yes, therapy helps!
How feedback is given in coaching and psychological intervention

How feedback is given in coaching and psychological intervention

June 21, 2024

From the perspective of coaching, it is feedback and not critical if, when we comment on another person, we follow certain guidelines. It is feedback if the exchange is direct and interpersonal and is done with the intention of helping to learn and grow . Therefore, to comment on how we perceive the performance and the impact of a person to improve their development is not to criticize is to give feedback.

In addition, to move from criticism to feedback, the comment must be argued, clear, constructive, timely and must look to the future. For example, it would not be feedback to say: "Let's see if your team puts the batteries, that work does not come out." And yes it would be feedback to say: "Let's talk about what may be happening in your team ...".


  • Related article: "The 6 types of Coaching: the different coaches and their functions"

Feedback, tool for development

Feedback helps boost strengths and identify and improve our weaknesses , allowing the development. When it's positive, it has a powerful impact on commitment. "The opinion of another on how we act pushes us, because it has a positive impact on our future actions, helping us always to improve", explain the EEC coaches who impart this tool in their coaching training and in their interventions in the company.

Moreover, in the opinion of experts, negative feedback does not exist. "Feedback is always positive because it always pushes forward."


In this sense, sharing what we think about the actions of others is a responsibility . From EEC, understand "the action of giving feedback as an obligation, since it is the only way we have to develop and give something to the other person who serves to grow."

It is bidirectional

The phenomenon of feedback goes in two directions. Do not lose sight of what is in your hand know how you perceive your own performance and the impact that you are generating . If you do not do this, you will be the last person to find out about your mistakes. "Feedback is asking others to lend their eyes to see things we are not seeing", clarify in EEC.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Personal Development: 5 reasons for self-reflection"

4 keys to not screw up

The experts in European Coaching School define four aspects to have enchanted to give and receive feedback in an appropriate way. The key is to understand feedback as a gift.


1. Feedback is always an opinion about an event

To give and receive feedback it is necessary to differentiate opinions and facts .

2. You do not have to keep valuable information

If we do not give feedback we are left with something that can be worth to another person to grow.

3. It is necessary to ask for feedback

If we do not ask for feedback we miss something that can help us grow .

4. You have to appreciate the opportunity to obtain that information

Feedback is a privilege at our disposal as a tool to grow and make others grow.

Haters gonna hate

Finally, remember that criticism serves to criticize and feedback serves to improve . It is not the same to say you are doing something foolish to say, "you are stupid".

"Feedback is not what the other person is, not even what the other person does, is what happens to me with what the other person has done", conclude the trainers of the European Coaching School. "To speak of feedback is to put the person in the first place and it is to speak of vulnerability, of connection, of cooperation and of the need not to insist on being right".


The psychology of communicating effectively in a digital world | Helen Morris-Brown | TEDxSquareMile (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment le feedback est donné dans le coaching et l'intervention psychologique

Comment le feedback est donné dans le coaching et l'intervention psychologique

Septembre 22, 2020

Du point de vue du coaching, il est essentiel de faire des commentaires et de ne pas être critique si, lorsque nous commentons une autre personne, nous suivons certaines directives. Il s’agit d’un retour si l’échange est direct, interpersonnel et est fait avec l'intention d'aider à apprendre et à grandir . Par conséquent, commenter la façon dont nous percevons la performance et l'impact d'une personne pour améliorer son développement n'est pas à critiquer, c'est donner un retour d'expérience.

En outre, pour passer de la critique à la rétroaction, le commentaire doit être argumenté, clair, constructif, opportun et orienté vers l’avenir. Par exemple, ce ne serait pas un retour pour dire: "Voyons si votre équipe met les piles en place, le travail ne sera pas terminé." Et oui, ce serait un retour pour dire: "Parlons de ce qui peut se passer dans votre équipe ...".


  • Article connexe: "Les 6 types de coaching: les différents coachs et leurs fonctions"

Feedback, outil de développement

Les commentaires aident à renforcer les forces et à identifier et améliorer nos faiblesses , permettant le développement. Quand c'est positif, cela a un impact puissant sur l'engagement. "L'avis d'un autre sur notre façon d'agir nous pousse, car il a un impact positif sur nos actions futures, nous aidant toujours à nous améliorer", expliquent les coachs de la CEE qui transmettent cet outil dans leur formation et leurs interventions au sein de l'entreprise.

De plus, selon les experts, il n’existe pas de rétroaction négative. "La rétroaction est toujours positive car elle avance toujours."


Dans ce sens, partager ce que nous pensons des actions des autres est une responsabilité . Dans CEE, entendez "l’action consistant à donner un retour d’information en tant qu’obligation, car c’est le seul moyen de développer et de donner quelque chose à l’autre personne qui sert à la croissance".

C'est bidirectionnel

Le phénomène de feedback va dans deux directions. Ne perds pas de vue ce qui est dans ta main savoir comment vous percevez votre propre performance et l'impact que vous générez . Si vous ne le faites pas, vous serez la dernière personne à connaître vos erreurs. "Feedback demande aux autres de laisser leurs yeux pour voir ce que nous ne voyons pas", clarifie-t-on dans CEE.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Développement personnel: 5 raisons de réfléchir sur soi"

4 clés pour ne pas bousiller

Les experts de l'European Coaching School définissent quatre aspects à prendre en compte pour donner et recevoir des commentaires de manière appropriée. La clé est de comprendre les commentaires comme un cadeau.


1. Le feedback est toujours un avis sur un événement

Donner et recevoir des commentaires il est nécessaire de différencier les opinions et les faits .

2. Vous n'êtes pas obligé de conserver des informations précieuses

Si nous ne donnons pas de feedback, il nous reste quelque chose qui peut valoir la peine d'être développé par une autre personne.

3. Il est nécessaire de demander des commentaires

Si nous ne demandons pas de commentaires, nous manquons quelque chose qui peut aide-nous à grandir .

4. Vous devez apprécier l'opportunité d'obtenir cette information

La rétroaction est un privilège à notre disposition en tant qu'outil pour grandir et faire grandir les autres.

Les haineux vont détester

Enfin, rappelez-vous que la critique sert à critiquer et le retour d'information à améliorer . Ce n'est pas la même chose de dire que vous faites quelque chose d'insensé de dire "vous êtes stupide".

"Le feedback n'est pas ce que l'autre personne est, pas même ce que fait l'autre personne, c'est ce qui m'arrive avec ce que l'autre personne a fait", concluent les formateurs de l'European Coaching School. "Parler de feedback, c'est mettre la personne en premier lieu, c'est parler de vulnérabilité, de lien, de coopération et de la nécessité de ne pas insister pour avoir raison".


Te connais-tu vraiment bien ? Tente l'expérience ! (Septembre 2020).


Articles Connexes