yes, therapy helps!
Hans Eysenck: summary biography of this famous psychologist

Hans Eysenck: summary biography of this famous psychologist

June 21, 2024

Hans Eysenck was a German-English psychologist well known for his theories about personality . He has gone down in history as one of the most influential figures in modern psychology and his theories are still being discussed and used by psychologists and other experts in human behavior.

In this article we review the life of this psychologist from a very short biography of Hans Eysenck , detailing some characteristics of his life and work.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Hans Eysenck: biography of one of the fathers of modern psychology

Hans Eysenck was born on March 4, 1916 in Berlin, Germany. He grew up and lived in that city until the year 1934, when he was forced to take refuge first in France and then in the United Kingdom by the Nazi regime.


His parents were actors, that when they separated and faced the conditions of the country, they moved to France. Eysenck grew up with his maternal grandmother, Frau Werner, with whom he had a free education and full of intellectual and cultural stimuli. He quickly stood out as a good student and even a good athlete.

Finally he had to emigrate and was in London where he began to study psychology (at the University of London). In the same city, he worked as a clinical psychologist and even worked in the Institute of Psychiatry.

Hans Eysenck is credited with having built one of the strongest personality paradigms in the history of psychology. There are those who even consider him "the father of psychology".


  • You may be interested: "Eysenck's Theory of Personality: the PEN model

His fields of work and research

While a student, Eysenck participated in various meetings and reviews of intelligence theories. Along with some American intellectuals, He also developed therapy options other than psychodynamics, which was the most popular at the time.

He also realized that psychology as a science was in the background with respect to psychiatry. Eysenck remained interested in claiming the status of the first and seeking cooperation between them.

In the same way remained critical to the diagnoses made by psychiatry . I saw many contradictions and difficulties to defend them theoretically. From these experiences he developed his own model of personality, recovering many of the approaches of philosophy and more classical psychology.


Beyond measuring the personality, insisted on the value of knowing it, and interested in solving the problem of the taxonomy used in psychiatry, Eysenck argued that the personality does not occur in the continuous normality-neurosis-psychosis, but that the dimensions that best represent this are neuroticism and psychoticism .

From this he made studies with many of the people with whom he worked as a clinical psychologist, people who had some psychiatric diagnosis and people who did not. After analyzing the data, he proposed two key factors for personality: neuroticism and extraversion.

Years later and from new studies, add a new new dimension: psychoticism. Finally I present a hierarchically organized model in four levels ranging from personality types and their features, to the specific answers that correspond to each one. This work gave shape to what is known as the personality PEN model .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The theories of human intelligence"

From personality to intelligence

Through his studies, Eysenck developed the famous model of psychotic personality-extraversion-neuroticism, with biological factors for each one, that is, highlighting the role of genetic inheritance in the development of personality. For example, He argued that psychological differences and their hereditary determinants can be tested empirically. .

This was what finally led him to develop research on issues related to personality, but that go a little further, such as intelligence, creativity, the relationship between genes and culture, crime, sexuality, the relationship between personality and diseases or addictions, among others.

Many of his studies on Intellectual Quotient and its relationship with cultural systems received many criticisms. For example, his theories have been used both to justify racial dynamics and to refute them.

His latest studies focused on the analysis of creativity and its relationship with biological factors. Y his personality model has been adapted to numerous psychometric tests to evaluate both intelligence and personality traits. Currently they are used in the clinical, educational, vocational and work areas.

Outstanding works

Among his most important works are: Personality Structure and Measurement of 1969 (Structures of personality and measurement), The Structure of Human Personality of 1970 (The structure of the human personality), Genes, Culture and Personality of 1989 (Genes, Culture and Personality).

On the specific relationship between intelligence, personality and biology, some of his most important works are The Biological Basis of Personality of 1967 (The biological basis of personality) and Personality, Genetics and Behavior of 1982 (Personality, genetics and behavior).

Bibliographic references:

  • Schmidt, V., Oliván, M.E., L, F. et al (2008). Hans Jürgen Eysenck. Life and Work of one of the most influential scientists in the history of psychology. Advances in Latin American Psychology / Bogotá (Colombia), 26 (2): 304-317.

Measuring Personality: Crash Course Psychology #22 (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hans Eysenck: biographie de synthèse de ce célèbre psychologue

Hans Eysenck: biographie de synthèse de ce célèbre psychologue

Janvier 22, 2023

Hans Eysenck était un psychologue allemand-anglais bien connu pour ses théories sur la personnalité . Il est entré dans l'histoire comme l'une des figures les plus influentes de la psychologie moderne et ses théories sont toujours discutées et utilisées par des psychologues et d'autres experts en comportement humain.

Dans cet article, nous passons en revue la vie de ce psychologue de une très courte biographie de Hans Eysenck , détaillant certaines caractéristiques de sa vie et de son travail.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Hans Eysenck: biographie d'un des pères de la psychologie moderne

Hans Eysenck est né le 4 mars 1916 à Berlin, en Allemagne. Il a grandi et vécu dans cette ville jusqu'en 1934, date à laquelle il fut contraint de se réfugier d'abord en France, puis au Royaume-Uni par le régime nazi.


Ses parents étaient des acteurs qui, lorsqu'ils se sont séparés et ont fait face aux conditions du pays, ils sont partis en France. Eysenck a grandi avec sa grand-mère maternelle, Frau Werner, avec qui il a eu une éducation gratuite et plein de stimuli intellectuels et culturels. Il s'est rapidement démarqué en tant que bon élève et même bon athlète.

Finalement, il devait émigrer et était à Londres où il commença à étudier la psychologie (à l'Université de Londres). Dans la même ville, il a travaillé comme psychologue clinicien et a même travaillé à l'Institut de psychiatrie.

On attribue à Hans Eysenck l’un des paradigmes de personnalité les plus puissants de l’histoire de la psychologie. Certains le considèrent même comme "le père de la psychologie".


  • Cela peut vous intéresser: "Théorie de la personnalité d’Eysenck: le modèle PEN

Ses domaines de travail et de recherche

En tant qu'étudiant, Eysenck a participé à diverses réunions et revues de théories du renseignement. Avec certains intellectuels américains, Il a également développé des options de thérapie autre que la psychodynamique, qui était la plus populaire à l'époque.

Il s'est également rendu compte que la psychologie était une science en arrière-plan en ce qui concerne la psychiatrie. Eysenck reste intéressé à revendiquer le statut de premier et à rechercher une coopération entre eux.

Dans le même sens reste critique pour les diagnostics posés par la psychiatrie . J'ai vu beaucoup de contradictions et de difficultés pour les défendre théoriquement. À partir de ces expériences, il développe son propre modèle de personnalité, récupérant de nombreuses approches de la philosophie et de la psychologie plus classique.


Au-delà de la mesure de la personnalité, insisté sur l'intérêt de la connaître et intéressé à résoudre le problème de la taxonomie utilisée en psychiatrie, Eysenck a soutenu que la personnalité ne se produit pas dans la normalité continue - névrose - psychose, mais les dimensions qui représentent le mieux ce sont le neuroticism et le psychoticism .

À partir de cela, il a mené des études auprès de nombreuses personnes avec lesquelles il avait travaillé en tant que psychologue clinicien, de personnes avec un diagnostic psychiatrique et d’autres. Après avoir analysé les données, il a proposé deux facteurs clés pour la personnalité: le neuroticisme et l’extraversion.

Des années plus tard et de nouvelles études, ajoutent une nouvelle dimension: le psychoticisme. Enfin, je présente un modèle organisé de manière hiérarchique en quatre niveaux, allant des types de personnalité et de leurs caractéristiques aux réponses spécifiques correspondant à chacun. Ce travail a donné forme à ce qu'on appelle le modèle de personnalité PEN .

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Les théories de l'intelligence humaine"

De la personnalité à l'intelligence

Au travers de ses études, Eysenck a développé le célèbre modèle de personnalité psychotique - extraversion - neurotic, avec des facteurs biologiques pour chacun, c'est-à-dire mettant en évidence le rôle du patrimoine génétique dans le développement de la personnalité. Par exemple, Il a soutenu que les différences psychologiques et leurs déterminants héréditaires peuvent être testés empiriquement. .

C’est ce qui l’a finalement conduit à développer des recherches sur des questions liées à la personnalité, mais qui vont un peu plus loin, telles que l’intelligence, la créativité, les relations entre gènes et culture, le crime, la sexualité, les relations entre personnalité et maladies ou addictions, entre autres.

Nombre de ses études sur le quotient intellectuel et ses relations avec les systèmes culturels ont suscité de nombreuses critiques. Par exemple, ses théories ont été utilisées à la fois pour justifier les dynamiques raciales et pour les réfuter.

Ses dernières études portaient sur l'analyse de la créativité et ses relations avec les facteurs biologiques. Y son modèle de personnalité a été adapté à de nombreux tests psychométriques évaluer à la fois l'intelligence et les traits de personnalité. Actuellement, ils sont utilisés dans les domaines clinique, éducatif, professionnel et professionnel.

Œuvres en vedette

Parmi ses œuvres les plus importantes figurent: Structure de la personnalité et mesure de 1969 (Structures de personnalité et de mesure), La structure de la personnalité humaine de 1970 (La structure de la personnalité humaine), Gènes, culture et personnalité de 1989 (gènes, culture et personnalité).

Sur la relation spécifique entre intelligence, personnalité et biologie, certains de ses travaux les plus importants sont La base biologique de la personnalité de 1967 (La base biologique de la personnalité) et Personnalité, génétique et comportement de 1982 (personnalité, génétique et comportement).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Schmidt, V., Oliván, M.E., L, F. et al (2008). Hans Jürgen Eysenck. Vie et travail d'un des scientifiques les plus influents de l'histoire de la psychologie. Advances in Latin American Psychology / Bogota (Colombie), 26 (2): 304-317.

Corto Documental: Evaluación de rasgos de personalidad. (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes