yes, therapy helps!
Highly sensitive people (PAS), a new personality trait?

Highly sensitive people (PAS), a new personality trait?

May 6, 2021

Historically, psychology has based its personality studies on the factors evaluated in the model of the five major traits and other models derived from it. The "Big Five" model defends the existence of five great personality traits that every person possesses and manifests in a certain percentage.

The opening to experience, the responsibility, the extraversion, the cordiality or amiability and the stability are the five traits that are evaluated in this model and in a large number of clinical assessment instruments and screening that have developed later.

The sensitivity and repercussions of not including it within the personality models

But What would happen if another new feature could be added to take into account? We are talking about the sensitivity.


Elaine Aron was a pioneer in investigating this personality trait. She herself, based on her own experiences as a person who manifested the trait and after coming in contact with other people who believed to be highly sensitive, began to investigate about the common characteristics between them and the implications of the manifestation of this sensitivity in their lives With the results of this research, in which he found that around 20% of the population could be included in this category, he coined the term "highly sensitive people" or "PAS".

Characteristics of Highly Sensitive People

Highly sensitive people begin to show signs of such sensitivity from the moment of birth, babies with this trait have a harder time sleeping, they are affected by being surrounded by a lot of stimulation (noise, light, people, etc.), they tend to have more fears and as the child grows up, they usually see great creativity and intuition. Likewise, they are very empathetic minors with the suffering of others, educated, kind and considerate.


They have been observed, too, physiological differential characteristics between SBP and non-SBP babies , such as the fact that highly sensitive children have a higher heart rate and, under stress, their pupils dilate earlier and their vocal cords tighten faster emitting sharper sounds. In addition to all this, at the cerebral level they have a greater activation of the right hemisphere (emotional) and have higher levels of cortisol and norepinephrine (Aron, 1996). Subsequent studies, in which neuroimaging techniques have been used, have also revealed greater activation of the amygdala and frontal lobe.

Empathy, intuition, intrapersonal intelligence ...

In adulthood these traits that have been observed during childhood acquire their maximum expression. PAS people are highly intuitive and emotional, with a great empathy for their own and others' emotions.


They are creative people who are attracted by the arts and knowledge, both at the intellectual level, they have an almost unlimited capacity to learn, even without being aware of it, as well as on a personal level, because they are usually people with a great knowledge of themselves and a very rich inner world , which, at times, make them seem introverted, although it does not have to be that way.

Is it a good idea to include sensitivity in personality models?

Why the importance of recognizing sensitivity as another feature to consider in personality models? The answer is simple. The PAS people who speak of their sensitivity above all make reference to the incomprehension, both personal and of their immediate context, and refer to having felt in a position of minority, of constant struggle against a world that surpasses them, until the moment in which they discover who have this trait and can make a personal reflection from the knowledge of it, identifying and reconciling with their sensitivity.

On the other hand, at a clinical and evaluation level, the group of people who possess the sensitivity trait has been poorly evaluated and diagnosed. They have received inadequate treatments and have been "cataloged" with diagnostic labels that did not correspond to them. During childhood, highly sensitive minors are misdiagnosed with autism spectrum disorders or attention deficit and hyperactivity disorders.

During adolescence, a stage of very intense personal changes for anyone, but even more so for a hypersensitive person who already has difficulty reconciling the internal and external world, may appear problems of depression, isolation or consumption of drugs, which may lead to in depressive, anxiety or addiction disorders in adulthood.And all this, due to the ignorance of the personality trait that defines them, the sensitivity and their lack of inclusion in the explanatory models of the personality.

Bibliographic references:

  • Aron, E. (2006). The gift of sensitivity. 6th Ed. Barcelona, ​​Spain: Editorial Obelisco.

8 Signs You’re a Highly Sensitive Person (HSP) (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Personnes extrêmement sensibles (PAS), un nouveau trait de personnalité?

Personnes extrêmement sensibles (PAS), un nouveau trait de personnalité?

Mai 20, 2019

Historiquement, la psychologie a basé ses études de personnalité sur les facteurs évalués dans le modèle des cinq traits majeurs et dans d’autres modèles dérivés. Le modèle "Big Five" défend l'existence de cinq grands traits de personnalité que chaque personne possède et se manifeste dans un certain pourcentage.

Le ouverture à l'expérience, le la responsabilité, le extraversion, le la cordialité o convivialité et la la stabilité sont les cinq caractères évalués dans ce modèle et dans un grand nombre d'instruments d'évaluation clinique et dépistage qui ont développé plus tard.

La sensibilité et les répercussions de ne pas l'inclure dans les modèles de personnalité

Mais Que se passerait-il si une autre nouvelle fonctionnalité pouvait être ajoutée pour prendre en compte? Nous parlons de la sensibilité.


Elaine Aron a été une pionnière dans la recherche de ce trait de personnalité. Sur la base de ses propres expériences en tant que personne qui a manifesté le trait et après avoir été en contact avec d’autres personnes qui se croyaient très sensibles, elle a commencé à examiner les caractéristiques communes entre elles et les implications de la manifestation de cette sensibilité des vies Avec les résultats de cette recherche, dans laquelle il a constaté qu’environ 20% de la population pourrait être inclus dans cette catégorie, il a inventé le terme "personnes extrêmement sensibles" ou "PAS".

Caractéristiques des personnes très sensibles

Les personnes très sensibles commencent à montrer des signes d'une telle sensibilité dès la naissance, les bébés avec ce trait ont plus de difficulté à dormir, ils sont affectés par une stimulation importante (bruit, lumière, personnes, etc.), ils ont tendance à avoir plus de peurs et, à mesure qu'ils grandissent, ils voient habituellement une grande créativité et l'intuition De même, ce sont des mineurs très empathiques face à la souffrance des autres, instruits, gentils et attentionnés.


Ils ont été observés aussi caractéristiques différentielles physiologiques entre bébés SBP et non-SBP , comme le fait que les enfants très sensibles ont une fréquence cardiaque plus élevée et que, sous l'effet du stress, leurs pupilles se dilatent plus tôt et que leurs cordes vocales se resserrent plus rapidement en émettant des sons plus nets. En plus de tout cela, au niveau cérébral, ils ont une plus grande activation de l'hémisphère droit (émotionnel) et des niveaux plus élevés de cortisol et de noradrénaline (Aron, 1996). Des études ultérieures, dans lesquelles des techniques de neuroimagerie ont été utilisées, ont également révélé une plus grande activation de l'amygdale et du lobe frontal.

Empathie, intuition, intelligence intrapersonnelle ...

À l'âge adulte, ces traits observés durant l'enfance acquièrent leur expression maximale. Les PAS sont très intuitifs et émotifs, avec une grande empathie pour leurs propres émotions et celles des autres.


Ce sont des créateurs attirés par les arts et le savoir, tant au niveau intellectuel qu’ils ont une capacité quasi illimitée d’apprendre, même sans le savoir, aussi bien que sur le plan personnel, car ce sont généralement des gens avec une grande connaissance d'eux-mêmes et un monde intérieur très riche , ce qui, parfois, les fait paraître introvertis, bien que ce ne soit pas nécessairement le cas.

Est-ce une bonne idée d'inclure la sensibilité dans les modèles de personnalité?

Pourquoi est-il important de reconnaître la sensibilité comme un autre élément à prendre en compte dans les modèles de personnalité? La réponse est simple Les PAS qui parlent de leur sensibilité font avant tout référence à l'incompréhension, tant personnelle que de leur contexte immédiat, et se sont sentis en position de minorité, de lutte constante contre un monde qui les dépasse, jusqu'au moment où ils découvrent qui ont ce trait et peuvent faire une réflexion personnelle à partir de la connaissance de celui-ci, en identifiant et en conciliant avec leur sensibilité.

D'autre part, au niveau clinique et de l'évaluation, le groupe de personnes possédant le trait de sensibilité a été mal évalué et mal diagnostiqué. Ils ont reçu des traitements inadéquats et ont été "catalogués" avec des étiquettes de diagnostic qui ne leur correspondaient pas. Au cours de l'enfance, des mineurs très sensibles sont diagnostiqués à tort avec des troubles du spectre autistique ou des troubles de déficit de l'attention et d'hyperactivité.

Au cours de l'adolescence, une phase de changements personnels très intenses pour quiconque, mais plus encore pour une personne hypersensible qui a déjà du mal à concilier le monde interne et externe, peut apparaître des problèmes de dépression, d'isolement ou de consommation de drogues pouvant conduire à: dans les troubles dépressifs, d'anxiété ou de dépendance à l'âge adulte.Et tout cela, du fait de l'ignorance du trait de personnalité qui les définit, de la sensibilité et de leur absence d'inclusion dans les modèles explicatifs de la personnalité.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Aron, E. (2006). Le cadeau de la sensibilité. 6e éd. Barcelone, Espagne: Éditorial Obelisco.

Es-tu Narcissique ? Test de Personnalité et Explication du Narcissisme (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes