yes, therapy helps!
How to ask for forgiveness: 7 keys to overcome pride

How to ask for forgiveness: 7 keys to overcome pride

June 20, 2024

Know how to ask for forgiveness when the moment requires it It is one of those skills that, however simple they may seem, make a difference in personal relationships. And there are people who experience serious problems when it comes to apologizing, even if the other person is someone you love and trust.

But, as with many other capabilities, it is possible to learn how to ask for forgiveness from someone you love or even someone with whom you have a more formal or professional relationship. Then we will see what are the keys to get it .

  • Related article: "Forgiveness: should I or should I not forgive the one who hurt me?"

How to ask for forgiveness: several tips

To learn how to apologize, you have to modify certain habits and beliefs related to self-image and expectations about how social relationships should be. Let's see it in depth.


1. Internalize the idea that nobody is perfect

Many people who experience difficulties when actually apologizing they have unrealistic expectations about how they should be perceived by others.

Specifically, they are excessively perfectionist, and feel a rejection of the idea of ​​asking for forgiveness because they see this as a staging of their own failure. That is, an action that, when viewed by more people, makes something subjective ("I have reasons to ask for forgiveness") is objectified.

So, asking for forgiveness from someone means making an effort that, at the same time, contradicts self-image, very idealized .

However, it must be clear that nobody is perfect. Even the great historical figures, the most admired, seen from the present are full of failures, even mistakes that children today would not commit.


  • Related article: "Self-concept: what is it and how is it formed?"

2. Get out of the self-critical loop

Many people start judging themselves with cruelty for not asking for forgiveness. However, this is on the one hand unnecessary and unreasonable, and on the other an excuse that justifies the absence of an apology as is proper. That is to say, it is a strategy to purge responsibilities without having to ask for forgiveness and making everything "inside doors", without anyone other than oneself being able to benefit from this.

That is why it is important to recognize this routine of thoughts as what it is: an excuse. We have to break with this cognitive ritual.

3. Practice the acceptance of the error

The acceptance of error is the most mature attitude No one can escape from mistakes, as we have seen.

For that reason, it is good that you get used to performing small rituals of apology, although at the beginning it is only asking for forgiveness for the little things of the day to day. The same fact of doing this repeatedly, progressively increasing the importance of the context in which we apologize, it predisposes us to continue doing it spontaneously .


4. Train empathy

It is crucial that you dedicate efforts to empathize, put yourself in the other person's place cognitively and emotionally . To do this, do just that: imagine that you are that person and that you see things from their point of view. If you get used to doing this in moments with a significant emotional load, little by little it will cost you less to empathize spontaneously.

  • Related article: "Are you empathic? 10 typical features of empathic people"

5. Concentrate on detecting the inconvenience caused

Whoever proposes to apologize but does not get it, surely does not see the magnitude of the damage and inconvenience it has caused. In some way, pride itself is more important than recognizing the other person who is in an unfair situation.

That is why you have to stop and reflect on the damage that has been done; not only in the most superficial and apparent, but also in the details and indirect effects that our actions have caused.

For example, getting to a meeting too late does not just mean spending a few minutes of discomfort waiting; It also means losing part of the day, or even being in a vulnerable situation if it is a meeting with potential clients, for example.

6. Make a simple script

The first few times you try to ask for forgiveness, striving for everything to go as it should, you may experience a relatively high degree of anxiety . This state of activation can cause you to fall into a somewhat chaotic and disorganized behavior pattern.

That's why the best is doner a little script about what you have to say and do . That yes, it must be very simple and brief, with two or three ideas of a line, and nothing else.If you write literally everything you want to say, it is possible that this will generate even more stress, since remembering everything is an extra job that you really do not have to do.

Simply, remember the ideas that structure your apology and express them as they come out in the moment. Surely it will not be perfect, but this is normal.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 7 types of anxiety (causes and symptoms)"

7. Observe what happens

Seeing how the other person reacts after we have apologized is, although it may not seem like it, the most important part of the process of learning to say forgiveness. The reason is that actually this it's not something we do for ourselves , but for the other person. That's why our point of view will help us to iron out the imperfections of our way of communicating and will allow us to help others in whatever they need at that moment to feel better.


Overcome Your Pride and Ask for Forgiveness|HFE♪ (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment demander pardon: 7 clés pour vaincre l'orgueil

Comment demander pardon: 7 clés pour vaincre l'orgueil

Avril 16, 2021

Savoir demander pardon quand le moment l'exige C'est l'une de ces compétences qui, aussi simples soient-elles, peuvent faire la différence dans les relations personnelles. Et il y a des gens qui éprouvent de graves problèmes lorsqu'il s'agit de s'excuser, même si cette personne est quelqu'un que vous aimez et en qui vous avez confiance.

Mais, comme avec beaucoup d'autres capacités, il est possible d'apprendre à demander pardon à quelqu'un que vous aimez ou même à quelqu'un avec qui vous entretenez une relation plus formelle ou professionnelle. Ensuite nous verrons quelles sont les clés pour l'obtenir .

  • Article connexe: "Pardon: devrais-je ou ne devrais-je pas pardonner à celui qui m'a fait mal?"

Comment demander pardon: plusieurs astuces

Pour apprendre à vous excuser, vous devez modifier certaines habitudes et croyances liées à l'image de soi et aux attentes relatives à la manière dont les relations sociales devraient être. Voyons cela en profondeur.


1. Internaliser l'idée que personne n'est parfait

Beaucoup de gens qui éprouvent des difficultés lorsqu'ils s'excusent ils ont des attentes irréalistes sur la façon dont ils devraient être perçus par les autres.

Plus précisément, ils sont excessivement perfectionnistes et rejettent l’idée de demander pardon parce qu’ils y voient une mise en scène de leur propre échec. C'est-à-dire qu'une action qui, vue par plus de gens, rend quelque chose de subjectif ("J'ai des raisons de demander pardon") est objectivée.

Donc, demander pardon à quelqu'un signifie faire un effort qui, en même temps, contredit l'image de soi, très idéalisé .

Cependant, il doit être clair que personne n'est parfait. Même les grands personnages historiques, les plus admirés, vus du présent sont pleins d'échecs, même d'erreurs que les enfants d'aujourd'hui ne commetraient pas.


  • Article connexe: "Concept de soi: de quoi s'agit-il et comment se forme-t-il?"

2. sortir de la boucle autocritique

Beaucoup de gens commencent à se juger avec cruauté pour ne pas demander pardon. Cependant, ceci est d'une part inutile et déraisonnable, et d'autre part, une excuse qui justifie l'absence d'excuses comme il convient. C'est-à-dire, c'est une stratégie pour éliminer les responsabilités sans avoir à demander pardon et à tout faire "à l'intérieur", sans que personne d'autre que soi ne puisse en profiter.

C'est pourquoi il est important de reconnaître cette routine de pensées en tant que telle: une excuse. Nous devons rompre avec ce rituel cognitif.

3. Pratiquer l'acceptation de l'erreur

L'acceptation de l'erreur est l'attitude la plus mature. Personne ne peut échapper aux erreurs, comme nous l'avons vu.

Pour cette raison, il est bon que vous vous habituiez à exécuter de petits rituels d'excuses, même si au début, vous demandez seulement pardon pour les petites choses de la journée. Le même fait de faire cela à plusieurs reprises, augmentant progressivement l'importance du contexte dans lequel nous nous excusons, il nous prédispose à continuer à le faire spontanément .


4. Entraînez l'empathie

Il est crucial que vous consacriez des efforts pour faire preuve d'empathie, mettez-vous à la place de l'autre sur le plan cognitif et émotionnel . Pour ce faire, faites cela: imaginez que vous êtes cette personne et que vous voyez les choses de son point de vue. Si vous vous y habituez dans des moments de forte charge émotionnelle, il vous en coûtera peu à peu pour faire preuve d'empathie spontanée.

  • Article connexe: "Êtes-vous empathique? 10 caractéristiques typiques des personnes empathiques"

5. Concentrez-vous sur la détection des inconvénients causés

Celui qui propose de s'excuser mais ne l'obtient pas, ne voit sûrement pas l’ampleur des dégâts et des inconvénients qu’elle a causés. D'une certaine manière, la fierté elle-même est plus importante que la reconnaissance de l'autre personne qui se trouve dans une situation injuste.

C'est pourquoi vous devez vous arrêter et réfléchir aux dégâts qui ont été causés. non seulement dans les aspects les plus superficiels et les plus apparents, mais aussi dans les détails et les effets indirects causés par nos actions.

Par exemple, arriver à une réunion trop tard ne signifie pas simplement passer quelques minutes à attendre; Cela signifie également que vous perdez une partie de la journée, voire que vous vous retrouvez dans une situation vulnérable s’il s’agit d’une réunion avec des clients potentiels, par exemple.

6. Faites un script simple

Les premières fois où vous essayez de demander pardon, en vous efforçant que tout se passe comme il se doit, vous pouvez expérimenter un degré d'anxiété relativement élevé . Cet état d'activation peut vous amener à adopter un comportement quelque peu chaotique et désorganisé.

Voilà pourquoi le meilleur est faitr un petit script sur ce que vous avez à dire et faire . Que oui, il doit être très simple et bref, avec deux ou trois idées de ligne, et rien d’autre.Si vous écrivez littéralement tout ce que vous voulez dire, il est possible que cela génère encore plus de stress, car tout rappeler est un travail supplémentaire que vous n'avez vraiment pas à faire.

Rappelez-vous simplement les idées qui structurent vos excuses et exprimez-les au fur et à mesure de leur parution. Ce ne sera sûrement pas parfait, mais c’est normal.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 7 types d'anxiété (causes et symptômes)"

7. Observez ce qui se passe

Voir comment l’autre personne réagit après que nous nous sommes excusés est, bien que cela ne semble pas bien être le cas, la partie la plus importante du processus d’apprentissage du pardon. La raison en est qu'en réalité cette ce n'est pas quelque chose que nous faisons pour nous-mêmes , mais pour l'autre personne. C'est pourquoi notre point de vue nous aidera à aplanir les imperfections de notre façon de communiquer et nous permettra d'aider les autres, peu importe ce dont ils ont besoin, à se sentir mieux.


Quand un chrétien commet un péché (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes