yes, therapy helps!
How to change your personality: 8 tips

How to change your personality: 8 tips

January 22, 2022

It is normal and relatively frequent for people to seek to improve themselves and improve their way of being. However, sometimes the change sought is very deep, structural. It is the case of those who consider changing their personality completely. Is it possible to become a very different person than what has always been?

In this article we will see some tips and recommendations about How to change your personality through the introduction of different habits in your day to day .

  • Related article: "The main theories of personality"

How to change your personality

Personality is by definition something that is maintained over time, which tends to be constant. In particular, it is the set of psychological dispositions that orient us towards certain behavioral dynamics and not others, and is based on a genetic component and a learned one, which is born of experience.


However, as it happens with most psychological phenomena, personality is not an element imposed on us in a deterministic way , but we can influence it in surprising ways. It is practically impossible to give it a total turn and to become something in which absolutely nothing is not noticed of what we once were, but radical changes are possible with effort and time.

So, to change your personality follow these tips.

1. Specify your objectives

The goal of "changing my personality" is too abstract, too ambiguous. If you do not divide it into different specific objectives, you will lose yourself in vagueness and will not make significant advances .


Therefore, write down on a sheet of paper what are the aspects of your way of being that you would like to change, making a filtering of priorities, and focus on it. After all, it is absurd to propose to change completely in all aspects of one's personality; It is necessary to point to those areas that give problems or that are perceived as weaknesses.

2. Create the commitment

Every time we set ourselves an ambitious goal that demands effort, it is good to make sure that we are totally committed to it. One way to do this is to talk with other people, in order to create expectations and have more reasons not to give up.

Generating this kind of self-obligations is very positive to reach goals and not throw in the towel, even though apparently it seems that limits our freedom.

3. Distracted from your previous failures

On many occasions, one of the obstacles that make it difficult for someone to modify their personality better is the fact that they fall into the trap of believing that they will fall again and again into the type of failures in which they fell in the past.


It is true that we all have weaknesses that characterize us, but that does not mean that we can not arm ourselves against this kind of mistakes. With enough effort and learning, we can get to develop extraordinary skills . Even if we do not, this simple thought helps to stop being afraid of those aspects of life that have never been given to us completely well, which serves to make us stop being so vulnerable to them.

4. Resignation to what they will say

Your changes in personal development should only concern you. It is clear that people always have reasons to speak behind one's back and to criticize, but precisely for that reason what others think should not obsess us; Nobody knows us as well as we know ourselves, and that is the reason why the vast majority of moral judgments and judgments that we receive from others have no value.

Being aware of this, and that everyone has the same weaknesses that we are capable of hating ourselves on certain occasions, helps put things in perspective and do not feel condemned to always be the same : around us people change radically for good and for bad, and we can do the same. The question is to guide this change so that it is for the good.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Tips to stop thinking about what others think of you"

5. Surround yourself with the people who inspire you

Much of the learning occurs spontaneously by the simple fact of surrounding ourselves with those who give us reasons to improve and contents to work on to become better.

If we avoid falling into the trap of constantly comparing ourselves with those we consider the best, we will begin to absorb and adapt to our way of being those elements that we consider positive : have more patience, learn to listen and put ourselves in the shoes of others, be more creative by not ruling out the most bizarre ideas, etc.

6. Do not assume your own identity, modify what you already have

It is important not to cover yourself with tics that define the personality of others, but to develop our own version of what we want to become.For example, if we want to work on self-esteem to trust more in our abilities, we should not use the expressions or the body language of another person in an imposed way, but look at what we usually do and make corrections.

Fixing yourself is an essential element to change your own personality , since you have to work with what you have; to show that we are a blank page will only generate frustration.

7. Introduce small changes in the day to day

Spend some time each day to look at what you do and correct it on the fly to reach the desired goal. The rest of the day, do not worry about it. In this way you will do a job intensively, while later you will not have to work on it and you will be able to recover (which prevents you from stressing too much).

Slowly, the repetition of those moments in which you strive to change will make them automate , and you will be able to expand little by little the temporary window that you dedicate to develop an improved personality.

8. Counts with the help of psychologists

If necessary, psychologists can help you through psychotherapy. Professional accompaniment is usually very useful to find new strategies to improve and detect errors that had gone unnoticed.

Bibliographic references:

  • Corr, Philip J .; Matthews, Gerald (2009). The Cambridge handbook of personality psychology (1. publ. Ed.). Cambridge, U.K .: Cambridge University Press.
  • González, José (1987). Psychology of the personality. Madrid: New Library.

19 Psychological Tips That Will Change Your Life (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment changer de personnalité: 8 conseils

Comment changer de personnalité: 8 conseils

Mai 20, 2019

Il est normal et relativement fréquent que les gens cherchent à s’améliorer et à améliorer leur façon d’être. Cependant, le changement recherché est parfois très profond, structurel. C'est le cas de ceux qui envisagent de changer complètement de personnalité. Est-il possible de devenir une personne très différente de celle qui a toujours été?

Dans cet article, nous verrons quelques conseils et recommandations sur Comment changer de personnalité en introduisant des habitudes différentes au quotidien .

  • Article connexe: "Les principales théories de la personnalité"

Comment changer de personnalité

La personnalité est par définition quelque chose qui se maintient au fil du temps, ce qui tend à être constant. En particulier, c’est l’ensemble des dispositions psychologiques qui nous oriente vers certaines dynamiques comportementales et non d’autres, et qui repose sur une composante génétique et sur une érudite née de l’expérience.


Cependant, comme cela arrive avec la plupart des phénomènes psychologiques, la personnalité n'est pas un élément qui nous est imposé de manière déterministe , mais nous pouvons l’influencer de manière surprenante. Il est pratiquement impossible de lui donner un tour complet et de devenir quelque chose dans lequel on ne remarque absolument rien de ce que nous étions, mais des changements radicaux sont possibles avec du temps et des efforts.

Alors, pour changer de personnalité, suivez ces conseils.

1. Spécifiez vos objectifs

Le but de "changer de personnalité" est trop abstrait, trop ambigu. Si vous ne le divisez pas en différents objectifs spécifiques, vous allez vous perdre dans le vague et ne pas faire d'avancées significatives .


Par conséquent, écrivez sur une feuille de papier quels sont les aspects de votre façon d’être que vous aimeriez changer, en filtrant les priorités, et concentrez-vous dessus. Après tout, il est absurde de proposer de changer complètement tous les aspects de la personnalité; Il est nécessaire de signaler les domaines qui posent des problèmes ou sont perçus comme des faiblesses.

2. Créer l'engagement

Chaque fois que nous nous fixons un objectif ambitieux qui exige des efforts, il est bon de s’y engager totalement. Une façon de faire est de parler avec d’autres personnes, afin de créer des attentes et d’avoir plus de raisons de ne pas abandonner.

Générer ce genre d'obligations personnelles est très positif atteindre des objectifs et ne pas jeter l'éponge, même si apparemment cela semble limiter notre liberté.

3. Distrait de vos échecs précédents

En de nombreuses occasions, l’un des obstacles qui empêche une personne de modifier sa personnalité est de tomber dans le piège qui consiste à croire qu’elle tombera encore et encore dans le type d’échecs dans lequel elle est tombée dans le passé.


Il est vrai que nous avons tous des faiblesses qui nous caractérisent, mais cela ne signifie pas que nous ne pouvons pas nous armer de ce genre d’erreurs. Avec suffisamment d'efforts et d'apprentissage, nous pouvons arriver à développer des compétences extraordinaires . Même si ce n’est pas le cas, cette simple pensée aide à ne plus avoir peur des aspects de la vie qui ne nous ont jamais été donnés de façon satisfaisante, ce qui nous permet de ne plus y être si vulnérables.

4. Démission à ce qu'ils vont dire

Vos changements dans le développement personnel ne devraient vous concerner que. Il est clair que les gens ont toujours des raisons de parler derrière le dos et de critiquer, mais c'est précisément pour cette raison que ce que les autres pensent ne devrait pas nous obséder; Personne ne nous connaît aussi bien que nous-mêmes, et c’est la raison pour laquelle la grande majorité des jugements moraux et des jugements que nous recevons des autres n’ont aucune valeur.

En être conscient, et que tout le monde a les mêmes faiblesses que nous sommes capables de nous haïr à certaines occasions, aide à mettre les choses en perspective et ne vous sentez pas condamné à être toujours le même : autour de nous, les gens changent radicalement pour le meilleur et pour le pire, et nous pouvons faire la même chose. La question est de guider ce changement pour que ce soit pour le bien.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Conseils pour ne plus penser à ce que les autres pensent de vous"

5. Entourez-vous des personnes qui vous inspirent

Une grande partie de l'apprentissage se fait spontanément par le simple fait de nous entourer de ceux qui nous donnent des raisons de nous améliorer et des contenus sur lesquels travailler pour devenir meilleurs.

Si nous évitons de tomber dans le piège de nous comparer constamment avec ceux que nous considérons comme les meilleurs, nous commencerons à absorber et à nous adapter à notre façon d’être ces éléments que nous considérons positifs : avoir plus de patience, apprendre à écouter et à se mettre à la place des autres, être plus créatif en n'éliminant pas les idées les plus bizarres, etc.

6. Ne prenez pas votre propre identité, modifiez ce que vous avez déjà

Il est important de ne pas vous couvrir de tics qui définissent la personnalité des autres, mais de développer notre propre version de ce que nous voulons devenir.Par exemple, si nous voulons travailler sur l'estime de soi pour faire davantage confiance à nos capacités, nous ne devrions pas utiliser les expressions ou le langage corporel d'une autre personne de manière imposée, mais regarder ce que nous faisons habituellement et apporter des corrections.

Se réparer est un élément essentiel pour changer sa propre personnalité , puisque vous devez travailler avec ce que vous avez; montrer que nous sommes une page blanche ne fera que générer de la frustration.

7. Introduire de petits changements au jour le jour

Chaque jour, prenez le temps de regarder ce que vous faites et corrigez-le à la volée pour atteindre l'objectif souhaité. Le reste de la journée, ne vous inquiétez pas. De cette façon, vous ferez un travail intensif, tandis que plus tard, vous n’aurez plus à travailler dessus et vous pourrez récupérer (ce qui vous évite de trop stresser).

Peu à peu, la répétition de ces moments dans lesquels vous vous efforcez de changer les rendra automatisés , et vous pourrez élargir petit à petit la fenêtre temporaire que vous dédiez pour développer votre personnalité.

8. Compte avec l'aide de psychologues

Si nécessaire, les psychologues peuvent vous aider par la psychothérapie. L'accompagnement professionnel est généralement très utile trouver de nouvelles stratégies pour améliorer et détecter les erreurs passées inaperçues.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Corr, Philip J; Matthews, Gerald (2009). Manuel de Cambridge sur la psychologie de la personnalité (1. Ed. Ed.). Cambridge, Royaume-Uni: Cambridge University Press.
  • González, José (1987). Psychologie de la personnalité. Madrid: nouvelle bibliothèque.

8 Astuces Psychologiques Qui te Permettront de Voir à Travers Les Gens (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes