yes, therapy helps!
Harpaxophobia (fear of being robbed): symptoms, causes and treatment

Harpaxophobia (fear of being robbed): symptoms, causes and treatment

September 27, 2022

Harpaxophobia is the persistent fear of thieves . It is a circumstance that, when cataloged as a phobia, implies the possibility that the assault experience provokes an irrational fear. But can this be considered an unjustified fear? Is it a specific phobia or is it rather an experience that accompanies more complex social discomforts?

We will see below how harpaxophobia can be defined and what elements accompany it.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Harpaxophobia: fear of thieves

The term "harpaxofobia" is derived from Latin "harpax" which means "thief" or "he who steals"; and also from the Greek word "phobos" which means fear. Thus, Harpaxophobia is the persistent and intense fear of thieves, as well as living an experience of theft.


It would be a fear that is activated by a specific stimulus: the possibility of someone around us can steal something . But, for someone to perform this act, it is necessary that circumstances allow it: in principle it must be in a place where the theft can go unnoticed (a very lonely space, or a space with a large number of people).

On the other hand, many of the robberies, although committed by a single person, may be covered or supported by several other people. If coupled with this, it is a moment in which our attention is dispersed or focused on a specific activity, or else, we find ourselves in an important situation of defenselessness regarding the possible aggressors , the whole circumstance turns in favor that represent a potential risk for our belongings or our physical integrity.


Having said that, we can see that harpaxophobia is not only the fear that a person steals from us, but a whole circumstance that implies the real or perceived possibility of suffering an assault or direct aggression. In this, several elements are mixed, which have to do with our previous experiences, direct or indirect to violence, our imaginary about who may be potential aggressors, our difficulties to develop in certain public spaces, among others.

In this sense, harpaxophobia could be categorized as a specific phobia of situational type , following the criteria of specific phobias manuals. However, harpaxophobia has not been studied or considered as such by experts in psychology and psychopathology. This may be because, far from being a disorder, the persistent and intense fear of an assault is rather an overadaptive response generated in the face of constant exposure to violence, either directly or indirectly.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 11 types of violence (and the different kinds of aggression)"

Main symptoms of specific phobias

The main symptoms of specific phobias are caused by the activation of the autonomic nervous system, which acts in the presence of a stimulus perceived as harmful. This system is responsible for regulating our involuntary motor responses, which prepares us to avoid possible harm, whether by fleeing, hiding, exercising physical resistance, among others.

We generate a series of physiological reactions. For example, the increase in the speed of palpitations, hyperventilation, sweating, decreased digestive activity , among other. All this while we process at a high speed the information about the threatening event. The latter is the typical picture of anxiety, and in cases of greater exposure to the stimulus, it can be transformed into a panic attack, which is more frequent in situational-specific phobias.

On the other hand, the level of anxiety experienced depends to a great extent on the stimulus caused by the phobia. That is, it depends on the degree of danger it represents, as well as on the safety signals that the stimulus itself can offer.

In the case of harpaxophobia, the experience of anxiety can increase significantly in contexts where the probability of suffering an assault is higher (going through a dark street alone, carrying a significant amount of money or elements of high economic value). , to cross a neighborhood that is generally conflictive or too touristy, etc.).

To this last, other elements are added, such as the mood of the person (which may cause greater susceptibility), and the perceived chances of fleeing or receiving help if necessary.

Possible causes

Specific phobias are acquired experiences, which means that they are generated by associations constantly reinforced on a stimulus and the dangers associated with this . Three of the most popular explanatory models of such associations are classical conditioning, vicarious learning and the transmission of information.

Likewise, three of the most important elements for the consolidation of a specific phobia are the following (Bados, 2005):

  • The severity and frequency of direct negative experiences with the stimulus , which in this case would have been stolen earlier.
  • Having had fewer previous safe experiences, related to harmful stimuli. In the case of harpaxophobia, it may be, for example, not having crossed the same place without having been assaulted.
  • Related to the above, the third element is no have been exposed to the harmful situation in other conditions after the negative experience .

In this sense, harpaxophobia can develop through direct or indirect exposure to violence. That is, after having been assaulted, or having witnessed one, or knowing someone who has suffered. The latter can easily translate into a constant sense of threat, generating avoidance behaviors towards places that represent a risk, as well as defensive behaviors to prevent assaults, especially in places that have high crime rates.

Thus, it can hardly be defined as a disproportionate response, given that the stimulus that provokes it (a theft) is potentially harmful to physical and emotional integrity, with which, the avoidance behaviors and the anxiety response are rather a set of adaptive and proportional responses to the stimulus .

If such responses are generalized and prevent the person from performing their daily activities regularly, or negatively impact their interpersonal relationships, or provoke a generalized anxiety experience, then it may not be harpaxophobia, but an experience of more complex discomfort. For example, an experience related to social interactions or open spaces, and of which, the fear of thieves only forms a part.

Treatment

Once this is explored and determined, there are different emotional accompaniment strategies that can be used to reduce prolonged and intense anxiety .

The latter will not necessarily remove the fear of thieves, as this may be counterproductive, but may minimize deeper fears (such as certain social interactions), and at the same time maintain self-care strategies. In these cases, it is advisable to go to psychotherapy to learn how to manage stress levels and recover autonomy.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bados, A. (2005). Specific phobias Faculty of Psychology. Department of personality, evaluation and psychological treatments. University of Barcelona. Retrieved September 17, 2018.
  • Harpaxophobia. (2017). Common-Phobias.com. Retrieved September 17, 2018. Available at //common-phobias.com/Harpaxo/phobia.htm

Hypnosis Training Podcast #122: Q & A, Self-Hypnosis, Guaranteeing Sessions and More (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Harpaxophobia (peur d'être volé): symptômes, causes et traitement

Harpaxophobia (peur d'être volé): symptômes, causes et traitement

Juillet 26, 2022

L'harpaxophobie est la peur persistante des voleurs . C'est une circonstance qui, lorsqu'elle est cataloguée comme une phobie, implique la possibilité que l'expérience d'agression provoque une peur irrationnelle. Mais cela peut-il être considéré comme une peur injustifiée? Est-ce une phobie spécifique ou est-ce plutôt une expérience qui accompagne des malaises sociaux plus complexes?

Nous verrons ci-dessous comment définir l'harpaxophobie et quels éléments l'accompagnent.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Harpaxophobia: peur des voleurs

Le terme "harpaxofobia" vient du latin "harpax" qui signifie "voleur" ou "celui qui vole"; et aussi du mot grec "phobos" qui signifie peur. Ainsi, l'harpaxophobie est la peur persistante et intense des voleurs, ainsi que l'expérience du vol.


Ce serait une peur qui est activée par un stimulus spécifique: la possibilité que quelqu'un autour de nous puisse voler quelque chose . Mais, pour que quelqu'un puisse accomplir cet acte, il est nécessaire que les circonstances le permettent: en principe, ce doit être dans un endroit où le vol peut passer inaperçu (un espace très isolé ou un espace avec un grand nombre de personnes).

Par ailleurs, bon nombre des vols qualifiés, bien que commis par une seule personne, peuvent être couverts ou soutenus par plusieurs autres personnes. Si couplé à cela, c’est un moment où notre attention est dispersée ou focalisée sur une activité spécifique, sinon nous nous retrouvons dans une situation de grande impuissance face aux agresseurs possibles , toute la situation tourne en faveur qui représentent un risque potentiel pour nos biens ou notre intégrité physique.


Cela dit, nous pouvons voir que l’harpaxophobie n’est pas seulement la peur qu’une personne nous vole, mais toute une circonstance qui implique la possibilité réelle ou perçue de subir une agression ou une agression directe. En cela, plusieurs éléments sont mélangés, qui ont trait à nos expériences précédentes, directes ou indirectes à la violence, à notre imaginaire sur les agresseurs potentiels, à nos difficultés à se développer dans certains espaces publics, entre autres.

En ce sens, l’harpaxophobie pourrait être classée dans la catégorie une phobie spécifique de type situationnel , en suivant les critères de manuels de phobies spécifiques. Cependant, l'harpaxophobie n'a pas été étudiée ni considérée en tant que telle par des experts en psychologie et en psychopathologie. Cela peut être dû au fait que, loin d'être un désordre, la peur persistante et intense d'une agression est plutôt une réponse suradaptive générée face à une exposition constante à la violence, directement ou indirectement.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 11 types de violence (et les différents types d'agression)"

Principaux symptômes de phobies spécifiques

Les principaux symptômes de phobies spécifiques sont dus à l'activation du système nerveux autonome, qui agit en présence d'un stimulus perçu comme étant néfaste. Ce système est responsable de la régulation de nos réponses motrices involontaires, ce qui nous prépare à éviter tout dommage, que ce soit en fuyant, en se cachant, en exerçant une résistance physique, entre autres.

Nous générons une série de réactions physiologiques. Par exemple, l’augmentation de la vitesse de palpitations, hyperventilation, transpiration, diminution de l'activité digestive , entre autres. Tout cela pendant que nous traitons à grande vitesse les informations relatives à l'événement menaçant. Ce dernier est l’image typique de l’anxiété et, en cas d’exposition accrue au stimulus, il peut être transformé en une attaque de panique, qui est plus fréquente dans les phobies liées à une situation donnée.

D'autre part, le niveau d'anxiété ressenti dépend dans une large mesure du stimulus provoqué par la phobie. Cela dépend du degré de danger qu’il représente ainsi que des signaux de sécurité que le stimulus lui-même peut offrir.

Dans le cas de l'harpaxophobie, l'expérience de l'anxiété peut augmenter de manière significative dans des contextes où la probabilité de subir une agression est plus élevée (traverser une rue sombre, emportant une somme d'argent importante ou des éléments de grande valeur économique). traverser un quartier généralement conflictuel ou trop touristique, etc.).

A ce dernier, d'autres éléments sont ajoutés, tels que l'humeur de la personne (ce qui peut causer une plus grande susceptibilité), et les chances perçues de fuir ou de recevoir de l’aide si nécessaire.

Causes possibles

Les phobies spécifiques sont des expériences acquises, ce qui signifie qu'elles sont générées par des associations constamment renforcé sur un stimulus et les dangers associés à cette . Trois des modèles explicatifs les plus populaires de ces associations sont le conditionnement classique, l'apprentissage par procuration et la transmission d'informations.

De même, trois des éléments les plus importants pour la consolidation d'une phobie spécifique sont les suivants (Bados, 2005):

  • La gravité et la fréquence des expériences négatives directes avec le stimulus , qui dans ce cas aurait été volé plus tôt.
  • Avoir eu moins d'expériences sûres antérieures liées à des stimuli nuisibles. Dans le cas de l'harpaxophobie, il peut s'agir, par exemple, de ne pas avoir traversé le même lieu sans avoir été agressé.
  • En lien avec ce qui précède, le troisième élément est non ont été exposés à la situation dommageable dans d'autres conditions après l'expérience négative .

En ce sens, l'harpaxophobie peut se développer par l'exposition directe ou indirecte à la violence. C'est-à-dire après avoir été agressé, avoir été témoin ou avoir connu quelqu'un qui a souffert. Ces derniers peuvent facilement se traduire par un sentiment constant de menace, générant des comportements d'évitement envers les lieux à risque, ainsi que des comportements défensifs visant à prévenir les agressions, en particulier dans les lieux à fort taux de criminalité.

Ainsi, il peut difficilement être défini comme une réponse disproportionnée, étant donné que le stimulus qui le provoque (un vol) est potentiellement préjudiciable à l’intégrité physique et émotionnelle, avec laquelle les comportements d’évitement et la réponse anxieuse sont plutôt un ensemble de réponses adaptatives et proportionnelles au stimulus .

Si de telles réponses sont généralisées et empêchent la personne d'effectuer ses activités quotidiennes régulièrement, ou ont un impact négatif sur ses relations interpersonnelles, ou provoquent une expérience d'anxiété généralisée, il ne s'agit peut-être pas d'une harpaxophobie, mais d'une expérience. d'inconfort plus complexe. Par exemple, une expérience liée à des interactions sociales ou à des espaces ouverts et dont la peur des voleurs n’est qu’une partie.

Traitement

Une fois que cela est exploré et déterminé, différentes stratégies d’accompagnement émotionnel peuvent être utilisées pour: réduire l'anxiété prolongée et intense .

Ce dernier ne supprimera pas nécessairement la peur des voleurs, car cela peut être contre-productif, mais peut minimiser les peurs les plus profondes (telles que certaines interactions sociales), tout en maintenant des stratégies de soins personnels. Dans ces cas, il est conseillé de suivre une psychothérapie pour apprendre à gérer le niveau de stress et à recouvrer son autonomie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bados, A. (2005). Phobies spécifiques École de psychologie Département de personnalité, d'évaluation et de traitements psychologiques. Université de Barcelone. Récupéré le 17 septembre 2018.
  • Harpaxophobia. (2017). Phobias commun.com. Récupéré le 17 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //common-phobias.com/Harpaxo/phobia.htm.

Harpaxophobia (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes