yes, therapy helps!
How many neurons does the human brain have?

How many neurons does the human brain have?

May 6, 2021

If the human brain is the set of organs that houses the thought, it may be thought that all our mental processes are, in reality, the consequence that there are many nerve cells functioning in our head. However... How many neurons are there in the brain of an average human being?

Knowing this is not easy, since on a microscopic scale the variation in the number of cells is always very large and making mistakes in measurements is very easy. However, it is currently estimated that the brain of an adult person has almost one hundred billion neurons. Or, expressed in numbers, between 86,000,000,000 and 100.000.000.000 (10 raised to 11).


But these figures are not as important as one might suppose at first ...

Recommended article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Massive amounts of neurons and synapses

This figure may seem overwhelming, but it is worth remembering that what really makes the human brain such a complex system is not the number of neurons a person has, but the way in which these neurons interact with each other .

The variability of things that can happen in our brain does not depend as much on the number of neurons as on what they do, the way they communicate. And to know this we have to take into account what happens at the points where these nerve cells connect with each other. These places are called synaptic spaces, and the same neuron can be associated with several of them, by which it receives and sends information.


How many synaptic spaces are there in the adult human brain? 10 raised to 14. That is: 100.000.000.000.000 . In addition, each of these synaptic spaces hosts a lot of events at once: thousands of particles called neurotransmitters are emitted and captured by the neurons that share the synaptic space, and depending on the type of neurotransmitter and its quantity, the neurons will be activated following one or another frequency pattern.

Age also counts

Another aspect that must be taken into account when considering how many neurons the human brain has is that this figure varies depending on the age of the person . The brain of newborns is not much smaller than that of an adult, and has a much higher number of neurons. However, they are nerve cells that are not very connected to each other, and that is why many of them are not yet fully functional.


During the first two decades of life, the process of maturation of mental processes has to do with favoring that the neurons used are connected with each other, not with increasing the number of nerve cells. What makes our ability to think in abstract terms stronger during puberty and adolescence is not that new parts of the brain are born or that the number of neurons grows, but that there are more efficient. This is embodied in a process called myelination, by which large regions of the brain turn white.

This color is a sign that axons, the parts of the neuron that "stretch" to reach neurons that are far away, are beginning to spread in many parts, since this part of the anatomy of the nerve cells is covered. for a whitish substance called myelin.

As for the number of brain neurons, just after the first months of life, when they are beginning to massively connect large amounts of neurons, the human body causes many of them to die . In this way, the material with which these nerve cells are made that are not used can be reused for other things.

How many neurons do other animals have in the brain?

By way of example, or as a curiosity, we can compare those 100,000,000,000 neurons of the human brain with the number of nerve cells that are estimated to have on average other animal species.

  • Bee : 960.000.
  • Frog : 16.000.000
  • Cat : 300.000.000
  • Raccoon : 453.000.000
  • Rhesus Macaque : 480.000.000
  • Chimpanzee : 6.200.000.000
  • African elephant : 11.000.000.000.

How are neurons?

If after having read all this you have realized that you do not even know very well what a neuron is, You can read this article to see how is its structure and what are the main types of neurons :

It may interest you: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

How Many Neurons Are in the Brain? (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Combien de neurones le cerveau humain a-t-il?

Combien de neurones le cerveau humain a-t-il?

Novembre 6, 2022

Si le cerveau humain est l'ensemble des organes qui abrite la pensée, on peut penser que tous nos processus mentaux sont, en réalité, la conséquence du nombre de cellules nerveuses fonctionnant dans notre tête. Maintenant bien... Combien y a-t-il de neurones dans le cerveau d'un être humain moyen?

Sachant que cela n’est pas chose aisée, la variation du nombre de cellules est toujours très importante à l’échelle microscopique et il est très facile de faire des erreurs de mesure. Cependant, on estime actuellement que le cerveau d'un adulte compte près de cent milliards de neurones. Ou, exprimé en chiffres, entre 86 000 000 000 et 100.000.000.000 (10 sur 11).


Mais ces chiffres ne sont pas aussi importants qu'on pourrait le croire au début ...

Article recommandé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Des quantités massives de neurones et de synapses

Ce chiffre peut sembler accablant, mais il convient de rappeler que ce qui rend le cerveau si complexe d'un système aussi complexe n'est pas le nombre de neurones qu'une personne possède. mais la façon dont ces neurones interagissent les uns avec les autres .

La variabilité de ce qui peut arriver dans notre cerveau ne dépend pas autant du nombre de neurones que de ce qu'ils font, de la façon dont ils communiquent. Et pour le savoir, nous devons tenir compte de ce qui se passe aux points de connexion de ces cellules nerveuses. Ces lieux sont appelés espaces synaptiques, et un même neurone peut être associé à plusieurs d’entre eux, par lequel il reçoit et envoie des informations.


Combien y a-t-il d'espaces synaptiques dans le cerveau humain adulte? 10 portées à 14. Soit: 100.000.000.000.000 . De plus, chacun de ces espaces synaptiques accueille de nombreux événements à la fois: des milliers de particules appelées neurotransmetteurs sont émises et capturées par les neurones qui partagent l’espace synaptique. Selon le type de neurotransmetteur et sa quantité, les neurones sont activés. suivant l'un ou l'autre modèle de fréquence.

L'âge compte aussi

Un autre aspect à prendre en compte pour déterminer le nombre de neurones du cerveau humain est que ce chiffre varie en fonction de l'âge de la personne . Le cerveau des nouveau-nés n’est pas beaucoup plus petit que celui de l’adulte et contient un nombre beaucoup plus élevé de neurones. Cependant, ce sont des cellules nerveuses peu connectées les unes aux autres, raison pour laquelle nombre d'entre elles ne sont pas encore pleinement fonctionnelles.


Au cours des deux premières décennies de la vie, le processus de maturation des processus mentaux consiste à favoriser la connexion entre les neurones utilisés et non à augmenter le nombre de cellules nerveuses. Ce qui renforce notre capacité à penser de manière abstraite pendant la puberté et l’adolescence n’est pas la naissance de nouvelles parties du cerveau ni la croissance du nombre de neurones, mais leur efficacité. Ceci est incorporé dans un processus appelé myélinisation, par lequel de grandes régions du cerveau deviennent blanches.

Cette couleur est un signe que les axones, les parties du neurone qui "s'étirent" pour atteindre des neurones éloignés, commencent à se répandre dans de nombreuses régions, puisque cette partie de l'anatomie des cellules nerveuses est couverte. pour une substance blanchâtre appelée myéline.

Quant au nombre de neurones du cerveau, juste après les premiers mois de la vie, quand ils commencent à connecter massivement de grandes quantités de neurones, le corps humain fait mourir beaucoup d'entre eux . De cette façon, le matériau avec lequel ces cellules nerveuses sont fabriquées qui ne sont pas utilisés peut être réutilisé pour autre chose.

Combien de neurones d'autres animaux ont-ils dans le cerveau?

À titre d'exemple ou par curiosité, nous pouvons comparer ces 100 000 000 000 de neurones du cerveau humain au nombre de cellules nerveuses dont on estime qu'il contient en moyenne d'autres espèces animales.

  • Abeille : 960.000.
  • Grenouille : 16.000.000
  • Chat : 300.000.000
  • Le raton laveur : 453.000.000
  • Macaque rhésus : 480.000.000
  • Chimpanzé : 6.200.000.000
  • Éléphant d'Afrique : 11.000.000.000.

Comment sont les neurones?

Si après avoir lu tout cela, vous vous êtes rendu compte que vous ne savez même pas très bien ce qu'est un neurone, Vous pouvez lire cet article pour voir quelle est sa structure et quels sont les principaux types de neurones :

Cela peut vous intéresser: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

[Comment ça marche] Le cerveau et les neurones (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes