yes, therapy helps!
How are people who do not suffer from mental disorders, according to science

How are people who do not suffer from mental disorders, according to science

May 17, 2024

Some psychopathologies are very frequent nowadays, and nobody is surprised to hear about anxiety disorders, depression or nowadays, because everyone knows them. According to the data of different organisms, anxiety disorders affect many people at least sometime during their life, approximately one in three.

Now, some of them are more frequent than others., And Some people are significantly less likely to have mental disorders .

  • Related article: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

Different types of psychological disorders

There are many psychological disorders that can affect people , each of them varies in their symptoms and their severity. There are two manuals that serve as a reference for psychologists. One of them is the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders or DSM, which is currently in its fifth edition, and the ICD-10, which belongs to the World Health Organization.


According to these, there are different types of mental disorders. They are the following:

  • Neurodevelopmental disorders : manifest during the maturational development of a person.
  • Psychotic disorders: include those pathologies that have delusions or hallucinations.
  • Mood disorders : depression is included in this group,
  • Anxiety disorders: the most frequent. They include, among others, panic attacks, phobias or obsessive-compulsive disorder.
  • Eating disorders : we can highlight anorexia and bulimia.

If you want to know more types of anxiety disorders and go deeper into them you can read this article: "The 18 types of mental illnesses"


How are people who do not suffer from mental disorders

But despite the fact that mental disorders are frequent today, a recent investigation, carried out by the University of Otago, in New Zealand, wanted to find out What are the characteristics of individuals who suffer from any mental disorder? , in terms of statistical trends. To obtain the results, they analyzed, through psychological tests, the life of some subjects, from their childhood to the third age. Here are the reasons why people do not suffer from mental disorders, according to the researchers.

1. Do not have a family history of mental disorders

Some mental disorders may have a genetic origin , so this variable could be important when developing some psychological problems. Although the environment in which a person lives can also affect mental health, in some cases, the genetic origin is a reality.


2. Less negative emotions in childhood

Childhood has a great influence on what we will be as adults, and researchers found that people who do not suffer from mental disorders they showed less negative emotions at the age of five .

While a positive attitude can influence mental health, it seems that experiencing fewer negative emotions in childhood is a reliable indicator of the presence of mental disorders in the future.

  • Maybe you're interested: "6 keys to overcome a difficult childhood"

3. They are resilient

Being resilient is a great virtue and helps us to enjoy good mental health, as resilient people they face problems more adaptively and have a greater capacity to overcome traumatic experiences. According to this study, these people are less likely to develop psychological disorders.

Resilient people take steps to improve their self-esteem, immerse themselves in creative tasks, live in the present but struggle for their goals, and they use humor to empower themselves , among other features.

  • Related article: "The 12 typical habits of resilient people"

4. Good interpersonal relationships

There are many studies that indicate that friendship is an important factor for our happiness and, in fact, can even reduce some negative phenomena such as work stress. And is that personal relationships, when they are toxic, can cause serious mental health problems of people, and great suffering, so that healthy relationships seem to indicate that we enjoy good emotional well-being.

5. Self-control and management of emotions

We have already spoken in many of our articles about how emotional intelligence affects our mental health. And it is that we know our own emotions and be aware of those of others helps regulate our behavior and improves our wellbeing . The researchers found that the level of self-control of emotions and, therefore, of our behavior, could be key to preventing mental disorders.

Benefits of emotional intelligence

And is that emotional intelligence has proven to be key to our well-being. This is what several studies have found: when they reach adulthood, those individuals who have managed to be successful in the professional field do not have to enjoy good mental health .

Our way of facing complex situations and the management we make of our emotions is crucial in how we feel emotionally and prevents the development of different psychological pathologies.

  • Related article: "The 10 benefits of emotional intelligence"

Mental Illness | Treatment Options | Nucleus Health (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment les gens qui ne souffrent pas de troubles mentaux, selon la science

Comment les gens qui ne souffrent pas de troubles mentaux, selon la science

Septembre 15, 2022

Certaines psychopathologies sont très fréquentes de nos jours et personne n’est surpris d’entendre parler de troubles anxieux, de dépression ou de nos jours, car tout le monde les connaît. Selon les données de différents organismes, les troubles anxieux affectent de nombreuses personnes au moins une fois au cours de leur vie, environ une personne sur trois.

Maintenant, certains sont plus fréquents que d’autres., Et Certaines personnes sont beaucoup moins susceptibles d'avoir des troubles mentaux .

  • Article connexe: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Différents types de troubles psychologiques

De nombreux troubles psychologiques peuvent affecter les gens , chacun d’eux varie dans ses symptômes et sa sévérité. Il existe deux manuels qui servent de référence aux psychologues. L'un d'entre eux est le Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux ou DSM, qui en est actuellement à sa cinquième édition, et la CIM-10, qui appartient à l'Organisation mondiale de la santé.


Selon ceux-ci, il existe différents types de troubles mentaux. Ils sont les suivants:

  • Troubles du développement neurologique : manifeste pendant le développement de la maturation d'une personne.
  • Troubles psychotiques: incluent les pathologies qui ont des idées délirantes ou des hallucinations.
  • Troubles de l'humeur : la dépression est incluse dans ce groupe,
  • Troubles anxieux: les plus fréquents. Ils comprennent, entre autres, les attaques de panique, les phobies ou le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif.
  • Troubles de l'alimentation : on peut souligner l'anorexie et la boulimie.

Si vous souhaitez connaître davantage de types de troubles anxieux et les approfondir, vous pouvez lire cet article: "Les 18 types de maladies mentales"


Comment les gens qui ne souffrent pas de troubles mentaux

Mais malgré le fait que les troubles mentaux sont fréquents aujourd’hui, une récente enquête menée par l’Université d’Otago, en Nouvelle-Zélande, a cherché à savoir Quelles sont les caractéristiques des personnes souffrant d'un trouble mental? , en termes de tendances statistiques. Pour obtenir les résultats, ils ont analysé, au moyen de tests psychologiques, la vie de certains sujets, de leur enfance au troisième âge. Voici les raisons pour lesquelles les gens ne souffrent pas de troubles mentaux, selon les chercheurs.

1. Ne pas avoir d'antécédents familiaux de troubles mentaux

Certains troubles mentaux peuvent avoir une origine génétique , cette variable peut donc être importante lors du développement de certains problèmes psychologiques. Bien que l'environnement dans lequel vit une personne puisse également affecter la santé mentale, dans certains cas, l'origine génétique est une réalité.


2. Moins d'émotions négatives dans l'enfance

L’enfance a une grande influence sur ce que nous serons à l’âge adulte, et des chercheurs ont découvert que les personnes ne souffrant pas de troubles mentaux ils ont montré des émotions moins négatives à l'âge de cinq ans .

Bien qu'une attitude positive puisse influer sur la santé mentale, il semble que le fait de connaître moins d'émotions négatives pendant l'enfance soit un indicateur fiable de la présence de troubles mentaux à l'avenir.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "6 clés pour surmonter une enfance difficile"

3. Ils sont résilients

Être résilient est une grande vertu et nous aide à avoir une bonne santé mentale en tant que personnes résilientes ils font face à des problèmes de manière plus adaptative et ont une plus grande capacité à surmonter les expériences traumatiques. Selon cette étude, ces personnes sont moins susceptibles de développer des troubles psychologiques.

Les personnes résilientes prennent des mesures pour améliorer leur estime de soi, se plonger dans des tâches créatives, vivre dans le présent mais se battre pour atteindre leurs objectifs, et ils utilisent l'humour pour s'autonomiser , entre autres fonctionnalités.

  • Article connexe: "Les 12 habitudes typiques des personnes résilientes"

4. Bonnes relations interpersonnelles

De nombreuses études indiquent que l'amitié est un facteur important pour notre bonheur et peut même réduire certains phénomènes négatifs tels que le stress au travail. Et est-ce les relations personnelles, lorsqu'elles sont toxiques, peuvent causer de graves problèmes de santé mentale de personnes et de grandes souffrances, de sorte que des relations saines semblent indiquer que nous jouissons d'un bon bien-être émotionnel.

5. Maîtrise de soi et gestion des émotions

Nous avons déjà parlé dans plusieurs de nos articles de l'impact de l'intelligence émotionnelle sur notre santé mentale. Et c’est que nous connaissons nos propres émotions et que nous prenons conscience de celles des autres aide à réguler notre comportement et améliore notre bien-être . Les chercheurs ont découvert que le niveau de maîtrise de soi des émotions et, par conséquent, de notre comportement, pouvait être essentiel à la prévention des troubles mentaux.

Avantages de l'intelligence émotionnelle

Et est-ce que l'intelligence émotionnelle s'est révélée être la clé de notre bien-être. C’est ce que plusieurs études ont constaté: à l’âge adulte, les personnes qui ont réussi à réussir dans le domaine professionnel ne doivent pas jouir d'une bonne santé mentale .

Notre façon de faire face à des situations complexes et la gestion de nos émotions sont déterminantes pour notre sentiment émotionnel et empêchent le développement de différentes pathologies psychologiques.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 avantages de l'intelligence émotionnelle"
Articles Connexes