yes, therapy helps!
Hoplophobia (fear of arms): symptoms, causes and treatment

Hoplophobia (fear of arms): symptoms, causes and treatment

January 25, 2022

Experiencing a certain fear in the presence of a firearm is a natural reaction from the point of view of reason. In addition, the number of accidents, misfortunes or disasters related to them do not help this change.

However, leaving aside their reputation or the personal opinion that each one has of them, there have been a series of cases in which people manifest an irrational and extreme fear of these gadgets, this fear is known as hoplofobia .

What is hoplophobia?

Hoplophobia is a specific phobia in which the person experiences an unusual, exacerbated and unfounded fear of weapons in general or specifically of firearms.


If we take into account the origin of the term this derives from the Greek expression "hoplon" which means weapon and "phobos" that can be translated as fear. So it is logical to think that this phobia includes any type of weapon such as guns, rifles, rifles or any other type of firearm.

Sometimes this phobia is also manifested through an irrational and excessive fear towards people who carry or use weapons, or even can come to present a great rejection or aversion to toy weapons .

Like the other existing phobias, a person with hoplofobia will experience a series of emotions and physical manifestations related to a state of very high anxiety.


History of the term hoplofobia

In 1962, Colonel Jeff Cooper, instructor and specialist in firearms, created this term to refer to a phenomenon that he had witnessed repeatedly. This phenomenon consisted of a kind of mental alteration that was distinguished by the aversion or irrational terror to arms.

Another characteristic that distinguished Cooper was that people suffering from hoplofobia have a series of recurrent thoughts about weapons that may have their own will .

Currently, hoplofobia is studied from a psychological perspective, which attempts to understand the internal devices that intervene in the development of a phobic fear. Although there is not a large volume of research on hoplophobia, it fits perfectly with the requirements that a phobic fear has to fulfill. This must be:


  • Excessive
  • Irrational
  • Being outside the domain or control of the person
  • Persistent

As a consequence of all these characteristics, it is usual for the person suffering from hoplofobia to avoid contact with any type of firearm by all means. Likewise, he will carry out all kinds of escape behavior whenever he discovers the presence of a firearm.

symptom

Since hoplofobia fits within the classification of specific phobias its symptoms are similar to those of any other anxiety disorder of this type.

These manifestations of an anxious nature appear whenever the person is in front of a firearm, even when it is not clearly visible . That is to say, a person with hoplofobia can begin to experience the symptoms only when seeing a police agent with a weapon hung in the belt.

Like the rest of phobias, this symptomatology can be divided into physical, cognitive and behavioral symptoms.

1. Physical symptoms

The sensations of fear before the presence or sighting of a firearm generate an overactivity of the autonomic nervous system of the brain. This intensification of the functioning of the nervous system generates all kinds of changes and transformations in the body.

During the episode of anxiety the person may experience a lot of physical symptoms. These include:

  • Increase in the cardiac rate
  • Tachycardia
  • Increased breathing rhythm
  • Drowning sensation
  • Increased muscle tension
  • Headache
  • Stomach ache
  • Hyperhidrosis
  • Vertigos
  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Oral dryness

2. Cognitive symptoms

Hoplofobia is associated with a series of beliefs and speculations in relation to the fear of firearms.

These distorted thoughts drive the development of this phobia and are distinguished because the person integrates a series of illogical beliefs about firearms and their attributes or qualities.

3. Behavioral symptoms

As expected, given the nature of this fear, hoplophobia carries with it a series of behavioral symptoms. This behavioral symptomatology is manifested through avoidance and escape behaviors.

Avoidance behaviors refer to all those acts or behaviors that the person carries out with the intention of avoiding encountering the phobic stimulus . In this way they manage to avoid the anguish and anxiety generated by the situation.

As for the behaviors or acts of escape, if the person can not avoid encountering the object of his phobia, in this case the weapons, he will do everything necessary to escape the situation in which he is involved.

Causes

As mentioned above, there is not a large volume of study of hoplofobia, so its causes are still completely established . However, it is speculated that its etiology would have the same basis as the rest of specific phobias.

Taking into account the theories about the development of phobias, those people with traumatic experiences in relation to weapons or in whose education they proclaimed an intense rejection of these would be much more susceptible to develop this type of phobia.

Treatment

In most cases hoplofobia does not end up being highly incapacitating since the number of situations in which a person has to witness or deal with a weapon is not usually high .

Therefore, since the hoplofobia does not usually interfere in the person's daily life, very few people resort to professional help to treat this anxiety disorder.

However, there are a number of specific situations or contexts in which it is possible that this phobia may obstruct the daily routine of the person. These exceptions include people who live in countries in which the possession of weapons is legal, or people who work in contexts in which it is used are usual; as for example in security forces or police forces.

In these cases, interventions using a psychotherapy that includes a cognitive-behavioral treatment are very effective. This treatment can get the person overcome their phobic fear through gradual exposure to the stimulus accompanied by a training in relaxation techniques.


Zero Tolerance (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hoplophobie (peur des bras): symptômes, causes et traitement

Hoplophobie (peur des bras): symptômes, causes et traitement

Mai 11, 2021

Expérimenter une certaine peur en présence d'une arme à feu est une réaction naturelle du point de vue de la raison. En outre, le nombre d'accidents, de malheurs ou de catastrophes qui y sont liés n'aide pas ce changement.

Cependant, en laissant de côté leur réputation ou l'opinion personnelle que chacun en a, il y a eu une série de cas dans lesquels les gens manifestaient une peur irrationnelle et extrême de ces gadgets, cette peur est connue sous le nom d'hoplofobie. .

Qu'est-ce que l'hoplophobie?

L'hoplophobie est une phobie spécifique dans laquelle la personne ressent une peur inhabituelle, exacerbée et non fondée des armes en général ou des armes à feu en particulier.


Si nous prenons en compte l’origine du terme, il découle de l’expression grecque "hoplon" qui signifie arme et "phobos" qui peut être traduit par peur. Il est donc logique de penser que cette phobie inclut tout type d'arme, telle que les fusils, les fusils, les fusils ou tout autre type d'arme à feu.

Parfois, cette phobie se manifeste également par une peur irrationnelle et excessive à l’égard des personnes qui portent ou utilisent des armes, voire peut venir présenter un grand rejet ou une aversion pour les armes jouets .

Comme les autres phobies existantes, une personne atteinte d'hoplofobie éprouvera une série d'émotions et de manifestations physiques liées à un état d'anxiété très intense.


Histoire du terme hoplofobie

En 1962, le colonel Jeff Cooper, instructeur et spécialiste des armes à feu, a créé ce terme pour faire référence à un phénomène dont il a été témoin à maintes reprises. Ce phénomène consistait en une sorte d'altération mentale qui se distinguait par l'aversion ou la terreur irrationnelle aux armes.

Une autre caractéristique qui distingue Cooper est que les personnes souffrant d'hoplofobie ont une série de réflexions récurrentes sur les armes qui peuvent avoir leur propre volonté .

Actuellement, l'hoplofobie est étudiée d'un point de vue psychologique, qui tente de comprendre les dispositifs internes qui interviennent dans le développement d'une peur phobique. Bien que les recherches sur l'hoplophobie soient peu nombreuses, elles répondent parfaitement aux exigences auxquelles doit répondre une peur phobique. Cela doit être:


  • Excessif
  • Irrationnel
  • Être en dehors du domaine ou sous le contrôle de la personne
  • Persévérant

En raison de toutes ces caractéristiques, il est habituel que la personne souffrant d'hoplofobie évite tout contact avec tout type d'arme à feu. De même, il s’engage dans toutes sortes de comportement lorsqu’il découvre la présence d’une arme à feu.

Les symptômes

Comme l'hoplofobie entre dans la classification des phobies spécifiques, ses symptômes sont similaires à ceux de tout autre trouble anxieux de ce type.

Ces manifestations de nature anxieuse apparaissent chaque fois que la personne est devant une arme à feu, même si elle n'est pas clairement visible. . Autrement dit, une personne atteinte d'hoplofobie ne peut ressentir les symptômes que si elle voit un agent de police armé d'une arme à la ceinture.

Comme le reste des phobies, cette symptomatologie peut être divisée en symptômes physiques, cognitifs et comportementaux.

1. symptômes physiques

Les sensations de peur avant la présence ou l'observation d'une arme à feu génèrent une hyperactivité du système nerveux autonome du cerveau. Cette intensification du fonctionnement du système nerveux génère toutes sortes de changements et de transformations dans le corps.

Pendant l'épisode d'anxiété, la personne peut ressentir de nombreux symptômes physiques. Ceux-ci incluent:

  • Augmentation du rythme cardiaque
  • Tachycardie
  • Rythme respiratoire accru
  • Sensation de noyade
  • Augmentation de la tension musculaire
  • Mal de tête
  • Mal au ventre
  • Hyperhidrose
  • Vertigos
  • Nausées et vomissements
  • Sécheresse orale

2. symptômes cognitifs

Hoplofobia est associé à une série de croyances et de spéculations par rapport à la peur des armes à feu.

Ces pensées déformées conduisent au développement de cette phobie et se distinguent parce que la personne intègre une série de croyances illogiques sur les armes à feu et leurs attributs ou qualités.

3. symptômes comportementaux

Comme on pouvait s'y attendre, étant donné la nature de cette peur, l'hoplophobie entraîne une série de symptômes comportementaux. Cette symptomatologie comportementale se manifeste par des comportements d'évitement et d'évasion.

Les comportements d'évitement font référence à tous les actes ou comportements que la personne accomplit dans le but d'éviter de rencontrer le stimulus phobique. . Ils évitent ainsi l’angoisse et l’angoisse générées par la situation.

En ce qui concerne les comportements ou les actes d'évasion, si la personne ne peut pas éviter de rencontrer l'objet de sa phobie, dans ce cas les armes, elle fera tout ce qui est nécessaire pour échapper à la situation dans laquelle elle est impliquée.

Les causes

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, il n'y a pas beaucoup d'études sur l'hoplofobie, donc ses causes sont encore complètement établies . Cependant, il est supposé que son étiologie aurait la même base que le reste des phobies spécifiques.

Compte tenu des théories sur le développement des phobies, les personnes ayant des expériences traumatisantes en matière d’armes ou dont l’éducation proclamerait un rejet intense seraient beaucoup plus susceptibles de développer ce type de phobie.

Traitement

Dans la majorité des cas L'hoplofobie ne finit pas par être très invalidante, car le nombre de situations dans lesquelles une personne doit être témoin ou manipuler une arme n'est généralement pas élevé. .

Par conséquent, l'hoplofobie n'interférant généralement pas dans la vie quotidienne de la personne, très peu de personnes ont recours à l'aide d'un professionnel pour traiter ce trouble d'anxiété.

Cependant, il existe un certain nombre de situations ou de contextes spécifiques dans lesquels il est possible que cette phobie gêne la routine quotidienne de la personne. Ces exceptions incluent les personnes qui vivent dans des pays où la possession d’armes est légale, ou les personnes qui travaillent dans des contextes dans lesquels elles sont utilisées sont habituelles; comme par exemple dans les forces de sécurité ou les forces de police.

Dans ces cas, les interventions utilisant une psychothérapie incluant un traitement cognitivo-comportemental sont très efficaces. Ce traitement peut amener la personne à vaincre sa peur phobique par une exposition progressive au stimulus, accompagnée d'un entraînement aux techniques de relaxation.


[ARMES] LE TIR EN FRANCE (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes