yes, therapy helps!
How do we learn to love in an authentic way?

How do we learn to love in an authentic way?

May 27, 2024

Since children, the words that we hear the most to conjugate all and that we learn to imitate and use are, in many cases, "I love you", I love you. However, when we subsequently try to obtain in reality, in fact, such conjugation, we find it very difficult to experience it in a healthy way. Unconsciously, our affective relationships are contaminated by egocentrism, jealousy, domination, passivity and other elements that hinder the connection with this verb.

Erich Fromm, in the book The art of Loving, asserts that love is not an easy feeling for anyone , whatever our degree of maturity. "All attempts to love are doomed to failure, unless actively seeking to develop the total personality and achieve a positive orientation."


We all try to be loved, and not to love, and we struggle to achieve that goal. It is inferred that love is simple if the proper object is found to love or be loved by him.

  • Related article: "The 4 types of love: what different kinds of love are there?"

How do we learn to love in our day to day?

For Fromm, you learn to love like an art, interiorizing the theory and practice gradually and with the clear conscience that it is a matter of primordial importance, on whose achievement depends our psychological equilibrium.

According to the author, the only valid solution to avoid emotional isolation is in the achievement of interpersonal union, the fusion of love. The inability to achieve it means insanity, destruction of oneself and others. "Love is the mature solution to the problem of human existence," says Fromm.


At the same time, Fromm sees the immature forms in the "symbiotic relationships" . One of its manifestations happens when we become obsessed with the other and we really convince ourselves that we love, when in reality it is an obsessive process. Therefore, when we say that we are crazy for each other, we are not defining the qualitative or quantitative relationship, much less, the authenticity of love, but rather the degree of loneliness in which we were before we met "lovingly".

In contrast to the symbiotic union, mature love implies union on the condition of preserving one's own individuality. In his work and becoming, the human being is free, is the owner of his affection.

Respect as the foundation of love

Love resides in respect; if there is no respect, there is no love. It is obvious that respect arises from one's dignity, emancipation and freedom . To respect is to allow the development of the beloved person in his own way and not as I want, to serve me, to agree with me, to resemble me or to respond to my needs.


In order to have certainty that we "inhabit" a mature love relationship, it is necessary for men and women to achieve integration between their masculine and feminine poles, a requisite and necessary and sufficient condition to reach maturity in love.

On the other hand, as far as mature love is concerned, the logical fallacy implied by the notion that love of others and love of oneself are mutually exclusive can be highlighted. The truth is that if it is a virtue to love your neighbor as yourself, it must also be that I love myself, because I am also a human being. Love for others happens through love for me.

Love as an act of giving

Love we discover it only in a free, authentic human being , and manifests itself fundamentally in the ability to give. "It's not rich who has a lot, but who gives a lot," says Fromm. Thus, we can distinguish between:

1. Maternal love

Maternal love not only contributes and encourages the preservation of the child's life but must also inculcate in the child the love of life, the desire to stay alive beyond instinct . The "good mother" gives her happiness, her honey, and not just her milk.

Unlike erotic love, where two separate beings become one, in maternal love two beings that were united will separate and, therefore, a healthy mother psychologically and emotionally will encourage and cement the path of his son towards autonomy, respecting him your individuality It is the ultimate test of maturity and maternal love in an extensive way.

2. Erotic love

Unlike fraternal or maternal love, Erotic love is a union with a single person , exclusive and, if it is also loving, means establishing it from the essence of being.

3. The selfish

The egoist does not love himself, he hates himself, has a low self-concept and low self-esteem . Selfishness and self-love, far from being identical, are really dissimilar.If an individual only loves others, he can not love at all; For the same reason, if you only love yourself, you understand nothing about what it is to love.

A reflection on lovers and affection

Satisfaction in individual and social love can not be achieved without the ability to love one's neighbor, without concentration, long-suffering and method. "In a culture in which these qualities are rare, the ability to love must also be rare."

Fromm proposes that we must go beyond the universality of economic interest where the means become ends, where the human being is an automaton; we must build a supreme place and the economy is to serve it and not to be served, where others are treated as equals and not as servants, that is, where love is not separated from one's social existence.


How to love and be loved | Billy Ward | TEDxFoggyBottom (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment apprenons-nous à aimer de manière authentique?

Comment apprenons-nous à aimer de manière authentique?

Novembre 22, 2019

Depuis l'enfance, les mots que nous entendons le plus pour tout conjuguer et que nous apprenons à imiter et à utiliser sont, dans bien des cas, "je t'aime", je t'aime. Cependant, lorsque nous essayons par la suite d’obtenir en réalité une telle conjugaison, il nous est très difficile de la vivre sainement. Inconsciemment nos relations affectives sont contaminées par l'égocentrisme, la jalousie, la domination, la passivité et d'autres éléments qui entravent la connexion avec ce verbe.

Erich Fromm, dans le livre L'art d'aimer, affirme que l'amour n'est un sentiment facile pour personne quel que soit notre degré de maturité. "Toutes les tentatives d'aimer sont vouées à l'échec, à moins de chercher activement à développer la personnalité totale et à obtenir une orientation positive."


Nous essayons tous d'être aimés et de ne pas aimer, et nous luttons pour atteindre cet objectif. On en déduit que l'amour est simple si l'objet approprié est trouvé pour aimer ou être aimé par lui.

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 types d’amour: quels sont les différents types d’amour?"

Comment apprenons-nous à aimer au quotidien?

Pour Fromm, vous apprenez à aimer comme un art, intérioriser progressivement la théorie et la pratique et avec la conscience claire que c’est une question d’importance primordiale, dont la réalisation dépend de notre équilibre psychologique.

Selon l'auteur, la seule solution valable pour éviter l'isolement émotionnel est dans la réalisation de l'union interpersonnelle, la fusion de l'amour. L'incapacité à y parvenir signifie la démence, la destruction de soi et des autres. "L'amour est la solution mature au problème de l'existence humaine", déclare Fromm.


En même temps, Fromm voit les formes immatures dans les "relations symbiotiques" . L'une de ses manifestations se produit lorsque nous sommes obsédés par l'autre et que nous nous convainquons vraiment que nous aimons, alors qu'en réalité c'est un processus obsessionnel. Par conséquent, lorsque nous disons que nous sommes fous les uns des autres, nous ne définissons pas la relation qualitative ou quantitative, encore moins l’authenticité de l’amour, mais plutôt le degré de solitude dans lequel nous étions avant de nous rencontrer «amoureusement».

Contrairement à l’union symbiotique, l’amour mature implique l’union à la condition de préserver sa propre individualité. Dans son travail et son devenir, l'être humain est libre, est le propriétaire de son affection.

Le respect comme fondement de l'amour

L'amour réside dans le respect; s'il n'y a pas de respect, il n'y a pas d'amour. Il est évident que le respect découle de la dignité, de l'émancipation et de la liberté . Respecter, c'est permettre le développement de la personne aimée à sa manière et non comme je le veux, me servir, être d'accord avec moi, me ressembler ou répondre à mes besoins.


Pour avoir la certitude que nous "vivons" dans une relation amoureuse mature, il est nécessaire que les hommes et les femmes parviennent à intégrer leurs pôles masculin et féminin, condition nécessaire, nécessaire et suffisante pour atteindre la maturité amoureuse.

En revanche, en ce qui concerne l’amour mature, il est possible de mettre en évidence l’erreur fallacieuse suggérée par la notion selon laquelle l’amour des autres et l’amour de soi-même s’excluent mutuellement. La vérité est que si aimer son prochain comme soi-même est une vertu, il faut aussi que je m'aime moi-même, car je suis aussi un être humain. L'amour pour les autres passe par l'amour pour moi.

L'amour comme acte de don

L'amour on ne le découvre que dans un être humain libre et authentique , et se manifeste fondamentalement dans la capacité à donner. "Ce n'est pas un riche qui a beaucoup, mais qui donne beaucoup", explique Fromm. Ainsi, on peut distinguer entre:

1. amour maternel

L’amour maternel contribue et encourage non seulement à préserver la vie de l’enfant, mais doit aussi lui inculquer l'amour de la vie, le désir de rester en vie au-delà de l'instinct . La "bonne mère" lui donne le bonheur, son miel et pas seulement son lait.

Contrairement à l’amour érotique, où deux êtres séparés ne font plus qu’un, dans l’amour maternel, deux êtres unis seraient séparés et, par conséquent, une mère en bonne santé encouragerait et cimenterait psychologiquement et émotionnellement le chemin de son fils vers l’autonomie, en le respectant votre individualité C'est le test ultime de la maturité et de l'amour maternel d'une manière étendue.

2. amour érotique

Contrairement à l'amour fraternel ou maternel, L'amour érotique est une union avec une seule personne , exclusif et, s’il aime aussi, signifie l’établir à partir de l’essence de l’être.

3. l'égoïste

L'égoïste ne s'aime pas, il se déteste, a une faible estime de soi et une faible estime de soi . L'égoïsme et l'amour de soi, loin d'être identiques, sont vraiment différents.Si un individu n'aime que les autres, il ne peut pas aimer du tout; Pour la même raison, si vous vous aimez seulement, vous ne comprenez rien à ce que c'est que d'aimer.

Une réflexion sur les amoureux et l'affection

La satisfaction dans l'amour individuel et social ne peut être obtenue sans la capacité d'aimer son prochain, sans concentration, sans souffrance et sans méthode. "Dans une culture dans laquelle ces qualités sont rares, la capacité à aimer doit aussi l'être."

Fromm propose de dépasser l'universalité de l'intérêt économique, où le moyen devient une fin, où l'être humain est un automate; nous devons construire un lieu suprême et l’économie doit le servir et non le servir, où les autres sont traités comme des égaux et non en tant que serviteurs, c'est-à-dire lorsque l'amour n'est pas séparé de l'existence sociale.


Apprendre a parler Anglais Couramment/ Mon histoire (Novembre 2019).


Articles Connexes