yes, therapy helps!
Holoprosencephaly: types, symptoms and treatments

Holoprosencephaly: types, symptoms and treatments

September 25, 2022

When we imagine a brain, whether human or not, the image that comes to mind is usually composed of an organ whose outer layer is riddled with folds, between which we can see some indentations that allow us to appreciate the presence of two halves or brain hemispheres.

This separation is something that most human beings have, forming during our fetal development. But not all: there are children whose brains are not divided or whose hemispheres are fused: we are talking about Children suffering from holoprosencephaly .

  • Related article: "Brain hemispheres: myths and realities"

Holoprosencephaly: what is it?

It is called holoprosencephaly a a type of malformation throughout fetal development in which there is no division between the different structures of the forebrain: there is a fusion between the cerebral hemispheres, as well as between some subcortical structures and the cerebral ventricles. This fusion, or rather non-separation, can occur at a complete or partial level (the hemispheres being completely fused or only in some parts).


Usually, the division of the brain into different lobes and hemispheres It occurs around the fourth week of gestation. In holoprosencephaly, this division does not occur or it can not be completed, which has severe repercussions both before and after birth. This condition usually comes together with the presence of cranial and facial malformations, existing alterations such as hypertelorism or eyes together, cyclopia or a single eye, alterations of the nose, cleft lip, cleft palate or hydrocephalus. Also, it is common that problems appear in the feeding and in the thermal maintenance, cardiac and respiratory alterations and convulsions. It is also associated with different degrees of intellectual disability, in cases sufficiently mild to allow life.


In general, holoprosencephaly has a very poor prognosis, especially in the alobar type: boys and girls they usually pass away either before they are born or before they reach six months of age . In the other types, survival is possible until the year or two years of life. Depending on whether there are other complications and the severity of the disorder. In the milder cases, survival is possible, although in general they will suffer from cognitive deficits to a greater or lesser extent.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Anencephaly: causes, symptoms and prevention"

Some of its main main variants

Holoprosencephaly is a medical condition that can occur in different ways, depending on the possible degree of separation of the cerebral hemispheres. They emphasize mainly three first variants, the most habitual ones, although it is necessary to take into account that others exist. These types of holoprosencephaly are the following .


1. Lobar holoprosencephaly

Lobar holoprosencephaly is the mildest form of this type of alteration. In this case, they can be observed the presence of lobes almost perfectly separated , although this separation has not been carried out in the frontal lobes and they do not usually have septum pellucidum.

2. Semiilobar holoprosencephaly

In this variant of holoprosencephaly, there is a division between the hemispheres in part of the brain, but the frontal and parietal lobes are fused. The interhemispheric fissure is only observed in temporal and occipital .

It is common that hypotelorismo is present, that is to say that the eyes of the baby are much less separated of what would be habitual, that are small or that do not exist directly. Cleft lip or palate can also be observed, as well as absence or malformations at the nasal level.

3. Holoprosencephaly alobar

It is the most serious form of holoprosencephaly, in which the hemispheres do not become separated to any degree, being completely fused. There is often a single ventricle and / or a single thalamus.

Many of these children are also born with only one eye, in which case the existence of cyclopia is considered. In fact, probably the emergence of the mythical figure of the cyclops was based on the observation of some case of this type of holoprosencephaly. The nose usually has malformations, being able to have a formation in the form of a proboscis or even not having a nostril (something that can cause the child to suffocate) or only one of them.

4. Interhemispheric holoprosencephaly

This variant, less common than the previous three, occurs when the division of the brain does not occur in the middle part: the posterior parts of the frontal and parietal lobes. There is no corpus callosum (with the possible exception of genu and splenium), although generally at the level of subcortical structures there is no overlap or fusion . Also called syntelencephaly.

5. Aprosencephaly

Although technically it would not be already holoprosencephaly, sometimes aprosencephaly is also considered a variant of this disorder, in which the forebrain is not directly formed.

Causes of this problem

Holoprosencephaly is an alteration that occurs during fetal development, there being a wide variety of possible factors that can lead to its emergence. It has been observed the existence of a large number of cases in which there are genetic alterations in numerous genes (One in four has alterations in the ZIC2, SIC3, SHH or TGIF genes), as well as different syndromes and chromosomal disorders (Patau syndrome or Edwards syndrome among them).

A link with environmental factors has also been observed, such as uncontrolled diabetes in the mother or the abuse of alcohol and other drugs, as well as the consumption of some medications.

Treatment

This condition, generally of genetic type, does not have a curative treatment. The treatments to be applied will generally be palliative , aimed at maintaining their vital signs, correcting difficulties and improving their well-being and quality.

In mild cases that achieve survival, the use of occupational therapy and cognitive stimulation is recommended. The need to apply a multidisciplinary treatment involving professionals from different disciplines, both medicine and occupational therapy, clinical psychology, physiotherapy and logotherapy should be assessed. And this without neglecting the treatment of parents and environment (which will require psychoeducation and counseling, as well as possibly a psychological intervention).

Bibliographic references:

  • Monteagudo, A. & Timor-Tritsch, I.E, (2012). Prenatal diagnosis of CNS anomalies other than neural tube defects and ventriculomegaly (online). Available at: //cursoenarm.net/UPTODATE/contents/mobipreview.htm?9/28/9665/abstract/4-12
  • Cohen, M.M. & Sulik, K.K. (1992). Perspectives on holoprosencephaly: Part II. Central nervous system, craniofacial anatomy, syndrome commentary, diagnostic approach, and experimental studies. J. Craniofac. Genet Dev. Biol., 12: 196.

What is ETHMOCEPHALY? What does ETHMOCEPHALY mean? ETHMOCEPHALY meaning & explanation (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Holoprosencéphalie: types, symptômes et traitements

Holoprosencéphalie: types, symptômes et traitements

Août 8, 2022

Lorsque nous imaginons un cerveau, qu’il soit humain ou non, l’image qui nous vient à l’esprit est généralement composée d’un organe dont la couche extérieure est criblée de plis, entre lesquels on peut voir des empreintes qui permettent d’apprécier la présence de deux moitiés ou hémisphères cérébraux.

Cette séparation est quelque chose que la plupart des êtres humains ont, se formant au cours de notre développement fœtal. Mais pas tous: il y a des enfants dont le cerveau n'est pas divisé ou dont les hémisphères sont fusionnés: on parle de Enfants souffrant d'holoprosencéphalie .

  • Article connexe: "Hémisphères cérébraux: mythes et réalités"

Holoprosencéphalie: qu'est-ce que c'est?

Il est appelé holoprosencéphalie a un type de malformation tout au long du développement fœtal dans lequel il n'y a pas de division entre les différentes structures du cerveau antérieur: il y a une fusion entre les hémisphères cérébraux, ainsi qu'entre certaines structures sous-corticales et les ventricules cérébraux. Cette fusion, ou plutôt la non-séparation, peut se produire à un niveau complet ou partiel (les hémisphères étant complètement fondus ou seulement à certains endroits).


Généralement la division du cerveau en différents lobes et hémisphères Il se produit autour de la quatrième semaine de gestation. En holoprosencéphalie, cette division ne se produit pas ou ne peut pas être complétée, ce qui a de graves répercussions avant et après la naissance. Cette affection s'accompagne généralement de malformations crâniennes et faciales, de modifications existantes telles qu'hypertélorisme ou récidive, d'une cyclopie ou d'un œil unique, de lésions du nez, d'une fente labiale, d'une fente palatine ou d'une hydrocéphalie. De plus, il est courant que des problèmes apparaissent lors de l'alimentation et de l'entretien thermique, des altérations et des convulsions cardiaques et respiratoires. Il est également associé à différents degrés de déficience intellectuelle, dans des cas suffisamment légers pour permettre la vie.


En général, l'holoprosencéphalie a un très mauvais pronostic, en particulier chez les patients de type alobaire: garçons et filles. ils décèdent généralement avant leur naissance ou avant l'âge de six mois . Dans les autres types, la survie est possible jusqu'à un ou deux ans. Selon qu'il existe d'autres complications et la gravité de la maladie. Dans les cas moins graves, la survie est possible, bien qu'en général ils souffrent plus ou moins de déficits cognitifs.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Anencéphalie: causes, symptômes et prévention"

Quelques unes de ses principales variantes

L'holoprosencéphalie est une affection pouvant survenir de différentes manières, en fonction du degré possible de séparation des hémisphères cérébraux. Ils soulignent principalement trois premières variantes, les plus habituelles, bien qu’il faille tenir compte du fait que d’autres existent. Ces types d’holoprosencéphalie sont les suivants: .


1. Holoprosencéphalie lobaire

L'holoprosencéphalie lobaire est la forme la plus bénigne de ce type d'altération. Dans ce cas, ils peuvent être observés la présence de lobes presque parfaitement séparés , bien que cette séparation n'ait pas été réalisée dans les lobes frontaux et qu'ils ne présentent généralement pas de septum pellucidum.

2. Holoprosencéphalie semi-lobaire

Dans cette variante de l'holoprosencéphalie, il existe une division des hémisphères dans une partie du cerveau, mais les lobes frontal et pariétal sont soudés. La fissure interhémisphérique n’est observée que dans les tumeurs temporales et occipitales. .

Il est fréquent que l'hypotelorismo soit présent, c'est-à-dire que les yeux du bébé soient beaucoup moins séparés de ce qui serait habituel, qu'ils soient petits ou qu'ils n'existent pas directement. On peut également observer une fente labiale ou palatine, ainsi qu'une absence ou des malformations au niveau nasal.

3. Holoprosencéphalie alobaire

Il s'agit de la forme d'holoprosencéphalie la plus grave, dans laquelle les hémisphères ne sont pas complètement séparés, car ils sont complètement soudés. Il y a souvent un seul ventricule et / ou un seul thalamus.

Nombre de ces enfants naissent également avec un seul œil, auquel cas l’existence d’une cyclopie est prise en compte. En fait, l’émergence de la figure mythique du cyclope s’est probablement basée sur l’observation de certains cas de ce type d’holoprosencéphalie. Le nez a généralement des malformations, pouvant avoir une formation sous la forme d'une trompe ou même ne pas avoir une narine (quelque chose qui peut provoquer l'étouffement de l'enfant) ou un seul d'entre eux.

4. Holoprosencéphalie interhémisphérique

Cette variante, moins commune que les trois précédentes, survient lorsque la division du cerveau ne se produit pas dans la partie médiane: les parties postérieures des lobes frontaux et pariétaux. Il n’ya pas de corps calleux (à l’exception peut-être de genu et de splénium), bien que généralement au niveau des structures sous-corticales, il n'y a pas de chevauchement ou de fusion . Aussi appelé syntelencéphalie.

5. Aprosencéphalie

Bien que, techniquement, ce ne soit pas déjà une holoprosencéphalie, parfois l'aprosencéphalie est également considérée comme une variante de ce trouble, dans laquelle le cerveau antérieur n'est pas directement formé.

Causes de ce problème

L'holoprosencéphalie est une altération qui se produit au cours du développement du fœtus, une grande variété de facteurs pouvant conduire à son émergence. On a constaté l’existence d’un grand nombre de cas dans lesquels il y a des altérations génétiques dans de nombreux gènes (Un sur quatre présente des altérations des gènes ZIC2, SIC3, SHH ou TGIF), ainsi que différents syndromes et troubles chromosomiques (syndrome de Patau ou de Edwards).

Un lien avec des facteurs environnementaux a également été observé, tels que le diabète non contrôlé chez la mère ou l'abus d'alcool et d'autres drogues, ainsi que la consommation de certains médicaments.

Traitement

Cette affection, généralement de type génétique, n’a pas de traitement curatif. Les traitements à appliquer seront généralement palliatifs , visant à maintenir leurs signes vitaux, à corriger les difficultés et à améliorer leur bien-être et leur qualité.

Dans les cas bénins qui permettent la survie, l'utilisation de l'ergothérapie et d'une stimulation cognitive est recommandée. La nécessité d'appliquer un traitement multidisciplinaire impliquant des professionnels de différentes disciplines, à la fois en médecine et en ergothérapie, en psychologie clinique, en physiothérapie et en logothérapie, devrait être évaluée. Et ceci sans négliger le traitement des parents et de l'environnement (ce qui nécessitera une psychoéducation et des conseils, ainsi qu'une éventuelle intervention psychologique).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Monteagudo, A. et Timor-Tritsch, I.E, (2012). Diagnostic prénatal des anomalies du système nerveux central autres que les anomalies du tube neural et de la ventriculomégalie (en ligne). Disponible à: //cursoenarm.net/UPTODATE/contents/mobipreview.htm?9/28/9665/abstract/4-12
  • Cohen, M.M. & Sulik, K.K. (1992). Perspectives sur l'holoprosencéphalie: Partie II. Système nerveux central, anatomie craniofaciale, commentaires sur le syndrome, approche diagnostique et études expérimentales. J. Craniofac. Genet Dev Biol., 12: 196.

Holoprosencéphalie (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes