yes, therapy helps!
How to detect a narcissist ... with a simple question

How to detect a narcissist ... with a simple question

July 19, 2024

It is possible that, at some point in your life, you have asked yourself if that friend, relative, acquaintance or co-worker is a narcissistic . It is understandable: many behaviors can be associated with this category of personality, although it is difficult to know to what extent these constitute a real problem. In a previous article I already spoke about the Narcissistic Personality Disorder and about its characteristic features.

But today's text goes further by starting with a question that, in the opinion of the experts, manages to unmask any narcissistic person to whom the question is asked.

Narcissistic personality: easy or difficult to detect?

If you want to identify a person with narcissistic features you have three options. The first is to accompany this person to a mental health professional who can make a diagnosis about his personality. The second option is to learn how to administer 40 item diagnostic tool of the Inventory of the Narcissistic Personality, and convince that person to answer the test.


A study gives the key

Obviously these two options mentioned are a bit complicated to carry out for most mortals. Fortunately, there is a third option, which also has the support of several scientific studies just out of the oven.

Sara Konrath and her team from the University of Indiana, in the United States, have managed to develop a diagnostic scale of narcissism of a single question . This is not usual, since scales usually consist of large numbers of items. The scale that these academics have developed is the call Single-Item-Narcissism Scale (SINS).

Reasonable skepticism

When the news that Konrath and his collaborators had achieved a single item scale jumped to the press, most academic and scientific circles were very skeptical that the question in question "Are you a narcissist?" could discriminate between those subjects with a clinically relevant propensity toward narcissism, and those who did not. Especially, this seemed unlikely considering that narcissism is a complex and multidimensional personality profile . Personally, my reaction to reading the headline in Psychology Today was to think: "Another more sensationalist article".


This generalized skepticism toward the study of the University of Indiana served to encourage several experiments that sought to deny or verify the results. Thus, Sander van der Linden decided to carry out another similar study, this time with a sample of 2,000 people, to try to bring some light to this issue.

The new study yielded very similar data and conclusions

To the surprise of van der Linden himself, his studio (recently published in Journal of Personality and Individual Differencesreplicated the findings of the original study . The conclusions of the same were the following:

1. The scale of a single question correlated positively with the 40-item NPI, with a much more complex structure. In summary, both scales proved to correctly measure narcissism.

2 . An important issue to note is that, while the scale based on the NPI model seems to confuse some cases of narcissism with normality or healthy self-esteem, the scale of a single question did not report any correlation with high self-esteem . In other words, the measure does not seem to fail, in the sense that it does not capture people who may have some subclinical traits associated with narcissism, that is, mild cases. This is good news because with a simple question you can discriminate reasonably well with people with a pronounced and unambiguous narcissism.


What is the typical response of a narcissistic person?

At this point where we know how the investigations were made and their proven reliability, I bet you want to know exactly what is expected from someone with narcissistic features .

As we have seen, the question is much simpler than you would expect: "Are you a narcissist?". This is the question you should ask. It may seem counterintuitive, because it is certainly not very often that we ask someone directly about their personality traits (as if that someone could not lie or have an unrealistic view of themselves!), But the truth is that the The case of narcissism is quite special.

Narcissists perceive narcissism as something ... positive

Actually, narcissists do not consider narcissism to be something bad or reprehensible. In fact, they tend to be quite proud of it. A good number of investigations have detected that narcissists often admit without qualms that they behave in a narcissistic way , and they do not feel any discomfort describing themselves as conceited, arrogant, etc. They even seem to strive to be more narcissistic!

It also seems that narcissists are aware that others perceive them less positively compared to how they see themselves, but this simply does not matter to them.

The narcissistic response par excellence

As you can deduce from all the above, Narcissistic people tend to respond "yes" To the question . In this way, they claim themselves as narcissistic people and inflate their ego at the same time.


Discussion

Obviously, the answers do not always coincide with the personality of the respondent. Participants can lie, for any reason. In addition, a simple answer does not indicate neither the degree of narcissism nor the "type". That is, an affirmative answer can be a clear statistical indication that we are dealing with a case of narcissism, but he does not give us more information about it .

You can not have everything: with a simple question you almost never get a real answer, complete and full of nuances.

Conclusions

Ultimately, these studies have made it possible to determine that the question on the SINS scale does not provide us with detailed data on the personality profile of the respondent, but it does reasonably well measure the presence or absence of narcissism .


From now on, when you want to know if someone in your environment is or is not narcissistic, you can try asking the question: "Are you a narcissist?".


How to Spot a Narcissist in 3 Minutes or Less: Try This Simple Research-Based Narcissist Test (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment détecter un narcissique ... avec une question simple

Comment détecter un narcissique ... avec une question simple

Juin 13, 2021

Il est possible que, à un moment de votre vie, vous vous soyez demandé si cet ami, parent, connaissance ou collègue était un narcissique . C'est compréhensible: de nombreux comportements peuvent être associés à cette catégorie de personnalité, bien qu'il soit difficile de savoir dans quelle mesure ils constituent un problème réel. Dans un article précédent, j'ai déjà parlé du trouble de la personnalité narcissique et de ses caractéristiques.

Mais le texte d'aujourd'hui va plus loin en commençant par une question qui, de l'avis des experts, parvient à démasquer toute personne narcissique à qui la question est posée.

Personnalité narcissique: facile ou difficile à détecter?

Si vous souhaitez identifier une personne présentant des caractéristiques narcissiques, vous avez trois options. La première consiste à accompagner cette personne chez un professionnel de la santé mentale capable de poser un diagnostic sur sa personnalité. La deuxième option consiste à apprendre à administrer Outil de diagnostic de 40 items de la Inventaire de la personnalité narcissiqueet convaincre cette personne de répondre au test.


Une étude donne la clé

Évidemment, ces deux options mentionnées sont un peu compliquées à réaliser pour la plupart des mortels. Heureusement, il existe une troisième option, qui s'appuie également sur plusieurs études scientifiques qui viennent de sortir du four.

Sara Konrath et son équipe de l'Université de l'Indiana, aux États-Unis, ont réussi à développer une échelle diagnostique du narcissisme d'une seule question . Ce n'est pas habituel, car les échelles sont généralement composées d'un grand nombre d'éléments. L’échelle développée par ces universitaires est l’appel Échelle de narcissisme à élément unique (Péchés).

Scepticisme raisonnable

Lorsque la nouvelle que Konrath et ses collaborateurs avaient atteint une échelle unique a fait l’objet d’une vague de presse, la plupart des milieux universitaires et scientifiques se sont montrés très sceptiques quant à la question en question. "Es-tu narcissique?" pourrait établir une distinction entre les sujets ayant une propension cliniquement significative au narcissisme et ceux qui ne le sont pas. Surtout, cela semblait peu probable étant donné que le narcissisme est un profil de personnalité complexe et multidimensionnel . Personnellement, ma réaction à la lecture du titre de Psychology Today a été de penser: "Un autre article plus sensationnaliste".


Ce scepticisme généralisé à l’égard de l’étude de l’Université d’Indiana a encouragé plusieurs expériences visant à nier ou à vérifier les résultats. Sander van der Linden a donc décidé de mener une autre étude similaire, cette fois-ci sur un échantillon de 2 000 personnes, dans le but de faire la lumière sur ce problème.

La nouvelle étude a produit des données et des conclusions très similaires

À la surprise de van der Linden lui-même, son studio (publié récemment dans Journal de la personnalité et des différences individuellesreproduit les conclusions de l'étude originale . Les conclusions de la même étaient les suivantes:

1. L'échelle d'une seule question était en corrélation positive avec l'INP à 40 éléments, avec une structure beaucoup plus complexe. En résumé, les deux échelles ont permis de mesurer correctement le narcissisme.

2 . Un problème important à noter est que, bien que l’échelle basée sur le modèle NPI semble confondre certains cas de narcissisme avec la normalité ou une bonne estime de soi, l'échelle d'une seule question n'a signalé aucune corrélation avec une haute estime de soi . En d'autres termes, la mesure ne semble pas échouer, en ce sens qu'elle ne prend pas en compte les personnes susceptibles de présenter des traits subcliniques associés au narcissisme, c'est-à-dire des cas bénins. C'est une bonne nouvelle, car avec une question simple, vous pouvez faire une discrimination raisonnable avec les personnes atteintes d'un narcissisme prononcé et non ambigu.


Quelle est la réponse typique d'une personne narcissique?

À ce stade où nous savons comment les enquêtes ont été menées et leur fiabilité prouvée, Je parie que vous voulez savoir exactement ce que l'on attend de quelqu'un avec des caractéristiques narcissiques .

Comme nous l’avons vu, la question est beaucoup plus simple que ce à quoi on pourrait s’attendre: "Es-tu narcissique?". C'est la question que vous devriez poser. Cela peut sembler contre-intuitif, car ce n’est certainement pas très souvent si nous interrogeons directement une personne sur ses traits de personnalité Le cas du narcissisme est assez spécial.

Les narcissiques perçoivent le narcissisme comme quelque chose de positif

En réalité, les narcissistes ne considèrent pas le narcissisme comme quelque chose de mauvais ou de répréhensible. En fait, ils ont tendance à en être très fiers. Bon nombre d'enquêtes ont révélé que les narcissistes admettent souvent sans scrupule qu'ils se comportent de manière narcissique , et ils ne ressentent aucune gêne à se décrire comme vaniteux, arrogant, etc. Ils semblent même s'efforcer d'être plus narcissiques!

Il semble également que les narcissistes soient conscients que les autres les perçoivent moins positivement que ce qu’ils se voient eux-mêmes, mais cela n’a tout simplement pas d’importance pour eux.

La réponse narcissique par excellence

Comme vous pouvez le déduire de tout ce qui précède, Les narcissiques ont tendance à réagir "oui " à la question . De cette manière, ils se revendiquent comme des narcissiques et gonflent leur ego en même temps.


Discussion

De toute évidence, les réponses ne coïncident pas toujours avec la personnalité du répondant. Les participants peuvent mentir, pour n'importe quelle raison. De plus, une réponse simple n’indique ni le degré de narcissisme ni le "type". C'est-à-dire qu'une réponse affirmative peut constituer une indication statistique claire qu'il s'agit d'un cas de narcissisme. mais il ne nous donne pas plus d'informations à ce sujet .

Vous ne pouvez pas tout avoir: avec une simple question, vous n’obtenez presque jamais une vraie réponse, complète et nuancée.

Conclusions

En fin de compte, ces études ont permis de déterminer que la question de l'échelle SINS ne nous fournissait pas de données détaillées sur le profil de personnalité du répondant, mais il mesure assez bien la présence ou l'absence de narcissisme .


À partir de maintenant, si vous voulez savoir si quelqu'un dans votre environnement est ou n'est pas narcissique, vous pouvez essayer de poser la question suivante: "Êtes-vous narcissique?".


Comment Démasquer Un ou Une Pervers Narcissique Et S'En Libérer Définitivement (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes