yes, therapy helps!
Hermann Ebbinghaus: biography of this German psychologist and philosopher

Hermann Ebbinghaus: biography of this German psychologist and philosopher

January 25, 2022

Hermann Ebbinghaus is widely known within the world of psychology. This important psychologist and philosopher was one of the first to employ scientific methodology in the study and analysis of a higher cognitive capacity. Ebbinghaus made several contributions to the world of psychology, being especially relevant for being a pioneer in the study of memory.

In this article we are going to see a short biography of Hermann Ebbinghaus .

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Brief biography of Hermann Ebbinghaus

The birth of Hermann Ebbinghaus occurred on January 24, 1850, in the Prussian city of Barmen. Son of the wealthy merchant Carl Ebbinghaus and Julie Ebbinghaus, he was educated in a wealthy environment and in the Lutheran faith. What followed was one of the most remarkable research careers in the history of psychology.


Early years: training and military service

In 1867 a young Hermann Ebbinghaus would begin his university studies at the University of Bonn, interested in history and philology. However, during the course of their studies their interests ended up focusing on philosophy.

In 1870 he had to leave them temporarily to serve in the army in the Franco-Prussian War , after which he would resume his studies. He received his doctorate in philosophy in 1873, having developed a thesis based on the philosophy of the unconscious (from the philosophical approach of Hartmann).

After obtaining his doctorate, Ebbinghaus would make trips to England and France, where continue to form and perform different experiments while working as a tutor. During this time he would know Fechner's work based on psychophysics, convincing himself that it was possible to study the higher mental processes from a scientific and reliable perspective.


Thus, I would begin to be interested in what has turned out to be one of the most important and remarkable contributions of Ebbinghaus in the field of psychology: his studies on memory . In fact, he is considered as the father of the scientific study of memory.

  • You may be interested: "Types of memory: how does memory store the human brain?"

Marriage, offspring and publication of "On Memory"

Personally, in 1884 Ebbinghaus would contract marriage with Adelheid Julia Amalia Görlitz . A year later the son of both, Julius Ebbinghaus, would be born who with time would become an important neo-Kantian philosopher. That same year Ebbinghaus published in 1885 one of his most representative works, "Über das Gedächtnis" ("On memory"), which reflected his studies in this area.

Research on memory, vision and learning

Memory was not the only aspect that Ebbinghaus investigated. In 1890 he would begin to be interested and work on the sense of sight, specifically the perception of color. Together with König he would found the publication Zeitschrift für Psychologie und Physiologie der Sinnesorgane, focused on sensoperception from both a psychological and physiological perspective. In this aspect also highlights the study of optical illusions , discovering that the perception of the size of an object varies according to the size of those around it.


Four years later he would enter into a struggle for the direction of the philosophy department at the University of Berlin, which was awarded to the well-known psychologist Carl Stumpf. After that he would accept a position at the University of Breslau, where he would return to work again in the exploration of memory and learning.

In this last aspect he would also focus to a great extent, trying to investigate while generating a practical use of his research in the educational field. Created the gap test , based on the reading of sentences in which the subject had to fill in the gaps left by the evaluator (first read the complete sentences and then the same but without certain words or groups of words). This test was aimed at assessing intelligence and memory in children.

Death of Ebbinghaus, and legacy

In 1905, he decided to leave the University of Breslau to move to Halle, the city where he would live his last years. Ebbinghaus died in this city on February 26, 1909, as a result of pneumonia .

Throughout his life he made several publications of great interest, and his research and methods continue to be used (albeit modified) to this day for various purposes.He is one of the first psychologists to use scientific methodology to analyze superior cognitive processes, his legacy being broad despite having no disciples or creating currents of thought.

Study of memory and other scientific contributions

These studies would begin after 1878, at which time Hermann Ebbinghaus would begin to carry out various experiments using himself as an experimental subject and applying methodology based on psychophysics. It was usual to use lists of meaningless words or pseudowords , because they allowed to measure in a more objective way the capacity of memorization when not being able to use elements like the meaning to support and facilitate the memory. Generated the words randomly and then memorized them and tried to reproduce them orally.

Soon after, in 1880, he would be appointed assistant professor (somewhat like an associate professor) at the Friedrich-Wilhelm University in Berlin. The results of the different experiments on memory and its subsequent analysis would lead him to elaborate concepts as important and influential as the curve of oblivion and that of learning or the role of the review of the material to learn when maintaining a content in memory.

  • Related article: "What is the curve of oblivion?"

Hermann Ebbinghaus (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hermann Ebbinghaus: biographie de ce psychologue et philosophe allemand

Hermann Ebbinghaus: biographie de ce psychologue et philosophe allemand

Juillet 26, 2022

Hermann Ebbinghaus est largement connu dans le monde de la psychologie. Cet important psychologue et philosophe a été l’un des premiers à employer une méthodologie scientifique dans l’étude et l’analyse d’une capacité cognitive supérieure. Ebbinghaus a apporté plusieurs contributions au monde de la psychologie, en particulier en tant que pionnier de l’étude de la mémoire.

Dans cet article, nous allons voir une courte biographie de Hermann Ebbinghaus .

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Brève biographie de Hermann Ebbinghaus

La naissance de Hermann Ebbinghaus a eu lieu le 24 janvier 1850 à Barmen, une ville prussienne. Fils des riches marchands Carl Ebbinghaus et Julie Ebbinghaus, il a été éduqué dans un environnement riche et dans la foi luthérienne. Ce qui suivit fut l’une des carrières de recherche les plus remarquables de l’histoire de la psychologie.


Premières années: formation et service militaire

En 1867, un jeune Hermann Ebbinghaus débute ses études universitaires à l’Université de Bonn, s’intéressant à l’histoire et à la philologie. Cependant, au cours de leurs études, leurs intérêts ont fini par se concentrer sur la philosophie.

En 1870, il dut les quitter temporairement pour servir dans l'armée dans la guerre franco-prussienne , après quoi il reprendrait ses études. Il a obtenu son doctorat en philosophie en 1873 après avoir développé une thèse basée sur la philosophie de l'inconscient (de l'approche philosophique de Hartmann).

Après avoir obtenu son doctorat, Ebbinghaus se rendrait en Angleterre et en France, où continuer à former et à réaliser différentes expériences tout en travaillant comme tuteur. Pendant ce temps, il connaîtrait le travail de Fechner basé sur la psychophysique, en se persuadant qu'il était possible d'étudier les processus mentaux supérieurs d'un point de vue scientifique et fiable.


Je commencerais donc à m'intéresser à ce qui s'est révélé être l'une des contributions les plus importantes et les plus remarquables d'Ebbinghaus dans le domaine de la psychologie: ses études sur la mémoire . En fait, il est considéré comme le père de l'étude scientifique de la mémoire.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke-t-elle le cerveau humain?"

Mariage, descendance et publication de "On Memory"

Personnellement, en 1884, Ebbinghaus serait contracter mariage avec Adelheid Julia Amalia Görlitz . Un an plus tard, le fils des deux, Julius Ebbinghaus, allait naître et deviendrait avec le temps un philosophe néo-kantien important. La même année, Ebbinghaus publie en 1885 une de ses œuvres les plus représentatives, "Über das Gedächtnis" ("Sur la mémoire"), qui reflète ses études dans ce domaine.

Recherche sur la mémoire, la vision et l'apprentissage

La mémoire n'était pas le seul aspect sur lequel Ebbinghaus avait enquêté. En 1890, il commencerait à s'intéresser et à travailler sur le sens de la vue, en particulier sur la perception de la couleur. Avec König, il fonda la publication Zeitschrift für Psychologie und Physiologie der Sinnesorgane, centré sur la perception du sens tant du point de vue psychologique que physiologique. Dans cet aspect met également en évidence l'étude des illusions d'optique , découvrant que la perception de la taille d’un objet varie en fonction de la taille de ceux qui l’entourent.


Quatre ans plus tard, il s'engageait dans une lutte pour la direction du département de philosophie de l'Université de Berlin, attribué au célèbre psychologue Carl Stumpf. Après cela, il accepterait un poste à l'Université de Breslau, où il retournerait travailler à nouveau dans l'exploration de la mémoire et l'apprentissage.

Dans ce dernier aspect, il s’intéresserait également dans une large mesure, s’efforçant de mener une recherche tout en générant une utilisation pratique de ses recherches dans le domaine de l’éducation. Créé le test d'écart , basé sur la lecture de phrases dans lesquelles le sujet devait combler les lacunes laissées par l’évaluateur (lisez d’abord les phrases complètes puis les mêmes, mais sans certains mots ou groupes de mots). Ce test visait à évaluer l'intelligence et la mémoire chez les enfants.

Mort d'Ebbinghaus et héritage

En 1905, il décide de quitter l'Université de Breslau pour s'installer à Halle, la ville où il vivra ses dernières années. Ebbinghaus décédé dans cette ville le 26 février 1909, des suites d'une pneumonie .

Tout au long de sa vie, il a publié plusieurs publications d’un grand intérêt et ses recherches et méthodes continuent d’être utilisées (bien que modifiées) à ce jour à diverses fins.Il est l'un des premiers psychologues à utiliser une méthodologie scientifique pour analyser des processus cognitifs supérieurs. Son héritage est vaste, même s'il n'a pas de disciples ou qu'il crée des courants de pensée.

Etude de la mémoire et autres contributions scientifiques

Ces études débuteraient après 1878, date à laquelle Hermann Ebbinghaus commencerait à mener diverses expériences, utilisant lui-même le sujet expérimental et appliquant une méthodologie basée sur la psychophysique. C'était habituel d'utiliser listes de mots sans signification ou de pseudo-mots , car ils permettaient de mesurer de manière plus objective la capacité de mémorisation en cas d’incapacité à utiliser des éléments tels que le sens pour supporter et faciliter la mémoire. Généré les mots au hasard, puis les mémorisé et essayé de les reproduire oralement.

Peu de temps après, en 1880, il sera nommé professeur assistant (un peu comme un professeur associé) à l'université Friedrich-Wilhelm de Berlin. Les résultats des différentes expériences sur la mémoire et son analyse ultérieure le conduiraient à élaborer des concepts aussi importants et influents que la courbe de l'oubli et celui de l'apprentissage ou du rôle de la révision du matériel à apprendre lors de la conservation d'un contenu en mémoire.

  • Article connexe: "Quelle est la courbe de l'oubli?"

Hermann Ebbinghaus (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes