yes, therapy helps!
How does personality change throughout life?

How does personality change throughout life?

January 19, 2023

Do people change throughout their life? This is possibly one of the oldest and most debated questions in society in general, as well as in philosophy and psychology.

Although personality has traditionally been considered as a rigid, stable and hardly alterable construct; a series of studies reveal that this is not entirely true. Next we analyze the details of this study and the possible causes that influence the personality changes .

  • Related article: "The main theories of personality"

How is personality defined?

The personality is a basic construct within the field of psychology, so that over the years of study of this have been developed a lot of definitions. However, most of them have a number of points in common that can help us understand what this concept is about.


Broadly speaking, the concept of personality can be summarized as the combination of thoughts, emotions and feelings that define a specific person . They are stable over time and do not vary from one situation to another.

  • Maybe you are interested: "The 9 stages of the life of human beings"

The Big Five model

The personality traits of each person can be seen reflected in the acts and behaviors of this, being coherent through the situations and independent of the contexts experienced or lived by the subject. Hence, the personality is what makes the person unique.

These personality traits referred to are those collected in the Big Five model, this being the most accepted model today. According to the model, there are five large dimensions that form the basis of our personality . These are:


  • Extraversion
  • Neuroticism
  • Amiability.
  • Openness to experience
  • Responsibility.

As is logical, these dimensions are not the same in all people, but rather the scores of these can vary greatly from one subject to another . Hence, that each individual personality is the product of infinite combinations of these traits.

In the same way, although the personality remains stable through situations, this does not imply that the person will always behave in the same way, but that the personality governs the way in which we perceive reality and interact with it, creating a series of complex and relatively flexible trends and patterns.

This flexibility finds its explanation in that the person needs to adapt to the environment that surrounds it. This does not mean that we stop being ourselves, but that our personality has the capacity to fluctuate throughout the different epochs of our life.


The main theories also coincide in that the personality accompanies the person from the same moment in the birth, possessing a series of own traits that will be modified and changed in interaction with their context and the vital experiences of this, being, in addition, essential for the development of the social skills of the person and therefore for the integration of this in the society.

  • Related article: "The 5 big personality traits: sociability, responsibility, openness, kindness and neuroticism"

Can personality change throughout life?

The question of whether our personality can change more or less radically throughout our lives is a constant throughout the history of psychology. Therefore, it is logical to think that after all these debates and research psychology would have a definitive answer, but this remains an unknown in constant investigation.

The main reason why it is so extremely difficult to solve, lies in the challenge for the scientific studies to carry out a rigorous follow-up of the subjects throughout his life.

However, there are several teams of scientists who have managed to monitor the participants extensively, establishing a series of conclusions that contradict the well-known statement of psychologist and philosopher William James, according to which the personality of each individual was unable to experience significant psychological alterations after 30 years of age , at least in regards to our personality.

The study of Northwestern University

In this research, headed by the psychologist Eileen Graham, the results of 14 previously published longitudinal studies were compared and combined. Together, they obtained the data of approximately 50,000 participants from different states of the United States and Europe.

After an exhaustive review, the obtained findings confirm, and even extend, the existing knowledge.Establishing that personality traits tend to alter and change over time and, moreover, in more or less predictable ways.

For the study, Graham and his team looked for long-term studies related to health and aging in which data had been gathered from at least one of the five personality traits of the Big Five, already mentioned above, as minimum on three separate occasions of the participant's life .

It is necessary to specify that there was a bias in the included studies to assess people at advanced ages, but this helps to counteract the existing studies on personality change for life, which have been biased towards younger participants.

The results

The combination of the results of the studies evaluated revealed that four of the five personality dimensions showed statistically significant changes , on average, throughout the life of the people. The only exception was the "Kindness" dimension, which on the whole seemed relatively stable.

As for the rest of the traits, they tended to change around 1 or 2% for each decade. The participants became, approximately, more emotionally stable, less extroverted, less open, less ordered and less self-disciplined.

These results coincide with certain theories of personality that hypothesize that people of advanced ages tend to experience changes in their personality in response to a decrease in responsibilities .

Focusing on the results in samples from younger participants, the results also provided evidence that the traits of "responsibility", "extraversion" and "openness to experience" suffered an increase in the score during early maturity.

This fact is consistent with another theory known as the "beginning of maturity" , which states that personality tend to improve throughout life as we adapt to the growing challenges of work and family responsibilities.

Finally, the study reveals that although there is a relatively constant pattern in personality changes, there is great individual variability in these patterns. According to Graham and his collaborators this means that not all people change at the same speed or in the same direction.

Why do we change?

As pointed out above, personality is a relatively flexible construct that can be affected by the events that happen to us throughout our lives. Social pressures, a change in the vital role or biological changes can influence our emotional state, our way of being and how not in our personality.

A very frequent example is that which happens in people who have suffered very serious or traumatic losses that refer "not being the same" after that stressful event.

Some other events or life events that are likely to change our personality are:

  • Motherhood and fatherhood
  • The retirement .
  • The death of a close being.
  • Puberty .
  • The menopause
  • Marriage .
  • The adaptation to a completely different culture.

Petar Milojev - Personality change over the lifespan (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment la personnalité change-t-elle au cours de la vie?

Comment la personnalité change-t-elle au cours de la vie?

Mai 16, 2022

Les gens changent-ils tout au long de leur vie? C’est peut-être l’une des questions les plus anciennes et les plus discutées de la société en général, ainsi que de la philosophie et de la psychologie.

Bien que la personnalité ait traditionnellement été considérée comme une construction rigide, stable et difficilement modifiable; une série d'études révèlent que ce n'est pas tout à fait vrai. Ensuite, nous analysons les détails de cette étude et les causes possibles qui influencent les changements de personnalité .

  • Article connexe: "Les principales théories de la personnalité"

Comment définit-on la personnalité?

La personnalité est une construction de base dans le domaine de la psychologie, de sorte que, au fil des années, de nombreuses définitions ont été développées. Cependant, la plupart d'entre eux ont un certain nombre de points communs qui peuvent nous aider à comprendre en quoi consiste ce concept.


De manière générale, le concept de personnalité peut être résumé comme le combinaison de pensées, d'émotions et de sentiments qui définissent une personne spécifique . Ils sont stables dans le temps et ne varient pas d’une situation à l’autre.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Les 9 étapes de la vie des êtres humains"

Le modèle Big Five

Les traits de personnalité de chaque personne se reflètent dans les actes et les comportements de celle-ci, étant cohérents à travers les situations et indépendants des contextes vécus ou vécus par le sujet. Par conséquent, la personnalité est ce qui rend la personne unique.

Ces traits de personnalité auxquels il est fait référence sont ceux rassemblés dans le modèle Big Five, qui est le modèle le plus accepté aujourd'hui. Selon le modèle, il y a cinq grandes dimensions qui forment la base de notre personnalité . Ceux-ci sont:


  • Extraversion
  • Névrotisme
  • La gentillesse
  • Ouverture à l'expérience
  • La responsabilité

Comme il est logique, ces dimensions ne sont pas les mêmes chez toutes les personnes, mais plutôt les scores peuvent varier énormément d'un sujet à l'autre . Par conséquent, chaque personnalité individuelle est le produit de combinaisons infinies de ces traits.

De la même manière, bien que la personnalité reste stable à travers les situations, cela n'implique pas que la personne se comportera toujours de la même manière, mais qu'elle gouverne la manière dont nous percevons la réalité et interagissons avec elle, créant une série de tendances et de modèles complexes et relativement souples.

Cette flexibilité trouve son explication dans le fait que la personne doit s'adapter à l'environnement qui l'entoure. Cela ne signifie pas que nous cessons d'être nous-mêmes, mais que notre personnalité a la capacité de fluctuer à travers les différentes époques de notre vie.


Les théories principales coïncident également en ce que la personnalité accompagne la personne à partir du même moment de la naissance, possédant une série de traits propres qui seront modifiés et modifiés en interaction avec leur contexte et les expériences vitales de celle-ci, étant en outre essentielles pour le développement des compétences sociales de la personne et donc pour l'intégration de celle-ci dans la société.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 grands traits de personnalité: sociabilité, responsabilité, ouverture d'esprit, gentillesse et neuroticisme"

La personnalité peut-elle changer tout au long de la vie?

La question de savoir si notre personnalité peut changer plus ou moins radicalement au cours de nos vies est une constante dans l’histoire de la psychologie. Il est donc logique de penser qu'après tous ces débats et cette recherche, la psychologie aurait une réponse définitive, mais cela reste une inconnue dans une enquête constante.

La raison principale pour laquelle il est si difficile à résoudre réside dans le défi pour les études scientifiques d'effectuer un suivi rigoureux des sujets tout au long de sa vie.

Cependant, plusieurs équipes de scientifiques ont réussi à surveiller de manière approfondie les participants, établissant une série de conclusions qui contredisent la déclaration bien connue du psychologue et philosophe William James, selon laquelle la personnalité de chaque individu était différente. incapable de subir des altérations psychologiques importantes après 30 ans , du moins en ce qui concerne notre personnalité.

L'étude de la Northwestern University

Dans cette recherche, dirigée par la psychologue Eileen Graham, les résultats de 14 études longitudinales publiées antérieurement ont été comparés et combinés. Ensemble ils ont obtenu les données d'environ 50 000 participants de différents états des États-Unis et d'Europe.

Après un examen exhaustif, les résultats obtenus confirment, voire étendent, les connaissances existantes.Établir que les traits de personnalité ont tendance à changer et à changer au fil du temps et, de plus, de manière plus ou moins prévisible.

Pour l’étude, Graham et son équipe ont recherché des études à long terme sur la santé et le vieillissement dans lesquelles des données avaient été rassemblées pour au moins un des cinq traits de personnalité des Big Five, déjà mentionnés ci-dessus, tels que: minimum à trois reprises de la vie du participant .

Il est nécessaire de préciser qu'il existait un biais dans les études incluses pour évaluer les personnes à un âge avancé, mais cela aide à contrecarrer les études existantes sur le changement de personnalité au cours de la vie, qui privilégient les participants plus jeunes.

Les résultats

La combinaison des résultats des études évaluées a révélé que quatre des cinq dimensions de la personnalité ont montré des changements statistiquement significatifs en moyenne tout au long de la vie du peuple. La seule exception était la dimension "Gentillesse", qui semblait globalement relativement stable.

Quant au reste des traits, ils ont tendance à changer autour de 1 ou 2% pour chaque décennie. Les participants sont devenus plus ou moins stables sur le plan émotionnel, moins extravertis, moins ouverts, moins ordonnés et moins disciplinés.

Ces résultats coïncident avec certaines théories de la personnalité qui supposent que les personnes d'âges avancés ont tendance à subir des changements de personnalité. en réponse à une diminution des responsabilités .

En se concentrant sur les résultats dans des échantillons de participants plus jeunes, les résultats ont également montré que les traits de "responsabilité", "extraversion" et "ouverture à l'expérience" avaient subi une augmentation du score au début de la maturité.

Ce fait est compatible avec une autre théorie connue sous le nom de "début de maturité" , qui stipule que la personnalité a tendance à s’améliorer tout au long de la vie à mesure que nous nous adaptons aux défis croissants des responsabilités professionnelles et familiales.

Enfin, l’étude révèle que, bien qu’il y ait une tendance relativement constante dans les changements de personnalité, il existe une grande variabilité individuelle dans ces tendances. Selon Graham et ses collaborateurs, cela signifie que tout le monde ne change pas à la même vitesse ou dans la même direction.

Pourquoi changeons-nous?

Comme indiqué ci-dessus, la personnalité est une construction relativement flexible qui peut être affectée par les événements qui nous arrivent tout au long de notre vie. Pressions sociales, changement du rôle vital ou changements biologiques peut influencer notre état émotionnel, notre façon d'être et comment pas dans notre personnalité.

Un exemple très fréquent est celui qui survient chez des personnes qui ont subi des pertes très graves ou traumatisantes et qui se réfèrent "à ne pas être pareil" après cet événement stressant.

Certains autres événements ou événements de la vie susceptibles de changer notre personnalité sont:

  • Maternité et paternité
  • La retraite .
  • La mort d'un proche.
  • Puberté .
  • La ménopause
  • Le mariage .
  • L'adaptation à une culture complètement différente.

La décision qui va changer votre vie - vidéo d'inspiration (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes