yes, therapy helps!
How do you intervene psychologically with pedophiles?

How do you intervene psychologically with pedophiles?

April 4, 2024

It is not uncommon to read in the press or hear on the news that they have arrested participants of networks linked to child pornography or cases in which an adult subject has sexually abused minors. Most of these subjects are pedophiles , people who feel sexual attraction for minors.

Pedophilia is a serious problem known since antiquity that can have serious effects both for the pedophile himself and for his object of desire if he comes to put his fantasies into practice. In addition, it is a problem classified as mental disorder, and as such is related to the intervention of psychology professionals. How do you intervene psychologically with pedophiles? Let's start with the fundamental.


  • Related article: "Pedophilia (sexual assaults on children): in the mind of the pedophile"

Brief previous definition: what is pedophilia?

Pedophilia is a paraphilia, disorder of sexual inclination or the choice of the object in which the subject presents for at least six months a series of recurrent and persistent fantasies of a sexual nature in which the object of his desire are prepubertal individuals, usually younger than thirteen years of age. These fantasies generate in the subject itself a high level of tension, discomfort or alteration of the usual functionality.

For a subject to be considered a pedophile, he must be at least sixteen years of age and at least five years older than the prepubert. It is important do not confuse pedophilia with pedophilia , the first being the existence of sexual attraction towards minors while the second indicates that real sexual abuse has occurred. That is, a pedophile does not have to take action: not all pedophiles are pedophiles (nor do all pedophiles have to be pedophiles, there being sexual abuse of minors for reasons other than sexual attraction).


For the most part, pedophiles are middle-aged males , usually heterosexual, which usually have links with the victims (family, neighborhood or work) and who do not usually use violence to approach their object of desire. However, there are also pedophiles (which statistically tend to be preferred by adolescents and children under three years of age), as well as pedophilia targeting minors of the same sex.

Although it is considered a disorder, in most cases the subjects who suffer from it are fully aware of their actions, enjoying freedom and willingness to carry or not carry out sexual abuse. That is why most of them are criminally imputable subjects. Despite this there are exceptions in which other psychic alterations occur.

  • Related article: "The main sexual and psychosexual disorders"

Types of pedophiles

There are many different types of pedophiles. Some experience deep discomfort and guilt because of the attraction they feel, while others consider that it is right and justify their actions and even in some cases they may find themselves subject to sadistic and psychopathic tendencies.


In some cases they themselves have suffered sexual abuse during childhood, while others have not. Sometimes the pedophile feels a romantic attraction towards the minor in question, while in other cases it is a purely sexual interest.

When establishing a treatment, all these characteristics can greatly influence the strategies to be used and their possible effectiveness.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Differences between pedophilia and pederasty"

Perspectives on the treatment of pedophilia

The treatment of pedophilia is a complex reality that throughout history has received different considerations and in which different techniques have been used, acting both from psychology and from medicine.

Keep in mind that generally pedophiles they come to consultation due to environmental pressures or by court order , having few cases in which they do it of own will. This makes the treatment complex and there may be little adherence to it.

Medical treatments: pharmacology and surgery

The medical-type treatments for pedophilia can focus on two major groups: pharmacology and surgery. Many of the pedophile subjects who fear sexually assaulting minors or who do not want it to happen again ask for this type of intervention.

The use of pharmacology focuses on the control of sexual desire, the reduction of arousal, through hormonal regulation of the individuals.

The two most historically used elements have been cyproterone acetate, which blocks androgens and therefore reduces the production of testosterone, and the medroxyprogesterone acetate , which decreases androgens and therefore the production of testosterone. Psychotropic drugs have also been used as tranquilizers and antipsychotics (highlighting haloperidol). Fluoxetine has also been used, but only causes clear improvements in subjects with compulsive characteristics.

Regarding surgery, its use is controversial and risky, given that it can involve a serious permanent deterioration for the habitual functioning of the subject at the same time that its effectiveness is questionable, since even if the subject can not have erections, it is possible to perform of abusive practices that do not include the use of the gonads. In this sense, either physical castration or the elimination of the nuclei of the ventromedial hypothalamus in the brain is used.

A big problem with this type of treatment is that deep down I do not know the basic problem, but its manifestations . In fact, although there is no sexual desire, some subjects subjected to these interventions may continue to maintain different types of abuse.

Psychological treatments

The psychological treatment of the pedophile must take into account, in the first place, that he is in front of a patient regardless of whether he has committed sexual abuse or not. The professional who treats them must bear in mind that their attitude towards the individual can be decisive at the time. Is about maintain an attitude in which the subject is not judged and focused on getting their recovery.

It is essential that the treatment performed is adapted to each case, since there is a great diversity of factors that can influence each person and cause the treatment to be more or less effective.

These treatments, which are carried out in the form of various programs, must take into account not only the modification of sexual preferences but also the pedophile's linkage and the search for cognitive changes . The paradigm most used in this type of cases is usually cognitive-behavioral, although other approaches have also been used, such as psychodynamic.

Addressing the problem

One of the first approaches that must be taken into account is the development of positive linkers through the training in social skills and empathy . It is recommended the use of cognitive restructuring and training in stress management (because in some cases impulsive behaviors are linked to impulses linked to anxiety).

It is necessary to work on aspects such as the significance for the subject of the fixation by the minors, the existence of possible causal elements and their treatment in case of having them. For example, if the victim suffered sexual abuse in childhood, work should be done to restructure the cognitions that such abuse may have caused in the pedophile and make him see what the act may mean for his own victims.

The possible perceived ineffectiveness to maintain relations with adults can be in some cases one of the causes that causes that the pedophile has been interested in minors. In this case also work can be done in the reinforcement of self-efficacy and in the training in assertiveness and social skills.

In order to try to modify sexual behavior, different alternatives and programs have been proposed, with the majority of the techniques used similar to those used in the rest of paraphilias or those used in cases of substance addiction. For example, contingency control is usually an element to be used, as well as assistance to support groups and group therapy in some cases.

It has been shown that a combination of pharmacological therapy together with psychological therapy is usually the most successful methodology.

Some techniques applied in different programs

As we have seen, one of the main ways to deal with a paraphilia from the cognitive-behavioral paradigm is the search for a development of positive connections that allow to enhance sexual arousal in non-paraphilic situations. In this sense, the analysis and modification of fantasies is usually used to later perform a masturbatory reconditioning.

In the first case, the patient is tried detect and classify your sexual fantasies in normal and parafílicas , so that the subject tries to maintain the first ones when it is given to the practice of onanism. It is intended to gradually get the subject more attracted to more common stimulations, such as contact with adults.

The masturbatory reconditioning consists in that when the subject masturbates several times in a row with non-paraphillic stimuli, indicate aloud the components of the fantasies that do include paraphillic elements. Wanted associate fixation by minors with the refractory period in which there is no excitement, so that little by little a lesser activation will be generated before the image of minors.

Then usually proceed to Deserotize the paraphillic stimulus . To do this, we try to alter the sequence of action that leads the subject to become excited by the idea of ​​interacting with a minor sexually.Different strategies are designed in order to generate incompatible behaviors with each of the steps that can lead to this excitement.

You can also apply aversive techniques such as disguised aversion (in which the subject is asked or exposed to imagine situations that would stop him from acting) or the olfactory (before the excitement of the subject to paraphilic stimuli is subjected to odors unpleasant so that the stimulus is associated with it instead of with sexual arousal). Initially electrical aversion was used, but at present it is not a usual practice.

Prevention

Prevention is fundamental in order to prevent the pedophile subject from taking action or repeating if he has already committed an act of pedophilia.

Pedophiles are frequent live in environments close to places with an abundance of children or work in environments linked to childhood. This is not advisable, given that the subject is exposed to their object of desire and puts both minors and the individual at risk. It is not about the subject being isolated, but about not facilitating their access to minors for the duration of the treatment.

  • Related article: "Prevent and detect early childhood sexual abuse"

Considerations

Keep in mind that treating a paraphilia such as pedophilia is a complex and difficult challenge to achieve. In fact, part of the scientific community considers that pedophilia does not yet have a treatment that allows it to be eliminated, on the basis of modifying the behavior of pedophiles so that they do not commit any abuse. However, treating the symptoms themselves would not address the underlying problem, thereby recidivism is possible . It is therefore necessary to further research on this phenomenon and how to deal with it effectively.

Another aspect to note is that there is a wide variety of cases with different characteristics: while some suffer and feel guilty for being pedophiles, others consider their acts legitimate or even hold the minor responsible for possible abuses. All these elements have to be taken into account and dealt with differentially.

Finally, it is important to consider that, as indicated above, a pedophile does not have to be a pedophile. Not because he is attracted to minors he has committed or will commit abuses, and he has the right to be treated without being prejudged by something you have not done . However, if a psychologist or other professional does not feel qualified to work with a person with this disorder should refer it to be treated by another professional.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Balbuena, F. (2014). Mapping pedophilia: efficacy of treatments and future strategies. Notes of Psychology, 32 (3). 245-250.
  • Salazar, M., Peralta, C., & Pastor, F.J. (2009). Treaty of Psychopharmacology (2nd Ed.). Madrid: Editorial Panamericana.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.

Sexual Offending: Measuring and understanding paedophilic sexual interest | Dr Caoilte Ó Ciardha (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment intervenez-vous psychologiquement auprès des pédophiles?

Comment intervenez-vous psychologiquement auprès des pédophiles?

Décembre 9, 2021

Il n'est pas rare de lire dans la presse ou d'entendre aux nouvelles qu'ils ont arrêté des participants de réseaux liés à la pornographie mettant en scène des enfants ou des cas dans lesquels un sujet adulte a abusé sexuellement de mineurs. La plupart de ces sujets sont des pédophiles , les personnes qui ressentent une attirance sexuelle pour les mineurs.

La pédophilie est un problème grave connu depuis l'Antiquité et qui peut avoir de graves effets à la fois pour le pédophile lui-même et pour son objet de désir s'il vient mettre ses fantasmes en pratique. En outre, il s'agit d'un problème classé comme trouble mental et, en tant que tel, lié à l'intervention de professionnels de la psychologie. Comment intervenez-vous psychologiquement auprès des pédophiles? Commençons par le fondamental.


  • Article connexe: "Pédophilie (agressions sexuelles sur des enfants): dans l'esprit du pédophile"

Brève définition précédente: qu'est-ce que la pédophilie?

Pédophilie est une paraphilie, trouble de l'inclination sexuelle ou le choix de l'objet dans lequel le sujet présente pendant au moins six mois une série de fantasmes à caractère sexuel récurrents et persistants dans lesquels l'objet de son désir est un individu prépubère, généralement âgé de moins de treize ans. Ces fantasmes génèrent dans le sujet lui-même un niveau élevé de tension, d'inconfort ou d'altération de la fonctionnalité habituelle.

Pour qu'un sujet soit considéré comme un pédophile, il doit avoir au moins seize ans et au moins cinq ans de plus que le pré-pubère. C'est important ne pas confondre pédophilie et pédophilie , le premier étant l'existence d'une attirance sexuelle envers les mineurs, le second indiquant l'existence d'un véritable abus sexuel. En d'autres termes, un pédophile n'est pas obligé d'agir: tous les pédophiles ne sont pas pédophiles (aucun pédophile n'est obligé de l'être, les agressions sexuelles sur mineurs à des fins autres que l'attraction sexuelle).


Pour la plupart, les pédophiles sont des hommes d'âge moyen , généralement hétérosexuels, qui ont généralement des liens avec les victimes (famille, voisinage ou travail) et qui n'utilisent généralement pas la violence pour approcher leur objet de désir. Cependant, il y a aussi des pédophiles (qui ont tendance à être statistiquement préférés par les adolescents et les enfants de moins de trois ans), ainsi que la pédophilie ciblant les mineurs du même sexe.

Bien que cela soit considéré comme un trouble, dans la plupart des cas, les sujets qui en souffrent sont pleinement conscients de leurs actes, jouissent de la liberté et sont disposés à subir ou non des abus sexuels. C'est pourquoi la plupart d'entre eux sont des sujets criminellement imputables. Malgré cela, il existe des exceptions dans lesquelles d'autres altérations psychiques se produisent.

  • Article connexe: "Les principaux troubles sexuels et psychosexuels"

Types de pédophiles

Il existe de nombreux types de pédophiles. Certains ressentent un profond inconfort et de la culpabilité en raison de l’attraction qu’ils ressentent, alors que d’autres considèrent que c’est juste et justifient leurs actions et même dans certains cas, ils peuvent se trouver sujets à des tendances sadiques et psychopathes.


Dans certains cas, ils ont eux-mêmes subi des abus sexuels pendant leur enfance, alors que d'autres ne l'ont pas été. Parfois, le pédophile ressent une attirance romantique pour le mineur en question, alors que dans d’autres cas, il s’agit d’un intérêt purement sexuel.

Lors de la mise en place d'un traitement, toutes ces caractéristiques peuvent grandement influer sur les stratégies à utiliser et leur efficacité éventuelle.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Différences entre pédophilie et pédérastie"

Perspectives sur le traitement de la pédophilie

Le traitement de la pédophilie est une réalité complexe cela à travers l'histoire a reçu différentes considérations et dans lesquelles différentes techniques ont été utilisées, agissant à la fois de la psychologie et de la médecine.

Gardez à l'esprit que généralement les pédophiles ils viennent à la consultation en raison de pressions environnementales ou par ordonnance du tribunal , ayant peu de cas dans lesquels ils le font de leur propre volonté. Cela rend le traitement complexe et il peut y avoir peu d’adhérence à celui-ci.

Traitements médicaux: pharmacologie et chirurgie

Les traitements de type médical contre la pédophilie peuvent concerner deux groupes principaux: la pharmacologie et la chirurgie. Beaucoup de pédophiles qui craignent d'agresser sexuellement des mineurs ou qui ne veulent pas que cela se reproduise réclament ce type d'intervention.

L’utilisation de la pharmacologie est axée sur le contrôle du désir sexuel, la réduction de l'excitation, par la régulation hormonale des individus.

L'acétate de cyprotérone, qui bloque les androgènes et réduit donc la production de testostérone, constitue les deux éléments les plus utilisés dans le passé et l'acétate de médroxyprogestérone , qui diminue les androgènes et donc la production de testostérone. Les médicaments psychotropes ont également été utilisés comme tranquillisants et antipsychotiques (soulignant l’halopéridol). La fluoxétine a également été utilisée, mais ne provoque que de nettes améliorations chez les sujets présentant des caractéristiques compulsives.

En ce qui concerne la chirurgie, son utilisation est controversée et risquée, dans la mesure où elle peut entraîner une grave détérioration permanente du fonctionnement habituel du sujet et en même temps une efficacité douteuse, car même si le sujet ne peut avoir d’érections, il est possible des pratiques abusives qui n'incluent pas l'utilisation des gonades. En ce sens, la castration physique ou l’élimination des noyaux de l’hypothalamus ventromédial dans le cerveau est utilisée.

Un gros problème avec ce type de traitement est que profondément Je ne connais pas le problème fondamental, mais ses manifestations . En fait, bien qu'il n'y ait pas de désir sexuel, certains sujets soumis à ces interventions peuvent continuer à maintenir différents types de violence.

Traitements psychologiques

Le traitement psychologique du pédophile doit tenir compte, en premier lieu, du fait qu'il est devant un patient, qu'il ait ou non été agressé sexuellement. Le professionnel qui les traite doit garder à l’esprit que leur attitude envers l’individu peut être décisive à l’époque. Il s'agit de maintenir une attitude dans laquelle le sujet n'est pas jugé et concentré sur l'obtention de leur rétablissement.

Il est essentiel que le traitement effectué soit adapté à chaque cas car il existe une grande diversité de facteurs pouvant influencer chaque personne et rendre le traitement plus ou moins efficace.

Ces traitements, qui prennent la forme de divers programmes, doivent prendre en compte non seulement la modification des préférences sexuelles, mais également le lien entre pédophile et la recherche de changements cognitifs . Le paradigme le plus utilisé dans ce type de cas est généralement cognitivo-comportemental, bien que d'autres approches aient également été utilisées, telles que la psychodynamique.

Aborder le problème

Une des premières approches à prendre en compte est le développement de liens positifs à travers le formation aux habiletés sociales et à l'empathie . Il est recommandé de recourir à la restructuration cognitive et à la formation à la gestion du stress (car dans certains cas, les comportements impulsifs sont liés à des impulsions liées à l'anxiété).

Il est nécessaire de travailler sur des aspects tels que la signification pour le sujet de la fixation par les mineurs, l'existence d'éléments de causalité possibles et leur traitement en cas de présence. Par exemple, si la victime a été victime d'abus sexuel dans son enfance, un travail devrait être fait pour restructurer les connaissances que cet abus peut avoir provoquées chez le pédophile et lui permettre de voir ce que l'acte peut signifier pour ses propres victimes.

La possible inefficacité perçue à entretenir des relations avec des adultes peut être dans certains cas l’une des causes de l’intérêt du pédophile pour les mineurs. Dans ce cas aussi le travail peut être fait dans le renforcement de l'efficacité personnelle et dans la formation à l'affirmation de soi et aux aptitudes sociales.

Afin de tenter de modifier le comportement sexuel, différents programmes et alternatives ont été proposés, la plupart des techniques utilisées étant similaires à celles utilisées dans le reste des paraphilies ou dans les cas de toxicomanie. Par exemple, le contrôle des imprévus est généralement un élément à utiliser, ainsi que l'assistance pour soutenir les groupes et la thérapie de groupe dans certains cas.

Il a été démontré qu'une combinaison de traitement pharmacologique et de traitement psychologique est généralement la méthode la plus efficace.

Quelques techniques appliquées dans différents programmes

Comme nous l’avons vu, l’un des principaux moyens de traiter une paraphilie du paradigme cognitivo-comportemental est la recherche d'un développement de liens positifs qui permettent d'améliorer l'excitation sexuelle dans des situations non paraphiliques. En ce sens, l'analyse et la modification des fantasmes sont généralement utilisées pour effectuer ultérieurement un reconditionnement masturbatoire.

Dans le premier cas, le patient est essayé détecter et classer vos fantasmes sexuels dans normal et parafílicas , de sorte que le sujet essaie de conserver les premiers quand il est donné à la pratique de l’onanisme. Il est prévu d'attirer progressivement le sujet vers des stimulations plus courantes, telles que le contact avec des adultes.

Le reconditionnement masturbatoire consiste en ce que, lorsque le sujet se masturbe plusieurs fois de suite avec des stimuli non paraphilliques, indique à haute voix les composants des fantasmes contenant des éléments paraphilliques. Recherché fixation associée par des mineurs à la période réfractaire dans lequel il n'y a pas d'excitation, de sorte que peu à peu une activation moindre sera générée avant l'image des mineurs.

Ensuite, passez habituellement à Désérotiser le stimulus paraphillique . Pour ce faire, nous essayons de modifier la séquence d'actions qui amène le sujet à être excité par l'idée d'interagir sexuellement avec un mineur.Différentes stratégies sont conçues pour générer des comportements incompatibles avec chacune des étapes pouvant mener à cet enthousiasme.

Vous pouvez également appliquer des techniques aversives telles que l'aversion déguisée (dans laquelle le sujet est invité ou exposé à imaginer des situations qui l'empêcheraient d'agir) ou l'olfactif (avant que l'excitation du sujet face aux stimuli paraphiliques ne soit soumise à des odeurs désagréable de sorte que le stimulus y soit associé au lieu de l'excitation sexuelle). L'aversion électrique a été utilisée à l'origine, mais ce n'est pas une pratique habituelle à l'heure actuelle.

Prévention

La prévention est fondamentale pour empêcher le pédophile de prendre des mesures ou de se répéter s'il a déjà commis un acte de pédophilie.

Les pédophiles sont fréquents vivre dans des environnements proches des lieux où les enfants sont nombreux ou travailler dans des environnements liés à l'enfance. Cela n'est pas conseillé, étant donné que le sujet est exposé à son objet de désir et met en danger à la fois les mineurs et l'individu. Il ne s'agit pas d'isoler le sujet, mais de ne pas faciliter leur accès aux mineurs pendant toute la durée du traitement.

  • Article connexe: "Prévenir et détecter les abus sexuels dans la petite enfance"

Considérations

Gardez à l'esprit que traiter une paraphilie telle que la pédophilie est un défi complexe et difficile à relever. En fait, une partie de la communauté scientifique considère que la pédophilie ne dispose pas encore d'un traitement lui permettant d'être éliminée, en modifiant le comportement des pédophiles pour qu'ils ne commettent aucun abus. Cependant, traiter les symptômes eux-mêmes ne résoudrait pas le problème sous-jacent, la récidive est possible . Il est donc nécessaire de poursuivre les recherches sur ce phénomène et sur la manière de le gérer efficacement.

Un autre aspect à noter est qu’il existe une grande variété de cas présentant des caractéristiques différentes: alors que certains souffrent et se sentent coupables d’être des pédophiles, d’autres considèrent que leurs actes sont légitimes ou même tiennent le mineur pour responsable d’éventuels abus. Tous ces éléments doivent être pris en compte et traités différemment.

Enfin, il est important de noter que, comme indiqué ci-dessus, un pédophile ne doit pas nécessairement être un pédophile. Pas parce qu'il est attiré par les mineurs, il a commis ou va commettre des abus, et il a le droit d'être traité sans être préjugé de quelque chose que vous n'avez pas fait . Toutefois, si un psychologue ou un autre professionnel ne se sentant pas qualifié pour travailler avec une personne atteinte de ce trouble, vous devrez le faire traiter par un autre professionnel.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Balbuena, F. (2014). Cartographie de la pédophilie: efficacité des traitements et stratégies futures. Notes de psychologie, 32 (3). 245-250.
  • Salazar, M., Peralta, C. et Pastor, F.J. (2009). Traité de psychopharmacologie (2e éd.). Madrid: Panamericana éditorial.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid

Schiappa, Nyssen, Borne : Ministres en apprentissage - Déshabillons-les (02/06/2018) (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes