yes, therapy helps!
How to be understanding with others, in 8 steps

How to be understanding with others, in 8 steps

September 17, 2022

The ability to be understanding is one of the psychological faculties that has made us capable of living in society. And for the same reason that each person has his personality, it is necessary to put some effort to adapt to the points of view of the rest to get to connect with them.

In this article we will see several key ideas about how to be understanding or understanding , and how they can be applied in our day to day.

  • Related article: "The 28 types of communication and their characteristics"

How to be understanding: 8 tips

From the moment in which human beings live in society, it is necessary that each individual adapts to the needs and characteristics of those people with whom they live. This process always involves a certain level of sacrifice, but we can ensure that this effort is not in vain and serves to relate better to the other not only in theory, but also in practice.


1. Think about the priorities of the other

To be more understanding, it is necessary take into account the scale of values ​​and needs that move the person we are talking to. Regardless of whether we agree with that way of establishing priorities, it is necessary to understand their point of view in order to be able to carry out the first steps of dialogue and consensus.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 types of values: principles that govern our lives"

2. Be patient

If everyone thought like us, communication would be incredibly fluid and fast ... but also boring and uninspiring. Therefore, being understanding implies having the necessary patience to leave room for approaching positions, mutual understanding , which by definition can not occur in a matter of fractions of a second, but involves a whole process.


3. Practice active listening

The moment of listening is very important, and not only because it allows us to start thinking as our interlocutors, but also because it is a way of fostering dialogue and collaboration. Therefore, we must empower it by involving ourselves in active listening, which has to do with all verbal and nonverbal elements that indicate that we are listening . Make brief comments, look into the eyes, nod ... small details that make the difference.


4. Do not ridicule

Some people take advantage of any situation in which there is a disagreement with their interlocutor to try to ridicule it. This can be an apparent relief for whoever does it (at the expense of the other), but it does not serve for anything more than that, and instead has many negative effects. Among them, the fact of making mutual understanding much more difficult.


5. Shows interest in their emotions

Many times, we do not really understand the other until we know their feelings and, in general, that irrational part of him that leads him to act . But this is something that not everyone is willing to share with the rest at the first change. Therefore, we must show that his point of view is respected and that we can speak freely without fear of being judged.


6. Give opportunities to redeem

Sometimes, what keeps us apart from another person is the fact that she feels guilty and, therefore, believes that it can only continue through confrontation , since in the past he has done things that would be considered clearly bad if that confrontation did not exist.

Thus, it is important to give opportunities to be redeemed in a subtle way, without it being noticed that it is a kind of "ritual".

For example, to assume in part that something has been done that has harmed the other, even if that is not true, so that that person feels good making the apparent sacrifice of forgiving us. That way you may feel that your sins have been expiated . But you have to achieve a balance so that you do not feel a precedent in which any grievance can be resolved in an excessively easy way.


7. Think about the consequences of what you do

Each time you do something that affects another person, think beyond what that change means to you. You have to put yourself in the skin of the other and see, for example, if that makes your situation worse , something that is possible if until that moment we had not stopped to consider what it means to participate actively or passively in what we have modified.

8. Consider the influence of context

Naturally, human beings tend to believe that a person is what they choose to be, without more. The phenomenon described by the theory of the just world, for example, is a sample of it. However, this is false, since the environment influences us a lot.

Therefore, to be more understanding we must bear in mind that the individual is the product of his decisions but also of the circumstances in which he has to live.

Bibliographic references:

  • Coller, N. (2018). A turtle, a hare and a mosquito. Valencia: Nau Llibres.
  • Goleman, D. (2006). Social Intelligence. New York: Bantam Books.
  • Strauss, N. (2015). The Truth: An Uncomfortable Book About Relationships. New York: William Morrow.

LISTENING & UNDERSTANDING in 3 Easy Steps (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment être compréhensif avec les autres, en 8 étapes

Comment être compréhensif avec les autres, en 8 étapes

Juillet 22, 2022

La capacité à comprendre est l’une des facultés psychologiques qui nous ont rendus capables de vivre en société. Et pour la même raison que chaque personne a sa personnalité, il est nécessaire de s’efforcer de s’adapter aux points de vue des autres pour pouvoir communiquer avec eux.

Dans cet article, nous verrons plusieurs idées clés sur la façon de comprendre ou de comprendre et comment ils peuvent être appliqués au quotidien.

  • Article connexe: "Les 28 types de communication et leurs caractéristiques"

Comment être compréhensif: 8 astuces

À partir du moment où les êtres humains vivent en société, il est nécessaire que chaque individu s'adapte aux besoins et aux caractéristiques des personnes avec lesquelles il vit. Ce processus implique toujours un certain niveau de sacrifice, mais nous pouvons faire en sorte que cet effort ne soit pas vain et serve à mieux relier les autres, non seulement en théorie, mais également en pratique.


1. Pensez aux priorités de l'autre

Pour être plus compréhensif, il faut prendre en compte l'échelle des valeurs et des besoins cela bouge la personne à qui nous parlons. Que nous soyons ou non d’accord avec cette manière d’établir les priorités, il est nécessaire de comprendre leur point de vue pour pouvoir franchir les premières étapes du dialogue et du consensus.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 types de valeurs: principes qui régissent nos vies"

2. Soyez patient

Si tout le monde pensait comme nous, la communication serait incroyablement fluide et rapide ... mais aussi ennuyeuse et sans intérêt. Par conséquent, être compréhensif implique d’avoir la patience nécessaire pour laisser de la place pour les positions d'approche, la compréhension mutuelle , qui par définition ne peut pas se produire en quelques fractions de seconde, mais implique tout un processus.


3. Pratiquer l'écoute active

Le moment d'écoute est très important, non seulement parce qu'il nous permet de commencer à penser en tant qu'interlocuteurs, mais aussi parce que c'est un moyen de favoriser le dialogue et la collaboration. Par conséquent, nous devons le responsabiliser en nous impliquant dans une écoute active, qui concerne tous éléments verbaux et non verbaux qui indiquent que nous écoutons . Faites de brefs commentaires, regardez dans les yeux, hochez la tête ... de petits détails qui font la différence.


4. Ne ridiculise pas

Certaines personnes profitent de toute situation de désaccord avec leur interlocuteur pour tenter de le ridiculiser. Cela peut être un soulagement apparent pour quiconque le fait (au détriment de l'autre), mais cela ne sert à rien de plus que cela, et a au contraire de nombreux effets négatifs. Parmi eux, le fait de rendre la compréhension mutuelle beaucoup plus difficile.


5. Montre de l'intérêt pour leurs émotions

Bien souvent, nous ne comprenons pas vraiment l’autre tant que nous ne connaissons pas ses sentiments et, en général, cette partie irrationnelle de lui qui le conduit à agir . Mais c’est quelque chose que tout le monde n’est pas disposé à partager avec les autres au premier changement. Nous devons donc montrer que son point de vue est respecté et que nous pouvons parler librement sans craindre d’être jugés.


6. Donner des occasions de racheter

Parfois, ce qui nous distingue des autres, c’est le fait qu’elle se sent coupable et, par conséquent, estime qu'il ne peut continuer que par la confrontation , car dans le passé, il a fait des choses qui seraient considérées clairement mauvaises si cette confrontation n’existait pas.

Ainsi, il est important de donner des occasions de se faire racheter de manière subtile, sans que cela soit remarqué comme une sorte de "rituel".

Par exemple, supposer en partie que quelque chose a été fait qui a nui à l'autre, même si ce n'est pas vrai, pour que cette personne se sente bien en faisant le sacrifice apparent de nous pardonner. De cette manière vous pouvez avoir l'impression que vos péchés ont été expiés . Mais vous devez parvenir à un équilibre afin de ne pas créer un précédent dans lequel tout grief puisse être réglé de manière trop simple.


7. Pensez aux conséquences de ce que vous faites

Chaque fois que vous faites quelque chose qui affecte une autre personne, pensez au-delà de ce que ce changement signifie pour vous. Vous devez vous mettre dans la peau de l'autre et voir, par exemple, si cela aggrave votre situation Ce qui est possible si, jusqu’à ce moment-là, nous n’avions pas cessé de réfléchir à ce que signifie participer activement ou passivement à ce que nous avons modifié.

8. Considérez l'influence du contexte

Naturellement, les êtres humains ont tendance à croire qu'une personne est ce qu'ils choisissent d'être, sans plus. Le phénomène décrit par la théorie du monde juste, par exemple, en est un exemple. Cependant, c'est faux, car l'environnement nous influence beaucoup.

Par conséquent, pour être plus compréhensif, nous devons garder à l’esprit que l’individu est le produit de ses décisions mais aussi des circonstances dans lesquelles il doit vivre.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Coller, N. (2018). Une tortue, un lièvre et un moustique. Valencia: Nau Llibres.
  • Goleman, D. (2006). Intelligence sociale. New York: Livres Bantam.
  • Strauss, N. (2015). La vérité: un livre inconfortable sur les relations. New York: William Morrow.

Comment Améliorer Son Leadership Et Devenir Un Leader Au Fort Pouvoir d’Influence (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes