yes, therapy helps!
How the human brain works, in 8 keys

How the human brain works, in 8 keys

June 17, 2024

Understanding how the brain works requires years of learning, and yet the level of understanding we can have about this set of organs will always be very limited; not in vain the human brain is one of the most complex systems that exist.

On the other hand, there are some ideas that help to start understanding that tangle of concept better s which serve to explain what this part of the nervous system is. These are some of these keys.

Basic ideas about how the brain works

This is a list of ideas that I think help to understand the fundamental ideas about how the brain works . I recommend reading them in order, because they are arranged from the micro to the macro.


1. Glia and neurons

A brain is, fundamentally, a set of neurons and glial cells. The latter are less known outside universities, but in fact they are much more numerous than neurons (which is quite impressive, considering that an adult human brain has around 80,000,000,000 neurons).

What is each of these cell types responsible for? The neurons are those that create the flows of electrochemical signals that constitute the mental processes; Basically, everything that psychology studies is embodied in the way in which neurons communicate with each other.

Glial cells, on the other hand, perform very diverse functions, and until recently it was believed that they are basically responsible for protecting neurons and facilitating their movement. However, in recent years there have been investigations in which glial cells have their own communication network and can influence how neurons relate to each other. That is, we are just beginning to fully understand its importance.


2. The role of synapses

When understanding how the brain works, knowing how communication networks work between neurons matters as much or more than knowing how each neuron works individually, and that means that the points at which these nerve cells send information among them they are of crucial importance for neuroscientists and psychologists. The name given to these areas is "synaptic space", which in the vast majority of cases is a small separation that opens between the cell membranes of the nerve terminals of two neurons : one of them is the presynaptic and the other is the postsynaptic.

In the synapses, the electrical signal that a neuron travels becomes a chemical signal, that is, a torrent of substances that we call neurotransmitters and neuromodulators. These microscopic particles reach the nerve terminal of the other neuron and there, they are captured by structures called receptors. From that point, the torrent of chemicals received by the post-synaptic neuron have an effect on the frequency with which this nerve cell will emit electrical impulses that may have effects on other neurons.


This mechanism seems simple, but it really is not, because there are many types of neurotransmitters and structures that interact with them, and at the same time each neuron is often connected to many others at the same time: they do not usually pass information in a linear way, as in the phone game.

3. Software and hardware are indistinguishable

It is usual to try to understand the brain as if it were a conventional computer, but this comparison is only justified in certain contexts, because it does not serve to capture the actual functioning of the brain. And one of the main reasons why a brain differs from a computer is the fact that in the first it makes no sense to distinguish between software and hardware. All the processes that are taking place in a brain materially modify the brain, and the structure of the brain itself is what makes nerve cells send nerve signals : It does not depend on programming codes.

That's why, among other things, the brain does not work with content that can be stored in a USB, just as it happens with computers. You can play interpret what happens in a brain in real time, and make this interpretation structured as a code understandable to us, but that code we will have invented ourselves; it does not come from the brain. Which does not mean that it is impossible to know in an approximate way what certain parts of the torrent of information that travels through a brain consist of.

4. Brain plasticity

Because of what has been said above, this other idea is derived: the brain is changing all the time, whatever we do . Everything that we perceive and do leaves a more or less intense mark on our brain, and this mark, in turn, will cause all those produced from that moment to be in one form or another.That is to say, that our mental life is an accumulation of modifications, of neurons that narrow their bonds and that later loosen them according to everything that is happening to us.

This ability (or, rather, need) of our brain to constantly change depending on the circumstances is called brain plasticity.

5. The role of attention

As much as the human brain seems a prodigy of nature capable of doing quite impressive things, the truth is that the data set with which it works is always full of gaps. In fact, it is not even able to properly process all the information that comes to it in real time through the senses, and we do not even talk about remembering everything, something that only happens in incredibly exceptional cases.

What the human brain does is obey the principle of survival : what matters is not knowing everything, but knowing just enough to survive. Attention is the mechanism by which certain parts of the available information are selected and others are ignored. In this way, the nervous system is able to locate information elements that are relevant to focus attention on them and not on others, all depending on our objective. This mechanism gives a lot of play, because in certain circumstances we seem to be blind to things that happen in front of our noses.

6. The brain invents things

This point is derived from the previous section. As the brain has a quantity of "processable" information that is limited, there are some information gaps that have to be filled without constantly being forced to look for the missing information. For it, there are some automatic mechanisms that cover those holes discreetly .

An example is what happens with the part of the retina that gives way to the beginning of the optic nerve. This is an area in which the eye is unable to transform light signals into nerve impulses, and therefore it is as if we had a hole in the middle of our visual field. However, we do not realize that.

7. The parts of the brain always work together

Although in brain it is formed by different anatomical areas more or less specialized in some processes, they all need to be well connected to each other to do their job well . That does not mean that everyone has to communicate directly with all the others, but to function they must be wired with the "general network" of information that circulates through the brain.

8. The rational and the emotional go hand in hand

Although it is very useful to distinguish between the rational and the emotional in theoretical terms, in our brain all the mental processes that we can link to one or the other domain work together .

For example, the parts of the brain that are most related to the appearance of emotions (a set of structures known as the limbic system) are the ones that set the objectives that are tried to be achieved effectively through action plans based on logic and that, of all modes, they will not stop being influenced by emotional factors that will make the rational of these strategies quite relative, even though we do not realize it.


The Brain (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment fonctionne le cerveau humain, en 8 touches

Comment fonctionne le cerveau humain, en 8 touches

Juin 5, 2020

Comprendre le fonctionnement du cerveau nécessite des années d’apprentissage, mais le niveau de compréhension que nous pouvons avoir à propos de cet ensemble d’organes sera toujours très limité; pas en vain le cerveau humain est l'un des systèmes les plus complexes qui existent.

D'un autre côté, il y a quelques idées qui aident à commencer à comprendre cet enchevêtrement de concept mieux s qui servent à expliquer ce qu'est cette partie du système nerveux. Ce sont certaines de ces clés.

Idées de base sur le fonctionnement du cerveau

Ceci est une liste d'idées qui, selon moi, aident à comprendre les idées fondamentales sur le fonctionnement du cerveau . Je recommande de les lire dans l'ordre, car ils sont disposés du micro au macro.


1. Glia et neurones

Un cerveau est, fondamentalement, un ensemble de neurones et de cellules gliales. Ces derniers sont moins connus en dehors des universités, mais ils sont en réalité beaucoup plus nombreux que les neurones (ce qui est assez impressionnant si l'on considère qu'un cerveau humain adulte compte environ 80 000 000 000 de neurones).

Quel est le rôle de chacun de ces types de cellules? Les neurones sont ceux qui créent les flux de signaux électrochimiques constituant les processus mentaux. Fondamentalement, tout ce que la psychologie étudie est incorporé dans la façon dont les neurones communiquent les uns avec les autres.

Les cellules gliales, en revanche, remplissent des fonctions très diverses et jusqu'à récemment, on pensait qu'elles étaient essentiellement responsables de la protection des neurones et de la facilitation de leur mouvement. Cependant, au cours des dernières années, des recherches ont été menées dans le cadre desquelles les cellules gliales disposent de leur propre réseau de communication et peuvent influer sur les relations entre les neurones. C'est-à-dire que nous commençons tout juste à comprendre pleinement son importance.


2. Le rôle des synapses

Pour comprendre le fonctionnement du cerveau, savoir comment les réseaux de communication fonctionnent entre neurones est tout aussi important, voire plus, que de connaître le fonctionnement individuel de chaque neurone. Cela signifie que les points auxquels ces cellules nerveuses envoient des informations parmi eux, ils revêtent une importance cruciale pour les neuroscientifiques et les psychologues. Le nom donné à ces zones est "espace synaptique", qui dans la grande majorité des cas est une petite séparation qui s'ouvre entre les membranes cellulaires des terminaisons nerveuses de deux neurones : l'un est le présynaptique et l'autre est le postsynaptique.

Dans les synapses, le signal électrique parcouru par un neurone devient un signal chimique, c’est-à-dire un torrent de substances que nous appelons neurotransmetteurs et neuromodulateurs. Ces particules microscopiques atteignent la terminaison nerveuse de l'autre neurone et sont capturées par des structures appelées récepteurs. À partir de ce moment, le torrent de produits chimiques reçus par le neurone post-synaptique a un effet sur la fréquence à laquelle cette cellule nerveuse émettra des impulsions électriques pouvant avoir des effets sur d'autres neurones.


Ce mécanisme semble simple, mais il ne l’est vraiment pas, car de nombreux types de neurotransmetteurs et de structures interagissent avec eux. En même temps, chaque neurone est souvent connecté à plusieurs autres à la fois: ils ne transmettent généralement pas les informations de manière linéaire, le jeu de téléphone.

3. Logiciel et matériel sont indiscernables

Il est habituel d'essayer de comprendre le cerveau comme s'il s'agissait d'un ordinateur conventionnel, mais cette comparaison n'est justifiée que dans certains contextes, car elle ne permet pas de capturer le fonctionnement réel du cerveau. Et l'une des principales raisons pour lesquelles un cerveau diffère d'un ordinateur est le fait que dans le premier cas, il est insensé de distinguer logiciel et matériel. Tous les processus qui se déroulent dans le cerveau modifient matériellement le cerveau, et la structure du cerveau est ce qui fait que les cellules nerveuses envoient des signaux nerveux : Cela ne dépend pas des codes de programmation.

C'est pourquoi, entre autres choses, le cerveau ne fonctionne pas avec un contenu pouvant être stocké sur une clé USB, comme cela se produit avec des ordinateurs. Vous pouvez jouer à interpréter ce qui se passe dans un cerveau en temps réel et rendre cette interprétation structurée comme un code compréhensible pour nous, mais ce code que nous nous sommes inventés nous-mêmes; ça ne vient pas du cerveau. Ce qui ne veut pas dire qu’il est impossible de savoir de façon approximative en quoi consistent certaines parties du torrent d’informations qui se propagent dans un cerveau.

4. Plasticité cérébrale

En raison de ce qui a été dit ci-dessus, cette autre idée est dérivée: le cerveau change tout le temps, quoi que nous fassions . Tout ce que nous percevons et faisons laisse une marque plus ou moins intense sur notre cerveau, et cette marque, à son tour, fera que tous ceux produits à partir de ce moment seront sous une forme ou une autre.C'est-à-dire que notre vie mentale est une accumulation de modifications, de neurones qui resserrent leurs liens et les relâchent ensuite en fonction de tout ce qui nous arrive.

Cette capacité (ou plutôt besoin) de notre cerveau à changer constamment en fonction des circonstances est appelée plasticité cérébrale.

5. Le rôle de l'attention

Même si le cerveau humain semble être un prodige de la nature capable de faire des choses assez impressionnantes, la vérité est que l'ensemble de données avec lequel il fonctionne est toujours rempli de lacunes. En fait, il n’est même pas capable de traiter correctement toutes les informations qui lui parviennent en temps réel par l’intermédiaire des sens, et nous ne parlons même pas de tout garder en mémoire, ce qui ne se produit que dans des cas incroyablement exceptionnels.

Le cerveau humain obéit au principe de survie. : l’important n’est pas de tout savoir, mais d’en savoir juste assez pour survivre. L'attention est le mécanisme par lequel certaines parties des informations disponibles sont sélectionnées et les autres sont ignorées. De cette manière, le système nerveux est capable de localiser des éléments d'information pertinents pour attirer l'attention sur eux et non sur les autres, le tout en fonction de notre objectif. Ce mécanisme joue beaucoup, car dans certaines circonstances, nous semblons être aveugles aux choses qui se passent devant notre nez.

6. Le cerveau invente des choses

Ce point est dérivé de la section précédente. Comme le cerveau dispose d’une quantité limitée d’informations «traitables», certaines lacunes en matière d’informations doivent être comblées sans être obligées en permanence de rechercher les informations manquantes. Pour cela, il existe des mécanismes automatiques qui couvrent ces trous discrètement .

Un exemple est ce qui se passe avec la partie de la rétine qui cède la place au début du nerf optique. Il s’agit d’un domaine dans lequel l’œil est incapable de transformer les signaux lumineux en impulsions nerveuses. C’est donc comme si nous avions un trou au milieu de notre champ visuel. Cependant, nous ne le réalisons pas.

7. Les parties du cerveau travaillent toujours ensemble

Bien que, dans le cerveau, il se compose de différentes zones anatomiques plus ou moins spécialisées dans certains processus, ils doivent tous être bien connectés les uns aux autres pour bien faire leur travail . Cela ne signifie pas que tout le monde doit communiquer directement avec tous les autres, mais pour fonctionner, ils doivent être connectés au "réseau général" d'informations qui circule dans le cerveau.

8. Le rationnel et l'émotionnel vont de pair

Bien qu'il soit très utile de faire la distinction entre le rationnel et l'émotionnel en termes théoriques, dans notre cerveau, tous les processus mentaux que nous pouvons relier à l'un ou l'autre domaine fonctionnent ensemble .

Par exemple, les parties du cerveau les plus liées à l’apparition des émotions (un ensemble de structures connu sous le nom de système limbique) sont celles qui fixent les objectifs que l’on essaie d’atteindre efficacement au moyen de plans d’action fondés sur la logique. modes, ils ne cesseront pas d’être influencés par des facteurs émotionnels qui rendront la rationalité de ces stratégies très relative, même si nous ne le réalisons pas.


Votre cerveau dispose d'un bouton "Supprimer" - Voici comment l'utiliser... (Juin 2020).


Articles Connexes