yes, therapy helps!
How does stress affect the brain?

How does stress affect the brain?

June 30, 2024

We have all read or heard of stress, a natural response that if taken too much can affect our health, however, Do we know what happens in our brain when we suffer stress?

WHO defines stress as "the set of physiological reactions that prepare the body for action". An acute stress that resolves in the short term can be positive, because it prepares the brain for a better performance. However, a constant tension can be fatal. This negative impact of stress occurs when it becomes chronic.

  • Related article: "Types of stress and its triggers"

Stress hormones

Cortisol is the main stress hormone. When we are facing a stressful situation, a signal is sent to the pituitary gland that activates the adrenal glands by hormones (small glands located in the upper part of each kidney). These are the ones that release cortisol , that when rising in blood they increase the levels of glucose for the whole organism, thus the organs work with greater efficiency, being appropriate for short times, but in no case for the long ones. In addition, there are the following.


  • Glucagon (in a stress situation, the pancreas releases large doses of glucagon into the bloodstream).
  • Prolactin .
  • Sex hormones (such as testosterone and estrogen)
  • Progesterone whose production decreases in stressful situations.

Changes that cause stress in brain structures

Having chronic stress can cause several reactions in the following areas of our brain:

1. Hippocampus

One of them is the death of neurons in the hippocampus (neurotoxicity). The hippocampus located in the medial part of the temporal lobe of the brain is a structure linked to memory and learning. It belongs, on the one hand, to the limbic system and, on the other, to the architvery, composing together with the subiculum and the dentate gyrus the so-called hippocampal formation. Contains high levels of mineralocorticoid receptors which makes it more vulnerable to biological stress in the long term than other brain areas.


Stress-related steroids reduce the activity of some hippocampal neurons, inhibit the genesis of new neurons in the dentate gyrus and produce atrophy of the dendrites of the pyramidal cells of the CEA3 region. There is evidence of cases in which post-traumatic stress disorders can contribute to atrophy of the hippocampus . In principle, some effects may be reversible if stress is interrupted, although there are studies with rats under stress shortly after birth whose damage to hippocampal function persists throughout life.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Hippocampus: functions and structure of the organ of memory"

2. Amygdala

The amygdala is part of the limbic system and is responsible for the processing and storage of emotional reactions. Recent research suggests that when a person suffers from stress, this region of the brain sends signals to the marrow indicating that white blood cell production should increase.


The problem is that an excess of white blood cells can cause arterial inflammation, which can lead to the development of cardiovascular diseases such as strokes, angina and heart attacks.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Brain amygdala: structure and functions"

3. Gray and white matter

Another effect of long-term stress is the imbalance between the gray matter and the white matter of the brain.

Gray matter is composed mainly of cells (neurons that store and process information, and support cells called glia) while white matter is made up of axons, which create a network of fibers that interconnect neurons. White matter gets its name from the white sheath, myelin fat surrounding the axons and accelerates the flow of electrical signals from one cell to another.

It was discovered that chronic stress generated more myelin-producing cells and fewer neurons than normal. Which produces an excess of myelin and, therefore, of white matter in some areas of the brain, which modifies the balance and internal communication within the brain .

  • Related article: "Gray matter of the brain: structure and functions"

Mental diseases

Each person is unique and there are individual differences in the biological mechanisms of stress, may have a biological basis or be acquired throughout life. They can determine differences in vulnerability or predisposition to develop disorders related to stress .

In short, stress plays an important role in the unleashing and evolution of mental disorders, such as post-traumatic stress disorders, anxiety and depression disorders, schizophrenic psychoses and others. It also constitutes a risk factor and a significant component in substance abuse and dependence disorders.


How stress affects your brain - Madhumita Murgia (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment le stress affecte-t-il le cerveau?

Comment le stress affecte-t-il le cerveau?

Janvier 26, 2020

Nous avons tous lu ou entendu parler de stress, une réaction naturelle qui, si prise trop, peut affecter notre santé, cependant, Savons-nous ce qui se passe dans notre cerveau lorsque nous souffrons de stress?

L'OMS définit le stress comme "l'ensemble des réactions physiologiques préparant l'organisme à l'action". Un stress aigu qui résout à court terme peut être positif, car il prépare le cerveau à de meilleures performances. Cependant, une tension constante peut être fatale. Cet impact négatif du stress se produit lorsqu'il devient chronique.

  • Article connexe: "Types de stress et ses déclencheurs"

Hormones de stress

Le cortisol est l'hormone de stress principale. Lorsque nous sommes confrontés à une situation stressante, un signal est envoyé à la glande pituitaire qui active les glandes surrénales par des hormones (petites glandes situées dans la partie supérieure de chaque rein). Ce sont ceux qui libèrent du cortisol , lorsqu’ils montent dans le sang, ils augmentent les niveaux de glucose pour tout l’organisme, ainsi les organes fonctionnent avec une plus grande efficacité, ils conviennent pour des périodes courtes, mais en aucun cas pour les plus longs. De plus, il y a les suivants.


  • Glucagon (dans une situation de stress, le pancréas libère de grandes doses de glucagon dans le sang).
  • La prolactine .
  • Hormones sexuelles (telles que la testostérone et l'œstrogène)
  • Progestérone dont la production diminue dans des situations stressantes.

Changements qui causent du stress dans les structures du cerveau

Un stress chronique peut causer plusieurs réactions dans les régions suivantes de notre cerveau:

1. Hippocampe

L'un d'entre eux est la mort des neurones dans l'hippocampe (neurotoxicité). L'hippocampe situé dans la partie médiane du lobe temporal du cerveau est une structure liée à la mémoire et à l'apprentissage: il appartient d'une part au système limbique et, d'autre part, à l'architecture, qui compose avec le subiculum et le gyrus denté la formation dite d'hippocampe. Contient des niveaux élevés de récepteurs minéralocorticoïdes ce qui le rend plus vulnérable au stress biologique à long terme que d'autres zones du cerveau.


Les stéroïdes liés au stress réduisent l'activité de certains neurones de l'hippocampe, inhibent la genèse de nouveaux neurones dans le gyrus denté et produisent une atrophie des dendrites des cellules pyramidales de la région CEA3. Il existe des preuves de cas dans lesquels des troubles de stress post-traumatique peut contribuer à l'atrophie de l'hippocampe . En principe, certains effets peuvent être réversibles si le stress est interrompu, bien qu'il existe des études sur des rats stressés peu de temps après la naissance et dont les dommages à la fonction hippocampique persistent toute la vie.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Hippocampe: fonctions et structure de l'organe de la mémoire"

2. Amygdala

L'amygdale fait partie du système limbique et est responsable du traitement et du stockage des réactions émotionnelles. Des recherches récentes suggèrent que lorsqu'une personne souffre de stress, cette région du cerveau envoie des signaux à la moelle indiquant que la production de globules blancs devrait augmenter.


Le problème est qu'un excès de globules blancs peut provoquer une inflammation artérielle, ce qui peut entraîner le développement de maladies cardiovasculaires telles que les accidents vasculaires cérébraux, l'angine de poitrine et les crises cardiaques.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "L'amygdale cérébrale: structure et fonctions"

3. Matière grise et blanche

Le déséquilibre entre la substance grise et la substance blanche du cerveau est un autre effet du stress à long terme.

La matière grise est composée principalement de cellules (neurones qui stockent et traitent des informations, et qui supportent des cellules appelées cellules gliales) tandis que la substance blanche est composée d'axones, qui créent un réseau de fibres qui interconnectent les neurones. La matière blanche tire son nom de la gaine blanche, graisse de myéline entourant les axones et accélère le flux de signaux électriques d'une cellule à une autre.

Il a été découvert que le stress chronique générait plus de cellules productrices de myéline et moins de neurones que la normale. Qui produit un excès de myéline et, par conséquent, de matière blanche dans certaines zones du cerveau, qui modifie l'équilibre et la communication interne dans le cerveau .

  • Article connexe: "Matière grise du cerveau: structure et fonctions"

Maladies mentales

Chaque personne est unique et présente des différences individuelles dans les mécanismes biologiques du stress, peut avoir une base biologique ou être acquise tout au long de la vie. Ils peuvent déterminer les différences de vulnérabilité ou prédisposition à développer des troubles liés au stress .

En bref, le stress joue un rôle important dans le déclenchement et l'évolution des troubles mentaux, tels que les troubles de stress post-traumatiques, les troubles anxieux et dépressifs, les psychoses schizophréniques et autres. Il constitue également un facteur de risque et une composante importante des troubles liés à la toxicomanie et à la dépendance.


Le stress a un effet immédiat sur le cerveau et écourte la durée de vie (Janvier 2020).


Articles Connexes