yes, therapy helps!
How is stress related to eating disorders?

How is stress related to eating disorders?

July 14, 2024

In recent years, stress and its effects on both our body and our mind, have become one of the main reasons for consultation in the offices of doctors and psychologists. If to this stress, we add some type of eating disorder the impact on the health of the person is even greater .

Stress tends to lead to impulsive behaviors, so for people suffering from an eating disorder the stressors present in the environment and in society can lead to a worsening of the symptoms, since it is reflected in more serious food restrictions or in the increase in binge eating and purging behaviors.

What effects does stress have on eating disorders?

To better understand how stress affects the development of eating disorders, we must know how stress affects, in general, our body. In situations of stress, our body releases high levels of cortisol into the bloodstream.


This hormone, known as stress hormone, triggers a series of reactions like an increase in the respiratory rate and the elevation of the heart rate , among many others. When these cortisol levels remain chronic, a large number of alterations in the organism can appear such as sleep problems and disorders of the digestive, cardiovascular and immunological systems.

  • Related article: "The 6 stress hormones and their effects on the body"

Causes of eating disorders

In the case of people with some type of eating disorder, high levels of stress are usually caused by both social and environmental factors, which include the pressure exerted by society on the ideals or canons of a perfect body.


In addition, emotional factors such as feelings of guilt and shame that the person feels about their own body or image favor and enhance the development of these states of stress and continuous tension.

However, not everything is negative when we talk about stress. Stress does not always have to be related to negative feelings of anxiety and anguish . If people are able to learn and internalize effective stress-coping mechanisms, such as relaxation responses, it is possible to channel this energy into fuel for our motivation for action and change.

With the right tools and techniques, healthy levels of stress can be harnessed as a motivating force. In the specific cases of people suffering from an eating disorder, with the right help, stress can be the driving force that gives these people the power and motivation to find an alternative to their impulses with food.


This push or motivating energy can be used to find a way to reconcile with food and your own body, also finding activities that are pleasurable and that help them feel at peace in themselves.

Techniques to manage and reduce stress

However, the ability to turn stress into motivation and positive energy does not appear by magic. There are a lot of techniques that, carried out consistently and tenaciously can help the person with an eating disorder to alleviate and lessen the effects that stress has on their body and on their mind.

Then We present a series of extremely useful recommendations for managing stress and its consequences .

1. Muscle relaxation techniques

Through muscle relaxation techniques the person becomes aware of the state of their muscles and consequently is able to relax them . When our muscles are relaxed signals are sent to our brain to reduce the state of tension in which it is located, which facilitates the reduction of stress levels.

At the beginning, the person must voluntarily tense the different muscle groups of the body to then release the tension of these. This exercise involves from extremities to even the facial muscles.

2. Muscular massage

Following with physical relaxation techniques, Muscle massage therapy in muscle tension areas causes a relaxation response It helps reduce stress and relieves pain caused by the physical tension accumulated throughout the day.

Performing a massage in areas such as the neck, back and shoulders gives us a moment of relaxation and relieves stress that is not beneficial. Although these massages can be done by oneself, it is advisable to go to a specialist to minimize possible damages and enjoy even more this relaxing moment.

3.Activities such as yoga or tai chi

Practicing relaxing physical activities such as yoga or tai chi will help, in addition to being in shape, to develop a large number of body awareness techniques which enhance self-acceptance.

Through yoga it is possible to center the mind and the body, performing all kinds of movements that bring strength and balance. Numerous studies have revealed that this type of activities favor self-acceptance and the development of a positive self-concept. What is particularly useful in eating disorders.

Further, other activities such as reading or listening to music help us to distract ourselves and reassure us , providing a productive output to the energy that we have left at the end of the day.

4. Meditation exercises

There are innumerable meditation techniques that can be very useful to develop mindfulness about eating patterns and thoughts around the body and food.

Mindfulness exercises, breathing meditation and body exploration meditation are some of the most useful techniques. Which generate states of relaxation and encourage self-acceptance.

5. Relate to others

When we are stressed, It is particularly useful to seek contact with other people . Connecting with friends, family and people we love makes us feel much better. Telling the concerns or problems to trusted people humanizes our experiences and helps us release tensions

6. Connect with nature

Perform outdoor activities and walks, breathe fresh air and let the sun increase our levels of vitamin D , it will help us to reconstruct our thoughts and to release tension and stress.

By constantly practicing these relaxing techniques and activities, the person with an eating disorder will find an outlet for their feelings of stress and anxiety. This will favor the development of willpower and, together with the help of a health professional or in psychology, help in the process of reconciliation with your own body.

Bibliographic references:

  • Calvo Sagardoy, Rosa (2002) Anorexia and bulimia: a guide for parents, educators and therapists. Barcelona: Practical planet.
  • Esteban, M.L (2004) Anthropology of the body. Gender, body itineraries, identity and change, Barcelona, ​​Edicions Bellaterra.
  • Image and Self-esteem Foundation. "Basic guide on prevention and detection of eating behavior disorders for educators".
  • Toro and Vilardell, E. (1987) Anorexia nervosa. Martínez Roca, Barcelona.

How an eating disorder develops: Madi O'Dell's story (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quel est le lien entre le stress et les troubles de l'alimentation?

Quel est le lien entre le stress et les troubles de l'alimentation?

Juillet 30, 2022

Ces dernières années, le stress et ses effets sur notre corps et sur notre esprit sont devenus l'une des principales raisons de consultation dans les cabinets de médecins et de psychologues. Si à ce stress s’ajoute un trouble de l’alimentation, l’impact sur la santé de la personne est encore plus grand .

Le stress tend à induire des comportements impulsifs. Ainsi, chez les personnes souffrant d’un trouble de l’alimentation, les facteurs de stress présents dans l’environnement et dans la société peuvent aggraver les symptômes, car ils se traduisent par des restrictions alimentaires plus graves augmentation des comportements de frénésie alimentaire et de purge.

Quels sont les effets du stress sur les troubles de l'alimentation?

Pour mieux comprendre comment le stress affecte le développement des troubles de l'alimentation, nous devons savoir comment le stress affecte, en général, notre corps. Dans les situations de stress, notre corps libère des niveaux élevés de cortisol dans le sang.


Cette hormone, appelée hormone du stress, déclenche une série de réactions telles qu'une augmentation de la fréquence respiratoire et une élévation de la fréquence cardiaque parmi beaucoup d’autres. Lorsque ces taux de cortisol restent chroniques, de nombreuses altérations de l'organisme peuvent apparaître, telles que des problèmes de sommeil et des troubles des systèmes digestif, cardiovasculaire et immunologique.

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 hormones du stress et leurs effets sur le corps"

Causes des troubles de l'alimentation

Dans le cas des personnes souffrant d'un trouble de l'alimentation, les niveaux de stress élevés sont généralement causés par des facteurs sociaux et environnementaux, notamment la pression exercée par la société sur les idéaux ou les canons d'un corps parfait.


En outre, des facteurs émotionnels tels que des sentiments de culpabilité et de honte que la personne ressent à propos de son propre corps ou de son image favorisent et renforcent le développement de ces états de stress et de tensions continues.

Cependant, tout n'est pas négatif quand on parle de stress. Le stress ne doit pas toujours être lié à des sentiments négatifs d'anxiété et d'angoisse . Si les gens sont capables d'apprendre et d'intérioriser des mécanismes efficaces de gestion du stress, tels que les réponses à la relaxation, il est possible de canaliser cette énergie pour alimenter notre motivation à agir et à changer.

Avec les bons outils et techniques, un niveau de stress sain peut être exploité comme une force de motivation. Dans les cas spécifiques de personnes souffrant d'un trouble de l'alimentation, bien aidés, le stress peut être la force motrice qui donne à ces personnes le pouvoir et la motivation nécessaires pour trouver une alternative à leurs impulsions alimentaires.


Cette poussée ou cette énergie motrice peut être utilisée pour trouver un moyen de se réconcilier avec la nourriture et votre propre corps, ainsi que pour trouver des activités agréables qui les aident à se sentir en paix avec elles-mêmes.

Techniques pour gérer et réduire le stress

Cependant, la capacité de transformer le stress en motivation et en énergie positive n'apparaît pas par magie. Il existe de nombreuses techniques qui, appliquées systématiquement et avec ténacité, peuvent aider une personne souffrant de troubles de l'alimentation à atténuer et à atténuer les effets du stress sur son corps et sur son esprit.

Ensuite Nous présentons une série de recommandations extrêmement utiles pour gérer le stress et ses conséquences .

1. Techniques de relaxation musculaire

Grâce aux techniques de relaxation musculaire, la personne prend conscience de l’état de ses muscles et parvient à les détendre. . Lorsque nos muscles sont relâchés, des signaux sont envoyés à notre cerveau afin de réduire l'état de tension dans lequel il se trouve, ce qui facilite la réduction du niveau de stress.

Au début, la personne doit contracter volontairement les différents groupes musculaires du corps pour ensuite en libérer la tension. Cet exercice implique des extrémités et même les muscles du visage.

2. massage musculaire

Suivre avec des techniques de relaxation physique, La thérapie de massage musculaire dans les zones de tension musculaire provoque une réponse de relaxation Il aide à réduire le stress et à soulager la douleur causée par la tension physique accumulée au cours de la journée.

Effectuer un massage dans des zones telles que le cou, le dos et les épaules nous procure un moment de détente et soulage le stress qui n’est pas bénéfique. Bien que ces massages puissent être effectués par vous-même, il est conseillé de consulter un spécialiste pour minimiser les dommages éventuels et profiter encore plus de ce moment de détente.

3Des activités telles que le yoga ou le tai-chi

La pratique d'activités physiques relaxantes telles que le yoga ou le tai-chi aidera, en plus d'être en forme, à développer un grand nombre de techniques de conscience du corps qui améliorent l'acceptation de soi.

Grâce au yoga, il est possible de centrer l'esprit et le corps en effectuant toutes sortes de mouvements qui apportent force et équilibre. De nombreuses études ont révélé que ce type d'activités favorise l'acceptation de soi et le développement d'un concept de soi positif. Ce qui est particulièrement utile dans les troubles de l'alimentation.

En outre, d'autres activités telles que lire ou écouter de la musique nous aident à nous distraire et à nous rassurer , fournissant un rendement productif à l’énergie qui nous reste à la fin de la journée.

4. Exercices de méditation

Il existe d'innombrables techniques de méditation qui peuvent être très utiles pour développer l'attention sur les habitudes alimentaires et les pensées entourant le corps et les aliments.

Les exercices de pleine conscience, la méditation sur la respiration et l'exploration du corps sont parmi les techniques les plus utiles. Qui génèrent des états de relaxation et encouragent l'acceptation de soi.

5. Relier à d'autres

Quand on est stressé, Il est particulièrement utile de rechercher le contact avec d'autres personnes. . La connexion avec les amis, la famille et les personnes que nous aimons nous fait sentir beaucoup mieux. Dire les préoccupations ou les problèmes aux personnes de confiance humanise nos expériences et nous aide à libérer les tensions

6. Connectez-vous avec la nature

Pratiquez des activités de plein air et des promenades, respirez l'air frais et laissez le soleil augmenter nos niveaux de vitamine D , cela nous aidera à reconstruire nos pensées et à libérer les tensions et le stress.

En pratiquant constamment ces techniques et activités de relaxation, la personne atteinte de trouble de l'alimentation trouvera un exutoire pour ses sentiments de stress et d'anxiété. Cela favorisera le développement de la volonté et, avec l'aide d'un professionnel de la santé ou en psychologie, aidera au processus de réconciliation avec votre propre corps.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Calvo Sagardoy, Rosa (2002) Anorexie et boulimie: un guide pour les parents, les éducateurs et les thérapeutes. Barcelone: ​​planète pratique.
  • Esteban, M.L (2004) Anthropologie du corps. Genre, itinéraires corporels, identité et changement, Barcelone, Edicions Bellaterra.
  • Fondation Image et estime de soi. "Guide de base sur la prévention et la détection des troubles du comportement alimentaire pour les éducateurs".
  • Toro et Vilardell, E. (1987) Anorexia nervosa. Martínez Roca, Barcelone.

10 signes qui vous indiqueront si votre organisme ne va pas bien à cause du stress (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes