yes, therapy helps!
How to create leadership in groups and teams, in 8 key ideas

How to create leadership in groups and teams, in 8 key ideas

May 26, 2024

Leadership is an ingredient capable of making the potential of a group of people a qualitative leap. It is not just about coordinating and encouraging cooperation among the members of a group. In addition, we must motivate, set an example, make sure that the method of work does not cause wasted effort, etc.

In this article we will see several key ideas about how to create leadership in situations where they require this role.

  • Related article: "Types of Leadership: The 5 most common leader classes"

How to create leadership in a group

Although leadership is a complex phenomenon, fortunately it is possible to learn to be a leader. In the following lines we will see the fundamental ideas from which we must start to start adopting the role of leader.


1. Do not appeal to the authority

The fact of justifying one's leadership based only on the supposed authority that one has, in most cases, it only reduces credibility to whoever does it .

This is so because leadership is not something you have as you might have an object, but it is something that is exercised; it is demonstrated by what is done and what is said. In addition, in this way that authority is not seen as something imposed and artificial.

The only case in which it is necessary to appeal to the authority is when it is very clear that there is nothing to discuss and everyone can see very clearly that continuing to question a decision only serves to waste valuable time.


2. Perfect your communication skills

Communication is essential to be a leader . Misunderstandings and lack of transparency are dysfunctional for cooperation and collective work.

Thus, it is necessary to polish both the verbal and nonverbal aspects of communication. Which brings us to the next idea.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Say without saying: 8 keys to communicate better"

3. Do not assume that the other knows what you know

Each person has their skills and competences, but also has their blind spots in terms of knowledge. For this reason, it is important to think at every moment of the information that the rest of the people have or do not have when communicating with them .

4. Do not confuse leadership with arrogance

Many people, when thinking about the concept of leader, associate it with the idea of ​​pride. However, this is an error for several reasons, and one of them is that Leadership only makes sense in the context of the group , which is why it is necessary that several people participate in a group or team so that there is the possibility that there is a leader. The latter needs others, but not all groups need a leader.


5. Do not use the group as therapy

A leader is important to the group because it is closely linked to common goals. Therefore, he can not abuse the authority that other people grant him to alleviate tensions by creating conflicts with people in his charge. This, besides being unethical, it is very harmful to the whole .

6. Make sure there are always goals to achieve

All parts of an organization or group must move according to specific objectives to achieve. If this is not the case, the stalemate will appear , and it is even possible that parts of the group leave due to lack of motivation and incentives in general.

7. Practice assertiveness

When it comes to learning the steps about how to be a leader, it is essential to fully adopt an assertive communication style. That is, having the ability to respect others at all times, and at the same time defend the appropriateness of the decisions that you have made.

This is because some people, not to displease, do not communicate certain problems related to the work done by a person or several members of the organization, so that these weaknesses become chronic. Do not avoid moments a little uncomfortable as long as everything is a torrent of continuous praise. If someone makes mistakes, they should communicate.

8. Explain the why of things

It is important that everyone understands the logic behind the decisions of a leader. This is so because the appearance of arbitrariness in the leadership wears away the authority of the leader, even when technically what he does makes sense and is effective when it comes to moving towards a joint goal.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gutiérrez Valdebenito, O. (2015). Leadership studies of men and women. Policy and Strategy Magazine N ° 126, 13-35.
  • Trevisani, Daniele. (2016). Communication for Leadership: Coaching Leadership Skills (2 ed.). Ferrara: Medialab Research. p. twenty-one.

9 Tips to be a Better Leader - Leadership and Management Skills and Qualities (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment créer un leadership dans des groupes et des équipes, en 8 idées clés

Comment créer un leadership dans des groupes et des équipes, en 8 idées clés

Novembre 6, 2022

Le leadership est un ingrédient capable de transformer le potentiel d’un groupe de personnes en un saut qualitatif. Il ne s’agit pas seulement de coordonner et d’encourager la coopération entre les membres d’un groupe. En outre, nous devons motiver, donner l'exemple, veiller à ce que la méthode de travail ne cause pas d'efforts inutiles, etc.

Dans cet article, nous verrons plusieurs idées clés sur la façon de créer un leadership dans des situations où ils ont besoin de ce rôle.

  • Article connexe: "Types de leadership: les 5 classes de dirigeants les plus courantes"

Comment créer du leadership dans un groupe

Bien que le leadership soit un phénomène complexe, il est heureusement possible d'apprendre à être un leader. Dans les lignes suivantes, nous verrons les idées fondamentales à partir desquelles nous devons commencer à adopter le rôle de leader.


1. Ne faites pas appel à l'autorité

Le fait de justifier son leadership en se basant uniquement sur la prétendue autorité que l'on a, dans la plupart des cas, il ne fait que réduire la crédibilité à qui le fait .

En effet, le leadership n’est pas quelque chose que vous avez comme vous pourriez avoir un objet, mais c’est quelque chose qui est exercé; cela est démontré par ce qui est fait et ce qui est dit. De plus, de cette manière, cette autorité n'est pas perçue comme quelque chose d'imposé et d'artificiel.

Le seul cas dans lequel il est nécessaire de faire appel à l'autorité est lorsqu'il est très clair qu'il n'y a rien à discuter et que tout le monde voit très clairement que le fait de remettre en cause une décision ne fait que perdre un temps précieux.


2. Perfectionnez vos compétences en communication

La communication est essentielle pour être un leader . Les malentendus et le manque de transparence sont des dysfonctionnements pour la coopération et le travail collectif.

Ainsi, il est nécessaire de perfectionner les aspects verbaux et non verbaux de la communication. Ce qui nous amène à la prochaine idée.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Dis sans dire: 8 touches pour mieux communiquer"

3. Ne supposez pas que l'autre sait ce que vous savez

Chaque personne a ses aptitudes et ses compétences, mais aussi ses angles morts en termes de connaissances. Pour cette raison, il est important de penser à chaque instant de l'information que le reste des gens a ou n'a pas en communiquant avec eux .

4. Ne confondez pas le leadership avec l'arrogance

Beaucoup de gens, lorsqu'ils pensent au concept de leader, l'associent à l'idée de fierté. Cependant, il s’agit d’une erreur pour plusieurs raisons, dont l’une est que Le leadership n'a de sens que dans le contexte du groupe , c’est pourquoi il est nécessaire que plusieurs personnes participent à un groupe ou à une équipe afin qu’il soit possible qu’il y ait un leader. Ce dernier a besoin d’autres, mais tous les groupes n’ont pas besoin d’un chef.


5. Ne pas utiliser le groupe comme thérapie

Un leader est important pour le groupe car il est étroitement lié à des objectifs communs. Par conséquent, il ne peut pas abuser de l'autorité que lui accordent les autres pour alléger les tensions en créant des conflits avec les personnes à sa charge. Ceci, en plus d'être contraire à l'éthique, il est très préjudiciable à l'ensemble .

6. Assurez-vous qu'il y a toujours des objectifs à atteindre

Toutes les parties d'une organisation ou d'un groupe doivent évoluer en fonction d'objectifs spécifiques à atteindre. Si ce n'est pas le cas, l'impasse apparaîtra , et il est même possible que certaines parties du groupe partent par manque de motivation et d’incitations en général.

7. Pratiquer l'affirmation de soi

Pour apprendre les étapes à suivre pour devenir un leader, il est essentiel d’adopter pleinement un style de communication assertif. C’est-à-dire avoir la capacité de respecter les autres en tout temps et de défendre en même temps la pertinence des décisions que vous avez prises.

C'est parce que certaines personnes, pour ne pas déplaire, ne communiquent pas certains problèmes liées au travail effectué par une personne ou plusieurs membres de l’organisation, de sorte que ces faiblesses deviennent chroniques. Ne pas éviter les moments un peu inconfortables tant que tout est un torrent de louanges continues. Si quelqu'un fait des erreurs, il devrait communiquer.

8. Explique le pourquoi des choses

Il est important que tout le monde comprenne la logique qui sous-tend les décisions d'un leader. En effet, l’apparence d’arbitraire dans la direction efface l’autorité de celui-ci, même lorsque, techniquement, ce qu’il fait est logique et efficace pour parvenir à un objectif commun.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gutiérrez Valdebenito, O. (2015). Etudes de leadership d'hommes et de femmes. Magazine Politique et stratégie N ° 126, 13-35.
  • Trevisani, Daniele. (2016). Communication for Leadership: Coaching Leadership Skills (2 éd.). Ferrara: Recherche Medialab. p. 21

►COMMENT AVOIR DU LEADERSHIP ? ◄ - ►COMMENT ANIMER UN GROUPE ◄ (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes