yes, therapy helps!
Homiclofobia (fear of fog): symptoms, causes and treatment

Homiclofobia (fear of fog): symptoms, causes and treatment

May 26, 2024

Homiclofobia, or nebulafobia, is the persistent and intense fear of fog . It is a type of specific phobia that may be related to media transmission in situations of danger, where fog occurs recurrently. It can also be caused by previous and unpleasant experiences related to this phenomenon of nature.

Next we will see what homiclofobia is, what are some of its main characteristics as well as its possible causes and treatment.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Homiclofobia: persistent fear of fog

Homiclofobia, also known as nebulafobia, is the persistent and intense fear of fog. Being a fear caused by exposure to a stimulus of nature, homiclofobia can be considered a phobia of a specific type to the natural environment .


As with other phobias of a specific type, homiclofobia is characterized by a certain fear and easily distinguishable from others. In this sense, unlike a social phobia, the specific phobia does not usually extend to many stimuli beyond the main trigger, in this case the fog.

However, B (2005) tells us that the development of a phobia specific to a given stimulus increases the chances of developing another phobia to a very similar stimulus. Likewise, increases the likelihood of having fears of varied stimuli , although they are not necessarily phobic.

Finally, homiclofobia can be part of a larger clinical picture, for example, of a social phobia or a picture of generalized anxiety. That is, it can manifest itself as one of the elements that surround a wide spectrum of experiences of stress to different stimuli, an issue that is important to take into account for its definition.


Before explaining some of its possible causes, we begin by briefly describing the natural phenomenon of fog.

What is the fog?

Broadly speaking, the fog is the result of snow that forms at low altitude, close to ground level. In the same way, the fog can be generated as a result of steam emanating from the ground , by an accumulation of water at a higher temperature than that of the surrounding air.

Thus, fog is not in itself a potentially harmful or risky element for any organism. However, depending on what circumstances are experienced, the fog can be a stimulus that triggers alarm or even excessive fear.

symptom

As with all phobias, this fear is experienced in a persistent and irrational way , meaning that it is not explained by the cultural codes of the environment in which one lives.


The exaggerated experience of fear translates into a momentary picture of anxiety, with its corresponding physiological response: dizziness, hyperventilation, cardiac agitation, excessive sweating, among others. In a case of more acute anxiety experience, homiclofobia can also cause a panic attack.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of Anxiety Disorders and their characteristics"

Possible causes

As with other types of specific phobias, homiclofobia is a phenomenon with multiple causes. In the specific case of persistent fear of fog, one of the triggers may be prolonged exposure to media or movies where situations of risk occur frequently in darkness, and likewise in fog. This can generate some imaginaries that finally favor the association between fog and imminent danger.

On the other hand, phobias can be provoked or intensified by real (unimagined) exposure, previous or present, to dangerous situations where the stimulus is involved.

For example, fog is a natural phenomenon that occurs in many places of frequent transit. In good part of the roads that connect the big cities , the fog is one of the most present elements.

Depending on the time of year, the height and the specific area where it is produced, the density of the fog may be higher or lower, and It can significantly affect the driver's vision. For the same, and despite being harmless by itself, the fog one of the natural phenomena most related to traffic accidents. A previous experience of this type may be related to the development of this phobia.

Treatment

The general treatment of phobias can resort to different strategies. One of them is to favor the creation of new associations on the stimulus that is perceived as harmful. Another is approach progressively to this, by means of brief approaches that increase with the passage of time . It is also possible to reinforce the emotional coping schemes to situations that generate stress.

In the specific case of homiclofobia, it is important to delimit if it comes from a real or imaginary experience of imminent danger related to fog. In case it is an experience that has actually occurred, another strategy is to avoid exposing oneself to fog in solitude, either by car or on foot, as well as looking for some alternatives to that exposure.

On the contrary, if it is an imaginary danger, it is important to explore other elements that are related to situations where there is fog and to find out if it is a more complex or extensive fear.

Bibliographic references:

  • Fear of Stuff (2016). Fear of Fog Flex Mag. Recovered September 4, 2018. Available at //www.fearofstuff.com/nature/fear-of-fog/
  • Homichlophobia (2007). Common-Phobias.com. Retrieved August 4, 2018. Available at //common-phobias.com/Homichlo/phobia.htm
  • Bados, A. (2005). Specific phobias Faculty of Psychology, University of Barcelona. Retrieved September 4, 2018. Available at //diposit.ub.edu/dspace/bitstream/2445/360/1/113.pdf.

¿POR QUÉ TIENES MIEDO? | Drawing About con @GlóbuloAzul (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Homiclofobia (peur du brouillard): symptômes, causes et traitement

Homiclofobia (peur du brouillard): symptômes, causes et traitement

Juillet 16, 2024

Homiclofobia, ou nébulafobie, est la peur persistante et intense du brouillard . C'est un type de phobie spécifique qui peut être lié à la transmission de contenu multimédia dans des situations de danger, où le brouillard se répète. Cela peut également être causé par des expériences antérieures et déplaisantes liées à ce phénomène de la nature.

Nous verrons ensuite ce qu'est l'homiclofobie, quelles sont ses principales caractéristiques, ses causes possibles et son traitement.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Homiclofobia: peur persistante du brouillard

Homiclofobia, également connu sous le nom de nébulafobie, est la peur persistante et intense du brouillard. Être une peur causée par l'exposition à un stimulus de la nature, homiclofobia peut être considéré comme une phobie d'un type spécifique à l'environnement naturel .


Comme avec d'autres phobies d'un type spécifique, l'homiclofobie se caractérise par une certaine peur et se distingue facilement des autres. En ce sens, contrairement à une phobie sociale, la phobie spécifique ne s'étend généralement pas à de nombreux stimuli autres que le déclencheur principal, en l’occurrence le brouillard.

Cependant, B (2005) nous dit que le développement d'une phobie spécifique à un stimulus donné augmente les chances de développer une autre phobie à un stimulus très similaire. De même augmente la probabilité d'avoir des craintes de stimuli variés , bien qu'ils ne soient pas nécessairement phobiques.

Enfin, l'homiclofobie peut faire partie d'un tableau clinique plus large, par exemple d'une phobie sociale ou d'un tableau d'anxiété généralisée. En d’autres termes, elle peut se manifester comme l’un des éléments d’un large éventail d’expériences de stress sous différents stimuli, une question qu’il est important de prendre en compte pour sa définition.


Avant d’expliquer certaines de ses causes possibles, commençons par décrire brièvement le phénomène naturel du brouillard.

Quel est le brouillard?

D'une manière générale, le brouillard est le résultat d'une neige qui se forme à basse altitude, près du sol. De la même manière, le brouillard peut être généré à la suite de la vapeur émanant du sol , par une accumulation d'eau à une température supérieure à celle de l'air ambiant.

Ainsi, le brouillard n'est pas en soi un élément potentiellement nocif ou risqué pour aucun organisme. Toutefois, selon les circonstances, le brouillard peut être un stimulus qui déclenche une alarme ou même une peur excessive.

Les symptômes

Comme avec toutes les phobies, cette peur est vécue de manière persistante et irrationnelle , ce qui signifie qu’il n’est pas expliqué par les codes culturels de l’environnement dans lequel on vit.


L’expérience exagérée de la peur se traduit par une image momentanée de l’anxiété, avec sa réponse physiologique correspondante: vertiges, hyperventilation, agitation cardiaque, transpiration excessive, entre autres. L'homiclofobie peut également provoquer une attaque de panique dans les cas d'anxiété plus aiguë.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de troubles anxieux et leurs caractéristiques"

Causes possibles

Comme avec d'autres types de phobies spécifiques, l'homiclofobie est un phénomène aux causes multiples. Dans le cas particulier de la peur persistante du brouillard, l’un des déclencheurs peut être exposition prolongée aux médias ou aux films où les situations de risque se produisent fréquemment dans l'obscurité, et de même dans le brouillard. Cela peut générer des imaginaires qui favorisent enfin l’association entre le brouillard et le danger imminent.

D'autre part, les phobies peuvent être provoquées ou intensifiées par une exposition réelle (non imaginée), antérieure ou présente, à des situations dangereuses dans lesquelles le stimulus est impliqué.

Par exemple, le brouillard est un phénomène naturel qui se produit dans de nombreux lieux de transit fréquent. Dans une bonne partie des routes qui relient les grandes villes , le brouillard est l’un des éléments les plus présents.

En fonction de la période de l’année, de la hauteur et de la superficie spécifique où il est produit, la densité du brouillard peut être supérieure ou inférieure, et Cela peut affecter considérablement la vision du conducteur. Pour le même, et bien qu’il soit inoffensif en soi, le brouillard est l’un des phénomènes naturels les plus liés aux accidents de la route. Une expérience antérieure de ce type peut être liée au développement de cette phobie.

Traitement

Le traitement général des phobies peut recourir à différentes stratégies. L’un d’eux est de favoriser la création de nouvelles associations sur le stimulus perçu comme nuisible. Un autre est approche progressive, par de brèves approches qui augmentent avec le temps . Il est également possible de renforcer les schémas d'adaptation émotionnelle aux situations générant du stress.

Dans le cas spécifique de l'homiclofobie, il est important de le délimiter s'il s'agit d'une expérience réelle ou imaginaire d'un danger imminent lié au brouillard. Au cas où il s'agirait d'une expérience vécue, une autre stratégie consiste à éviter de s'exposer au brouillard dans la solitude, en voiture ou à pied, et à rechercher des alternatives à cette exposition.

Au contraire, s'il s'agit d'un danger imaginaire, il est important d'explorer d'autres éléments liés aux situations de brouillard et de déterminer s'il s'agit d'une peur plus complexe ou plus étendue.

Références bibliographiques:

  • La peur des choses (2016). Peur du brouillard Flex Mag. Récupéré le 4 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //www.fearofstuff.com/nature/fear-of-fog/.
  • Homichlophobie (2007). Phobias commun.com. Récupéré le 4 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //common-phobias.com/Homichlo/phobia.htm.
  • Bados, A. (2005). Phobies spécifiques Faculté de psychologie, Université de Barcelone. Récupéré le 4 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //diposit.ub.edu/dspace/bitstream/2445/360/1/113.pdf.

Fobias Especificas - Fobias simples - Definición. Concepto. Sintomas (Juillet 2024).


Articles Connexes