yes, therapy helps!
How to differentiate between love and friendship: 4 tips

How to differentiate between love and friendship: 4 tips

May 24, 2022

Friendship is also a type of love, although this affective bond is not like the one that is at the base of couple relationships, traditionally associated with romantic love, which we normally consider the form of "love" by default.

However, the field of emotions is almost always complex and difficult to foresee. Having a realistic understanding of our own feelings is an art, and getting it is the exception, not the rule. Because, there are those who hesitate to differentiate between love and friendship . Exactly of this subject we will speak in the following lines.

  • Related article: "The 4 types of love: what different kinds of love are there?"

Differentiate the love of friendship: how to know what I feel?

The first thing to understand when proposing to distinguish between affection for friendship and romantic love, is that both experiences are mediated by the way in which our culture has influenced our way of being, thinking and feeling.


That means, among other things, that what you feel does not arise from your body coded in categories clearly separated from each other, as we might expect if the emotions were like the elements of a periodic table. Part of what we feel is how we interpret it, so that concerns and beliefs about what we are experiencing affect, in practice, that emotion .

Part of the difficulty of distinguishing between love and friendship is, then, knowing how to distinguish between what that person makes us feel and what makes us feel the experience of knowing that we are developing an affective bond whose nature we still have to understand. The expectations generated by the fact of feeling something for someone they play a role in how we want to relate to her and in how that person reacts in case of interacting with her.


That said, let's look at several tips on what to do to distinguish between love and friendship.

1. Is there chemistry in privacy?

Intimacy is a key aspect of romantic relationships . However, do not confuse it with the sexual connection. Asexual people are not by definition deprived of the experience of love, but it is true that they do not feel a very intense sexual connection towards someone in particular.

This chemistry in the intimacy typical of love, then, in most cases also affects the sexual, but is not limited to this and is present in many other forms of physical relationships: hugs, kisses, caresses, mutual care ... Normally, if what there is is friendship, a large part of these experiences are not seen as necessary, although there are always exceptions.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 7 myths of romantic love"

2. Is there willingness to compromise?

In love relationships, the people involved tend to want to establish minimum commitment. Therefore, if some time passes without the other person having tried to contact them, for example, disappointment and sadness appear .


This commitment is not equivalent to what has traditionally been considered "fidelity" based on a monogamous model, but has to do with the broader meaning of the word: make sacrifices and agreements to keep the bond alive and make it have its place in the future, instead of leaving everything to improvisation or sporadic encounters. A person who sees an unjustified imposition on this idea of ​​basing their relationship with the other in a certain degree of commitment, will probably be feeling friendship, and not conventional love.


3. Make sure that pity does not play a role

There are couple relationships that begin because one of their members feels a mixture of affection and compassion for a person whom they consider helpless and alone. This experience, although based on compassion, generates obvious problems. On the one hand, it perpetuates the idea that a person is alone unless they have a partner with whom they have a romantic love bond, something that is clearly wrong, and on the other, facilitates that the other generates wrong expectations .

Therefore, another of the necessary but not sufficient conditions to distinguish between friendship and love is to make sure that the time and activities shared with that person are not based on pity. For example, we can perform small experiments based on imagination, such as imagining that that person starts dating another one with which it is clear that there is a correspondent love connection. How does that make us feel? If the answer has something to do with relief, it is very possible that it is friendship .


4. Analyze the intensity of emotion

Normally, friendships are seen as something flexible, which can stop being on the scene for a while so that, some time later, they reappear.However, in the case of love the emotion is usually so intense that the idea of ​​interrupting the relationship even temporarily is experienced dramatically and clearly painful, and feeling a strong mourning for this loss.

The emotions felt through love are too intense for us to be comfortable with the experience of not knowing if tomorrow that person will still be there for us.

This "rigidity" in the way we assess whether our expectations are being met or not is another key that can help us distinguish between friendship and love.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment différencier amour et amitié: 4 conseils

Comment différencier amour et amitié: 4 conseils

Décembre 9, 2021

L'amitié est aussi un type d'amour, bien que ce lien affectif ne ressemble pas à celui qui est à la base des relations de couple, traditionnellement associé à l'amour romantique, que nous considérons normalement comme la forme "d'amour" par défaut.

Cependant, le champ des émotions est presque toujours complexe et difficile à prévoir. Avoir une compréhension réaliste de nos propres sentiments est un art et l'obtenir est l'exception et non la règle. Pour cela, il y a ceux qui hésitent à faire la différence entre l'amour et l'amitié . Exactement de ce sujet, nous allons parler dans les lignes suivantes.

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 types d’amour: quels sont les différents types d’amour?"

Différencier l'amour de l'amitié: comment savoir ce que je ressens?

La première chose à comprendre lorsque vous proposez de faire la distinction entre l’affection pour l’amitié et l’amour romantique est que les deux expériences sont influencées par la manière dont notre culture a influencé notre façon d’être, de penser et de ressentir.


Cela signifie, entre autres choses, que ce que vous ressentez ne provient pas de votre corps, codé dans des catégories clairement séparées les unes des autres, comme on pourrait s'y attendre si les émotions ressemblaient aux éléments d'un tableau périodique. Une partie de ce que nous ressentons est la façon dont nous l’interprétons, de sorte que les préoccupations et les croyances concernant ce que nous vivons affecter, dans la pratique, cette émotion .

Une partie de la difficulté à distinguer entre l'amour et l'amitié est donc de savoir comment distinguer ce que cette personne nous fait ressentir et ce qui nous fait ressentir l'expérience de savoir que nous développons un lien affectif dont nous devons encore comprendre la nature. Les attentes générées par le fait de ressentir quelque chose pour quelqu'un ils jouent un rôle dans notre relation avec elle et dans la manière dont cette personne réagit en cas d'interaction avec elle.


Cela dit, examinons plusieurs astuces sur la marche à suivre pour faire la distinction entre amour et amitié.

1. Y a-t-il de la chimie dans l'intimité?

L'intimité est un aspect clé des relations amoureuses . Cependant, ne le confondez pas avec le lien sexuel. Les personnes asexuées ne sont pas, par définition, privées de l'expérience de l'amour, mais il est vrai qu'elles ne ressentent pas un lien sexuel très intense avec une personne en particulier.

Cette chimie dans l'intimité typique de l'amour affecte donc aussi, dans la plupart des cas, les relations sexuelles, mais elle ne se limite pas à cela et est présente dans de nombreuses autres formes de relations physiques: câlins, bisous, caresses, soins mutuels ... Normalement, s'il y a de l'amitié, une grande partie de ces expériences ne sont pas considérées comme nécessaires, bien qu'il y ait toujours des exceptions.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 7 mythes de l'amour romantique"

2. Y a-t-il une volonté de compromis?

Dans les relations amoureuses, les personnes impliquées ont tendance à vouloir établir un engagement minimum. Par conséquent, si un certain temps s'écoule sans que l'autre personne ait tenté de le contacter, par exemple, la déception et la tristesse apparaissent .


Cet engagement n'équivaut pas à ce que l'on considérait traditionnellement comme une "fidélité" basée sur un modèle monogame, mais concerne le sens plus large du mot: faire des sacrifices et des accords pour maintenir le lien en vie et lui donner sa place. à l'avenir, au lieu de tout laisser à l'improvisation ou à des rencontres sporadiques. Une personne qui voit une imposition injustifiée sur cette idée de fonder sa relation avec l'autre dans un certain degré d'engagement ressentira probablement une amitié et non un amour conventionnel.


3. Assurez-vous que la pitié ne joue pas un rôle

Il y a des relations de couple qui commencent parce qu'un de leurs membres ressent un mélange d'affection et de compassion pour une personne qu'elle considère comme impuissante et seule. Cette expérience, bien que basée sur la compassion, génère des problèmes évidents. D'un côté, cela perpétue l'idée qu'une personne est seule à moins d'avoir un partenaire avec qui elle a un lien amoureux romantique, ce qui est manifestement faux, et de l'autre, facilite que l'autre génère des attentes erronées .

Par conséquent, une autre des conditions nécessaires mais non suffisantes pour distinguer l’amitié de l’amour est de s’assurer que le temps et les activités partagés avec cette personne ne sont pas basés sur la pitié. Par exemple, nous pouvons réaliser de petites expériences basées sur l’imagination, comme imaginer que cette personne commence à sortir avec une autre avec laquelle il est clair qu’il existe un lien d’amour correspondant. Comment ça nous fait sentir? Si la réponse a quelque chose à voir avec le soulagement, il est très possible que ce soit une amitié .


4. Analyser l'intensité de l'émotion

Normalement, les amitiés sont perçues comme quelque chose de flexible, qui peut cesser d'être sur la scène pendant un certain temps, de sorte qu'elles réapparaissent quelque temps plus tard.Cependant, dans le cas de l'amour, l'émotion est généralement si intense que l'idée d'interrompre la relation, même temporairement, est vécue de manière dramatique et clairement douloureux, et ressentant un profond deuil pour cette perte.

Les émotions ressenties à travers l'amour sont trop intenses pour que nous puissions être à l'aise avec l'expérience de ne pas savoir si demain cette personne sera toujours là pour nous.

Cette "rigidité" dans la manière dont nous évaluons si nos attentes sont satisfaites ou non est une autre clé qui peut nous aider à faire la distinction entre amitié et amour.


Différence : Amour VS Amitié (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes