yes, therapy helps!
HIV and AIDS: psychological effects of this disease

HIV and AIDS: psychological effects of this disease

May 24, 2022

HIV and AIDS: these two words refer to a painful reality very present in our lives. HIV infection and its evolution towards AIDS is along with cancer and dementias one of the serious diseases for which even today science has not found a cure.

In the case of HIV, in addition to the effects of the disease itself, we find that supposes a powerful social stigma . And the fact is that the detection of the human immunodeficiency virus and the idea of ​​suffering and living with AIDS are a serious blow that can cause serious psychological problems.

This article aims to reflect the difficulties for which the person with HIV can pass on a psychological level , especially in the first moments.


  • Related article: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

HIV and AIDS: what are they?

Before going into detail regarding the psychological effects of their detection and suffering, it is important to bear in mind that, although linked, HIV and AIDS are not synonyms .

The acronym HIV refers to the human immunodeficiency virus, a retrovirus that affects the human immune system and causes a progressive deterioration of it as it multiplies and destroys the lymphocytes (cells of the immune system) of said system. People with HIV they are known as seropositive , and can last up to ten years without obvious symptoms.


AIDS or acquired immunodeficiency syndrome refers to the most advanced stages of this disease, in which HIV has caused the immune system is unable to respond adequately to infections. These infections are called opportunistic.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 most common and frequent diseases"

Infection and infection

The forms of transmission of this disease, known today by a large majority of the population, are through contact between different types of mucous membranes and fluids, such as semen, vaginal fluids and blood.

Specifically, The most common form of contagion is through unprotected sexual contact (be it vaginal or anal), followed by infection through blood contact when sharing needles or razor blades. The mother-child infection can also occur in pregnant women who do not follow any treatment, both during delivery and during breastfeeding.


On the sexual level, it should also be taken into account that some affected people believe that due to their condition they can have unprotected sexual relations with other people with HIV. It is important to note that this is not correct, since this virus is highly mutable and there are multiple strains , so that a person infected by one type of strain can be infected with others and produce a superinfection by HIV.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The personality could be regulated by the immune system"

Take the test

We have a sexual relationship without protection or we prick our feet with a syringe lying in a park. Perhaps it was an oversight, or perhaps the subject believed that his sexual partner seemed healthy and did not have any type of infection. It is also possible that we have suffered sexual assault. After the experience of the high-risk practice, the worry may arise because the person in question was seropositive, and with the uncertainty may appear panic and anxiety.

The next step would be to take the test. It is a fundamental aspect and of great importance when it comes to power start antiretroviral treatment as soon as possible and at the same time prevent infections . But many people fear and even avoid being tested for fear that they can test positive.

This supposes a serious damage for them in all the scopes, since in case of being affected delays the treatment of this disease it facilitates that it is possible to get to infect other people and at the same time the doubt is settled on its possible suffering, what to It will generate a deep and continuous level of frustration, anxiety and fear.

Problems in detection

It must be taken into account that there is a window period in which the tests are not reliable , being able to give negative in spite of suffering the infection. This is because the immune system has not yet developed antibodies against the virus, at which time seroconversion occurs. This period is generally between three and six months, although it can be prolonged depending on the case (for example, in patients undergoing chemo or radiotherapy).

However, many people do not realize the risk they run or do not believe they can get infected by not perceiving obvious symptoms in them or in their sexual partners. This can cause that the subject is not treated and even that can infect others by not knowing their serological status.

Thus it is essential to raise awareness among the population (especially the high risk) of the need to do it at least once a year, and facilitate that they can be done safely. In this sense there are many organizations that have rapid tests and knowledge in this regard that can be of great help.

The diagnosis and the subsequent moments

The moment of communication of the diagnosis is one of the most difficult, and in it it can be of great importance to have counseling and guidance services in the services that are in charge of doing the test. The notification of this fact is a serious blow to and can cause a severe shock for the patient, whose reactions can range from panic attack to the absence of an immediate reaction.

The main thing at this moment is to offer emotional support , at the same time as providing information regarding what the infection entails and means, teaching preventive and self-management measures and motivating the subject to adhere to the treatment.

Also, another factor of great difficulty for the person diagnosed is given at the time of communicate the fact to their environment and to possible sexual partners I had recently. In fact, many subjects hide their state and lock themselves in without seeking any kind of help or emotional support. It is not uncommon for there to be adaptive syndromes, acute stress disorder or even post-traumatic stress disorder.

As with other serious chronic diseases, it is likely that the subject experiences a grief, with a period of initial denial, anger, negotiation, resignation and acceptance of the fact. In some cases these people may have suicidal thoughts and even true suicide attempts, which makes psychological and environmental support essential. The participation and assistance to support groups, problem solving training and various psychological and relaxation techniques.

Living with HIV: psychological effects

HIV infection is a chronic problem that currently has no cure and is a major health problem worldwide. Fortunately, despite having no cure, medical advances and antiretroviral treatment have meant that in those cases that are treated, the disease has gone from being mortal in a few years to being able to control itself and become a chronic disease.

However, its detection is a serious blow for those who suffer from it and the existence of a large number of changes in the lives of patients, who in addition to the disease itself, usually experience different disorders such as depression, panic attacks and anxiety as a consequence of the knowledge of suffering from this condition.

Somatic symptoms are also likely to occur due to anxiety, that people may come to relate to their condition. It is not uncommon for them to be distracted, irritable or feeling guilty about being infected. Self-esteem can decrease to a great extent, just as it is not strange that anhedonia, a feeling of emptiness and fear is present.

At the social level it is not strange that the subject tends to withdraw and isolate himself , both due to their emotional state and the fear of infecting third parties. In the same way, HIV supposes a stigma that can cause other people to avoid contact with the subject or that he / she considers that he / she will be rejected by his or her environment, and there will be serious social and labor damages.

At the sexual and affective level, there is also an important inhibition, even when there is a stable partner who knows the seropositivity of the subject and protection mechanisms are used. All this enhances the presence of affective alterations , which in turn is harmful given that stress decreases the performance of the immune system.

Also keep in mind that maintenance of treatment is essential and lifelong, although it can cause side effects. In addition to the subject himself, he must also prepare himself for the environment and offer advice and guidance.

  • You may be interested: "Adherence to treatment: why do some patients leave?"

Conluing

The aforementioned aspects refer to different problems that people who detect HIV may have when diagnosed due to the knowledge of the disease itself, especially in the first moments. But Being diagnosed with this disease does not mean living an unhappy life . The person with HIV today can have a normal, long and full life.

Bibliographic references:

  • Avelar, V.Y .; Cornejo, I.B. and Torres, J.D. (2011). Psychological effects in people of both sexes between the ages of 20 to 50 years diagnosed with HIV in the period from January 2006 to June 2010 pertaining to the Salvadoran foundation for the fight against AIDS "María Lorena" (CONTRASIDA) of the municipality of San Salvador. El Salvador University. Faculty of Sciences and Humanities. Department of Psychology
  • Prieto, F .; Casaña, S .; Ibarguchi, L. and Pérez, S. (2007) Psychological effects of people affected by HIV-AIDS: Lines of action. Positive Support Association.

Rebecca Stoeckle: Long term HIV survivors - sharing hard truths (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
VIH et SIDA: effets psychologiques de cette maladie

VIH et SIDA: effets psychologiques de cette maladie

Juin 5, 2020

VIH et SIDA: ces deux mots font référence à une réalité douloureuse très présent dans nos vies. L’infection par le VIH et son évolution vers le sida sont, avec le cancer et les démences, l’une des maladies graves contre lesquelles la science n’a pas encore trouvé de remède.

Dans le cas du VIH, en plus des effets de la maladie elle-même, nous constatons que suppose une forte stigmatisation sociale . Et le fait est que la détection du virus de l'immunodéficience humaine et l'idée de souffrir et de vivre avec le SIDA constituent un coup dur qui peut causer de graves problèmes psychologiques.

Cet article vise à refléter les difficultés que la personne vivant avec le VIH peut transmettre sur le plan psychologique , surtout dans les premiers moments.


  • Article connexe: "Les différences entre syndrome, trouble et maladie"

VIH et SIDA: de quoi s'agit-il?

Avant d’entrer dans les détails concernant les effets psychologiques de leur détection et de leurs souffrances, il est important de garder à l’esprit que, bien que liés, VIH et SIDA ne sont pas synonymes .

L'acronyme VIH fait référence au virus de l'immunodéficience humaine, un rétrovirus qui affecte le système immunitaire humain et provoque une détérioration progressive de ce virus, à mesure qu'il se multiplie et qu'il détruit les lymphocytes (cellules du système immunitaire) dudit système. Les personnes atteintes du VIH ils sont connus comme séropositifs , et peut durer jusqu'à dix ans sans symptômes évidents.


Le SIDA ou syndrome d'immunodéficience acquise désigne les stades les plus avancés de cette maladie, au cours desquels le VIH a empêché le système immunitaire de réagir de manière adéquate aux infections. Ces infections sont appelées opportunistes.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 maladies les plus courantes et les plus fréquentes"

Infection et infection

Les formes de transmission de cette maladie, connues aujourd'hui par une large majorité de la population, se font par contact entre différents types de muqueuses et de fluides, tels que le sperme, les sécrétions vaginales et le sang.

Plus précisément La forme de contagion la plus courante est le contact sexuel non protégé (vaginal ou anal), suivi d’une infection par contact avec le sang lors du partage d’aiguilles ou de lames de rasoir. L'infection mère-enfant peut également se produire chez les femmes enceintes qui ne suivent aucun traitement, à la fois lors de l'accouchement et pendant l'allaitement.


Sur le plan sexuel, il convient également de prendre en compte le fait que certaines personnes affectées estiment qu'en raison de leur état, elles peuvent avoir des relations sexuelles non protégées avec d'autres personnes vivant avec le VIH. Il est important de noter que cela n’est pas correct, car ce virus est hautement mutable et il existe plusieurs souches , afin qu’une personne infectée par un type de souche puisse être infectée par d’autres et produire une surinfection par le VIH.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "La personnalité pourrait être régulée par le système immunitaire"

Faire le test

Nous avons une relation sexuelle sans protection ou nous nous piquons les pieds avec une seringue allongée dans un parc. C'était peut-être un oubli, ou peut-être que le sujet croyait que son partenaire sexuel semblait en bonne santé et n'avait aucun type d'infection. Il est également possible que nous ayons subi une agression sexuelle. Après l'expérience de la pratique à haut risque, l'inquiétude peut survenir parce que la personne en question était séropositive, et avec l'incertitude, une panique et une anxiété peuvent apparaître.

La prochaine étape serait de faire le test. C’est un aspect fondamental et d’une grande importance pour le pouvoir commencer le traitement antirétroviral le plus tôt possible tout en évitant les infections . Mais beaucoup de gens craignent et évitent même de se faire tester, de peur de pouvoir être testés positifs.

Cela suppose un préjudice sérieux pour eux dans tous les domaines, car en cas d’atteinte retarde le traitement de cette maladie, il est possible d’infecter d’autres personnes tout en laissant le doute sur ses souffrances éventuelles. Cela générera un niveau profond et continu de frustration, d'anxiété et de peur.

Problèmes de détection

Il faut prendre en compte que il y a une période fenêtre dans laquelle les tests ne sont pas fiables , pouvant donner des résultats négatifs malgré le fait de souffrir de l’infection. En effet, le système immunitaire n'a pas encore développé d'anticorps contre le virus, moment auquel se produit une séroconversion. Cette période est généralement comprise entre trois et six mois, bien qu’elle puisse être prolongée selon les cas (par exemple chez les patients en chimiothérapie ou en radiothérapie).

Cependant, beaucoup de personnes ne réalisent pas le risque qu'elles courent ou ne croient pas pouvoir être infectées en ne percevant pas de symptômes évidents chez elles ou chez leurs partenaires sexuels. Cela peut faire en sorte que le sujet ne soit pas traité et même que cela puisse infecter d'autres personnes en ignorant leur statut sérologique.

Pour lui il est essentiel de sensibiliser la population (en particulier le risque élevé) de la nécessité de le faire au moins une fois par an et de faciliter leur réalisation en toute sécurité. En ce sens, de nombreuses organisations qui ont des tests rapides et des connaissances à cet égard peuvent être d'une grande aide.

Le diagnostic et les moments suivants

Le moment de la communication du diagnostic est l’un des plus difficiles et il peut revêtir une grande importance de disposer de services de conseil et d’orientation dans les services chargés de faire le test. La notification de ce fait est un coup sérieux pour le patient et peut provoquer un choc grave, dont les réactions peuvent aller de la crise de panique à l’absence de réaction immédiate.

L'essentiel en ce moment est d'offrir un soutien émotionnel , tout en fournissant des informations sur ce que l’infection implique et signifie, en enseignant des mesures de prévention et d’autogestion et en incitant le sujet à adhérer au traitement.

En outre, un autre facteur très difficile pour la personne diagnostiquée est donné au moment de communiquer le fait à leur environnement et à d'éventuels partenaires sexuels J'ai eu récemment. En fait, de nombreux sujets cachent leur état et s’enferment sans chercher aucune aide ou soutien affectif. Il n’est pas rare qu’il y ait des syndromes d’adaptation, des troubles de stress aigu ou même des troubles de stress post-traumatiques.

Comme avec d'autres maladies chroniques graves, il est probable que le sujet éprouve un deuil, avec une période de déni initial, de colère, de négociation, de démission et d'acceptation du fait. Dans certains cas, ces personnes peuvent avoir des pensées suicidaires et même de véritables tentatives de suicide, ce qui rend indispensable un soutien psychologique et environnemental. Le participation et assistance aux groupes de soutien, formation à la résolution de problèmes et diverses techniques psychologiques et de relaxation.

Vivre avec le VIH: effets psychologiques

L’infection à VIH est un problème chronique qui n’est actuellement pas guéri et qui constitue un problème de santé majeur dans le monde entier. Heureusement, malgré l'absence de traitement, les progrès de la médecine et des traitements antirétroviraux ont fait que, dans les cas traités, la maladie est morte en quelques années pour pouvoir se contrôler et devenir une maladie chronique.

Cependant, sa détection est un coup dur pour ceux qui en souffrent et l’existence d’un grand nombre de changements dans la vie des patients qui, en plus de la maladie elle-même, ont généralement différents troubles tels que la dépression, les attaques de panique et l'anxiété comme conséquence de la connaissance de souffrir de cette maladie.

Des symptômes somatiques sont également susceptibles de se produire en raison de l’anxiété, les gens peuvent en venir à se comprendre. Il n’est pas rare qu’ils soient distraits, irritables ou culpabilisés d’être infectés. L’estime de soi peut diminuer dans une large mesure, tout comme il n’est pas étrange que l’Anhédonie se manifeste par un sentiment de vide et de peur.

Au niveau social, il n’est pas étonnant que le sujet ait tendance à se retirer et à s’isoler , à la fois en raison de leur état émotionnel et de la peur d’infecter des tiers. De la même manière, le VIH suppose une stigmatisation pouvant empêcher d'autres personnes d'éviter tout contact avec le sujet ou qu'il / elle estime être rejeté par son environnement et entraîner de graves dommages sociaux et professionnels.

Il existe également une inhibition importante au niveau sexuel et affectif, même lorsqu'un partenaire stable connaît la séropositivité du sujet et utilise les mécanismes de protection. Tout cela renforce la présence d'altérations affectives , ce qui est néfaste étant donné que le stress diminue les performances du système immunitaire.

N'oubliez pas non plus que l'entretien du traitement est essentiel et durera toute la vie, même s'il peut en résulter des effets secondaires. En plus du sujet lui-même, il doit également se préparer à l'environnement et offrir des conseils et des orientations.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Adhésion au traitement: pourquoi certains patients partent?"

Conluing

Les aspects susmentionnés font référence aux différents problèmes que les personnes qui détectent le VIH peuvent avoir lors du diagnostic en raison de la connaissance de la maladie elle-même, en particulier dans les premiers moments. Mais Etre diagnostiqué avec cette maladie ne signifie pas vivre une vie malheureuse . La personne séropositive aujourd'hui peut mener une vie normale, longue et bien remplie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Avelar, V.Y.; Cornejo, I.B. et Torres, J.D. (2011). Effets psychologiques chez les hommes et les femmes de 20 à 50 ans chez qui le VIH a été diagnostiqué entre janvier 2006 et juin 2010 et appartenant à la fondation salvadorienne de lutte contre le sida "María Lorena" (CONTRASIDA) de la municipalité de San Salvador Université d'El Salvador. Faculté des sciences et sciences humaines. Département de psychologie
  • Prieto, F .; Casaña, S.; Ibarguchi, L. et Pérez, S. (2007) Effets psychologiques des personnes touchées par le VIH-sida: lignes d'action. Association de soutien positif.

J'ai honte de ma maladie - Toute une histoire - 27/04/2015 #touteunehistoire (Juin 2020).


Articles Connexes