yes, therapy helps!
History of psychotherapy and clinical psychology

History of psychotherapy and clinical psychology

August 11, 2022

What we currently understand as psychotherapy has existed since the beginning of time, although it has not always had the same form. However, the fundamental role of the word and the change of habits as methods to achieve mental health have been recognized by most human societies.

In this article we will describe synthetically the history of psychotherapy and clinical psychology . For this we will make a journey that goes from the Ancient Age to the appearance of cognitive-behavioral therapy, the predominant model today.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological therapies"

Psychotherapy throughout the times

In ancient times our ancestors attributed the unexplainable phenomena to the action of supernatural forces such as gods, demons and spirits. Psychic life and mental disorders were no exception.


The Egyptians saw the suggestion as a form of magic that could be used as a complement to medical treatments , and the Greeks believed that physical and mental illnesses depended on the bodily imbalance of four fluids or humors. Similarly, in China, health was understood as the balance between vital forces.

It is believed that the first psychotherapies emerged in the Islamic world . Between the 10th and 12th centuries AD, thinkers and doctors like Abu Zayd al-Balkhi, Zakariya al-Razi and Avicenna introduced the concepts of "mental health" and "psychotherapy" and described a large number of neuropsychological alterations.

The appearance of psychotherapy in Europe was delayed until the Renaissance, since in the Middle Ages the yoke of Christianity blocked advances in this field. For many centuries, mental health problems they were linked to demonic influences . In fact, mesmerism and hypnotherapy, practiced by Mesmer, Puységur or Pussin, were some of the first psychological treatments properly European, in the eighteenth century.


Later the influence of rationalist and empiricist philosophers promoted the consolidation of psychology as a social science . The alienists Pinel and Esquirol were decisive in the development of moral treatment, which defended the rights of psychiatric patients against the abuses of religious "therapies".

Psychoanalysis and scientific psychology

Charcot's studies on hysteria and other neuroses, as well as Janet's work on dissociation, influenced the appearance of the psychoanalytic theory of Sigmund Freud , which postulated that human behavior is determined fundamentally by unconscious factors and by the experiences lived in childhood.

At the same time, at the end of the 19th century, Granville Stanley Hall founded the American Psychological Association (or APA) , which today continues to be the main organization of the profession. Clinical psychology also emerged in this period thanks to Witmer's work with children with learning problems at the University of Pennsylvania.


While Freud's disciples, such as Adler, Jung or Horney, expanded and revised the hypotheses of psychoanalysis, scientific psychology was still developing through the foundation of institutions, departments, clinics and publications on psychology. The United States was established as the nucleus of these developments.

The rise of behaviorism

Although psychoanalysis continued to be strong during the first half of the 20th century, Behaviorism became the predominant orientation in this period. The contributions of Thorndike, Watson, Pávlov and Skinner made observable behavior the focus of psychological analysis and promoted the development of brief behavioral therapies.

Skinner himself devised a number of techniques based on operant conditioning, mainly reinforcement. Wolpe created systematic desensitization, the antecedent of modern exposure therapy, while Eysenck compiled the available evidence on the lack of efficacy of psychoanalysis as a treatment.

Behaviorism was key in the evolution of psychotherapy, but in the 40s and 50s there appeared different perspectives that reacted to behavioral reductionism , which minimized the relevance of thought, emotion and will.

Existentialism, humanism and systemic therapy

The existential psychotherapies of Viktor Frankl, Otto Rank or R. D. Laing arose from psychoanalysis.The same happened with the client-centered therapy of Rogers, which managed to focus the psychotherapeutic interest on the existence of factors common to the different orientations that explain the effectiveness of the therapy.

Carl Rogers and Abraham Maslow were the two pioneers of humanistic psychology. These authors thought that the human being has a natural tendency towards self-realization and personal growth , and defended psychotherapy as a method to help clients develop as people, based on their values. In this humanistic current is also the Gestalt therapy, created by Fritz Perls and Laura Perls in the middle of the century, although it appeared something before Rogers and Maslow developed their ideas.

Later, in the 1960s and 1970s, authors such as Wilhelm Reich and Alexander Lowen popularized body psychotherapies, which claimed the body as the center of human experience. However, their theories were dismissed by the scientific community for its lack of empirical solidity.

Systemic and family therapies they appeared from the 70s with the popularization of the General Systems Theory and the contributions of the Milan School, the Structural School and the Mental Research Institute of Palo Alto. While existentialism and humanism were diluted, systemic therapy was consolidated during the following years.

Cognitivism: return to mind

The cognitive orientation was preceded by George Kelly, who argued that people understand the world through idiosyncratic psychological constructs. However, the inflection point was assumed the therapies of Ellis and Beck, emerged in the 50s and 60s .

Albert Ellis' Rational Emotional Behavioral Therapy (REBT) focused on the technique that would later be known as "cognitive restructuring". For his part, Aaron Beck developed Cognitive Therapy for depression, a highly structured and systematized procedure that served as a model to many other similar therapies.

Although cognitivist therapies emerged independently, in many cases at the hands of authors trained in the psychoanalytic tradition , the truth is that behaviorism and scientific psychology also had a great influence on them. These complementary models ended up converging in cognitive-behavioral therapies.

Recent therapeutic developments

At least since the 80s and 90s of the last century the focus of psychotherapy has been the demonstration of the efficacy of treatments for specific disorders and problems. In this, the American Psychological Association, with a predominantly cognitive-behavioral orientation, has had a great influence.

The turn of the century has also brought a boom of therapeutic eclecticism . Although cognitive-behavioral therapy has been consolidated as a framework for global action, a large number of professionals and interventions have popularized the use of techniques from varied orientations to compensate for the limitations of cognitive-behavioral therapy.

In particular, the importance of emotions and language has been claimed. The combination of the cognitive-behavioral model with the theory of relational frames and with mindfulness meditation, among other techniques, has promoted the emergence of third-generation therapies , which currently solidify as the future of psychotherapy.

  • Related article: "What are third-generation therapies?"

Historical Overview of Professional Counseling (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Histoire de la psychothérapie et de la psychologie clinique

Histoire de la psychothérapie et de la psychologie clinique

Juin 25, 2019

Ce que nous comprenons actuellement comme une psychothérapie existe depuis la nuit des temps, bien qu’elle n’ait pas toujours eu la même forme. Cependant, la plupart des sociétés humaines ont reconnu le rôle fondamental de la parole et le changement des habitudes en tant que méthodes permettant d’atteindre la santé mentale.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire synthétiquement l'histoire de la psychothérapie et de la psychologie clinique . Pour cela, nous allons faire un voyage qui va de l’Ancien Age à l’apparition de la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, le modèle prédominant de nos jours.

  • Article connexe: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Psychothérapie à travers les époques

Dans les temps anciens, nos ancêtres attribuaient les phénomènes inexplicables à l'action de forces surnaturelles telles que les dieux, les démons et les esprits. La vie psychique et les troubles mentaux ne faisaient pas exception.


Les Égyptiens ont vu la suggestion comme une forme de magie pouvant être utilisée en complément des traitements médicaux et les Grecs pensaient que les maladies physiques et mentales dépendaient du déséquilibre physique de quatre fluides ou humeurs. De même, en Chine, la santé était comprise comme l’équilibre entre les forces vitales.

Se croit que les premières psychothérapies sont apparues dans le monde islamique . Entre le Xe et le XIIe siècle de notre ère, des penseurs et des médecins tels qu'Abou Zayd al-Balkhi, Zakariya al-Razi et Avicenne ont présenté les concepts de "santé mentale" et de "psychothérapie" et ont décrit un grand nombre d'altérations neuropsychologiques.

L’apparition de la psychothérapie en Europe a été retardée jusqu’à la Renaissance, puisqu’au Moyen Âge, le joug du christianisme a bloqué les progrès dans ce domaine. Depuis des siècles, des problèmes de santé mentale ils étaient liés à des influences démoniaques . En effet, le mesmérisme et l'hypnothérapie, pratiqués par Mesmer, Puységur ou Pussin, ont été parmi les premiers traitements psychologiques proprement européens au XVIIIe siècle.


Plus tard, l'influence des philosophes rationalistes et empiristes a favorisé la consolidation de la psychologie en tant que science sociale . Les aliénistes Pinel et Esquirol ont joué un rôle décisif dans l’instauration d’un traitement moral qui défendait les droits des patients psychiatriques contre les abus des "thérapies" religieuses.

Psychanalyse et psychologie scientifique

Les études de Charcot sur l'hystérie et d'autres névroses, ainsi que les travaux de Janet sur la dissociation, ont influencé l'apparition de la théorie psychanalytique de Sigmund Freud , qui postulait que le comportement humain est déterminé fondamentalement par des facteurs inconscients et par les expériences vécues dans l’enfance.

Dans le même temps, à la fin du 19ème siècle, Granville Stanley Hall a fondé l'American Psychological Association (ou APA) , qui reste aujourd’hui la principale organisation de la profession. La psychologie clinique a également émergé au cours de cette période grâce au travail de Witmer auprès des enfants ayant des problèmes d'apprentissage à l'Université de Pennsylvanie.


Alors que les disciples de Freud, tels que Adler, Jung ou Horney, développaient et révisaient les hypothèses de la psychanalyse, la psychologie scientifique était encore en développement à travers la fondation d'institutions, départements, cliniques et publications sur la psychologie. Les États-Unis ont été établis comme le noyau de ces développements.

La montée du behaviorisme

Bien que la psychanalyse soit restée forte durant la première moitié du 20e siècle, Le comportementalisme est devenu l'orientation prédominante dans cette période. Les contributions de Thorndike, Watson, Pávlov et Skinner ont placé le comportement observable au centre de l'analyse psychologique et ont favorisé la mise au point de thérapies comportementales de courte durée.

Skinner lui-même a mis au point un certain nombre de techniques basées sur le conditionnement opérant, principalement le renforcement. Wolpe a créé la désensibilisation systématique, l'antécédent de la thérapie par exposition moderne, tandis qu'Eysenck a rassemblé les données disponibles sur le manque d'efficacité de la psychanalyse en tant que traitement.

Le comportementalisme a joué un rôle clé dans l’évolution de la psychothérapie, mais dans les années 40 et 50, il est apparu perspectives qui ont réagi au réductionnisme comportemental qui minimise la pertinence de la pensée, de l’émotion et de la volonté.

Existentialisme, humanisme et thérapie systémique

Les psychothérapies existentielles de Viktor Frankl, Otto Rank ou R. D. Laing sont issues de la psychanalyse.La même chose s’est produite avec la thérapie centrée sur le client de Rogers, qui a réussi à concentrer l’intérêt psychothérapeutique sur l’existence de facteurs communs aux différentes orientations qui expliquent l’efficacité de la thérapie.

Carl Rogers et Abraham Maslow ont été les deux pionniers de la psychologie humaniste. Ces auteurs pensaient que l'être humain avait une tendance naturelle à la réalisation de soi et à la croissance personnelle et la psychothérapie de défense en tant que méthode permettant aux clients de se développer en tant que personnes, sur la base de leurs valeurs. La Gestalt-thérapie, créée par Fritz Perls et Laura Perls au milieu du siècle, fait également partie de ce courant humaniste, bien que cela apparaisse bien avant que Rogers et Maslow développent leurs idées.

Plus tard, dans les années 1960 et 1970, des auteurs tels que Wilhelm Reich et Alexander Lowen ont popularisé les psychothérapies corporelles, affirmant que le corps était le centre de l'expérience humaine. Cependant, leurs théories ont été rejetées par la communauté scientifique pour son manque de solidité empirique.

Thérapies systémiques et familiales ils sont apparus à partir des années 70 avec la vulgarisation de la théorie générale des systèmes et les contributions de l'école de Milan, de l'école structurale et de l'Institut de recherche mentale de Palo Alto. Alors que l'existentialisme et l'humanisme étaient dilués, la thérapie systémique s'est consolidée au cours des années suivantes.

Cognitivisme: revenir à l'esprit

George Kelly a précédé l'orientation cognitive en affirmant que les gens comprennent le monde à travers des constructions psychologiques idiosyncratiques. Cependant, le point d'inflexion était supposé les thérapies d'Ellis et Beck, apparues dans les années 50 et 60 .

La thérapie comportementale émotionnelle émotionnelle (REBT) d'Albert Ellis s'est concentrée sur la technique qui sera connue plus tard sous le nom de "restructuration cognitive". Pour sa part, Aaron Beck a développé la thérapie cognitive pour la dépression, une procédure hautement structurée et systématisée qui a servi de modèle à de nombreuses autres thérapies similaires.

Bien que les thérapies cognitivistes soient apparues indépendamment, souvent dans les mains de auteurs formés à la tradition psychanalytique , la vérité est que le behaviorisme et la psychologie scientifique ont également eu une grande influence sur eux. Ces modèles complémentaires ont fini par converger dans les thérapies cognitivo-comportementales.

Développements thérapeutiques récents

Au moins depuis les années 80 et 90 du siècle dernier, l’intérêt de la psychothérapie a été de démontrer l’efficacité des traitements pour des troubles et des problèmes spécifiques. En cela, l’American Psychological Association, avec une orientation essentiellement cognitivo-comportementale, a eu une grande influence.

Le tournant du siècle a également apporté une boom de l'éclectisme thérapeutique . Bien que la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale ait été consolidée en tant que cadre d'action mondiale, un grand nombre de professionnels et d'interventions ont popularisé l'utilisation de techniques issues d'orientations variées pour compenser les limites de la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale.

En particulier, l’importance des émotions et du langage a été revendiquée. La combinaison du modèle cognitivo-comportemental avec la théorie des cadres relationnels et avec la méditation de la pleine conscience, entre autres techniques, a favorisé la émergence de thérapies de troisième génération , qui se solidifient actuellement comme le futur de la psychothérapie.

  • Article connexe: "Que sont les thérapies de troisième génération?"

Enseignement de Psychologie Clinique de René Roussillon Cours 2 [Lyon 2] (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes