yes, therapy helps!
How do we think? The two thought systems of Daniel Kahneman

How do we think? The two thought systems of Daniel Kahneman

May 6, 2021

According to author Shanon M. Koening, people have 60,000 thoughts a day and most are negative. Such a shocking figure makes us think about how little we know about thinking and the great influence it has on our behavior and decision making.

Daniel Kahneman, a psychologist with Nobel Prize

A reputed American psychologist realized the importance of thinking and his research led him to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics in 2001 . To explain the theory that led him to obtain the Nobel Prize, Kahneman begins by raising his students the following conundrum:

Do not try to solve this exercise and try to use intuition:


A bat and a ball cost 1.10. The bat costs a dollar more than the ball. How much does the ball cost?

The answer of 10 cents is presented as a quick, powerful and attractive intuition, but it is incorrect.

To reach the correct solution, 5 cents, many of us will have to resort to pencil and paper, transforming the riddle into a mathematical equation. We will have to resort to the slowest and most fatiguing way of thinking that our brain allows. Some psychologists consider that this type of test is a more valid predictor of intelligence than current IQ tests . In this case, it serves to illustrate that intuitions can be wrong, no matter how powerful they may seem.


Kahneman uses this example to describe the two different ways in which the mind creates thought.

First, there is the System 1 or implicit . This way of thinking is fast, automatic, frequent, emotional, stereotyped and subconscious. On the other hand, there is the System 2 or explicit . It is slow, lazy, infrequent, logical, calculating and is accompanied by the awareness of solving a problem.

These two systems of antagonistic nature are found in the day to day of all the decisions of our life.

How do the 2 systems of thought work?

The quick 10 cent solution with which you gave quickly at the beginning of the year is due to the operation of System 1 offering a reasonable response. However, when you used the pen and paper, you used System 2, which on this occasion offered you the correct solution of 5 cents, a slower and more expensive solution but, after all, the correct answer.


This is so because system 1, moved by intuition and heuristics, It allows us to do simple tasks such as walking or brushing our teeth effortlessly . On the contrary, system 2 will be at stake when we are doing the most complicated tasks, such as learning to drive.

Both system 1 and system 2 are continuously active and in communication. System 1 determines our thoughts with external perceptions, visual and associative memory, and then develops a framed conclusion, which we do not even question, thus avoiding any other alternative history. The challenge is that I usually do a good job, so that we can trust him.

Intuitions guide our day to day

Using the theory of heuristics, Kahneman states that system 1 associates new information with existing patterns, or thoughts, rather than creating new patterns for each new experience. to . This results in different types of biases. System 1, by generating narrow and framed thinking, tries to show that it leads to a confirmation bias. The confirmation bias leads people to ignore some evidence that contradicts such thinking, and is one of the biggest individual problems when companies make decisions.

In short, people tend to look for information that validates their initial hypothesis. Kahneman details a series of experiments that aim to highlight the differences between these two thought processes and how they reach different results even if they receive the same information.

Now you know a little more about those products that your brain generates an average of 60,000 times a day, and about how many of them are generated quickly and without taking into account all the present information leading to erroneous conclusions.

So, the next time you make a bad decision, do not put it on your face . Now you know that system 1 is acting automatically and that the best decision you can make is to take paper and pen so that thought system 2 activates and takes you to make the right decisions.


Daniel Kahneman: Thinking Fast vs. Thinking Slow | Inc. Magazine (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment pensons-nous? Les deux systèmes de pensée de Daniel Kahneman

Comment pensons-nous? Les deux systèmes de pensée de Daniel Kahneman

Mai 22, 2019

Selon l'auteur Shanon M. Koening, les gens ont 60 000 pensées par jour et la plupart sont négatifs. Une telle figure choquante nous fait penser à combien nous savons peu de choses sur la pensée et à la grande influence que cela a sur notre comportement et notre processus de décision.

Daniel Kahneman, un psychologue avec le prix Nobel

Un psychologue américain réputé a compris l’importance de la pensée et de la ses recherches l'ont amené à recevoir le prix Nobel d'économie en 2001 . Pour expliquer la théorie qui l'a amené à obtenir le prix Nobel, Kahneman commence par soulever à ses étudiants l'énigme suivante:

N'essayez pas de résoudre cet exercice et d'utiliser l'intuition:


Une batte et une balle coûtent 1.10. La chauve-souris coûte un dollar de plus que la balle. Combien coûte la balle?

La réponse de 10 cents est présentée comme une intuition rapide, puissante et attrayante, mais elle est incorrecte.

Pour trouver la bonne solution, 5 centimes, beaucoup d'entre nous devront recourir au crayon et au papier, transformant l'énigme en une équation mathématique. Nous devrons recourir à la façon la plus lente et la plus fatigante de penser que notre cerveau permet. Certains psychologues considèrent que ce type de test est un prédicteur d'intelligence plus valide que les tests de QI actuels . Dans ce cas, cela sert à illustrer le fait que les intuitions peuvent être fausses, aussi puissantes qu'elles puissent paraître.


Kahneman utilise cet exemple pour décrire les deux manières différentes dont l’esprit crée la pensée.

Il y a d'abord le Système 1 ou implicite . Cette façon de penser est rapide, automatique, fréquente, émotionnelle, stéréotypée et subconsciente. D'autre part, il y a le Système 2 ou explicite . Il est lent, paresseux, peu fréquent, logique, calculateur et s’accompagne de la prise de conscience de la résolution d’un problème.

Ces deux systèmes de nature antagoniste se retrouvent au quotidien dans toutes les décisions de notre vie.

Comment fonctionnent les 2 systèmes de pensée?

La solution rapide de 10 cents avec laquelle vous avez donné rapidement en début d’année est due au fonctionnement du Système 1 offrant une réponse raisonnable. Cependant, lorsque vous avez utilisé le stylo et le papier, vous avez utilisé System 2, qui vous proposait cette fois la solution correcte de 5 centimes, une solution plus lente et plus coûteuse, mais, après tout, la réponse correcte.


En effet, le système 1, déplacé par intuition et heuristique, Cela nous permet de faire des tâches simples comme marcher ou se brosser les dents sans effort . Au contraire, le système 2 sera en jeu lorsque nous effectuerons les tâches les plus compliquées, telles que l’apprentissage de la conduite.

Le système 1 et le système 2 sont toujours actifs et en communication. Le Système 1 détermine nos pensées avec des perceptions externes, une mémoire visuelle et associative, puis développe une conclusion encadrée, que nous ne remettons même pas en question, évitant ainsi toute autre histoire alternative. Le défi, c’est que je fais habituellement du bon travail pour pouvoir lui faire confiance.

Les intuitions guident notre quotidien

En utilisant la théorie de l'heuristique, Kahneman déclare que le système 1 associe les nouvelles informations aux schémas existants, ou pensées, plutôt que de créer de nouveaux schémas pour chaque nouvelle expérience. un . Cela entraîne différents types de biais. Le système 1, en générant une pensée étroite et cadrée, essaie de montrer qu'il en résulte un biais de confirmation. Le biais de confirmation amène les gens à ignorer certaines preuves qui contredisent une telle pensée et constitue l'un des plus gros problèmes individuels lorsque les entreprises prennent des décisions.

En bref, les gens ont tendance à rechercher des informations qui valident leur hypothèse initiale. Kahneman détaille une série d'expériences qui visent à mettre en évidence les différences entre ces deux processus de pensée et la façon dont ils atteignent des résultats différents même s'ils reçoivent la même information.

Vous en savez maintenant un peu plus sur ces produits que votre cerveau génère en moyenne 60 000 fois par jour, et sur le nombre de ceux-ci générés rapidement et sans prendre en compte toutes les informations actuelles menant à des conclusions erronées.

Alors, la prochaine fois que vous prenez une mauvaise décision, ne la mettez pas sur votre visage . Vous savez maintenant que le système 1 agit automatiquement et que la meilleure décision que vous pouvez prendre est de prendre du papier et un stylo pour que le système de pensée 2 s’active et vous oblige à prendre les bonnes décisions.


Rory Sutherland: Perspective is everything (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes