yes, therapy helps!
Heroin: symptoms, effects and type of abstinence

Heroin: symptoms, effects and type of abstinence

June 12, 2024

Heroin is classified as a recreational drug due to the euphoric feeling that it produces. It is derived from morphine and its frequent use is associated with tolerance and a strong physical dependence.

It is also one of the types of drugs more harmful than those currently used, and is linked to the transmission of many diseases by the way it is delivered.

  • Related article: "Addiction: disease or learning disorder?"

How does heroin work?

The injected heroin, falls directly into the bloodstream, if smoked down the respiratory tract and there it reaches the blood, goes up to the brain through the blood brain barrier and then the drug comes into contact with the heroin-sensitive receptors , which makes the person feel an intense euphoria.


That is, somehow the heroin is embedded in parts of neurons that are designed to react when coming into contact with substances naturally produced by the body. This generates a chain reaction that affects fully the parts of the brain responsible for the appearance of the sensation of pleasure.

The direct effect of heroin is 3 to 4 hours, but The important thing about this drug is both the effects produced by a dose and the effects of abstinence .

The effects of heroin

Of course, in addition to the feeling of euphoria and well-being that appear just at the time of consumption, heroin produces other effects that are of an adverse nature .


The pain and discomfort of abstinence lasts 3 days, after 12 hours without using the heroin appear nausea and diarrhea, vomiting and breathing problems. Cardiac arrhythmia begins after 24 hours , pain in the bones, lung problems, fevers, general irritation, bad mood, depression, and later only worsens.

The decrease in the level of heroin affects the whole body. Because of its effect, the hypothalamus (responsible for leveling body temperature) stops working well and changes from heat to cold, the nervous system generates tremors in the muscles , they feel nauseous and the diaphragm descends, causing the stomach to contract and vomiting repeatedly.

If the heroin is smoked it causes respiratory problems because the drug produces a mucus that clogs the lungs. With tobacco the same effect occurs, but this mucus is expelled by coughing; In the case of heroin, the drug inhibits the cough reflex and the lungs fill with mucus until the drug disappears. Over time the tissues are damaged and their ability to fight diseases decreases; in this case a pneumonia could be lethal to the consumer.


  • You may be interested: "The disorders induced by drugs and toxic substances"

How is tolerance produced?

The brains of people struggle to maintain a healthy stimulus of chemicals by consuming the drug. Over time, heroin-sensitive receptors stop working, while the brain tries to compensate for the drug flow, little by little heroin produces a diminishing effect and the body needs larger doses to maintain the biochemical balance.

Why does resistance to treatment appear?

When the person is under the effect of heroin, the drug presses the addicted person into the pursuit of self-interest and immediate.

Human beings perform positive activities for survival, such as; eat, have sex, sleep, go to the bathroom, etc. These survival activities cause neurons to release pleasure chemicals in the brain ; the endorphins.

New neuronal pathways are formed in the addict's brain, directly connecting heroin and pleasure. Over time the brain gets confused and begins to consider these shortcuts to pleasure as shortcuts to survival. At that time our nervous system begins to demand the drug over the rest of needs .

It is in this state that heroin is given priority over everything else. This is why we see people choosing the drug over family, work, physical well-being, etc.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Maslow's Pyramid: the hierarchy of human needs"

Treatment for abstinence

When it comes to treating abstinence there is a medicine that has Buprenorphine as a component . Buroprenorphine adheres to the brain receptors to which heroin tends to adhere, removing the need for the drug without producing its effect.

The opposite effect is achieved because the patient ingests it when there is still heroin in the body , Buprenorphine blocks the effect of existing heroin, creating a slump in mood and a significant increase in the effects of abstinence. This is given to the patient when he starts abstinence.

It is important that the patient be honest and take Buroprenorphine when sweating and yawning begin; If I took it before, abstinence only tends to get worse. This must be accompanied by an indispensable medical advice and psychological assistance .


Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome | Cincinnati Children's (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Héroïne: symptômes, effets et type d'abstinence

Héroïne: symptômes, effets et type d'abstinence

Janvier 22, 2022

L'héroïne est classée comme drogue récréative en raison du sentiment euphorique qu'il produit. Il est dérivé de la morphine et son utilisation fréquente est associée à une tolérance et à une forte dépendance physique.

C'est aussi l'un des types de drogues plus nocifs que ceux actuellement utilisés, et est liée à la transmission de nombreuses maladies par la manière dont elle est livrée.

  • Article connexe: "Dépendance: maladie ou trouble d'apprentissage?"

Comment fonctionne l'héroïne?

L’héroïne injectée tombe directement dans la circulation sanguine; si elle est absorbée par les voies respiratoires, elle atteint le sang, monte au cerveau par la barrière hémato-encéphalique puis le médicament entre en contact avec les récepteurs sensibles à l'héroïne , ce qui donne à la personne une euphorie intense.


C'est-à-dire que l'héroïne est en quelque sorte incrustée dans des parties de neurones conçues pour réagir au contact de substances produites naturellement par l'organisme. Cela génère une réaction en chaîne qui affecte pleinement les parties du cerveau responsables de l’apparition de la sensation de plaisir.

L’effet direct de l’héroïne est de 3 à 4 heures, mais L’important dans ce médicament est à la fois les effets produits par une dose et les effets de l’abstinence .

Les effets de l'héroïne

Bien sûr, en plus du sentiment d’euphorie et de bien-être qui apparaît juste au moment de la consommation, l'héroïne produit d'autres effets indésirables .


La douleur et l’inconfort de l’abstinence dure 3 jours. Après 12 heures sans consommation d’héroïne, des nausées et des diarrhées, des vomissements et des problèmes respiratoires apparaissent. L'arythmie cardiaque commence après 24 heures , douleurs dans les os, problèmes de poumon, fièvre, irritation générale, mauvaise humeur, dépression, et ne fait qu'empirer par la suite.

La diminution du niveau d'héroïne affecte tout le corps. En raison de son effet, l'hypothalamus (responsable du nivellement de la température corporelle) cesse de bien fonctionner et passe de la chaleur au froid, le système nerveux génère des tremblements dans les muscles , ils se sentent nauséeux et le diaphragme descend, provoquant une contraction de l’estomac et des vomissements répétés.

Si l'héroïne est fumée, cela cause des problèmes respiratoires, car le médicament produit un mucus obstruant les poumons. Avec le tabac, le même effet se produit, mais ce mucus est expulsé par la toux; Dans le cas de l'héroïne, le médicament inhibe le réflexe de toux et les poumons se remplissent de mucus jusqu'à la disparition du médicament. Au fil du temps, les tissus sont endommagés et leur capacité à lutter contre les maladies diminue; dans ce cas, une pneumonie pourrait être mortelle pour le consommateur.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les désordres induits par les drogues et les substances toxiques"

Comment la tolérance est-elle produite?

Les cerveaux des personnes luttent pour maintenir un stimulant sain de produits chimiques en consommant le médicament. Au fil du temps, les récepteurs sensibles à l'héroïne cessent de fonctionner tandis que le cerveau tente de compenser le flux de drogue, l'héroïne produit peu à peu un effet décroissant et le corps a besoin de doses plus importantes pour maintenir l'équilibre biochimique.

Pourquoi la résistance au traitement apparaît-elle?

Lorsque la personne est sous l'effet de l'héroïne, la drogue pousse la personne dépendante dans la poursuite de son intérêt personnel et immédiat.

Les êtres humains accomplissent des activités positives pour survivre, telles que: manger, faire l'amour, dormir, aller aux toilettes, etc. Ces activités de survie amènent les neurones à libérer des produits chimiques de plaisir dans le cerveau ; les endorphines.

De nouvelles voies neuronales se forment dans le cerveau du toxicomane, reliant directement l'héroïne et le plaisir. Au fil du temps, le cerveau devient confus et commence à considérer ces raccourcis vers le plaisir comme des raccourcis vers la survie. A cette époque notre système nerveux commence à demander le médicament pour le reste des besoins .

C’est dans cet état que l’héroïne a la priorité sur tout le reste. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous voyons des gens choisir le médicament plutôt que la famille, le travail, le bien-être physique, etc.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "La pyramide de Maslow: la hiérarchie des besoins humains"

Traitement pour abstinence

Quand il s'agit de traiter l'abstinence il existe un médicament contenant de la buprénorphine . La buroprenorphine adhère aux récepteurs du cerveau auxquels l'héroïne a tendance à adhérer, éliminant ainsi le besoin du médicament sans produire son effet.

L’effet inverse est obtenu parce que le patient ingère quand il y a encore de l'héroïne dans le corps , La buprénorphine bloque l’effet de l’héroïne existante, créant ainsi une dépression de l'humeur et une augmentation significative des effets de l'abstinence Ceci est donné au patient quand il commence l'abstinence.

Il est important que le patient soit honnête et prenne de la buroprenorphine au début de la transpiration et du bâillement; Si je l'ai déjà pris auparavant, l'abstinence ne fait que s'aggraver. Ceci doit être accompagné d'un indispensable avis médical et assistance psychologique .


A day in the life of a heroin addict (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes