception of some elements with lower weighting (which range from 0 to two).

This total score has different cut-off points, considering 0-7 that the subject does not present depression, that a score of 8-13 supposes the existence of a slight depression, of 14-18 a moderate depression, of 91 to 22 a severe and more than 23 very severe and at risk of suicide.

At the time of assessing not the severity of depression but the existence of changes due to different aspects, including a possible treatment , it must be taken into account that it is considered that there has been a response to it if there is a decrease of at least 50% of the initial score, and a remission with scores lower than 7.

Advantages and disadvantages

In contrast to other tests that assess depressive symptomatology, The Hamilton Depression Scale has the advantage of evaluating non-cognitive elements that other scales do not usually take into account, in addition to illiterate subjects or with other alterations.

However, it also has certain drawbacks: technically it does not allow the diagnosis because it is not designed for this purpose (although it allows to evaluate the altered aspects in depression) and gives excessive weight to somatic aspects that can be confused with independent medical problems.In addition, in its original version it does not include elements as relevant as anhedonia (since it was developed before the emergence of the DSM-III diagnostic criteria).

Bibliographic references

  • Hamilton, M. (1960). A rating scale for depression. J Neurol Neurosurg Psychiatry, 23: 56-62.
  • NICE (2004). Depression: management of depression in primary and secondary care- NICE guidance.
  • Purriños, M.J. (s.f.) Hamilton Scale - Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HDDRS). Served of Epidemioloxía. Directorate Xeral de Saúde Pública. Galego de Saúde service.
  • Sanz, L.J. and Álvarez, C. (2012). Evaluation in Clinical Psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR. 05. CEDE: Madrid.

Hamilton Depression Scale (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hamilton Depression Scale: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment ça marche

Hamilton Depression Scale: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment ça marche

Août 27, 2022

Si nous parlons de dépression, nous parlons de l’un des troubles mentaux les plus répandus et connu dans le monde, causant beaucoup de souffrances à ceux qui en souffrent. Au cours de l'histoire, de nombreux outils et instruments sont apparus pour évaluer l'existence et les conséquences de ce problème. L'un d'eux est la Hamilton Depression Scale .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Psychométrie: étudier l'esprit humain à l'aide de données"

L'échelle de dépression de Hamilton: principales caractéristiques

La Hamilton Depression Scale est un instrument d'évaluation conçu par Max Hamilton et publié en 1960, créé dans le but de servir de méthode de détecter la gravité des symptômes de dépression chez des patients préalablement diagnostiqués , ainsi que l’existence de changements dans l’état du patient au fil du temps. Ainsi, ses principaux objectifs sont l’évaluation de cette gravité, l’évaluation des effets de traitements éventuels sur chacun des composants qu’elle évalue et la détection des récidives.


Cela signifie que l'échelle de dépression de Hamilton n'est pas destinée au diagnostic, mais à l'évaluation de l'état des patients ayant déjà reçu un diagnostic de dépression majeure. Cependant, bien que ce soit son objectif initial, il a également été utilisé pour évaluer la présence de symptômes dépressifs dans d'autres problèmes et conditions, tels que les démences.

Structure et score

Cet instrument comprend 22 articles. (bien que la version initiale comprenait 21 et plus tard une version réduite de 17 a également été élaborée), regroupée en six facteurs principaux. Ces éléments consistent en un élément que le sujet doit évaluer sur une échelle allant de zéro à quatre points. Parmi ces éléments, on trouve principalement différents symptômes de dépression, tels que des sentiments de culpabilité, de suicide, d'agitation, des symptômes génitaux ou une hypocondrie, qui seront évalués en fonction des six facteurs susmentionnés.


Plus précisément, les facteurs en question sont l'évaluation de l'anxiété somatique, du poids (n'oubliez pas que la dépression est fréquente en présence de troubles de l'alimentation), des troubles cognitifs, des variations diurnes (en cas de détérioration diurne, par exemple). , ralentissement et troubles du sommeil. Cependant Tous ces facteurs ne sont pas d'égale importance , les différents aspects ayant un poids différent et étant pondérés différemment dans le score (par exemple, l'altération cognitive et le ralentissement ont plus de valeur et moins l'agitation et l'insomnie).

C'est une échelle initialement proposée pour être appliquée à l'extérieur par un professionnel, bien qu'il soit également possible de la renseigner par le même sujet évalué. En plus de la balance elle-même, qui est remplie lors d’un entretien clinique, Des informations externes peuvent également être utilisées, telles que des informations de parents ou l'environnement en complément.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Y at-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

D'interprétation

L'interprétation de ce test est relativement simple. Le score total varie entre 0 et 52 points (c’est le score maximum), la plupart des items ayant cinq réponses possibles (de 0 à 4), à l’exception de certains éléments de pondération plus faible (de 0 à 2)

Ce score total a différents points de coupure, considérant 0-7 que le sujet ne présente pas de dépression, qu'un score de 8-13 suppose l'existence d'une dépression légère, de 14-18 une dépression modérée, de 91 à 22 d'un grave et plus de 23 très grave et à risque de suicide.

Au moment d'évaluer non pas la gravité de la dépression, mais l'existence de modifications dues à différents aspects, y compris un traitement possible , il faut tenir compte du fait qu’on considère qu’il ya eu une réponse s’il y avait une diminution d’au moins 50% du score initial et une rémission avec des scores inférieurs à 7.

Avantages et inconvénients

Contrairement à d’autres tests évaluant la symptomatologie dépressive, L’échelle de dépression de Hamilton présente l’avantage d’évaluer des éléments non cognitifs que les autres échelles ne prennent généralement pas en compte, en plus des sujets analphabètes ou avec d’autres altérations.

Cependant, il présente également certains inconvénients: techniquement, il ne permet pas le diagnostic car il n’est pas conçu à cette fin (bien qu’il permette d’évaluer les aspects altérés de la dépression) et accorde une importance excessive aux aspects somatiques pouvant être confondus avec des problèmes médicaux indépendants.De plus, dans sa version originale, il ne contient pas d'éléments aussi pertinents que l'anhédonie (car il a été développé avant l'apparition des critères de diagnostic du DSM-III).

Références bibliographiques

  • Hamilton, M. (1960). Une échelle de notation pour la dépression. J Neurol Neurosurg Psychiatry, 23: 56-62.
  • NICE (2004). Dépression: gestion de la dépression dans les soins primaires et secondaires - Orientation NICE.
  • Purriños, M.J. (par exemple) Échelle de Hamilton - Échelle d'évaluation de la dépression de Hamilton (HDDRS). Servi d'épidémioloxie. Direction Xeral de Saúde Pública. Service Galego de Saúde.
  • Sanz, L.J. et Álvarez, C. (2012). Évaluation en psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR. 05. CEDE: Madrid.

Myron C. Fagan - Les Illuminati et le CFR (1967) (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes