yes, therapy helps!
How old is the medical career in each country?

How old is the medical career in each country?

July 19, 2024

The medicine is one of the most popular and well-known health disciplines , requiring the services of competent professionals at all ages and at all stages of life in order to maintain physical health and treat the different diseases that we may suffer throughout life.

At the level of training, it is also one of the most demanding careers both at the level of access (the cut-off grade to study this degree is at least one of the highest) and at the level of time invested before becoming professional ( other careers also require ongoing training, but usually the title is obtained earlier).

The duration of this race is determined by a large number of variables, one of which is where it is studied. And it is that the structure and the conception of this race varies to a great extent in the different countries in which it courses. Thus, those who study medicine in a country can see how other colleagues need more or less years to finish their training depending on where it takes place. In this article let's see how many years are the medical career in each of the countries which have been chosen.


  • Related article: "The importance of choosing well your university career"

Average years of medical career by country

Then we leave you with a brief comment regarding the duration of the training necessary to become a doctor in different countries.

1. Spain

In Spain, the medical career is certainly demanding. The university degree lasts for six years. And this is only the degree: If they want to practice in the public network, they must spend at least one year in the MIR system (internal resident doctor), to enter which must pass through a competitive examination (although about half of those who try every year get it) to graduate as a general practitioner.


In case they consider specializing, the duration increases several more years (between four and five depending on which). Total, a specialized doctor in our country will have gone through a training of around 10-11 years (although during the MIR they would already start charging, having a training contract).

  • Maybe you're interested: "20 recommended medicine books for curious people"

2. United States

In the United States, the formation of Medicine is especially long. In the first place it will be necessary to study during four years of "Bachelor's Degree" in which they have to take pre-medicine subjects. After that they have to study five years of general medicine, at a theoretical level, after which they have to spend two years of hospital residency. All this will serve to obtain the title of Medical Doctor , and if they would like to specialize they have to do a training of about two more years (and still two more if they want subspecializations).


3. United Kingdom

In the United Kingdom, the Medicine degree, as in Spain and other European countries, is six years of duration .

4. Cuba

In Cuba, the training to be a doctor would be made in a total of six years divided into semesters, with the exception of internship (or internships) that would last for a whole year . The professionals go through different services and units in order to visualize the different existing specialties.

5. Ecuador

To be a doctor in Ecuador, prospective applicants must go through a training period of five or six years, the first three being basic training, and from the fourth, being able to do internships in hospitals .

6. Mexico

In Mexico, the medical career usually lasts six years, although in universities in the north of the country the figure can rise to seven.

7. Peru

The career of Medicine in Peru lasts between seven and eight years on average to obtain the title of general medicine. It would be four years of degree and another four in a medical school. After that they can go on to study a specialization which can last up to three or four years.

8. Colombia

As in Mexico, in Colombia the training necessary to practice as a doctor lasts between six and seven years.

9. Argentina

In this country, the training at the grade level is made in a total of six years divided into three cycles. In the first (biomedical cycle) they focus on training at the level of human anatomy and biology, in a second cycle (clinical) Students receive knowledge about pathology, diagnosis and treatment (being something more clinical) and finally a period of rotation called rotational annual internship in which they perform real practices in hospitals.

10. South Africa

In this African country, studying medicine requires around five to six years of study. After that, it will be necessary to carry out two years of practice and one of service to the community in a rural environment. Later, different specialization formations can be made .


Top 10 Highest Paid Nursing Professions (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quel âge a la carrière médicale dans chaque pays?

Quel âge a la carrière médicale dans chaque pays?

Avril 22, 2019

Le médicament est une des disciplines de la santé les plus populaires et les plus connues , nécessitant les services de professionnels compétents de tous les âges et de toutes les étapes de la vie, afin de maintenir la santé physique et de traiter les différentes maladies que nous pouvons subir tout au long de la vie.

Au niveau de la formation, c’est aussi l’une des carrières les plus exigeantes tant au niveau de l’accès (la note limite pour étudier ce diplôme est au moins l’un des meilleurs) et au niveau du temps investi avant de devenir professionnel ( d’autres carrières exigent également une formation continue, mais le titre est généralement obtenu plus tôt).

La durée de cette course est déterminée par un grand nombre de variables, parmi lesquelles celle où elle est étudiée. Et c'est que la structure et la conception de cette race varient énormément dans les différents pays où elle se déroule. Ainsi, ceux qui étudient la médecine dans un pays peuvent voir combien d'autres collègues ont besoin de plus ou moins d'années pour terminer leur formation en fonction de l'endroit où elle se déroule. Dans cet article Voyons combien d'années sont les carrières médicales dans chacun des pays qui ont été choisis.


  • Article connexe: "L'importance de bien choisir sa carrière universitaire"

Moyenne d'années de carrière médicale par pays

Nous vous laisserons ensuite un bref commentaire sur la durée de la formation nécessaire pour devenir médecin dans différents pays.

1. Espagne

En Espagne, la carrière médicale est certainement exigeante. Le diplôme universitaire dure six ans. Et ce n'est que le degré: S'ils veulent exercer sur le réseau public, ils doivent passer au moins un an dans le système MIR (médecin résident interne), qui doit passer un concours (bien que près de la moitié de ceux qui essaient de le réussir chaque année) obtienne son diplôme de médecin généraliste.


S'ils envisagent de se spécialiser, la durée augmente encore de plusieurs années (entre quatre et cinq ans selon les années). En tout, un médecin spécialisé dans notre pays aura suivi une formation d'environ 10 à 11 ans (bien que pendant le MIR ils commencent déjà à charger, ayant un contrat de formation).

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "20 livres de médecine recommandés pour les curieux"

2. États-Unis

Aux États-Unis, la formation de la médecine est particulièrement longue. En premier lieu, il faudra étudier pendant quatre ans le "Bachelor" dans lequel ils doivent suivre des matières préalables à la médecine. Après cela, ils doivent étudier cinq années de médecine générale, à un niveau théorique, après quoi ils doivent passer deux ans en résidence hospitalière. Tout cela servira à obtenir le titre de docteur en médecine et s’ils désirent se spécialiser, ils doivent suivre une formation d’environ deux ans (et encore deux autres s’ils veulent des surspécialisations).


Royaume-Uni

Au Royaume-Uni, le diplôme de médecine, comme en Espagne et dans d'autres pays européens, est six ans de durée .

4. Cuba

À Cuba, la formation de médecin se ferait en six années au total, divisées en semestres, à l’exception des stages (ou stages) qui durerait toute une année . Les professionnels passent par différents services et unités afin de visualiser les différentes spécialités existantes.

5. Équateur

Pour être médecin en Équateur, les candidats potentiels doivent suivre une période de formation de cinq ou six ans, les trois premiers étant une formation de base. à partir du quatrième, être capable de faire des stages dans des hôpitaux .

6. Mexique

Au Mexique, la carrière médicale dure généralement six ans, bien que ce chiffre puisse atteindre sept ans dans les universités du nord du pays.

7. Pérou

La carrière de médecine au Pérou dure entre sept et huit ans en moyenne pour obtenir le titre de médecine générale. Ce serait quatre ans d'études et quatre autres années dans une école de médecine. Après cela, ils peuvent étudier une spécialisation qui peut durer jusqu'à trois ou quatre ans.

8. Colombie

Comme au Mexique, en Colombie, la formation nécessaire pour exercer la profession de médecin dure entre six et sept ans.

9. Argentine

Dans ce pays, la formation au niveau de la classe se compose de six années au total, divisées en trois cycles. Dans le premier cycle (cycle biomédical), ils se concentrent sur la formation au niveau de l’anatomie et de la biologie humaines, dans un deuxième cycle (clinique). Les étudiants reçoivent des connaissances sur la pathologie, le diagnostic et le traitement (étant quelque chose de plus clinique) et enfin une période de rotation appelée stage annuel rotationnel dans laquelle ils effectuent de véritables pratiques dans les hôpitaux

10. Afrique du sud

Dans ce pays africain, étudier la médecine nécessite environ cinq à six ans d'études. Après cela, il faudra effectuer deux années de pratique et une de service à la communauté en milieu rural. Par la suite, différentes formations de spécialisation peuvent être faites .


T4, un médecin sous le nazisme (Documentaire Historique) (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes