yes, therapy helps!
Hope: the compass of life

Hope: the compass of life

March 28, 2024

There are situations that can give the impression of extinguishing all hope of a better life and future. Losing the people we love the most, unemployment, losing physical functionality, mental illness, the diagnosis of a chronic disease ...

All these situations can cause a break with our expectations, what we thought about the future. Losing what we consider significant and valuable can contribute to our losing our compass, our way of determining what will take us to our goals. When this happens, we need new ways or strategies to achieve the old goals , many times taking a new address.


It is easier to have hope when everything is going well. It is important, however, to keep hope alive and continue cultivating it in the bad and difficult moments of life. That is why, in this article, I want to talk about hope, the elements necessary to cultivate it, and its benefits.

  • Related article: "Is there a recipe for happiness?" Eduard Punset and Rojas Marcos respond "

The vision of the future affects the behavior of the present

Shane Lopez, in his book Making Hope Happen explains that, through his work and research on the subject of hope with millions of people, he has realized that the way we think about the future determines how well we live our lives . When we have clear hopes for the future we live well, when it is not, we can come to feel that it is not worth living.


It is then important to reconnect with a significant future, since this affects the behavior of the present. We can exercise and feed ourselves healthy because we want to have a healthy old age, to see ourselves well or to have a new relationship. Others can work hard to study and work to obtain the material stability, freedom or professional development they desire. We save money either for vacations or for other dreams with the beings we love. We invest in the present to reap what we visualize of the future. Hope drives us to act .

In turn, what we choose to do in the present creates and feeds hope or plays to its detriment. For example, the constant postponement of important goals can cause that with the passage of time the hope of achieving those goals falls because we begin to see more and more distant that desired future.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Procrastination or the syndrome of" I'll do it tomorrow ": what it is and how to prevent it"

The theory of Hope

For Shane Lopez hope is a state oriented towards the future . Our thoughts look forward and tell us what we have to do today. Our feelings elevate us and give us the energy to maintain the effort.

Also, consider that hope is a choice, can be learned and shared with others, is active and requires effort . In addition, Shane Lopez describes four beliefs that people tend to share with hope. These are; To think that the future will be better than the present and the past, to believe that you have the power to make it so, to believe that you can find several paths towards the desired goals and understand that no road is free of obstacles.

These beliefs are key in the elements that make up the model of hope described by his mentor, Rick Snyder. The process of hope is then composed of:

1. Goals

They are the objectives that guide human behavior . They can be short, medium or long term. It is to identify where we are now and where we want to go, what we want to do and who we want to be. Hope is built on the goals that we consider most important, that we are excited to pursue, that are clear, specific and realistic. It is a balance between thinking positive about the future and recognizing the barriers and effort involved in achieving them. It does not consist in wanting passively.

2. Agency

It is based on believing that we have an active role in the achievement of goals and influence on how our life goes. It is to know that Through the actions we carry out, we give shape to life, for better or for worse . It requires taking responsibility to improve situations and take responsibility for moving forward with the achievement of dreams. As we see the connection between our actions and good results, we also develop the ability to motivate ourselves and the ability to persist along the way despite obstacles.

3. Roads

It consists of being recursive. It is the perceived ability to search and generate multiple routes to the goals and choose the most appropriate paths, monitoring progress. It also involves being realistic and anticipate that obstacles will be presented at any time, which is why it is important to maintain flexibility and, if necessary, make changes in the plans and / or choose better routes towards what you want to achieve.

Each of these elements interacts with the others.A change in one of them affects the others. When these components are strong, hope increases; when one is weak, hope decreases. It is then when it is important to intervene to strengthen that element that is missing or that has not been developed.

When hope is not hope, but something else

It is important to understand that we are not talking about hope when we cling to the fact that things must be as we believe and want. Obsessing with the persistence of a relationship that is not healthy or that for some reason can not continue, is not to maintain hope, is a style of attachment. Likewise, it is persist in projects that have repeatedly failed or can no longer reach a successful conclusion .

Life presents situations that sometimes are not under our control, but hope gives us the message that it is possible to start over, that we have the capacity to do so and that our effort is required to achieve it.

We tend to think that suffering is bad , and that is why we try so hard to avoid it, even if it is inevitable. But, just as diamonds, which are pure carbon atoms, under conditions of darkness, pressure and extreme temperature are transformed into the precious stone, the human being is transformed through difficulty, annulling what does not serve him as fears excessive and useless or arrogance and developing positive qualities such as compassion and kindness.

Benefits of cultivating hope

High levels of hope they are associated with better performance and academic, sporting success in business and in the profession , greater physical and psychological well-being and better interpersonal relationships (Lopez & Snyder, 2009, Lopez, 2013).

Hope has an impact on physical health by facilitating people's efforts to become involved in disease prevention activities such as exercise, reducing the likelihood of engaging in risky behaviors and coping with and recovering from existing health problems. To himself, it has been found that higher levels of hope are associated with positive affect, greater satisfaction with life, greater perception of well-being and sense of life (Lopez & Snyder, 2009).

The hope it also influences the assessment and coping of stressors and obstacles . Research has shown that people with greater hope are effective in generating and using alternative paths to goals. This is especially relevant when facing barriers in the achievement of objectives or when there are paths that close. People with little hope are more inclined to use avoidance as a coping strategy (Lopez & Snyder, 2009).

Finally, people with high hopes are prone to form close connections with other people because they show interest in the goals of others not only their own, they also enjoy interacting with others and perceive greater social support (Lopez & Snyder, 2009).

In any case, we tend to learn a lot from the people around us and also to influence them. Fortunately, hope is contagious, so we can be touched by the hope of others and also inspire those who are close to us and thus contribute to the feeling of well-being, motivation, and mutual growth in our relationships and spread it to the world as well. We all know, you need it.

Bibliographic references:

  • Lopez, S. J. (2009). The Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology. Second Edition. Oxford; New York
  • Lopez, S. J. (2013). Making Hope Happen: Create the Future You Want for Yourself and Others. Atria Books; New York

Carlos Vargas of Hope of Life International Thanks Compass Learning (March 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hope: la boussole de la vie

Hope: la boussole de la vie

Octobre 19, 2020

Il y a des situations qui peuvent donner l'impression d'éteindre tout espoir d'une vie et d'un avenir meilleurs. Perdre les personnes que l'on aime le plus, chômage, perte de fonctionnalité physique, maladie mentale, diagnostic d'une maladie chronique ...

Toutes ces situations peuvent provoquer une rupture avec nos attentes, ce que nous pensions de l'avenir. Perdre ce que nous considérons comme important et précieux peut contribuer à perdre notre boussole, notre façon de déterminer ce qui nous mènera à nos objectifs. Quand cela arrive, nous avons besoin de nouvelles méthodes ou stratégies pour atteindre les anciens objectifs , plusieurs fois en prenant une nouvelle adresse.


Il est plus facile d'avoir de l'espoir quand tout va bien. Il est toutefois important de garder espoir et continuez à le cultiver dans les moments difficiles de la vie. C'est pourquoi, dans cet article, je souhaite parler de l'espoir, des éléments nécessaires à sa culture et de ses avantages.

  • Article connexe: "Existe-t-il une recette du bonheur?" Eduard Punset et Rojas Marcos répondent "

La vision du futur affecte le comportement du présent

Shane Lopez, dans son livre Faire de l'espoir une réalité explique que, grâce à ses travaux et à ses recherches sur le thème de l'espoir auprès de millions de personnes, il s'est rendu compte que la façon dont nous pensons à l'avenir détermine à quel point nous vivons bien notre vie . Quand nous avons des espoirs clairs pour l'avenir, nous vivons bien, mais quand ce n'est pas le cas, nous pouvons en venir à penser que cela ne vaut pas la peine d'être vécu.


Il est alors important de renouer avec un avenir significatif, car cela affecte le comportement du présent. Nous pouvons faire de l'exercice et nous nourrir sainement parce que nous voulons avoir un vieil âge en santé, nous voir bien ou avoir une nouvelle relation. D'autres peuvent travailler dur pour étudier et pour obtenir la stabilité matérielle, la liberté ou le développement professionnel qu'ils souhaitent. Nous économisons de l'argent pour les vacances ou pour d'autres rêves avec les êtres que nous aimons. Nous investissons dans le présent pour récolter ce que nous visualisons du futur. L'espoir nous pousse à agir .

En retour, ce que nous choisissons de faire dans le présent crée et nourrit de l’espoir ou joue à son détriment. Par exemple, le report constant d’objectifs importants peut faire disparaître l’espoir d’atteindre ces objectifs avec le temps, car nous commençons à voir de plus en plus lointain le futur souhaité.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "La procrastination ou le syndrome de" Je le ferai demain ": qu'est-ce que c'est et comment le prévenir"

La théorie de l'espoir

Pour Shane Lopez l'espoir est un état tourné vers l'avenir . Nos pensées se tournent vers nous et nous disent ce que nous devons faire aujourd'hui. Nos sentiments nous élèvent et nous donnent l'énergie nécessaire pour maintenir l'effort.

En outre, considérer que l'espoir est un choix, peut être appris et partagé avec d'autres, est actif et nécessite des efforts . De plus, Shane Lopez décrit quatre croyances que les gens ont tendance à partager avec espoir. Ceux-ci sont; Penser que l'avenir sera meilleur que le présent et le passé, croire que vous avez le pouvoir de le faire, croire que vous pouvez trouver plusieurs chemins pour atteindre les objectifs souhaités et comprendre qu'aucun chemin n'est exempt d'obstacles.

Ces croyances sont essentielles aux éléments constitutifs du modèle d’espoir décrit par son mentor, Rick Snyder. Le processus d'espoir est alors composé de:

1. Objectifs

Ce sont les objectifs qui guident le comportement humain . Ils peuvent être à court, moyen ou long terme. C’est identifier où nous en sommes et où nous voulons aller, ce que nous voulons faire et qui nous voulons être. L’espoir est construit sur les objectifs que nous considérons comme les plus importants, que nous sommes impatients de poursuivre, qui sont clairs, précis et réalistes. C'est un équilibre entre une vision positive de l'avenir et la reconnaissance des obstacles et des efforts nécessaires pour les atteindre. Cela ne consiste pas à vouloir passivement.

2. Agence

Il repose sur la conviction que nous avons un rôle actif dans la réalisation des objectifs et une influence sur la façon dont notre vie se passe. C'est savoir que A travers les actions que nous menons, nous donnons forme à la vie, pour le meilleur ou pour le pire . Il faut assumer la responsabilité d’améliorer les situations et d’avancer dans la réalisation de rêves. En voyant le lien entre nos actions et de bons résultats, nous développons également la capacité de nous motiver et la capacité de persister en cours de route malgré les obstacles.

3. les routes

Cela consiste à être récursif. C’est la capacité perçue de rechercher et de générer plusieurs itinéraires menant aux objectifs et de choisir les itinéraires les plus appropriés, en surveillant les progrès. Cela implique aussi d'être réaliste et prévoyez que les obstacles seront présentés à tout moment, c'est pourquoi il est important de maintenir la flexibilité et, si nécessaire, de modifier les plans et / ou de choisir de meilleurs itinéraires pour atteindre vos objectifs.

Chacun de ces éléments interagit avec les autres.Un changement dans l'un affecte les autres. Lorsque ces composantes sont fortes, l'espoir augmente, quand on est faible, l'espoir diminue. C'est alors qu'il est important d'intervenir pour renforcer cet élément manquant ou non développé.

Quand l'espoir n'est pas l'espoir, mais quelque chose d'autre

Il est important de comprendre que nous ne parlons pas d'espoir lorsque nous nous attachons au fait que les choses doivent être comme nous le croyons et le voulons. Observer la persistance d'une relation qui n'est pas saine ou qui, pour une raison quelconque, ne peut pas continuer, ne doit pas maintenir l'espoir, est un style d'attachement. De même, c'est persister dans les projets qui ont échoué à plusieurs reprises ou ne peuvent plus aboutir .

La vie présente des situations qui parfois ne sont pas sous notre contrôle, mais l’espoir nous donne le message qu’il est possible de tout recommencer, que nous avons la capacité de le faire et que nos efforts sont nécessaires pour y parvenir.

Nous avons tendance à penser que la souffrance est mauvaise et c’est pourquoi nous nous efforçons si durement de l’éviter, même si c’est inévitable. Mais, de même que les diamants, qui sont de purs atomes de carbone, se transforment en pierre précieuse dans des conditions d'obscurité, de pression et de températures extrêmes, l'être humain se transforme par difficulté en annulant ce qui ne lui sert pas de peurs. excessif et inutile ou arrogance et développer des qualités positives telles que la compassion et la gentillesse.

Avantages de cultiver l'espoir

Haut niveau d'espoir ils sont associés à de meilleures performances et à des succès académiques et sportifs dans les affaires et dans la profession , un plus grand bien-être physique et psychologique et de meilleures relations interpersonnelles (Lopez & Snyder, 2009, Lopez, 2013).

L'espoir a un impact sur la santé physique en facilitant les efforts des personnes pour qu'elles s'impliquent dans des activités de prévention des maladies telles que l'exercice, en réduisant les risques d'adopter des comportements à risque et en permettant de faire face aux problèmes de santé existants et de s'en remettre. Pour lui-même, il a été constaté que des niveaux d'espoir plus élevés sont associés à un affect positif, à une plus grande satisfaction de la vie, à une meilleure perception du bien-être et au sens de la vie (Lopez et Snyder, 2009).

L'espoir il influence également l'évaluation et la gestion des facteurs de stress et des obstacles . Des recherches ont montré que les personnes qui avaient plus d'espoir réussissaient à générer et à utiliser d'autres voies pour atteindre leurs objectifs. Ceci est particulièrement pertinent lorsque des obstacles sont rencontrés dans la réalisation des objectifs ou lorsque des chemins se ferment. Les personnes qui ont peu d'espoir sont plus enclines à utiliser l'évitement comme stratégie d'adaptation (Lopez et Snyder, 2009).

Enfin, les personnes qui ont de grands espoirs ont tendance à nouer des liens étroits avec d’autres personnes, car elles montrent un intérêt pour les objectifs des autres, non seulement les leurs, mais aussi pour interagir avec les autres et perçoivent un soutien social accru (Lopez & Snyder, 2009).

Dans tous les cas, nous avons tendance à apprendre beaucoup des gens qui nous entourent et à les influencer. Heureusement, l'espoir est contagieux. Nous pouvons donc être touchés par ceux des autres et inspirer ceux qui nous sont proches, contribuant ainsi au sentiment de bien-être, de motivation et de croissance mutuelle de nos relations et à le diffuser dans le monde entier. Nous savons tous que vous en avez besoin.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Lopez, S. J. (2009). Le manuel Oxford de psychologie positive. Deuxième édition. Oxford; New York
  • Lopez, S. J. (2013). Faire de l'espoir une réalité: Créez l'avenir que vous souhaitez pour vous-même et pour les autres. Atria Books; New York

La Boussole - International (Inédit video) (Octobre 2020).


Articles Connexes