yes, therapy helps!
How does divorce affect children according to their age?

How does divorce affect children according to their age?

December 3, 2022

Relationships are never easy . Many times what seemed like it could last a lifetime stops working, taking the decision to end the relationship.

Separation or / and divorce may or may not be a complicated process and cause deep suffering to one or both members of the couple. However, when the couple in question has children, it is necessary to take into account that it is also going to have an effect on their lives. That the parents treat the subject with them with tranquility and normalizing the situation is essential so that they can process it. But we must bear in mind that a child of four years does not have the same cognitive capacity as a child of ten.


In this article we are going to observe how divorce can affect children according to their age or how it can be interpreted according to age. We will also see how this delicate subject can be discussed with them.

  • Related article: "How to know when to go to couple therapy? 5 reasons of weight"

Children in divorce

The divorce process can be complex to understand for a child . The child may not understand why his parents no longer want to be together when they have always been, or even to think that he or she may have been at fault because of their parents separating. Treating the issue with them is essential.


Have the age you have. You need to know that the divorce is not for something he is responsible for, that the doubts are solved and explained to him in a clear way and adjusted to his abilities. He must be allowed to be wrong and not criminalize his emotions regarding the situation, but this does not mean that limits and routines should be eliminated. Likewise it is important not to try to put him against the other parent , and unless there are reasons for this to allow contact between the child and both parents.

Keep in mind that the child may react by manifesting different emotions and thoughts, or it may be a shock that causes initially not to have a reaction. The child may take a long time to manifest the pain, as he may enter into a state of grief and initially deny that the divorce will occur. It is important to ensure that the process is lived in a normalized way and with the least possible stress, because if the divorce is not well taken and treated in the home it can generate frustration and anxiety. Eternizar the procedures or try to pretend that nothing happens, also, can prolong the situation and cause more suffering.


On the other hand, we must understand that although the divorce of the parents is a painful event for the minor this you do not have to assume that the boy or girl have some type of subsequent trauma, especially considering that currently it is usual to see minors with divorced or separated parents. In fact, it is more important to manage the event and how it is represented and lived in the home than the fact of the separation itself.

  • Maybe you are interested: "Divorce in maturity: keys to know how to face it"

Psychological effects in minors of separation from parents

Here is how divorce can be taken by children of different ages and a few indications of how you might try to communicate the decision to divorce.

1. Divorce in children under two years

When the divorce occurs at a moment in time when the son or daughter is a baby, this one does not have enough intellectual capacity to understand what is happening . However, the changes in the routines and the emotional state of the parents can be captured, which can lead to fear, sadness, aggression and crying.

The most important thing at this age is that the child does not perceive the separation as an abandonment on the part of one of their parents, being necessary that both can access the child with sufficient frequency. You can also give an explanation of the situation, with a simple and adjusted language.

  • Related article: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

2. When they are between two and three years of age

It is at this stage of development that children begin to acquire speech and psychomotor skills, as well as several milestones in the acquisition of cognitive skills. It is common to see setbacks in the skills learned for the child as a result of stress, such as enuresis or encopresis. They tend to be more shy and have nightmares.

They also begin to be aware of their emotions but still not knowing how to express them correctly. They often feel abandoned, or fantasize about the return of the couple.

In this evolutionary moment It is useful to help you express your emotions s , motivate him and make him see that both parents appreciate him.Despite the situation, you should not stop maintaining a certain routine and the usual limits of behavior should be maintained.

3. Between three and seven years

As children grow, so do their cognitive abilities.

In this vital stage it is necessary to bear in mind that they are in a period in which their vision of the world starts from themselves, and in which, in addition, there is often magical thinking. In other words, they are in an egocentric phase that can lead to think that the break is his fault and in which they can also fear that they stop being loved. They tend to become extremely obedient and / or deny the breakup of a partner.

Therefore, in this vital stage, divorce must be communicated in an understandable way, as well as guarantee you that you are loved and you will not leave and that he has no fault of separation.

4. Between seven and twelve years of age

In this time, children have learned that there are different perspectives and feelings apart from their own and understand that their parents may be suffering, which is why they may not communicate their thoughts about it. You may experience obvious declines in your school performance or Behavioral problems such as fights with other students .

In this stage the minor understands the situation, and it is very important to explain both the situation and the changes that are going to occur. However, they may still fantasize about the possible reconciliation of the parents, in which case it may be necessary to make them understand that this will not happen.

5. Adolescents and their parents' divorce

Once adolescence arrives, the youngest child will gradually build their identity and will gradually reach an understanding of situations. In the context of a badly worn divorce it is possible to blame one of the parents , that experience a rebellion even greater than usual is this vital stage, that they resort to risk behaviors. They may also try to act as confidants or protect their parents.

As a recommendation at this stage, it is important to communicate the situation clearly and share certain aspects such as custody, as well as not assigning roles that do not correspond to it and monitoring risk behaviors.

Bibliographic references:

  • Benedek, E.P. and Brown, C.F. (1999). How to help your children overcome divorce. Spain: Medical Editions.
  • Liberman, R. (1983). The children before the divorce. Barcelona: Home of the book.
  • Maganto, C. (1988). Marriage, separation, divorce and new partners. In: A. Espina (Ed.): Family relationships and their problems. University of the Basque Country. College Extension Notebooks. Editorial Service.
  • Mauldon, J. (1990) The Effect of Marital Disruption on Children's Health. Demography; 27 (3): 431-446.
  • Peterson, J.L. and Zill, Z. (1986). Marital disruption, parent-child relationships and behavior problems in children. Journal of Marriage and the Family, 48, 295-307.

Getting a Divorce with Kids: What Parents Need to Know (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment le divorce affecte-t-il les enfants en fonction de leur âge?

Comment le divorce affecte-t-il les enfants en fonction de leur âge?

Septembre 23, 2019

Les relations ne sont jamais faciles . Plusieurs fois, ce qui semblait pouvoir durer toute une vie cesse de fonctionner, prenant la décision de mettre fin à la relation.

La séparation et / ou le divorce peuvent être ou non un processus compliqué et causer une profonde souffrance à l'un des membres du couple ou aux deux. Cependant, lorsque le couple en question a des enfants, il faut tenir compte du fait que cela va également avoir une incidence sur leur vie. Il est essentiel que les parents traitent le sujet avec eux avec tranquillité et normalisent la situation pour qu’ils puissent la traiter. Mais il ne faut pas oublier qu'un enfant de quatre ans n'a pas la même capacité cognitive qu'un enfant de dix ans.


Dans cet article, nous allons observer comment le divorce peut affecter les enfants en fonction de leur âge ou comment cela peut être interprété en fonction de l'âge. Nous verrons également comment ce sujet délicat peut être discuté avec eux.

  • Article connexe: "Comment savoir quand aller en thérapie de couple? 5 raisons de poids"

Enfants en divorce

Le processus de divorce peut être complexe à comprendre pour un enfant . L'enfant peut ne pas comprendre pourquoi ses parents ne veulent plus être ensemble alors qu'ils l'ont toujours été, ou même penser qu'il a peut-être été responsable du fait que leurs parents se sont séparés. Traiter le problème avec eux est essentiel.


Avoir l'âge que vous avez. Vous devez savoir que le divorce n’est pas pour quelque chose dont il est responsable, que les doutes sont résolus et expliqués de manière claire et qu’ils s’adaptent à ses capacités. Il faut lui permettre de se tromper et de ne pas criminaliser ses émotions face à la situation, mais cela ne signifie pas pour autant que les limites et les routines doivent être éliminées. De même il est important de ne pas essayer de le mettre contre l'autre parent et à moins que cela ne soit justifié pour permettre un contact entre l’enfant et les deux parents.

N'oubliez pas que l'enfant peut réagir en manifestant différentes émotions et pensées, ou qu'il peut s'agir d'un choc qui empêche initialement une réaction. L'enfant peut mettre longtemps à manifester la douleur, car il peut entrer dans un état de deuil et nier initialement que le divorce aura lieu. Il est important de veiller à ce que le processus se déroule de manière normalisée et avec le moins de stress possible, car le divorce mal pris et mal traité à la maison peut générer frustration et anxiété. Eternizar les procédures ou essayer de prétendre que rien ne se passe, aussi, peut prolonger la situation et causer plus de souffrance.


Par ailleurs, il faut comprendre que si le divorce des parents est un événement douloureux pour le mineur, cela vous ne devez pas supposer que le garçon ou la fille avoir un type de traumatisme ultérieur, surtout compte tenu du fait qu’à l’heure actuelle, il est courant de voir des mineurs de parents divorcés ou séparés. En fait, il est plus important de gérer l'événement et la façon dont il est représenté et vécu à la maison que le fait de la séparation elle-même.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Le divorce à maturité: des clés pour savoir comment y faire face"

Effets psychologiques chez les mineurs séparés des parents

Voici comment le divorce peut être prononcé par des enfants d'âges différents et quelques indications sur la manière dont vous pourriez essayer de communiquer la décision de divorce.

1. Divorce chez les enfants de moins de deux ans

Lorsque le divorce survient à un moment où le fils ou la fille est un bébé, celui-ci n'a pas assez de capacité intellectuelle pour comprendre ce qui se passe . Cependant, les changements dans les routines et l'état émotionnel des parents peuvent être capturés, ce qui peut conduire à la peur, à la tristesse, à l'agression et aux pleurs.

La chose la plus importante à cet âge est que l'enfant ne perçoive pas la séparation comme un abandon de la part de l'un de leurs parents, il est nécessaire que les deux puissent avoir accès à l'enfant avec une fréquence suffisante. Vous pouvez également donner une explication de la situation, avec un langage simple et ajusté.

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

2. Quand ils ont entre deux et trois ans

C'est à ce stade de développement que les enfants commencent à acquérir des compétences en matière de parole et de psychomotricité, ainsi que plusieurs étapes importantes dans l'acquisition de compétences cognitives. Il est fréquent de voir des reculs dans les compétences acquises pour l'enfant à la suite d'un stress, tel que l'énurésie ou l'encoprésie. Ils ont tendance à être plus timides et à avoir des cauchemars.

Ils commencent aussi à prendre conscience de leurs émotions mais ne savent toujours pas comment les exprimer correctement. Ils se sentent souvent abandonnés ou fantasment sur le retour du couple.

En ce moment d'évolution C'est utile pour vous aider à exprimer vos émotions s , motivez-le et faites-lui voir que les deux parents l'apprécient.Malgré la situation, vous ne devez pas arrêter de maintenir une certaine routine et les limites de comportement habituelles doivent être maintenues.

3. Entre trois et sept ans

À mesure que les enfants grandissent, leurs capacités cognitives grandissent également.

À ce stade vital, il est nécessaire de garder à l’esprit qu’ils se trouvent dans une période au cours de laquelle leur vision du monde part d’eux-mêmes et dans laquelle, en outre, il existe souvent une pensée magique. En d'autres termes, ils sont dans une phase égocentrique qui peut conduire à penser que la pause est de sa faute et dans lequel ils peuvent aussi craindre de ne plus être aimés. Ils ont tendance à devenir extrêmement obéissants et / ou à nier la rupture d'un partenaire.

Par conséquent, à cette étape vitale, le divorce doit être communiqué de manière compréhensible, ainsi que vous garantir que vous êtes aimé et que vous ne partirez pas et qu'il n'a pas de faute de séparation.

4. Entre sept et douze ans

À cette époque, les enfants ont appris qu'il existe différents points de vue et sentiments en dehors du leur et ont compris que leurs parents étaient peut-être en train de souffrir. C'est pourquoi ils ne peuvent pas communiquer leurs pensées à ce sujet. Vous constaterez peut-être des baisses évidentes de vos performances scolaires ou Problèmes de comportement tels que des bagarres avec d'autres étudiants .

À ce stade, le mineur comprend la situation et il est très important d'expliquer à la fois la situation et les changements qui vont se produire. Cependant, ils peuvent toujours rêver d'une possible réconciliation des parents, auquel cas il faudra peut-être leur faire comprendre que cela ne se produira pas.

5. Le divorce des adolescents et de leurs parents

Une fois l'adolescence arrivée, le plus jeune enfant construira progressivement son identité et comprendra progressivement la compréhension des situations. Dans le contexte d'un divorce mal porté, il est possible de blâmer l'un des parents , cette étape vitale, où ils ont recours à des comportements à risque, est une rébellion encore plus grande que d’habitude. Ils peuvent également essayer de jouer le rôle de confident ou de protéger leurs parents.

En tant que recommandation à ce stade, il est important de communiquer clairement la situation et de partager certains aspects tels que la garde des enfants, de ne pas attribuer de rôles qui ne correspondent pas à celle-ci et de surveiller les comportements à risque.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Benedek, E.P. et Brown, C.F. (1999). Comment aider vos enfants à surmonter le divorce Espagne: éditions médicales.
  • Liberman, R. (1983). Les enfants avant le divorce. Barcelone: ​​la maison du livre.
  • Maganto, C. (1988). Mariage, séparation, divorce et nouveaux partenaires. Dans: A. Espina (Ed.): Les relations familiales et leurs problèmes. Université du Pays Basque. Cahiers d'extension de collège. Service éditorial.
  • Mauldon, J. (1990) L'effet de la perturbation conjugale sur la santé des enfants. La démographie; 27 (3): 431-446.
  • Peterson, J.L. et Zill, Z. (1986). Rupture conjugale, relations parent-enfant et problèmes de comportement chez les enfants. Journal du mariage et de la famille, 48, 295-307.

Inside America's Billion Dollar Divorce Industry (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes