yes, therapy helps!
Having more sex does not translate into greater happiness, says a study

Having more sex does not translate into greater happiness, says a study

May 9, 2021

It is very easy and intuitive to relate the amount of sex you have with the levels of happiness we experience . It seems common sense to think that sexual satisfaction plays an important role in human psychology and to the degree to which we are content with life; Even one of the first references in the history of psychology, Sigmund Freud, gave human sexuality a leading role in the development of our personality.

In addition, as we saw in another article, we know that during sexual relations several strategic areas of our body begin to emit and to capture a greater amount of hormones related to the feeling of well-being and the creation of affective bonds that make us feel good. Even from evolutionary psychology, we talk about the origin of many innate psychological characteristics in our species, linking their origins to sex!


More quantity of sex, greater happiness. Insurance?

However, science is among other things to test the ideas that common sense gives for confirmed. And, at least in the field of subjective satisfaction with life, it seems that a greater amount of sexual intercourse or has to be equivalent to an increase in perceived happiness .

This is indicated by a study conducted by researchers at Carnegie Mellon University and published in the Journal of Economic Behavior & Organization.

Starting from a simple question

There is a lot of research that indicates that people who feel happier are also those who tend to have more sex than the average. This correlation, like almost all of them, is quite confusing and raises many questions about the way in which perceived happiness and the amount of sex interact: Is happiness the one that leads to a more active sexual life, or vice versa? Or maybe there is a third unknown variable that generates both an increase in happiness levels and the frequency of sexual relations?


Researchers at Carnegie Mellon University were justified in exploring the possible causal relationships that could be found between happiness and the sexual life of people. Specifically, They sought to answer the question of whether more sex increases levels of happiness or not . And they did it in the most crude way possible: recruiting a certain number of couples and assigning them very specific duties, consisting in doubling the frequency with which they used to make love, for 90 days in a row.

The investigation was done well

Of course, these people were not the only ones who participated in the study. In total 64 couples were recruited, but only half had to increase the amount of sex they would have for several months . The rest were given instructions of any kind in the sexual, since it should be part of what is known as control group. All the members of the couples, regardless of whether they had to double the frequency with which they had sex or not, should fill out a series of questionnaires during the three months that the data collection phase lasted.


The questions that appeared in these questionnaires dealt with the levels of happiness perceived, the health habits that were being maintained and the satisfaction found in sex.

The results, somewhat disconcerting

The main conclusion reached through the study was that not only more sex does not give greater happiness, but it can make it decrease . In addition, many of the couples who had to increase the frequency of relationships became significantly less motivated by sex. If level of desire had decreased.

Of course, this does not mean that deliberately increasing sexual activity for three months will always affect us negatively: for example, if instead of focusing on the amount of effort to improve the quality of this, the results could be others.


7 Regrets of my 20's (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Selon une étude, avoir plus de sexe ne signifie pas plus de bonheur

Selon une étude, avoir plus de sexe ne signifie pas plus de bonheur

Septembre 14, 2022

Il est très facile et intuitif de relier la quantité de relations sexuelles que vous avez avec le niveau de bonheur que nous éprouvons. . Il semble logique de penser que la satisfaction sexuelle joue un rôle important en psychologie humaine et dans la mesure où nous nous contentons de la vie; Même l'une des premières références de l'histoire de la psychologie, Sigmund Freud, a attribué à la sexualité humaine un rôle de premier plan dans le développement de notre personnalité.

En outre, comme nous l’avons vu dans un autre article, nous savons que lors des relations sexuelles, plusieurs zones stratégiques de notre corps commencent à émettre et à capter une plus grande quantité d’hormones liées au sentiment de bien-être et à la création de liens affectifs qui nous procurent du bien-être. Même de la psychologie de l'évolution, nous parlons de l'origine de nombreuses caractéristiques psychologiques innées chez notre espèce, liant leurs origines au sexe!


Plus de sexe, plus de bonheur. Assurance?

Cependant, la science sert entre autres à tester les idées que confère le bon sens. Et, au moins dans le domaine de la satisfaction subjective avec la vie, il semble qu'une plus grande quantité de rapports sexuels ou doit être équivalent à une augmentation du bonheur perçu .

Ceci est indiqué par une étude menée par des chercheurs de l'Université Carnegie Mellon et publiée dans le Journal of Economic Behavior & Organization.

À partir d'une simple question

De nombreuses recherches indiquent que les personnes qui se sentent plus heureuses sont aussi celles qui ont tendance à avoir plus de relations sexuelles que la moyenne. Cette corrélation, comme presque toutes, est assez déroutante et soulève de nombreuses questions sur la manière dont le bonheur perçu et la quantité de relations sexuelles interagissent: Le bonheur est-il celui qui mène à une vie sexuelle plus active, ou inversement? Ou peut-être existe-t-il une troisième variable inconnue générant à la fois une augmentation des niveaux de bonheur et la fréquence des relations sexuelles?


Des chercheurs de l’Université Carnegie Mellon ont eu raison d’explorer les relations causales possibles entre le bonheur et la vie sexuelle des personnes. Plus précisément Ils ont cherché à répondre à la question de savoir si plus de sexe augmente les niveaux de bonheur ou pas . Et ils l'ont fait de la manière la plus crue possible: en recrutant un certain nombre de couples et en leur attribuant des tâches très spécifiques, consistant à doubler la fréquence à laquelle ils faisaient l'amour, pendant 90 jours d'affilée.

L'enquête a été bien faite

Bien entendu, ces personnes n'étaient pas les seules à avoir participé à l'étude. Au total, 64 couples ont été recrutés, mais seulement la moitié ont dû augmenter le nombre de rapports sexuels pendant plusieurs mois. . Les autres ont reçu des instructions de toutes sortes sur le plan sexuel, car cela devrait faire partie de ce que l’on appelle groupe de contrôle. Tous les membres des couples, qu’ils soient obligés de doubler la fréquence des rapports sexuels ou non, devraient remplir une série de questionnaires au cours des trois mois qu'a duré la phase de collecte des données.


Les questions qui figurent dans ces questionnaires traitent des niveaux de bonheur perçu, des habitudes de santé maintenues et de la satisfaction trouvée dans le sexe.

Les résultats, quelque peu déconcertants

La principale conclusion tirée de l’étude est que non seulement plus de sexe ne donne pas plus de bonheur, mais cela peut le faire diminuer . En outre, beaucoup de couples qui devaient augmenter la fréquence des relations devenaient nettement moins motivés par le sexe. Si le niveau de désir avait diminué.

Bien entendu, cela ne signifie pas que le fait d'augmenter délibérément une activité sexuelle pendant trois mois nous affectera toujours négativement: par exemple, si au lieu de se concentrer sur les efforts déployés pour améliorer la qualité de cette activité, les résultats pourraient en être d'autres.


77 faits surprenants sur le chiffre 7 (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes