yes, therapy helps!
How many bones does the human foot have?

How many bones does the human foot have?

May 3, 2024

How many bones are there in each foot? It is very likely that the part of the human body that we have forgotten the most is the foot. It's down there and always wrapped in a sock, slippers or summer flip-flops, almost invisible. Now, this member is one of the structures of the human body that has more bones, along with the hands.

Almost half of the total of all bones in our body are concentrated in both extremities. Nothing more and nothing less than 26 bones in each foot. However, How do bones organize the human foot? Let's see it

  • Related article: "Bones of the head (skull): how many are there and what are they called?"

The 3 parts of the human foot according to your bones

The human foot represents a fundamental part of our body, since they are our main motor for a correct mobility, as well as the sustenance to keep us straight. The curiosity lies in the complexity of their bone formation. As we saw in the previous section, the foot is formed by more than twenty bones divided into three different groups, which are the phalanges, the tarsus and the metatarsus.


At this point we will make a brief description of the three parts of the bones of the human foot .

1. The tarsus

The tarsus connects the foot with the tibia and the fibula , which has 7 bones such as the calcaneus, talus, cuboid, navicular and, finally, the internal, middle and external cuneiform bones.

2. The metatarsal

There are five bones that make up the metatarsal, the ossa metatarsalia in medical terms: first metatarsal, second metatarsal, third metatarsal, fourth metatarsal and fifth metatarsal.

3. The phalanges

It is one of the most complex parts of the bones of the human foot, since the phalanges consist of 14 bones in total. They are three phalanges for each toe (except for the thumb that only has two) and are separated by three sections: proximal, middle and distal phalanx.


The most common lesions of the foot

Certainly, the foot has a high ratio of injuries taking into account the function so basic to the functioning of the human body. The foot is a member that, apart from its 26 bones, It has 33 joints and about 120 tendons, ligaments and various muscles . Therefore, there are common injuries that affect a significant part of the population.

The flat feet or "fall of the arch, represents 70% of the injuries of the human foot. In this case the specialist podiatrist will recommend some templates to correct the curvature of the plant. Overweight is an extremely incisive factor in this type of problems, so having a correct control of body weight will prevent future complications.

The so-called "bunions" also pose a headache to more than one. These form a hard mass in the joint of the big toe that disturbs noticeably when moving this area , as well as calluses, the result of friction / friction and the pressure exerted by the footwear on the fingers.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 25 main organs of the human body"

Some recommendations

Taking into account the importance of the foot, it is important to take into consideration some recommendations for good care of the bones and joints that comprise it. The bones of the foot, if they break, They are usually complicated to cure , since no finger can be cast to straighten the break or accelerate bone regeneration.

We must also worry about hygiene, warn the professionals, since the feet are carriers of bacteria and microbes that seep below the nails and the hairs of the fingers . Keeping your feet dry, clean and with well-trimmed nails will prevent many painful infections and often produce bad odors.

A good footwear is another precaution to take into account, since the discomfort in the foot causes hip, back and cervical pains.

Bibliographic references:

  • Buikstra, J.E .; D.H. Ubelaker (1994). Standards for data collection from human skeletal remains. Arkansas Archaeological Survey.
  • Mammal anatomy: an illustrated guide. (2020). New York: Marshall Cavendish.

How many bones & joints in the body? What is joint popping? with Dr Vizniak (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Combien d'os le pied humain a-t-il?

Combien d'os le pied humain a-t-il?

Mai 6, 2024

Combien y a-t-il d'os dans chaque pied? Il est très probable que la partie du corps humain que nous avons le plus souvent oubliée soit le pied. C'est là-bas et toujours enveloppé dans une chaussette, des pantoufles ou des tongs d'été, presque invisible. Maintenant, ce membre est l'une des structures du corps humain qui a plus d'os, avec les mains.

Près de la moitié des os de notre corps sont concentrés aux deux extrémités. Rien de plus et rien de moins que 26 os dans chaque pied. Maintenant bien, Comment les os organisent-ils le pied humain? Voyons le

  • Article connexe: "Os de la tête (crâne): combien y a-t-il et comment s'appellent-ils?"

Les 3 parties du pied humain en fonction de vos os

Le pied humain représente une partie fondamentale de notre corps, car il est notre moteur principal pour une mobilité correcte, ainsi que la subsistance pour nous maintenir droits. La curiosité réside dans la complexité de leur formation osseuse. Comme nous l'avons vu dans la section précédente, le pied est formé de plus de vingt os répartis en trois groupes différents, à savoir les phalanges, le tarse et le métatarse.


À ce stade, nous ferons une brève description de les trois parties des os du pied humain .

1. Le tarse

Le tarse relie le pied avec le tibia et le péroné , qui a 7 os comme le calcanéum, le talus, le cuboïde, le naviculaire et enfin les os cunéiformes internes, moyens et externes.

2. Le métatarse

Il y a cinq os qui composent le métatarse, le ossa metatarsalia en termes médicaux: premier métatarse, deuxième métatarse, troisième métatarse, quatrième métatarse et cinquième métatarse.

3. Les phalanges

C'est l'une des parties les plus complexes des os du pied humain, puisque les phalanges sont composées de 14 os au total. Il y a trois phalanges pour chaque orteil (sauf le pouce qui n'en a que deux) et elles sont séparées par trois sections: phalange proximale, médiane et distale.


Les lésions les plus courantes du pied

Certes, le pied présente un taux de blessures élevé compte tenu de la fonction essentielle au fonctionnement du corps humain. Le pied est un membre qui, à part ses 26 os, Il a 33 articulations et environ 120 tendons, ligaments et muscles divers . Par conséquent, il existe des blessures courantes qui touchent une partie importante de la population.

Les pieds plats ou "chute de la voûte plantaire" représentent 70% des lésions du pied humain. Dans ce cas, le podiatre spécialisé recommandera des modèles pour corriger la courbure de la plante. Le surpoids est un facteur extrêmement incisif dans ce type de problèmes, donc un contrôle correct du poids permettra d'éviter de futures complications.

Les soi-disant "oignons" posent également un mal de tête à plus d'un. Ceux-ci forment une masse dure dans l'articulation du gros orteil qui perturbe sensiblement le déplacement de cette zone , ainsi que les callosités, le résultat du frottement / frottement et de la pression exercée par la chaussure sur les doigts.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 25 organes principaux du corps humain"

Quelques recommandations

Compte tenu de l'importance du pied, il est important de prendre en compte certaines recommandations pour bien prendre soin des os et des articulations qui le composent. Les os du pied, s'ils se cassent, Ils sont généralement compliqués à guérir , car aucun doigt ne peut être coulé pour redresser la fracture ou accélérer la régénération osseuse.

Nous devons également nous préoccuper de l'hygiène, avertissent les professionnels, car les pieds sont porteurs de bactéries et microbes qui s'infiltrent sous les ongles et les poils des doigts . Garder les pieds au sec, propres et avec des ongles bien coupés, évitera de nombreuses infections douloureuses et produira souvent de mauvaises odeurs.

Une bonne chaussure est une autre précaution à prendre en compte, car l’inconfort du pied provoque des douleurs à la hanche, au dos et au col utérin.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Buikstra, J.E; D.H. Ubelaker (1994). Normes pour la collecte de données à partir de restes squelettiques humains. Enquête archéologique de l'Arkansas.
  • Anatomie des mammifères: un guide illustré. (2020). New York: Marshall Cavendish.

SQUELETTE HUMAIN - Explique-MOI (Mai 2024).


Articles Connexes