yes, therapy helps!
Histrionic personality disorder: what is it?

Histrionic personality disorder: what is it?

July 14, 2024

What is the histrionic personality?

It is often said that someone has a histrionic personality when his behavior presents patterns of showmanship, dramatization and, ultimately, of actions and attitudes that seek to attract the attention of others.

How are the histrionic people?

In order to focus the attention of the people around them, it is usual that individuals with a tendency to histrionics can use strategies like seduction or victimhood.

Histrionics with a tendency to seduction

The histrionic personality that tends to use seduction recurrently is usually well valued by others. In fact, they are people with a good capacity to socially relate, and they usually have good positions in companies thanks to their people skills and loquacity . However, when they are not able to monopolize attention, they are susceptible and tend to victimize, saying they do not feel valued or understood.


The histrionic people they live in a continuous flow of emotions and feelings . They are very emotionally unstable, and therefore their mood fluctuates rapidly; they can go from being happy and laughing to being sad and melancholy.

Discovering Histrionic Personality Disorder

When the personality traits that we associate with histrionics become chronic, they can result in a picture that mental health experts know as Histrionic Personality Disorder .

Traits of Histrionic Personality Disorder

The traits, signs and behaviors characteristic of the Histrionic Personality Disorder are the following:


  • Exaggeratingly "seductive" behavior towards other people. They can assume and take to the extreme certain traditional sexual roles
  • Influential . They tend to get carried away by the opinions and advice of others
  • Very worried about his image and its aesthetics
  • Dramatics . They take emotions to the extreme, both positive and negative
  • Susceptibility . They are excessively vulnerable to criticism from other people
  • They tend to perceive as very close and intimate some personal relationships that are actually superficial
  • Blame others for their own failures or disappointments
  • Permanently seek the approval and trust of others (Wendy's syndrome)
  • Very little tolerance to frustration
  • Episodes of intense emotion, losing control
  • Recurrently seek to be the center of attention
  • Constantly changing mood , without stability

Causes

The histrionic personality usually begins to take shape during childhood, although it is usually noted that It is evidenced during adolescence . There is no single cause of histrionics, but rather a series of factors that can influence: a too absent and attentive parental style, psychological abuse, having suffered scorn and humiliation, or an educational style without clear guidelines and limits.


Other factors, such as low self-esteem, feeling dissatisfied with physical appearance and insecurity can promote this type of personality to be consolidated and maintained.

Practical tips

Living with a person who presents these traits can be complicated.

To try to help him to become aware that his way of acting is dysfunctional, and also to prevent nearby people from also being affected psychologically , we have prepared this list with different points to take into account.

1. Accept reality

Sometimes it can be difficult to accept things as they are. And more if the person near us has behaviors that we do not understand. But nevertheless, this does not mean that we should not act to try to change the situation .

It is important that we take into account that the histrionic personality is not the result of caprice, but rather a dysfunctional and consolidated way of expressing oneself. Of course, we should avoid saying phrases like: "You should not ride these little scenes". For the affected person, their perception of these expressions is not like that. The histrionic person sees nothing unusual in how he expresses his emotions, because they are behaviors that are very consolidated in their personality .

Therefore, we must bear in mind that they are people with serious difficulties to control their emotions and that they have a distorted and unreal perception, something that surely affects them more than we think. It is not a good idea to treat these people in a charitable and compassionate way, since we would be reinforcing his victimist behavior . We have to make them see that we all have our oddities and difficulties in life, and that no one is perfect.

2. Establish clear limits

That we accept his personality does not mean that we do not try to remedy, nor that we should be soft and submissive before the histrionic people.We can be understanding but at the same time establish clear frames: it's no use justifying everything .

We must try to act with moderation and objectivity, and note that we are also worthy of respect. When the histrionic person enters one of his phases of excessive expression of his feelings, we must stay firm, but educated . For example, we can say: "It seems to me that right now you are very upset, in a while I will come back and we can talk about what happened. The situation is bad for me and it is important that we can understand each other "either: "I can not allow you to disrespect me. I respect you and value you, and that's why I do not understand your attitude. The moment you become aware of this, we can talk again about this issue ".

3. Do not fall for certain traps

It is not a good idea to enter your manipulations and games . You must treat these types of people as adults, even though they can show childish behaviors. If you follow the game and act as if you were his father or you put yourself at his level, the relationship ends up entering swampy terrain and neither you nor she earn anything.

