yes, therapy helps!
Hoponopono (Ho'oponopono): healing through forgiveness

Hoponopono (Ho'oponopono): healing through forgiveness

June 23, 2022

The Hoponopono (also known with writing Ho'oponopono ) is a philosophy of conflict resolution and spiritual healing based on forgiveness, reconciliation and love.

Hoponopono (Ho'oponopono): forgiving oneself

Its origins go back to the first inhabitants of the Polynesian island of Hawaii, who used to practice healing rituals based on the Hoponopono philosophy. In the 20th century, Nalamaku Simeona He adapted the ancestral teachings and techniques to modern times and popularized what we currently understand as Hoponopono.

Although in the ancient versions of this healing art the figure of the healer was instructed by priests, in the current version the action falls on the individual who wishes to be healed, so we can understand this spiritual art as a method of self-help .


Polynesian beliefs

In the popular cultures of the Polynesian islands, it was believed that the errors committed by people were the cause of diseases, since they enervated the spirits of the gods. Moved by this dogma, they thought that to debug the mistakes the individual had to confess . If the confession was not granted, the person could become ill and die. Keeping the error secret is what stimulated the disease to continue to develop.

In the paradigm of psychoanalysis, we could translate the Polynesian beliefs by the concept of repression. When not having the conscience of those negative elements for the health, the tensions that provoke are anchored in the psyche, and more tardy they are somatized. When the error is confessed, the detrimental effect for the person is nullified, neutralized.


Ancestral practice of the Hoponopono

"Ho'oponopono" means, in Hawaiian, something like mental hygiene: family assemblies where relationships are channeled and balanced through words, discussion, confession, compensation, repentance, sincere understanding towards others, forgiveness and, ultimately, love.

While the particle "ho'o" is a prefix that converts a noun into a verb, the noun "pono" can be defined as "goodness, morality, correctness, virtue, fairness, ethics ..."

In this way, "ponopono" means "redirect , correct, reorder ... ".

One of the most outstanding researchers on Hawaiian tradition, Mary Pukui , described the first steps of the Hoponopono in the Polynesian culture as "a family tradition consisting in the family members meeting with other distant members of the same family and redirecting the entrenched problems between them, managing to forgive and understand the other".


The Hoponopono was conceived as a spiritual method to restore the bad interpersonal relationships that led to pathologies and diseases of the individual, and therefore of the group. It was possible to get to the origin of the problems, and it was believed that this also improved individual and family relationships with the gods, who provided certain essential elements for spiritual peace.

Hoponopono today

Of course, the Hoponopono concept is not due to experimental psychology and the psychological intervention practices that contain it do not have the endorsement of science. Despite this, it has been used in several contexts during the last decades.

Traditional application with criminals

During the second half of the 19th century, a prison program was implemented in Hawaii where offenders had to work with an elder who led Hoponopono meetings with their families, as an alternative method to purge inter and intrapersonal conflicts.

Karma catharsis

In the 70s of the last century, the traditional Hoponopono was adapted to the needs of industrial society. The philosophy of forgiveness and conflict resolution was extended to problems of a social nature, and it also acquired, on the other hand, a psychospiritual character of purification of emotional ballast of each individual.

This adaptation placed a lot of emphasis on the effects of negative Karma. Being aware and experiencing for yourself the pain you have caused to others is one of its foundations. The Hoponopono philosophy has elements of solipsism, reaching to affirm that "each one is creator of his own life and of his circumstances. All immoral action leaves its mark on the psyche itself and is reflected in every object or living being that witnessed that moment. "

The cleaning or purification of karma becomes an indispensable requirement for the expansion of consciousness .

Hoponopono: without limits

The 21st century versions of Hoponopono underscore the importance of achieving "the state of zero, where there are no limits or ties, no memory, no identity." To get to such a state, called "Self-I-Dentity" (self-I-identity), one must recurrently repeat the following mantra:

Please forgive me. So sorry. I love you.

The philosophy underlying today's Hoponopono advocates the assumption of full responsibility for our actions and that of others . Conflicts, then, arise from oneself and never by the force of an external reality. If you want to change personal reality, you have to change yourself. Although this postulate resembles solipsism, the truth is that Hoponopono does not deny the reality of the conscience of other people.

Instead, Hoponopono conceive the computation of the consciences that inhabit the world as intertwined pieces . If one cleanses one's own awareness of the mistakes made, it will be clearing everyone's conscience. Undoubtedly, a philosophy that can help us to understand ourselves better and to be more connected with the people around us.

Introductory book

Do you dare to try this philosophy? I invite you to get the book of the Dr. Mª Carmen Martínez entering this link.

Bibliographic references:

  • Pukui, Mary Kawena and Elbert, Samuel H., University of Hawaii (1986) ISBN 978-0-8248-0703-0
  • Simeona, Morrnah, Self-Identity through Ho'oponopono, Basic 1, Pacifica Seminars (1990)

Before Sleep Ho'oponopono Affirmation Meditation for forgiveness, reconciliation transformation (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hoponopono (Ho'oponopono): guérir par le pardon

Hoponopono (Ho'oponopono): guérir par le pardon

Septembre 22, 2020

Le Hoponopono (également connu avec l'écriture Ho'oponopono ) est une philosophie de résolution de conflits et de guérison spirituelle basée sur le pardon, la réconciliation et l’amour.

Hoponopono (Ho'oponopono): se pardonner

Ses origines remontent aux premiers habitants de l'île polynésienne d'Hawaï, qui pratiquaient des rituels de guérison inspirés de la philosophie Hoponopono. Au 20ème siècle, Nalamaku Simeona Il a adapté les enseignements et les techniques ancestraux aux temps modernes et a popularisé ce que nous comprenons actuellement sous le nom de Hoponopono.

Bien que, dans les anciennes versions de cet art de guérir, des prêtres aient donné des instructions à la figure du guérisseur, dans la version actuelle, l'action incombe à l'individu qui souhaite être guéri, afin que nous puissions comprendre cet art spirituel en tant que méthode d'auto-assistance. .


Croyances polynésiennes

Dans les cultures populaires des îles polynésiennes, on croyait que les erreurs commises par les hommes étaient la cause de maladies, car elles énervaient l’esprit des dieux. Ému par ce dogme, ils pensaient que pour déboguer les erreurs l'individu devait avouer . Si les aveux ne sont pas accordés, la personne peut tomber malade et mourir. Garder l'erreur secrète est ce qui a encouragé la maladie à continuer à se développer.

Dans le paradigme de la psychanalyse, nous pourrions traduire les croyances polynésiennes par le concept de la répression. Lorsqu'elles n'ont pas la conscience de ces éléments négatifs pour la santé, les tensions qui en découlent sont ancrées dans la psyché et, plus tard, elles se somatisent. Lorsque l'erreur est avouée, l'effet néfaste pour la personne est annulé, neutralisé.


Pratique ancestrale de l'Hoponopono

"Ho'oponopono" signifie, en hawaïen, quelque chose comme hygiène mentale: assemblées familiales où les relations sont canalisées et équilibrées par les mots, la discussion, la confession, l’indemnisation, la repentance, la compréhension sincère envers les autres, le pardon et, finalement, l’amour.

Alors que la particule "ho'o" est un préfixe qui convertit un nom en verbe, le nom "pono" peut être défini comme "bonté, moralité, exactitude, vertu, équité, éthique ..."

De cette façon, "ponopono" signifie "rediriger , corrigez, réorganisez ... ".

L'un des chercheurs les plus remarquables de la tradition hawaïenne, Mary Pukui , a décrit les premiers pas de Hoponopono dans la culture polynésienne comme "une tradition familiale consistant à ce que les membres de la famille se rencontrent avec des membres éloignés de la même famille et réorientent les problèmes enracinés entre eux, parvenant à pardonner et à comprendre l’autre".


L'Hoponopono a été conçu comme une méthode spirituelle pour restaurer les mauvaises relations interpersonnelles qui ont conduit à des pathologies et à des maladies de l'individu, et donc du groupe. Il était possible de parvenir à l'origine des problèmes et on pensait que cela améliorait également les relations individuelles et familiales avec les dieux, qui fournissaient certains éléments essentiels à la paix spirituelle.

Hoponopono aujourd'hui

Bien entendu, le concept Hoponopono n'est pas dû à la psychologie expérimentale et les pratiques d'intervention psychologique qui le contiennent n'ont pas l'aval de la science. Malgré cela, il a été utilisé dans plusieurs contextes au cours des dernières décennies.

Application traditionnelle avec des criminels

Au cours de la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle, un programme pénitentiaire a été mis en place à Hawaii, où les délinquants devaient travailler avec un ancien qui dirigeait les réunions de Hoponopono avec leurs familles, comme méthode alternative pour éliminer les conflits inter et intrapersonnels.

Karma catharsis

Dans les années 70 du siècle dernier, le Hoponopono traditionnel a été adapté aux besoins de la société industrielle. La philosophie du pardon et de la résolution des conflits s’est étendue aux problèmes de nature sociale et a également acquis, en revanche, une caractère psychospirituel de purification du ballast émotionnel de chaque individu.

Cette adaptation a mis beaucoup d'emphase sur les effets du Karma négatif. Etre conscient et ressentir par soi-même la douleur que vous avez causée aux autres est l’un de ses fondements. La philosophie Hoponopono a des éléments de solipsisme, affirmant que "chacun est créateur de sa vie et de ses circonstances. Toute action immorale laisse sa marque sur la psyché elle-même et se reflète dans chaque objet ou être vivant qui a été témoin de ce moment. "

Le nettoyage ou la purification du karma devient une condition indispensable pour la expansion de la conscience .

Hoponopono: sans limites

Les versions de Hoponopono du XXIe siècle soulignent l’importance d’atteindre «l’état de zéro, sans limites ni liens, sans mémoire ni identité». Pour arriver à un tel état, appelé "Self-I-Dentity" (identité de soi), il faut répéter de manière récurrente le mantra suivant:

Excuse-moi s'il te plaît. Je suis desolé. Je t'aime.

La philosophie qui sous-tend l'Hoponopono d'aujourd'hui préconise la prise en charge de la responsabilité de nos actes et de ceux des autres . Les conflits naissent donc de soi et jamais par la force d’une réalité extérieure. Si vous voulez changer la réalité personnelle, vous devez changer vous-même. Bien que ce postulat ressemble au solipsisme, la vérité est que Hoponopono ne nie pas la réalité de la conscience des autres.

Hoponopono à la place concevoir le calcul des consciences qui habitent le monde comme des pièces entrelacées . Si on nettoie sa propre conscience des erreurs commises, ce sera la conscience de tout le monde. Sans aucun doute, une philosophie qui peut nous aider à mieux nous comprendre et à être plus en contact avec les gens qui nous entourent.

Livre d'introduction

Oserez-vous essayer cette philosophie? Je vous invite à prendre le livre de la Dr. Mª Carmen Martínez entrer ce lien.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Pukui, Mary Kawena et Elbert, Samuel H., Université de Hawaii (1986) ISBN 978-0-8248-0703-0
  • Simeona, Morrnah, Identité de soi à travers Ho'oponopono, Basic 1, Pacifica Seminars (1990)

Méditation Ho'oponopono - Se pardonner (Septembre 2020).


Articles Connexes