yes, therapy helps!
How to ask for a successful salary increase, in 9 keys

How to ask for a successful salary increase, in 9 keys

October 5, 2022

If you take time at work and you feel valued, surely you have raised the possibility of asking for a raise. Life is becoming more expensive and with fixed expenses, little is left to give you some whimsy. Money is one of the great sources of motivation at work, so something else at the end of the month would not come to you.

  • Related article: "6 ways to motivate your employees without money"

In this article we give you some tips to ask for a pay raise at work and not fail in the attempt.

How to ask for a salary increase

If you have considered the possibility of asking for a salary increase, there are a series of situations that are favorable to do so and others that are not. For example, it's not a good idea propose to your boss to modify the payroll for better when the company is going through a bad stage and is cutting staff to avoid expenses.


So, When is it better to ask for an economic improvement? To know the answer to this question, pay attention to the following points:

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 most common questions in a job interview (and how to deal with them)"

1. Find out the average salary for your job

If you already have an idea of ​​what you earn in your sector and specifically in your job you can skip this point. However, if you are not clear about it, you can do some searching to know if you are earning less than you should.

If you ask your co-workers directly, they may not tell you, so you can use the internet and find out what the average salary is for the work you do. Evidently, each situation is different , so after knowing this information, you should value how valuable you are within the company, your studies, the years you have been in the company, etc. and make a global assessment of what you perceive.


2. Presents facts

It is necessary that you also find out how the company is doing. If you are having a good time or not. If your company presents enjoys good economic health and the sector in which you operate is at a good moment, you have greater possibilities of achieving a salary increase. Now, to win over your boss you have to present facts and proofs, to see that the money that he invests in you is profitable.

3. Choose the right time

You should be careful when asking for a salary increase, because you should avoid it in cases where the organization is going through an economic hurry or there is uncertainty in the sector. It may also be important to know if there are other members of the company whose salaries have been increased. After investigating, if conditions are favorable, go ahead . Maybe this is the time to earn a monetary incentive.


4. Do you have a better offer?

Undoubtedly, the best strategy to get the salary increase is if your superior values ​​you and the other companies in the sector as well. You may be very lucky that There are other companies that have been interested in your services and they want you to work with them. If you have already interviewed another company and want to hire you, and would not mind leaving where you are now, you can tell your boss the situation and renegotiate the contract you have in your job. Maybe you can get an extra ...

5. Decide what you will do if it goes wrong

Before going into your superior's office to ask for an increase, think carefully about what you are going to do if your answer is negative. If you do what is explained in the previous point, you must be clear that not only must you have another company in mind as a way to blackmail, but you must be clear that you will leave the company if you do not increase your salary. If you say that they have offered you another position and then it is not true, the play can go wrong.

6. Ask for an interview with your superior

Asking for a raise must be something well thought out and planned. It is not a matter of entering directly into the boss's office and presenting the situation as it is. Nor should you raise your ideas when you find it in the hallway. Make an appointment with him and plan well what you are going to tell him .

7. Use the appropriate words

Asking for a pay raise can be a somewhat uncomfortable situation and, therefore, it is important how you state the situation. Ideally, do not just explain what you bring, but also highlight the achievements of the company . For example: "I realize that the economic situation of the company is improving. Our department has been working hard and my last performance evaluations have been exceptional, I wonder if a 5 percent increase of my salary would be possible"

8. Take care of the attitude

It's okay to use the appropriate words, but it's also important to take care of how you say it.You must remain calm and be as objective as possible. Your speech should be based on facts and evidence. If you ask for a salary increase, justify it and show that you deserve it.

9. See the grain

If you ask for an ament it's because you think you deserve it, so be clear about what you ask for. If you believe that you have made sufficient merit to perceive a certain amount, expose it. Now, be realistic . If your boss argues that the economy is not there to make more expenses, you may be able to obtain other benefits: improvement training, a better schedule or an internal promotion.

conclusion

Asking for a raise can be a delicate situation, so you should be very clear about how you do it. Therefore, you should evaluate if you really charge below the average regarding your sector and job position and if the company can afford to increase your monthly remuneration because it has a healthy economy.

If you think that there are possibilities to increase your payroll, choose the right time, Be very clear about what you ask and explain the reasons why they should pay you more. Do not forget that, if the economic situation does not allow it, you can get other benefits such as a better schedule.


Salary Negotiation: 6 Tips on How to Negotiate a Higher Salary (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment demander une augmentation de salaire réussie, en 9 clés

Comment demander une augmentation de salaire réussie, en 9 clés

Février 28, 2021

Si vous prenez du temps au travail et que vous vous sentez valorisé, vous avez sûrement soulevé la possibilité de demander une augmentation. La vie devient de plus en plus chère et avec des dépenses fixes, il ne reste que peu de fantaisie. L'argent est l'une des grandes sources de motivation au travail, alors il ne vous viendrait pas à la fin du mois.

  • Article connexe: "6 façons de motiver vos employés sans argent"

Dans cet article, nous vous donnons Quelques astuces pour demander une augmentation de salaire au travail et ne pas échouer dans la tentative.

Comment demander une augmentation de salaire

Si vous avez envisagé la possibilité de demander une augmentation de salaire, il existe une série de situations favorables et d'autres non. Par exemple, ce n'est pas une bonne idée proposer à votre patron de modifier la masse salariale pour mieux lorsque la société traverse une mauvaise étape et qu'elle réduit ses effectifs pour éviter des dépenses.


Ensuite, Quand est-il préférable de demander une amélioration économique? Pour connaître la réponse à cette question, faites attention aux points suivants:

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 10 questions les plus courantes d'un entretien d'embauche (et comment les traiter)"

1. Découvrez le salaire moyen de votre travail

Si vous avez déjà une idée de ce que vous gagnez dans votre secteur et plus particulièrement dans votre travail, vous pouvez ignorer ce point. Cependant, si vous n'êtes pas au clair, vous pouvez effectuer des recherches pour savoir si vous gagnez moins que prévu.

Si vous demandez directement à vos collègues, ils ne vous le diront peut-être pas. Vous pourrez donc utiliser Internet et connaître le salaire moyen correspondant au travail que vous effectuez. Evidemment, chaque situation est différente Ainsi, après avoir pris connaissance de ces informations, vous devez évaluer votre valeur au sein de la société, vos études, les années passées dans la société, etc. et faites une évaluation globale de ce que vous percevez.


2. Présente des faits

Il est nécessaire que vous sachiez également comment se porte la société. Si vous passez un bon moment ou pas. Si votre entreprise présente bénéficie d'une bonne santé économique et le secteur dans lequel vous opérez est à un bon moment, vous avez de plus grandes possibilités d’obtenir une augmentation de salaire. Maintenant, pour convaincre votre patron, vous devez présenter des faits et des preuves, pour vous assurer que l'argent qu'il investit est rentable.

3. Choisissez le bon moment

Vous devez faire preuve de prudence lorsque vous demandez une augmentation de salaire, car vous devez l'éviter dans les cas où l'organisation traverse une période de crise économique ou où il y a de l'incertitude dans le secteur. Il peut également être important de savoir s’il existe d’autres membres de la société dont les salaires ont été augmentés. Après avoir enquêté, si les conditions sont favorables, allez-y . Peut-être que le moment est venu de gagner un incitatif monétaire.


4. Avez-vous une meilleure offre?

Sans aucun doute, la meilleure stratégie pour obtenir une augmentation de salaire est si votre supérieur vous valorise, ainsi que les autres entreprises du secteur. Vous pouvez être très chanceux que Il y a d'autres entreprises qui ont été intéressées par vos services et ils veulent que vous travailliez avec eux. Si vous avez déjà interrogé une autre entreprise et que vous souhaitez vous engager, et que vous ne souhaitez pas quitter votre poste actuel, vous pouvez informer votre supérieur de la situation et renégocier le contrat que vous avez avec votre emploi. Peut-être que vous pouvez obtenir un extra ...

5. Décidez ce que vous ferez si ça ne va pas

Avant de demander une augmentation au bureau de votre supérieur, réfléchissez bien à ce que vous allez faire si votre réponse est négative. Si vous faites ce qui est expliqué dans le point précédent, vous devez être clair: non seulement vous devez envisager une autre entreprise comme moyen de faire du chantage, mais vous devez aussi être clair: vous quitterez cette entreprise si vous n'augmentez pas votre salaire. Si vous dites qu'ils vous ont proposé un autre poste et que ce n'est pas vrai, le jeu peut mal tourner.

6. Demander un entretien avec votre supérieur

Demander une augmentation doit être quelque chose de bien pensé et de planifié. Il ne s'agit pas d'entrer directement dans le bureau du chef et de présenter la situation telle qu'elle est. Vous ne devriez pas non plus soulever vos idées quand vous les trouvez dans le couloir. Prenez rendez-vous avec lui et planifiez bien ce que vous allez lui dire .

7. Utilisez les mots appropriés

Demander une augmentation de salaire peut être une situation quelque peu inconfortable et, par conséquent, il est important de savoir comment vous décrivez la situation. Idéalement, n'expliquez pas simplement ce que vous apportez, mais aussi mettre en évidence les réalisations de l'entreprise . Par exemple: "Je réalise que la situation économique de la société s’améliore. Notre département a travaillé dur et mes dernières évaluations de performance ont été exceptionnelles. Je me demande si une augmentation de 5% de mon salaire serait possible"

8. Prenez soin de votre attitude

C'est bien d'utiliser les mots appropriés, mais il est également important de prendre soin de la façon dont vous le dites.Vous devez rester calme et être aussi objectif que possible. Votre discours devrait être basé sur des faits et des preuves. Si vous demandez une augmentation de salaire, justifiez-la et montrez que vous la méritez.

9. Voir le grain

Si vous demandez un paiement, c'est parce que vous pensez le mériter, soyez donc clair sur ce que vous demandez. Si vous croyez avoir fait suffisamment de mérite pour percevoir une certaine quantité, exposez-la. Maintenant, soyez réaliste . Si votre patron affirme que l'économie n'est pas là pour faire plus de dépenses, vous pourrez peut-être obtenir d'autres avantages: formation à l'amélioration, amélioration du calendrier ou promotion interne.

conclusion

Demander une augmentation peut être une situation délicate, vous devez donc être très clair sur la façon de le faire. Par conséquent, vous devez évaluer si les coûts facturés par votre secteur et votre poste sont vraiment inférieurs à la moyenne et si l'entreprise peut se permettre d'augmenter votre rémunération mensuelle, car son économie est saine.

Si vous pensez qu’il est possible d’augmenter votre masse salariale, choisissez le bon moment, Soyez très clair sur ce que vous demandez et expliquez les raisons pourquoi ils devraient vous payer plus. N'oubliez pas que, si la situation économique ne le permet pas, vous pouvez obtenir d'autres avantages, tels qu'un meilleur calendrier.


Cours de négociation à Polytechnique : "Générer le besoin pour avoir de la valeur" (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes