yes, therapy helps!
How to apply the rules of coexistence at home

How to apply the rules of coexistence at home

June 12, 2024

As many families will know, Satisfactory coexistence in the home is not something that arises spontaneously , but rather should be practiced consciously by all members of this. And that, sometimes, is not a simple task.

Through the application of rules of coexistence from home , a coexistence and positive understandings are guaranteed, as well as respect among all the members of the family. Next, we explain how to create and apply these rules.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 types of families and their characteristics"

Why is it necessary to apply rules of coexistence at home?

Within family dynamics, it is necessary to apply a series of rules of coexistence that facilitate coexistence and favor harmony and harmony.


This elaboration and application of a series of rules, in which both the rights and duties of those who live under the same roof are included, is essential regardless of the number of inhabitants of the house; being necessary both for couples without children and for families of any type or number.

In the cases of family nuclei with children will help to set limits to the behavior of the youngest or youngest . In this way, situations that can generate a conflict can be predicted and controlled.

However, the objective of the application of rules and duties at home is not only that the children comply with a series of obligations. It is necessary for parents to understand that for their children to meet the standards they must also encourage them ; being the first to fulfill them and recognize the effort of these.


In the long term, the fact of having grown up in a regulated context, which provides them with a series of duties, will develop the sense of responsibility of the children. Thing that will help them in their future adult life. However, flexibility is key so that this context does not become an ordeal for children.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Assertiveness: 5 basic habits to improve communication"

How to create and apply standards at home?

To put into practice the application of rules of coexistence, keep in mind the following.

Create norms of coexistence

The first step when creating a regulated environment is to establish what rules or guidelines should be followed at home, both at a general and individual level. The reason is logical, no person can be required to follow rules that he does not know . Also, you can not try to regulate the behavior of a child if you have not pre-established what is acceptable at home and what is not.


In this first step, parents are responsible for creating a series of rules for the home . A good idea if the children already have the ability to understand, is to create the rules among all reaching a consensus, since in this way the commitment will be much greater.

Although each family can establish the norms according to their criteria and family values, these rules must fulfill a series of characteristics that make them much more effective:

  • They must be impartial.
  • They must be clear and easily interpretable .
  • In the individual standards, these must correspond to the level of maturity of each member.
  • They must be informed to all the members of the family.
  • They must be able to be fulfilled and accepted by all .
  • They can include a conditioning.

Establish consequences

As important as creating the rules of coexistence is to establish or determine what will happen both when they are met and when they are not.

In this way, the effects can be positive in the event that the rules are followed or negative in those cases in which they are not carried out. It is important to know that positive consequences will always have a much more seductive effect and will be more effective than punishments.

The main characteristic that these consequences must have is that they must be immediate. In this way, both punishments and rewards should be applied as soon as possible once made, or not, the behavior. In this way, the relationship between action and consequence will be stronger and the behavior will be automated quickly.

On the other hand, the second characteristic to take into account is that the severity or repercussion of these consequences must correspond to the importance of the norm. That is, the consequences, both positive and negative, must be proportionate to the acts.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Extrinsic motivation: definition, characteristics and effects"

The role of parents in the application of standards

Those parents who feel the need to apply rules of coexistence at home should know that their role is not limited to being police officers who keep by compliance with the rules, but also, they must guide and favor the proper behaviors of their children or the rest of the members of the family unit.

Although this seems logical, it is not fulfilled in all cases. Therefore, it is necessary for parents to know that they must also respect the rules, since they are the first point of reference for their children. And that in the case of not doing it, this could mean a lot of conflicts with the rest of the family .

Advice to implement rules of coexistence

Below are a series of specific tips or tips so that creating and applying rules at home is much easier and easier for both parents and children.

1. Dialogue

It is necessary that there is a dialogue that allows socializing the rules . Through these conversations all the members of the household will be able to understand the reason for these and their importance.

Likewise, this dialogue will allow the youngest to express their points of view and will facilitate respect for the rules by all.

  • Related article: "7 steps to know how to create better conversations"

2. Rules that facilitate coexistence

With the aim that everyone respects the rules of coexistence they must have a clear and simple purpose : improve family coexistence. Therefore, these must be explained in a consistent manner with this purpose.

3. Benefits for all

Regardless of the content of these, the established standards they should benefit all family members in the same way . That is, they must be equal and offer the same benefits and obligations for all.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Dealing with" difficult children "and disobedient: 7 practical tips"

4. Preaching by example

In many contexts children learn by imitation, therefore, the example of parents is essential for them to internalize the behaviors that parents want see in them.

5. Flexibility

Although one of the objectives of the rules is that they are carried out, it is counterproductive to become obsessed with them. Both parents and children must present a certain degree of flexibility , in this way the coexistence will be much more satisfactory and compliance with the rules will not become a burden.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment appliquer les règles de la coexistence à la maison

Comment appliquer les règles de la coexistence à la maison

Mai 16, 2022

Comme beaucoup de familles le sauront, Une coexistence satisfaisante à la maison n'est pas spontanée , mais devrait plutôt être pratiqué consciemment par tous les membres de ce groupe. Et ce n'est parfois pas une tâche simple.

En appliquant des règles de coexistence à domicile , une coexistence et des ententes positives sont garanties, ainsi que le respect de tous les membres de la famille. Ensuite, nous expliquons comment créer et appliquer ces règles.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 types de familles et leurs caractéristiques"

Pourquoi est-il nécessaire d'appliquer des règles de coexistence à la maison?

Au sein de la dynamique familiale, il est nécessaire d’appliquer une série de règles de coexistence qui facilitent la coexistence et favorisent l’harmonie et l’harmonie.


Cette élaboration et l’application d’une série de règles, qui incluent à la fois les droits et les devoirs de ceux qui vivent sous le même toit, est essentielle quel que soit le nombre d’habitants de la maison; être nécessaire à la fois pour les couples sans enfants et pour les familles de tout type ou nombre.

Dans les cas de noyaux familiaux avec des enfants aidera à fixer des limites au comportement du plus jeune ou du plus jeune . De cette manière, les situations pouvant générer un conflit peuvent être prédites et contrôlées.

Cependant, l'objectif de l'application des règles et des devoirs à la maison ne consiste pas seulement à ce que les enfants se conforment à une série d'obligations. Il est nécessaire que les parents comprennent que pour que leurs enfants répondent aux normes, ils doivent aussi les encourager ; être le premier à les accomplir et à reconnaître l'effort de ceux-ci.


À long terme, le fait d'avoir grandi dans un contexte réglementé, qui leur confère une série de tâches, développera le sens des responsabilités des enfants. Ce qui les aidera dans leur future vie d'adulte. Cependant, la flexibilité est essentielle pour que ce contexte ne devienne pas une épreuve pour les enfants.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Affirmation de soi: 5 habitudes de base pour améliorer la communication"

Comment créer et appliquer des normes à la maison?

Pour appliquer les règles de coexistence, tenez compte des points suivants.

Créer des normes de coexistence

Lors de la création d’un environnement réglementé, la première étape consiste à définir les règles ou directives à suivre chez soi, tant au niveau général qu’individuel. La raison est logique, personne ne peut être tenu de suivre des règles qu'il ne connaît pas . En outre, vous ne pouvez pas essayer de réglementer le comportement d'un enfant si vous n'avez pas pré-établi ce qui est acceptable à la maison et ce qui ne l'est pas.


Dans cette première étape, les parents sont responsables de la création d'une série de règles pour la maison . Une bonne idée, si les enfants ont déjà la capacité de comprendre, est de créer des règles pour que tous parviennent à un consensus, car ainsi, l'engagement sera beaucoup plus grand.

Bien que chaque famille puisse établir les normes en fonction de leurs critères et de leurs valeurs, ces règles doivent remplir un ensemble de caractéristiques qui les rendent beaucoup plus efficaces:

  • Ils doivent être impartiaux.
  • Ils doivent être clairs et facilement interprétables .
  • Dans les normes individuelles, celles-ci doivent correspondre au niveau de maturité de chaque membre.
  • Ils doivent être informés à tous les membres de la famille.
  • Ils doivent pouvoir être remplis et acceptés par tous .
  • Ils peuvent inclure un conditionnement.

Établir les conséquences

Aussi important que de créer des règles de coexistence est d'établir ou de déterminer ce qui se passera à la fois quand ils sont rencontrés et quand ils ne le sont pas.

De cette manière, les effets peuvent être positifs dans le cas où les règles sont suivies ou négatives dans les cas où elles ne sont pas appliquées. Il est important de savoir que les conséquences positives auront toujours un effet beaucoup plus séduisant et seront plus efficaces que les punitions.

La principale caractéristique que doivent avoir ces conséquences est qu’elles doivent être immédiates. De cette manière, les punitions et les récompenses doivent être appliquées dès que possible une fois fait, ou pas, le comportement. De cette manière, la relation entre action et conséquence sera plus forte et le comportement sera automatisé rapidement.

D'autre part, la deuxième caractéristique à prendre en compte est que la gravité ou la répercussion de ces conséquences doit correspondre à l'importance de la norme. Autrement dit, les conséquences, tant positives que négatives, doivent être proportionnées aux actes.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Motivation extrinsèque: définition, caractéristiques et effets"

Le rôle des parents dans l'application des normes

Les parents qui ressentent le besoin d’appliquer des règles de coexistence à la maison doivent savoir que leur rôle ne se limite pas à être des agents de police qui veillent au respect des règles, ils doivent guider et favoriser les comportements appropriés de leurs enfants ou le reste des membres de la famille.

Bien que cela semble logique, cela ne se réalise pas dans tous les cas. Par conséquent, il est nécessaire que les parents sachent qu'ils doivent également respecter les règles, car elles constituent le premier point de référence pour leurs enfants. Et que dans le cas de ne pas le faire, cela pourrait signifier beaucoup de conflits avec le reste de la famille .

Conseils pour la mise en œuvre de règles de coexistence

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une série de conseils spécifiques afin que la création et l'application de règles à la maison soient beaucoup plus faciles pour les parents et les enfants.

1. Dialogue

Il est nécessaire qu'il y ait un dialogue permettant de socialiser les règles . Grâce à ces conversations, tous les membres du ménage seront en mesure de comprendre la raison de ces événements et leur importance.

De même, ce dialogue permettra aux plus jeunes d’exprimer leurs points de vue et facilitera le respect des règles par tous.

  • Article connexe: "7 étapes pour savoir comment créer de meilleures conversations"

2. Règles facilitant la coexistence

Dans le but que tout le monde respecte les règles de la coexistence ils doivent avoir un but clair et simple : améliorer la coexistence familiale. Par conséquent, ceux-ci doivent être expliqués de manière cohérente avec cet objectif.

3. Des avantages pour tous

Indépendamment de leur contenu, les normes établies ils devraient bénéficier à tous les membres de la famille de la même manière . Autrement dit, ils doivent être égaux et offrir les mêmes avantages et obligations à tous.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Faire face à des" enfants difficiles "et désobéissants: 7 conseils pratiques"

4. Prêcher par l'exemple

Dans de nombreux contextes, les enfants apprennent par imitation: l'exemple des parents est essentiel pour qu'ils intériorisent les comportements qu'ils souhaitent voir en eux.

5. Flexibilité

Bien que l’un des objectifs des règles soit qu’elles soient appliquées, il est contre-productif de devenir obsédé par elles. Les parents et les enfants doivent faire preuve d'une certaine souplesse de cette manière, la coexistence sera beaucoup plus satisfaisante et le respect des règles ne deviendra pas un fardeau.


Comment faire cohabiter deux chats ? (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes