yes, therapy helps!
How to be more pleasant with others: 8 tips

How to be more pleasant with others: 8 tips

November 27, 2021

Know how to be nice in dealing with others It can be a crucial element when creating social bonds. And is that beyond our knowledge, skills and interests, something as simple as knowing how to make people feel comfortable around us predisposes them to adopt a positive attitude towards us.

In this article we will see several basic tips about how to be nice to others and make sympathy flow. Modifying our habits based on these ideas can be helpful in making friends, dealing with neighbors and colleagues, etc.

  • Related article: "7 steps to know how to create better conversations"

How to be more pleasant: guidelines to follow

In personal relationships, not only does it matter what one is, understood as what defines us psychologically, but it also greatly influences how we show ourselves to others. And it is that although the human mind can adopt infinite details and nuances that make each individual unique, when socializing there are a few details that are able to make a difference in the process of making a good impression on others.


The truth is that what sets the tone of a dialogue is not what is said, but the elements that are often non-verbal and that accompany communication and that structure it. Let's see how to take advantage of this to make a conversation adopt a friendly tone in which the other person feels welcome.

1. Maintain eye contact

This is one of the classic tips in relation to personal relationships and communication, because it has different facets. On the one hand, not looking into the eyes expresses insecurity or the will to hide something, but on the other hand, at the same time it generates a rarefied environment in which our interlocutors do not feel comfortable.

Thus, maintaining eye contact is one of the minimum requirements to be pleasant in a conversation, although, of course, it is not enough. Obviously you do not have to look at each other's eyes constantly , since trying to do this is artificial and disturbing. It is best to look at the face of the person with whom we speak and try not to separate it for long periods.


2. Take into account the cultural level of the other

Culture can be divided into many fields of knowledge, and it is most likely that the person you are talking to at a particular time does not know as much about you as you do about them. Assuming that you are going to understand the references you use or the concepts that you appeal to explain something is not the most appropriate.

Think that if it's about technicalities or lines of reasoning belonging to highly specialized areas of knowledge , and you constantly resort to them, you will disturb the other person. Not because you feel bad about not knowing what you're talking about, but about the fact that to understand what you say has to interrupt you.

So, if it is necessary to refer to those concepts, explain before what they are.

  • Maybe you're interested: "15 interesting and fun conversation topics"

3. Do not be afraid of silence

A good conversation can be full of silences. For that reason, it is better not to be afraid of those moments in which nobody speaks, than to say anything just to avoid having to go through those kinds of situations. What makes some silences uncomfortable is not the lack of words per se , but the context in which they occur and, above all, the way in which we react to them.


4. Shows interest in the other person

It is important that the other person can talk about what they consider important about the moment they are going through in a particular area of ‚Äč‚Äčtheir life, or in their life in general, depending on the purpose of the conversation . Ask questions about what may be of interest or concern, and listen.

5. Do not adopt a paternalistic attitude

Some people confuse the ability to give advice on a subject that is dominated, with the power to treat other people as if they were children or did not know anything about life. It is convenient to avoid this and keep in mind that each person has their own criteria and capacity to know what is best in each moment.

6. Remember what matters about each person

The fact of remembering details about the people with whom we have spoken in the past shows interest and is generally answered with gratitude by others , especially if what we keep in our memory is something personal beyond the basic data such as name or age.

7. Uses a relaxed non-verbal language

Try not to use non-verbal language that shows you are defensive. For example, keep your arms crossed or curl up in the chair you sit on while talking. It is better to be relaxed, with the members relatively far from the vertical that marks our thorax.

8Take care of your personal hygiene

Beyond the style you use to dress, hygiene is essential. The simple fact of not respecting this guideline makes people physically stay more distant , with the consequent impact for social relations.

Bibliographic references:

  • Graziano, W. G. (2002). Agreeableness: Dimension of Personality or Social Desirability Artifact? Journal of Prsonality, 70 (5), pp. 695-728.

8 INSTANT WAYS TO LOOK MORE ATTRACTIVE! (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment être plus agréable avec les autres: 8 conseils

Comment être plus agréable avec les autres: 8 conseils

Mai 11, 2021

Savoir être gentil avec les autres Cela peut être un élément crucial lors de la création de liens sociaux. Et est-ce au-delà de nos connaissances, compétences et intérêts, quelque chose d'aussi simple que de savoir mettre les gens à l'aise avec nous les prédispose à adopter une attitude positive à notre égard.

Dans cet article, nous verrons plusieurs conseils de base sur la façon d’être gentil avec les autres et de faire couler la sympathie. Modifier nos habitudes en fonction de ces idées peut être utile pour se faire des amis, traiter avec des voisins et des collègues, etc.

  • Article connexe: "7 étapes pour savoir comment créer de meilleures conversations"

Comment être plus agréable: directives à suivre

Dans les relations personnelles, non seulement ce que l'on est, ce qui est défini comme ce qui nous définit psychologiquement est important, mais cela influence également beaucoup la façon dont nous nous présentons aux autres. Et c’est que, bien que l’esprit humain puisse adopter une infinité de détails et de nuances qui rendent chaque individu unique, lors de la socialisation, il y a quelques détails qui peuvent faire une différence en train de faire bonne impression sur les autres.


La vérité est que ce qui donne le ton d’un dialogue n’est pas ce qui est dit, mais les éléments qui sont souvent non verbaux et qui accompagnent la communication et la structurent. Voyons comment en tirer parti pour que la conversation adopte un ton amical dans lequel l’autre se sent le bienvenu.

1. Maintenir le contact visuel

C’est l’un des conseils classiques en matière de relations personnelles et de communication, car il a différentes facettes. D'un côté, ne pas regarder dans les yeux exprime l'insécurité ou la volonté de cacher quelque chose, mais de l'autre, en même temps, cela crée un environnement raréfié dans lequel nos interlocuteurs ne se sentent pas à l'aise.

Ainsi, maintenir le contact visuel est l’une des exigences minimales pour être agréable dans une conversation, bien que, bien sûr, cela ne soit pas suffisant. Évidemment, vous ne devez pas regarder les yeux les uns des autres constamment , car essayer de le faire est artificiel et dérangeant. Il est préférable de regarder le visage de la personne avec qui nous parlons et d'essayer de ne pas le séparer trop longtemps.


2. Prendre en compte le niveau culturel de l'autre

La culture peut être divisée en plusieurs domaines de connaissance et il est fort probable que la personne à qui vous parlez à un moment donné n'en sait pas autant sur vous que sur vous. En supposant que vous allez comprendre les références que vous utilisez ou les concepts que vous appelez pour expliquer quelque chose, ce n’est pas le plus approprié.

Pensez que s'il s'agit de des techniques ou des raisonnements appartenant à des domaines de connaissances hautement spécialisés et que vous y ayez constamment recours, vous dérangerez l’autre personne. Pas parce que vous vous sentez mal de ne pas savoir de quoi vous parlez, mais parce que comprendre ce que vous dites doit vous interrompre.

Donc, s’il est nécessaire de se référer à ces concepts, expliquez-en avant ce qu’ils sont.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "15 sujets de conversation intéressants et amusants"

3. N'ayez pas peur du silence

Une bonne conversation peut être pleine de silences. Pour cette raison, il vaut mieux ne pas avoir peur de ces moments où personne ne parle, plutôt que de dire n'importe quoi pour ne pas avoir à passer par ce genre de situation. Ce qui rend certains silences inconfortables n’est pas le manque de mots en soi , mais le contexte dans lequel ils se produisent et, surtout, la façon dont nous réagissons à eux.


4. Montre son intérêt pour l'autre personne

Il est important que l’autre personne puisse parler de ce qu’elle considère important pour le moment où elle vit dans un domaine particulier de sa vie, ou dans sa vie en général, en fonction du but de la conversation . Posez des questions sur ce qui peut être d'intérêt ou une préoccupation et écoutez.

5. Ne pas adopter une attitude paternaliste

Certaines personnes confondent la capacité de donner des conseils sur un sujet dominé et le pouvoir de traiter les autres comme s'ils étaient des enfants ou ne connaissaient rien de la vie. Il convient d’éviter cela et de garder à l’esprit que chaque personne a ses propres critères et sa capacité de savoir ce qui se fait de mieux en chaque instant.

6. Rappelez-vous ce qui compte pour chaque personne

Le fait de se rappeler des détails sur les personnes avec qui nous avons parlé dans le passé fait preuve d'intérêt et répond généralement avec gratitude aux autres , surtout si ce que nous gardons dans notre mémoire est quelque chose de personnel au-delà des données de base telles que le nom ou l’âge.

7. Utilise un langage non verbal détendu

Essayez de ne pas utiliser un langage non verbal qui montre que vous êtes sur la défensive. Par exemple, gardez les bras croisés ou détendez-vous dans la chaise où vous êtes assis tout en parlant. Il vaut mieux être détendu, avec les membres relativement éloignés de la verticale qui marque notre thorax.

8Prenez soin de votre hygiène personnelle

Au-delà du style vestimentaire, l’hygiène est essentielle. Le simple fait de ne pas respecter cette directive rend les gens physiquement plus éloignés , avec les conséquences pour les relations sociales.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Graziano, W. G. (2002). L'acceptabilité: dimension de la personnalité ou de la désirabilité sociale Artifact? Journal of Prsonality70 (5), pp. 695-728.

Comment MANIPULER les autres et avoir de l'INFLUENCE : les 6 principes (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes