yes, therapy helps!
How to be a good team leader: 9 tips

How to be a good team leader: 9 tips

July 18, 2024

Teamwork is one of the fundamental components both in organizations and in other less formalized contexts. Many situations require the cooperation of groups of people, and reaching the objectives set in this way is not something that can be achieved simply by joining efforts. Someone needs to coordinate and supervise the whole project, motivate, generate changes in the division of labor, etc. In other words, a leader is needed.

In this article we will see what are the skills to develop to be a good leader of groups , going beyond the individualistic perception of "everyone who dedicates himself to his own". For this, we will review some basic principles of leadership.


  • Related article: "Types of Leadership: The 5 most common leader classes"

How to be a good leader at work

In each group formed by people, regardless of their degree of specialization, it is necessary for someone to play the role of leader. Despite the confusion surrounding this concept, it should be noted that leadership is not based on imposing one's own interests on those of the rest, but on Adopt a strategic decision-making role that directs the group towards its goals in the best possible way.

With this in mind, let's look at several tips on how to be a good leader, although the specific skills to work also depend on the specific characteristics of the type of organization you are in and the work climate you want to promote.


1. Get used to having everything organized

Chaos is not an option. As a leader has to be attentive to many work processes at once, it is essential to know at all times where you can consult the necessary information, who is responsible for what, and what tasks have to be done during the day, week and the month. Failure in this aspect can generate dysfunctions that adversely affect the entire structure of the group or the organization.

2. Learn to communicate

The strategic nature of the leader makes it essential to establish a constant flow of communication between him and the workers he supervises. It is necessary to keep in mind what the rest knows and does not know, so that interpretation errors do not appear , and not assume that the other understands what is spoken when speaking using references.

The latter is important especially if the authority that the leader gives off causes some people not to ask when ambiguities appear in the communication.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 basic communication skills"

3. Make clear the functions of each one

It is key to have the ability to solve doubts when there are doubts about where one type of work ends and where the other begins. This way no gaps of responsibility will appear and everyone knows who receives instructions and who they supervise.

4. Go through experiences

This last aspect is key. To be a good leader you always need to have experience in the field in which you work, for a very simple reason: when you start working, it is impossible to foresee the situations that you will face, regardless of their importance. Because, you have to run into the problems to learn from them .

5. Know how to delegate

In order to carry out a good effort management, it is necessary to know when the time has come to delegate a task to another worker. For this it is necessary to make an assessment of the competences of this, and see if this work download is meaningful and helps the group in general work better.

6. Train assertiveness

A leader can not avoid situations that may displease him or another team member simply because he does not go through that experience, if doing so is necessary to positively affect the team as a whole . Therefore, we must respect the points of view of others while expressing in a very direct way what one sustains, although it contradicts the opinions of the other.

7. Know how to motivate

Each team and each person have different motivational dynamics. Knowing how to find the formula to keep everyone performing in a balance between production and well-being and personal satisfaction it is key, and for this we must know how to mobilize groups.

8. Learn from the sector

It is essential to know what the group or organization works with. For this, it is very useful to go through all the phases of the work process, or all those by which you can, to see how the workers of each department or segment of the work chain live it, if this system exists.

9. Listen to constant feedback

Within a company or a work group a very valuable amount of information is generated . It is necessary to know how to listen to it to know the needs of the rest of the team, the problems that arise, their interests, etc.


9 Tips to be a Better Leader - Leadership and Management Skills and Qualities (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment être un bon chef d'équipe: 9 astuces

Comment être un bon chef d'équipe: 9 astuces

Août 13, 2020

Le travail d'équipe est l'une des composantes fondamentales des organisations et d'autres contextes moins formalisés. De nombreuses situations nécessitent la coopération de groupes de personnes et atteindre les objectifs ainsi définis ne peut être atteint simplement en unissant leurs efforts. Quelqu'un doit coordonner et superviser l'ensemble du projet, motiver, générer des changements dans la division du travail, etc. En d'autres termes, un chef est nécessaire.

Dans cet article, nous verrons Quelles sont les compétences à développer pour être un bon leader de groupes , dépassant la perception individualiste de "quiconque se consacre à la sienne". Pour cela, nous allons examiner quelques principes de base du leadership.


  • Article connexe: "Types de leadership: les 5 classes de dirigeants les plus courantes"

Comment être un bon leader au travail

Dans chaque groupe formé de personnes, quel que soit leur degré de spécialisation, il est nécessaire que quelqu'un joue le rôle de leader. Malgré la confusion entourant ce concept, il convient de noter que le leadership ne repose pas sur l'imposition de ses propres intérêts à ceux des autres, mais sur Adopter un rôle de décision stratégique qui dirige le groupe vers ses objectifs de la meilleure façon possible.

Dans cet esprit, examinons plusieurs astuces pour devenir un bon leader, bien que les compétences spécifiques à travailler dépendent également des caractéristiques spécifiques du type d’organisation dans lequel vous êtes et du climat de travail que vous souhaitez promouvoir.


1. Habituez-vous à tout organiser

Le chaos n'est pas une option. En tant que dirigeant doit être attentif à plusieurs processus de travail à la fois, il est essentiel de savoir à tout moment où vous pouvez consulter les informations nécessaires, qui est responsable de quoi et quelles tâches doivent être effectuées pendant la journée, la semaine et le jour. mois. Un échec dans cet aspect peut générer des dysfonctionnements qui ont un impact négatif sur l’ensemble de la structure du groupe ou de l’organisation.

2. Apprendre à communiquer

La nature stratégique du dirigeant rend indispensable l’établissement d’un flux constant de communication entre lui et les travailleurs qu’il supervise. Il faut garder à l'esprit ce que le reste sait et ne sait pas, de sorte que les erreurs d'interprétation n'apparaissent pas et ne supposez pas que l’autre comprend ce qui est parlé lorsqu’il utilise des références.

Ce dernier point est important, en particulier si l’autorité dégagée par le chef empêche certaines personnes de demander lorsque des ambiguïtés apparaissent dans la communication.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 compétences de base en communication"

3. Préciser les fonctions de chacun

Il est essentiel d'avoir la capacité de résoudre les doutes lorsqu'il existe des doutes sur la fin d'un type de travail et le début de l'autre. De cette façon, aucune lacune de responsabilité n'apparaîtra et chacun sait qui reçoit les instructions et qui il supervise.

4. traverser des expériences

Ce dernier aspect est la clé. Pour être un bon dirigeant, vous devez toujours avoir de l'expérience dans le domaine dans lequel vous travaillez, pour une raison très simple: lorsque vous commencez à travailler, il est impossible de prévoir les situations auxquelles vous ferez face, quelle que soit leur importance. Pour cela, il faut connaître les problèmes pour en tirer des leçons .

5. Savoir déléguer

Afin de bien gérer les efforts, il est nécessaire de savoir quand le moment est venu de déléguer une tâche à un autre travailleur. Pour cela, il est nécessaire d’évaluer les compétences de cette tâche et de déterminer si ce téléchargement de travail a un sens et aide le groupe en général à mieux travailler.

6. Former l'affirmation

Un chef ne peut éviter des situations qui pourraient lui déplaire, à lui-même ou à un autre membre de l'équipe, simplement parce qu'il ne traverse pas cette expérience. si cela est nécessaire pour affecter positivement l'équipe dans son ensemble . Par conséquent, nous devons respecter les points de vue des autres en exprimant de manière très directe ce que l'un soutient, bien que cela contredit les opinions de l'autre.

7. Savoir motiver

Chaque équipe et chaque personne ont des dynamiques de motivation différentes. Savoir comment trouver la formule pour que tout le monde soit performant dans un équilibre entre production et bien-être et satisfaction personnelle c'est la clé, et pour cela, il faut savoir mobiliser les groupes.

8. Apprendre du secteur

Il est essentiel de savoir avec quoi le groupe ou l'organisation travaille. Pour cela, il est très utile de passer en revue toutes les phases du processus de travail, ou toutes celles que vous pouvez, pour voir comment les travailleurs de chaque département ou segment de la chaîne de travail le vivent, si ce système existe.

9. Écouter les commentaires constants

Au sein d'une entreprise ou d'un groupe de travail une quantité très précieuse d'informations est générée . Il faut savoir l'écouter pour connaître les besoins du reste de l'équipe, les problèmes qui se posent, leurs intérêts, etc.


Comment manager une équipe : les conseils en management (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes