yes, therapy helps!
How to control anxiety, in 6 steps

How to control anxiety, in 6 steps

June 24, 2021

Anxiety is behind many of the unpleasant experiences we experience on a day-to-day basis. Fear to speak in public, fear to fail in an examination, desire to return home after spending a lot of time in a place that we do not know ... The amount of contexts in which this psychological phenomenon lurks is very big.

So that, knowing how to control anxiety is something that can be very useful , since there are some strategies to achieve it that can be applied practically in any situation, and in a relatively simple way.

  • Related article: "The 7 types of anxiety (causes and symptoms)"

How to control anxiety?

Anxiety is a state of activation of the nervous system that is oriented towards the anticipation of a danger, whether real or imaginary. Being something so general, it has a physiological aspect and a psychological aspect: in the first one there are phenomena such as tremors, sweating and acceleration of the pulse, and in the second there are phenomena such as the emotion of fear, the desire to avoid a stimulus aversive, and the difficulties in controlling emotional responses to a situation .


Now ... how can we control anxiety and make its effects muffled or even disappear? Let's see it

1. Eliminates binge eating due to anxiety

Many people fall into the trap of going to the refrigerator to stuff themselves with food every time they notice that the anxiety is becoming excessive.

This can be a very short-term solution, but it has a very damaging effect in the medium and long term. Why? Because you enter a dynamic of rewarding the appearance of episodes of anxiety. The body gets used to this busy emotional life and that, of course, is anything but healthy.

So, something as simple as setting clear limits with meal times can help a lot to stop fostering the appearance of anxiety.

2. Take care of yourself and do moderate sports

Many times we forget that anxiety is also connected to our self-esteem and self-concept. If we believe that we are insignificant beings and whenever we think of ourselves we concentrate only on our imperfections, obviously we will come to the conclusion that day to day is full of dangers for us, and that therefore we must always be alert.

Something as simple as practicing sports regularly, try to eat healthy and maintain good personal hygiene will make us feel better with ourselves . The results of this are surprising, and are usually noticed in a matter of a few days. If it changes the way we think about ourselves, our way of seeing the world also changes.


3. Practice breathing techniques

In many ways, our mood and our emotions depend in large part on the degree of activation of the nervous system. If oxygen is lacking, we will experience more stress, as our body will enter the alarm phase to find a solution to that situation. What happens is that part of that oxygen deficit may be due to how we breathe.


The breathing techniques help to get the most out of our lungs, and this allows us to obtain a significant advantage in the specific moments in which we feel too activated. In addition, the fact of offering us a simple exercise in which to focus attention helps us to lose sight of that unpleasant feeling of being overwhelmed by the need to do several tasks at once, something very typical of anxious contexts.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 4 types of breathing (and how to learn them in meditation)"

4. Leave what you are doing and go for a walk

Many times, anxiety is due to being surrounded by elements that remind us of something that worries us. Therefore, it is useful to disconnect, even for a few moments, then return with renewed strength.

When going for a walk, we have the possibility of finding new stimuli that demand our attention and that allow us to "refresh" the mind. Specifically, if you leave through completely unknown places, the references that evoke the memories linked to what concerns us will be much less abundant. In this sense, the environments in which nature prevails , like large fields or parks, have been especially effective against anxiety.

These phases in which the distraction predominates help to rest , and in this way we gain the power to change what worries us once we have returned to the routine.

5. Avoid caffeine

If you consume products with caffeine, such as coffee or certain cola drinks, you will be cheating. Remember that the distinction between body and mind is just a mirage, and many of the substances we consume habitually affect how we feel.Caffeine makes us prone to activate before stimuli to which we would not normally give much importance. Controlling anxiety is also achieved from the diet.

6. Sleep well

This condition is indispensable, since in a sleepy state it is very easy for everyday situations to overtake us . Sleeping well makes us much more prepared to face the day to day.


How Charlamagne Copes With Stress and Anxiety (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment contrôler l'anxiété, en 6 étapes

Comment contrôler l'anxiété, en 6 étapes

Octobre 3, 2022

L'inquiétude est à l'origine de nombreuses expériences désagréables que nous vivons au quotidien. Peur de parler en public, peur d'échouer à un examen, désir de rentrer chez soi après avoir passé beaucoup de temps dans un lieu que nous ne connaissons pas ... Le nombre de contextes dans lesquels ce phénomène psychologique se cache est très important.

Donc, savoir contrôler l'anxiété est quelque chose qui peut être très utile , car il existe des stratégies pour y parvenir qui peuvent être appliquées pratiquement dans n’importe quelle situation et de manière relativement simple.

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 types d'anxiété (causes et symptômes)"

Comment contrôler l'anxiété?

L'anxiété est un état d'activation du système nerveux orienté vers l'anticipation d'un danger, qu'il soit réel ou imaginaire. Si général, il a un aspect physiologique et un aspect psychologique: dans le premier, il y a des phénomènes tels que les tremblements, la transpiration et l'accélération du pouls, et dans le second, des phénomènes tels que l'émotion de la peur, le désir d'éviter un stimulus aversif, et les difficultés à contrôler les réponses émotionnelles à une situation .


Maintenant… comment pouvons-nous contrôler l’anxiété et en atténuer les effets, voire même les faire disparaître? Voyons le

1. Élimine la frénésie alimentaire due à l'anxiété

Beaucoup de gens tombent dans le piège d'aller au réfrigérateur pour se gaver de nourriture chaque fois qu'ils s'aperçoivent que l'anxiété devient excessive.

Cela peut être une solution à très court terme, mais a un effet très dommageable à moyen et long terme. Parce que? Parce que vous entrez dans une dynamique de récompense de l'apparition d'épisodes d'anxiété. Le corps s'habitue à cette vie émotionnelle chargée et cela, bien sûr, est tout sauf sain.

Donc, quelque chose d'aussi simple que de fixer des limites claires avec l'heure des repas peut aider beaucoup à ne plus favoriser l'apparition de l'anxiété.

2. Prenez soin de vous et faites du sport modéré

Souvent, nous oublions que l’anxiété est également liée à notre estime de soi et à notre image de soi. Si nous croyons que nous sommes des êtres insignifiants et que, chaque fois que nous pensons à nous-mêmes, nous nous concentrons uniquement sur nos imperfections, nous en arriverons évidemment à la conclusion que chaque jour est plein de dangers pour nous et que, par conséquent, nous devons toujours rester vigilants.

Quelque chose d'aussi simple que de faire du sport régulièrement, essayez de manger sainement et de maintenir une bonne hygiène personnelle va nous faire sentir mieux avec nous-mêmes . Les résultats obtenus sont surprenants et se remarquent généralement en quelques jours. Si cela change notre façon de penser à nous-mêmes, notre façon de voir le monde change également.


3. Pratiquer des techniques de respiration

À bien des égards, notre humeur et nos émotions dépendent en grande partie du degré d'activation du système nerveux. En cas de manque d'oxygène, nous subirons davantage de stress, car notre corps entrera dans la phase d'alarme pour trouver une solution à cette situation. Ce qui se produit, c’est qu’une partie de ce déficit en oxygène peut être due à notre façon de respirer.


Les techniques de respiration aident à tirer le meilleur parti de nos poumons, ce qui nous permet d’obtenir un avantage significatif dans les moments spécifiques où nous nous sentons trop activés. De plus, le fait de nous proposer un exercice simple pour attirer l’attention nous aide à perdre de vue les ce sentiment désagréable d'être submergé par la nécessité de faire plusieurs tâches à la fois, ce qui est très typique des contextes anxieux.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 4 types de respiration (et comment les apprendre en méditation)"

4. Laissez ce que vous faites et allez vous promener

Bien souvent, l’anxiété est due au fait d’être entouré d’éléments qui nous rappellent quelque chose qui nous inquiète. Par conséquent, il est utile de déconnecter, même pendant quelques instants, puis de revenir avec une force renouvelée.

Lorsque vous vous promenez, nous avons la possibilité de trouver de nouveaux stimuli qui exigent notre attention et nous permettent de "rafraîchir" l'esprit. Plus précisément, si vous partez par des lieux complètement inconnus, les références qui évoquent les souvenirs liés à ce qui nous concerne seront beaucoup moins abondantes. Dans ce sens, les environnements dans lesquels la nature prédomine , comme les grands champs ou les parcs, ont été particulièrement efficaces contre l’anxiété.

Ces phases dans lesquelles la distraction prédomine aident au repos et nous gagnons ainsi le pouvoir de changer ce qui nous inquiète une fois de retour à la routine.

5. Évitez la caféine

Si vous consommez des produits contenant de la caféine, comme du café ou certaines boissons à base de cola, vous allez tricher. N'oubliez pas que la distinction entre le corps et l'esprit n'est qu'un mirage et que bon nombre des substances que nous consommons ont habituellement une incidence sur nos sentiments.La caféine nous rend susceptibles de s'activer avant les stimuli auxquels nous ne donnerions normalement pas beaucoup d'importance. Le contrôle de l’anxiété est également obtenu par le régime alimentaire.

6. Dors bien

Cette condition est indispensable, car dans un état somnolent il est très facile pour les situations quotidiennes de nous dépasser . Bien dormir nous prépare beaucoup mieux à faire face au jour le jour.


COMMENT VAINCRE LE STRESS ET L'ANXIETE ? (Octobre 2022).


Articles Connexes