If you are able to communicate with this person face to face and with responsibility and tact, he will give up trying to make you play his game.

4. Let's positively reinforce your adult behaviors

When this person behaves in an adult and mature way, you should notice that our attention to her is greater . In the moment in which his habitual histrionic behavior gives way to responsibility and maturity, we must value it and make him notice that we like that.

In fact, it is sometimes easier to discourage dysfunctional behavior positively reinforcing the contrary behavior when it occurs . In summary, you should note that we are dry and sharp (but educated) when behaving in a histrionic way, but that we are nevertheless attentive and positive when it shows adult behaviors.

5. Do not mock or despise

This point is important: we should not laugh or make fun of a person with this problem . Although in many areas of life humor can be a good escape valve and can relativize problems, in the case of histrionic personalities is not advisable since it could have more negative than positive effects.

If you perceive that you despise them and that you do not have them respect, you can be encouraging that their emotions are still more altered. Keep in mind that they are very susceptible people and that it will not help them at all to notice that others mock and treat them without respect.

6. Act with prudence

It is important that We maintain criteria of prudence and responsibility . If we do not, we can go from being angels to demons in a second. Histrionic people tend to move from idealization to hatred towards people close to them.

They follow a logic of extremes. So, we should not feel overly praised when they flatter us , because in a short time it can happen to denigrate us and our feelings will be affected. In an extreme case, if we do not take enough distance with their opinions and evaluations, we may acquire some emotional instability. To avoid this, we need to relativize their opinions about us.

Treatment for the histrionic personality

People who have histrionic personality traits suffer from a series of situations that cause them discomfort and reinforce their dysfunctional behaviors.

The underlying problem is that they do not perceive their behaviors as negative, and therefore they fall victim to and do not go to a mental health professional that can offer them a therapy according to their needs.

Actually, the histrionic people end up going to therapy when the circumstances of their life have worsened or they have suffered some emotional bumping, for example after a sentimental break, by generalized anxiety or by depressive pictures.

Psychotherapists usually agree that, once the therapy has begun, the main stumbling block is usually inconstancy and little commitment to it , with relatively high levels of treatment abandonment within a few weeks.

Bibliographic references:

  • López-Ibor Aliño, Juan J. & Valdés Miyar, Manuel (dir.) (2002). DSM-IV-TR. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Revised text Barcelona: Editorial Masson.
  • Luciano, M.C. (nineteen ninety six). Manual of clinical psychology. Childhood and adolescence Valencia: Promolibro.
  • Millon, Theodore & Davis, Roger D. (1998). Personality disorders. Beyond the DSM-IV. Barcelona: Editorial Masson.
  • Pérez, M., Fernández-Hermida, J.R., Fernández Rodríguez, C. and Amigo, I. (2003). Guide to effective psychological treatments. Madrid: Pyramid.

What's Histrionic Personality Disorder? Mental Health treatment, help & therapy with Kati Morton (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble de la personnalité histrionique: de quoi s'agit-il?

Trouble de la personnalité histrionique: de quoi s'agit-il?

Avril 22, 2019

Quelle est la personnalité histrionique?

On dit souvent que quelqu'un a un personnalité histrionique quand son comportement présente des modèles de la théâtralité, dramatisation et, finalement, de actions et attitudes qui cherchent à attirer l'attention des autres.

Comment sont les gens histrionic?

Pour attirer l’attention des personnes qui les entourent, il est habituel que les personnes ayant une tendance à l’histrionique puissent utiliser des stratégies comme la séduction ou la victimisation.

Histrionics avec une tendance à la séduction

La personnalité histrionique qui a tendance à utiliser la séduction de manière récurrente est généralement bien valorisée par les autres. En fait, il s’agit de personnes ayant une bonne capacité à nouer des relations sociales et ils occupent généralement de bonnes positions dans des entreprises grâce à leurs compétences relationnelles et à leur loquacité . Cependant, quand ils ne peuvent pas monopoliser l'attention, ils sont susceptibles et ont tendance à victimiser, en disant qu'ils ne se sentent pas valorisés ou compris.


Le peuple histrionique ils vivent dans un flux continu d'émotions et de sentiments . Ils sont très instables émotionnellement et, par conséquent, leur humeur fluctue rapidement. ils peuvent passer d’être heureux et rire à être tristes et mélancoliques.

Découverte du trouble de la personnalité histrionique

Lorsque les traits de personnalité que nous associons aux histrioniques deviennent chroniques, ils peuvent donner une image que les experts en santé mentale connaissent Trouble de la personnalité histrionique .

Traits de trouble de la personnalité histrionique

Le traits, signes et comportements Les caractéristiques du trouble de la personnalité histrionique sont les suivantes:


  • Comportement "séducteur" exagéré vers d'autres personnes. Ils peuvent assumer et prendre à l'extrême certains rôles sexuels traditionnels
  • Influent . Ils ont tendance à se laisser emporter par les opinions et les conseils des autres
  • Très inquiet pour son image et son esthétique
  • Le dramatisme . Ils prennent les émotions à la fois positives et négatives
  • La susceptibilité . Ils sont excessivement vulnérables aux critiques des autres
  • Ils ont tendance à percevoir comme très proches et intimes des relations personnelles qui sont en réalité superficielles.
  • Blâmer les autres pour leurs propres échecs ou déceptions
  • Rechercher en permanence l'approbation et la confiance des autres (syndrome de Wendy's)
  • Très peu de tolérance à la frustration
  • Épisodes d’émotion intense, perte de contrôle
  • Cherche régulièrement à être le centre d'attention
  • Changement constant d'humeur , sans stabilité

Les causes

La personnalité histrionique commence généralement à se dessiner pendant l’enfance, bien qu’il soit généralement noté que Il se manifeste à l'adolescence . Il n’existe pas de cause unique de l’histionisme, mais plutôt une série de facteurs pouvant influencer: un style parental trop absent et attentif, des abus psychologiques, le mépris et l’humiliation subis, ou un style éducatif sans directives ni limites claires.


D'autres facteurs, tels que le manque d'estime de soi, le sentiment d'insatisfaction face à l'apparence physique et l'insécurité peuvent favoriser la consolidation et le maintien de ce type de personnalité.

Conseils pratiques

Vivre avec une personne qui présente ces traits peut être compliqué.

Essayer de l’aider à prendre conscience que sa façon d’agir est dysfonctionnelle, mais aussi empêcher les personnes à proximité d'être également affectées psychologiquement , nous avons préparé cette liste avec différents points à prendre en compte.

1. Accepter la réalité

Parfois, il peut être difficile d’accepter les choses telles qu’elles sont. Et plus encore si la personne proche de nous a des comportements que nous ne comprenons pas. Cependant, cela ne signifie pas que nous ne devrions pas agir pour essayer de changer la situation .

Il est important de prendre en compte le fait que la personnalité histrionique n'est pas le résultat d'un caprice, mais plutôt une manière dysfonctionnelle et consolidée de s'exprimer. Bien sûr, nous devrions éviter de dire des phrases comme: "Vous ne devriez pas monter ces petites scènes". Pour la personne touchée, sa perception de ces expressions n’est pas celle-là. La personne histrionique ne voit rien d’inhabituel dans la façon dont il exprime ses émotions, car ce sont des comportements très consolidés dans leur personnalité .

Par conséquent, nous devons garder à l’esprit que ce sont des personnes qui ont de sérieuses difficultés à contrôler leurs émotions et qu’elles ont une perception déformée et irréelle, ce qui les affecte sûrement plus que nous ne le pensons. Ce n’est pas une bonne idée de traiter ces personnes avec charité et compassion, car nous renforcerions son comportement victimiste . Nous devons leur faire comprendre que nous avons tous nos bizarreries et nos difficultés dans la vie et que personne n'est parfait.

2. Établissez des limites claires

Accepter sa personnalité ne signifie pas que nous ne cherchons pas à y remédier, ni que nous devions être doux et soumis devant le peuple histrionique.Nous pouvons être compréhensifs mais en même temps établir des cadres clairs: inutile de tout justifier .

Nous devons essayer d’agir avec modération et objectivité et noter que nous méritons également le respect. Lorsque la personne histrionique entre dans une de ses phases d’expression excessive de ses sentiments, nous devons rester fermes, mais instruits . Par exemple, nous pouvons dire: "Il me semble qu’à l’heure actuelle, vous êtes très contrarié. Dans quelques instants, je reviendrai et nous pourrons parler de ce qui s’est passé. La situation est mauvaise pour moi et il est important que nous puissions nous comprendre "soit: "Je ne peux pas vous permettre de me manquer de respect. Je vous respecte et je vous estime, et c'est pourquoi je ne comprends pas votre attitude. Dès que vous en prendrez conscience, nous pourrons parler de nouveau de ce problème ".

3. Ne tombez pas dans certains pièges

Ce n'est pas une bonne idée d'entrer vos manipulations et vos jeux . Vous devez traiter ces types de personnes comme des adultes, même s'ils peuvent montrer des comportements enfantins. Si vous suivez le jeu et agissez comme si vous étiez son père ou si vous vous mettiez à son niveau, la relation finit par entrer en terrain marécageux et ni vous ni elle ne gagnent rien.

Si vous êtes capable de communiquer avec cette personne face à face, avec responsabilité et tact, elle renoncera à essayer de vous faire jouer.

4. Renforçons positivement vos comportements d'adultes

Quand cette personne se comporte de manière adulte et mature, vous devriez remarquer que notre attention sur elle est plus grande . Au moment où son comportement histrionique habituel cède le pas à la responsabilité et à la maturité, nous devons le valoriser et lui faire remarquer que nous aimons cela.

En fait, il est parfois plus facile de décourager les comportements dysfonctionnels renforcer positivement le comportement contraire quand il se produit . En résumé, il convient de noter que nous nous comportons de manière histrionique et sèche (mais instruite), mais que nous sommes néanmoins attentifs et positifs lorsque nous montrons des comportements d'adultes.

5. Ne pas se moquer ou mépriser

Ce point est important: nous ne devrions pas rire ou se moquer d'une personne avec ce problème . Bien que dans de nombreux domaines de la vie, l’humour puisse être une bonne soupape de sortie et relativiser les problèmes, il n’est pas conseillé dans le cas des personnalités histrioniques, car il pourrait avoir des effets plus négatifs que positifs.

Si vous percevez que vous les méprisez et que vous ne les respectez pas, vous pouvez être encouragé par le fait que leurs émotions sont encore plus altérées. Gardez à l'esprit qu'il s'agit de personnes très susceptibles et que cela ne les aidera pas du tout de remarquer que les autres se moquent et les traitent sans respect.

6. Agir avec prudence

Il est important que Nous maintenons des critères de prudence et de responsabilité . Si nous ne le faisons pas, nous pouvons passer des anges aux démons en une seconde. Les gens histrioniques ont tendance à passer de l'idéalisation à la haine envers leurs proches.

Ils suivent une logique des extrêmes. Pourtant, nous ne devrions pas nous sentir trop félicités quand ils nous flattent , parce que dans peu de temps il peut arriver que nous devenions nous-mêmes et nos sentiments soient affectés. Dans un cas extrême, si nous ne prenons pas assez de distance avec leurs opinions et leurs évaluations, nous pourrions acquérir une certaine instabilité émotionnelle. Pour éviter cela, nous devons relativiser leurs opinions sur nous.

Traitement pour la personnalité histrionique

Les personnes ayant des traits de personnalité histrioniques souffrent d'une série de situations qui les gênent et renforcent leurs comportements dysfonctionnels.

Le problème sous-jacent est que ils ne perçoivent pas leurs comportements comme négatifs et sont donc victimes et ne consultent pas un professionnel de la santé mentale qui peut leur offrir une thérapie en fonction de leurs besoins.

En fait, les personnes histrioniques finissent par suivre une thérapie lorsque les circonstances de leur vie se sont détériorées ou qu’elles ont subi des chocs émotionnels, par exemple après une rupture sentimentale, une anxiété généralisée ou des images dépressives.

Les psychothérapeutes conviennent généralement que, une fois le traitement commencé, la principale pierre d'achoppement est généralement l'inconstance et un faible engagement , avec des taux d’abandon du traitement relativement élevés en quelques semaines.

Références bibliographiques:

  • López-Ibor Aliño, Juan J. et Valdés Miyar, Manuel (dir.) (2002). DSM-IV-TR. Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Texte révisé Barcelone: ​​Éditorial Masson.
  • Luciano, M.C. (1996). Manuel de psychologie clinique. Enfance et adolescence Valencia: Promolibro.
  • Millon, Theodore & Davis, Roger D. (1998). Troubles de la personnalité Au-delà du DSM-IV. Barcelone: ​​Éditorial Masson.
  • Pérez, M., Fernández-Hermida, J.R., Fernández Rodríguez, C. et Amigo, I. (2003). Guide pour des traitements psychologiques efficaces. Madrid: pyramide.

Pervers Narcissiques, mode d'emploi au delà des idées reçues ! (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes