yes, therapy helps!
How to be a great negotiator, in 10 psychological keys

How to be a great negotiator, in 10 psychological keys

May 24, 2022

Human beings are social beings, so we have to live with other people to achieve emotional balance and mental and material well-being. This means that we can not always do what we want to do, but in different situations of everyday life, either with our partner or our friends, we often have to negotiate to reach formal and informal agreements .

In fact, knowing how to negotiate with your partner is one of the keys for a relationship to work, because the relationship is a matter of two, and each one has its own needs.

Another scenario in which we usually have constant negotiations is, for example, the work environment . We may have to negotiate a work contract or solve a labor dispute. In fact, there are professional negotiators who are dedicated to that.


How to be a good negotiator

But regardless of whether it's in everyday life or at work, What do we need to be good negotiators? How does a good negotiator behave?

Below you can find 10 psychological keys to achieve it.

1. Listen actively

Listening is as important as talking. But, on many occasions, we hear more than we listen. Especially in a negotiation, it is imperative pay attention to the complete communication on the other side of the negotiating table .

This includes not only verbal language, but nonverbal language is equally important. It is crucial that you recognize what others really want, and not just what they express in words. This is essential whether we are negotiating, for example, a workers' agreement, or if we have discussed with our partner and we want to know their real needs.


  • If you want to know more about how to listen actively, you can read our article: "Active listening: the key to communicate with others"

2. You must be assertive

Being assertive is one of the great qualities of a negotiator. This term refers to expressing your opinion correctly while defend your point of view and, at the same time, respect the rights of others . It is a form of non-invasive communication, in which you feel sure of what you offer, always within the framework of cordiality and tolerance towards the opinions of others.

  • Related article: "Assertive people: 10 characteristics they have in common"

3. Self confidence

Good negotiators trust in themselves and are not afraid to show themselves this way.

If what we want is to convince the other person that our point of view makes a lot of sense, we must do so with determination and making the message reach the other person who believes in what we say.


Trusting yourself allows you to hear what the other person means, because, if you are insecure, you will be on the defensive . People who do not trust themselves will give in to the first exchange, because they have great difficulty in showing their point of view and saying "no."

4. Do not expect to get everything you want

You must be clear that it is a negotiation and that, in many cases, you will not achieve everything you set out to do. You must learn to give in because the other person (or people) also have their needs. Is about get to a point where both parties are going to improve in some way .

5. Do not give in without receiving anything in return

Do not expect to get everything you want it does not mean you have to give in constantly without achieving anything in return , because you will be sending a message to the other actor of the negotiation that you really do not trust what you offer, which may cause you to demand even more.

You have to assert yourself and if you want to change something of what you propose, you win something too.

6. Dominate persuasion

Persuasion is an essential capacity to be a negotiator, and it is the ability we have to convince to other individuals to do something they did not plan to do. Persuasion is an art, and there are different techniques that you can apply in the negotiating environment.

  • Take a look at this article: "The 10 most effective persuasion techniques"

7. Show yourself optimistic and open

In a negotiation you must be optimistic and open. Although there are moments of tension, you should never lose your nerves. An open attitude, generally, will be beneficial . If on the contrary you notice that the atmosphere is very tense, it is better to stop the negotiation a few minutes, take a little air, and come back with a renewed attitude.

8. You must be empathetic

Empathy is the ability to put ourselves on the other's feet and understand their needs. Without a doubt, this is a quality that every negotiator must possess.Empathy also helps us regulate our own behavior and adapt it to the situation and the interlocutor with whom we negotiate.

  • Related text: "Are you empathic? 10 typical features of empathic people"

9. Do not take it to the personal land

You must not forget that in a negotiation each one will ask what interests him most and, sometimes, can clash with your vision or way of doing things . Each individual has different tastes and needs, you should not take it as an attack on your person.

10. Take your time and control your emotions

Negotiating is not always easy and, sometimes, there may be trouble spots that must be dealt with delicately. . It is important that you know and that you have patience. Human beings are emotional beings, but in a negotiation we must keep a cool head and not lose sight of our objectives.


8 Best Psychological Negotiation Tactics and Strategies - How to Haggle (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment être un grand négociateur, en 10 clés psychologiques

Comment être un grand négociateur, en 10 clés psychologiques

Décembre 9, 2021

Les êtres humains sont des êtres sociaux, donc nous devons vivre avec d'autres personnes atteindre l'équilibre émotionnel et le bien-être mental et matériel. Cela signifie que nous ne pouvons pas toujours faire ce que nous voulons, mais dans différentes situations de la vie quotidienne, que ce soit avec notre partenaire ou nos amis, nous devons souvent négocier pour conclure des accords formels et informels .

En effet, savoir négocier avec son partenaire est l’une des clés du bon fonctionnement d’une relation, car celle-ci est une affaire de deux et chacune a ses propres besoins.

Un autre scénario dans lequel nous avons habituellement des négociations constantes est, par exemple, l'environnement de travail . Il se peut que nous devions négocier un contrat de travail ou résoudre un conflit de travail. En fait, il existe des négociateurs professionnels qui s’y consacrent.


Comment être un bon négociateur

Mais que ce soit dans la vie quotidienne ou au travail, De quoi avons-nous besoin pour être de bons négociateurs? Comment se comporte un bon négociateur?

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez 10 clés psychologiques pour y parvenir.

1. Écoutez activement

L'écoute est aussi importante que parler. Mais, à plusieurs reprises, nous entendons plus que nous n'écoutons. Surtout dans une négociation, il est impératif faites attention à la communication complète de l'autre côté de la table des négociations .

Cela inclut non seulement le langage verbal, mais le langage non verbal est tout aussi important. Il est essentiel que vous reconnaissiez ce que les autres veulent vraiment, et pas seulement ce qu’ils expriment en mots. Cela est essentiel que nous négocions, par exemple, un accord entre travailleurs ou que nous ayons discuté avec notre partenaire et que nous souhaitions connaître leurs besoins réels.


  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur la façon d'écouter activement, vous pouvez lire notre article: "L'écoute active: la clé pour communiquer avec les autres"

2. Vous devez être assertif

L’affirmation de soi est l’une des grandes qualités du négociateur. Ce terme se réfère à exprimer votre opinion correctement tout en défendre votre point de vue tout en respectant les droits d'autrui . C'est une forme de communication non invasive, dans laquelle vous êtes sûr de ce que vous proposez, toujours dans le cadre de la cordialité et de la tolérance à l'égard des opinions des autres.

  • Article connexe: "Personnes affirmées: 10 caractéristiques communes"

3. Confiance en soi

Les bons négociateurs se font confiance et n'ont pas peur de se montrer de cette façon.

Si nous voulons convaincre l’autre personne que notre point de vue a beaucoup de sens, nous devons le faire avec détermination et faire en sorte que le message parvienne à l’autre qui croit en ce que nous disons.


Faire confiance à vous-même vous permet d'entendre ce que l'autre personne veut dire, car si vous n'êtes pas sûr, vous serez sur la défensive . Les personnes qui ne se font pas confiance céderont au premier échange, car elles ont beaucoup de difficulté à faire valoir leur point de vue et à dire «non».

4. Ne vous attendez pas à obtenir tout ce que vous voulez

Vous devez être clair sur le fait qu'il s'agit d'une négociation et que, dans de nombreux cas, vous ne réaliserez pas tout ce que vous avez décidé de faire. Vous devez apprendre à céder parce que l'autre personne (ou personnes) a aussi ses besoins. Il s'agit de arriver à un point où les deux parties vont s'améliorer d'une certaine manière .

5. Ne cédez pas sans rien recevoir en retour

Ne vous attendez pas à obtenir tout ce que vous voulez cela ne signifie pas que vous devez céder constamment sans rien obtenir en retour , car vous allez envoyer un message à l’autre acteur de la négociation pour lui faire savoir que vous n’avez vraiment pas confiance en ce que vous proposez, ce qui peut vous amener à exiger encore plus.

Vous devez vous affirmer et si vous voulez changer quelque chose de ce que vous proposez, vous gagnez aussi quelque chose.

6. Dominer la persuasion

La persuasion est une capacité essentielle d’être un négociateur et c’est la capacité à convaincre à d'autres personnes de faire quelque chose qu'ils ne prévoyaient pas de faire. La persuasion est un art, et il existe différentes techniques que vous pouvez appliquer dans un environnement de négociation.

  • Jetez un coup d'œil à cet article: "Les 10 techniques de persuasion les plus efficaces"

7. Montre-toi optimiste et ouvert

Dans une négociation, vous devez être optimiste et ouvert. Bien qu'il y ait des moments de tension, vous ne devriez jamais perdre la tête. Une attitude ouverte sera généralement bénéfique . Si, au contraire, vous remarquez que l'atmosphère est très tendue, il vaut mieux arrêter la négociation quelques minutes, prendre un peu d'air et revenir avec une attitude renouvelée.

8. Tu dois être empathique

L'empathie est la capacité de se mettre sur pied et de comprendre ses besoins. Sans aucun doute, c’est une qualité que tout négociateur doit posséder.L'empathie nous aide également à réguler notre propre comportement et à l'adapter à la situation et à l'interlocuteur avec lequel nous négocions.

  • Texte associé: "Êtes-vous empathique? 10 caractéristiques typiques des personnes empathiques"

9. Ne le prenez pas à la terre personnelle

Il ne faut pas oublier que dans une négociation, chacun demandera ce qui l’intéresse le plus et, parfois, peut entrer en conflit avec votre vision ou votre façon de faire les choses . Chaque individu a des goûts et des besoins différents, vous ne devriez pas le prendre pour une attaque contre votre personne.

10. Prenez votre temps et contrôlez vos émotions

Négocier n'est pas toujours facile et, parfois, il peut y avoir des problèmes qui doivent être traités avec délicatesse. . Il est important que vous sachiez et que vous ayez de la patience. Les êtres humains sont des êtres émotionnels, mais lors d'une négociation, nous devons garder la tête froide et ne pas perdre de vue nos objectifs.


Technique de Vente - Comment être un bon Vendeur / Commercial ? (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes