yes, therapy helps!
How to educate children on the use of the Internet: 10 tips

How to educate children on the use of the Internet: 10 tips

November 27, 2021

The Internet and the new information and communication technologies are recently emerged elements that have nevertheless completely transformed society. Nowadays most young people see almost inconceivable a world without WhatsApp, Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat or YouTube. But although today's children are born in a world where these applications, social networks and technologies are ubiquitous , they are not born knowing how to use them, and although they are powerful and very useful tools that make life and communication easier, they also have their risks.

Therefore, it is necessary to teach children to use them. How to educate children on the use of the Internet to make good use of this resource? In this article we propose to offer some guidelines and advice in this regard.


  • Related article: "FOMO syndrome: feeling that the life of others is more interesting"

Digital natives

Many of us remember a time in our life when the Internet was a concept completely unknown to the majority of the population. Even for those of us who were born in the 90s, when the subject was already a little more developed, it was something new and strange to what we had to adapt at the time. Other people saw him being born in later moments of their lives, having greater complications to understand its operation.

Since then the network of networks has evolved in an incredible way , increasing its potential and allowing the emergence of multiple technologies and basic applications in our day to day. Children today are already digital natives (concept proposed by Prensky in 2001), born in an environment in which new technologies are already fully integrated. This fact makes that there are differences with respect to past generations, even at the neurological level.


They have greater ability to multitask, greater flexibility and greater decision-making capacity, but at the same time less memory capacity, less perseverance and less ability to delay gratifications and results.

How to educate children on the use of the Internet

Networks are a powerful tool that facilitates multiple tasks and communication at a distance, but they also have a dark side. The fraudulent use of networks, online scams, cybercriminals , grooming and cyberbullying are examples of this. Learning to use new technologies is essential to be able to make good use of them. And that is why below we indicate a series of tips to help educate in its use ..

1. Learn

When it comes to educating children and adolescents in the use of new technologies we have to take into account a very relevant factor: while many of us have seen the birth of the Internet as something that has happened throughout our lives, the new generations have been born with them as an element present throughout the world . For them it is something that is natural and intuitive.


2. Update yourself

The technology advances very quickly, and it would be advisable that we should be informed of the characteristics of the novelties and the different networks in order to be able to educate with knowledge of the cause. It is fundamentally about being updated and know the type of digital environments they inhabit and the connections they have today . For example, it is not the same to use places where the very young are the majority, like Instagram or Curiouscat.me, than internet forums about philosophy or technology.

3. Talk about their risks

Networks are something that is taken for granted and there is generally a great perception of security around them. It is necessary to explain to minors that although they have many advantages, they also have their risks, and expose them clearly. It's not about being scared without foundation , but to show that there are important risks.

4. Do not prohibit the use of the network

As we mentioned before, the use of information and communication technologies or ICT is an element present in our lives, and in the case of current children since birth. Some people may think that prohibiting their use can be a way to avoid possible misuses and problems. However, this is an almost ubiquitous tool in our day to day and it is advisable to learn to manage promptly. Prohibiting would only make the child not aware of how it works and if he were to use them they could run a much greater danger due to ignorance. We must supervise, not prohibit.

5. Generate limits and rules of use

Not prohibiting does not imply against the uncontrolled use of the networks by the minor.It is necessary to establish norms and schedules of use, especially when children are small, in order to learn to balance the use of networks with other activities, both duties and obligations as leisure forms.

6. Navigating together

The best way to teach is to set an example. Surfing the net with children and showing them different technologies, applications, games and information can be a way to let them see the wonders of technology while being educated on how to use it. In addition, it means sharing a moment with children that can be a source of learning, fun and strengthening links.

7. The role of privacy

Although partly associated with the risk point, this element stands out as fundamental and one of the most important consequences. Making them understand what privacy is and the importance of each of the data they publish, what should or should not be published and the associated risks and how to protect that privacy is one of the fundamental aspects for the education and protection of minors in relation to virtual environments.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Fatigue of privacy: mental health damaged by social networks"

8. Parental control

The creation of safe virtual environments is appropriate in young children, in such a way that contents that might be offensive or traumatic for minors are blocked.

9. Interested

Another aspect of great relevance is the fact that the adult, family member or caregiver in charge of the child is interested in their activity in the network. Not invasive or demanding, but communicative and in the form of support. Many problems in the network are not communicated to the parents because of fear or shame, when our help could help solve problems that may arise . The type of relationship we establish with the relationship between the child and the networks can greatly influence the level of trust and the communication of problems in that area.

10. Respect your privacy

As they grow, children will increasingly demand greater privacy and privacy. Reviewing the text messages they receive or their Facebook is not pleasant for virtually any teenager and can generate a perception of distrust towards him or her.


7 Parenting Tips to Deal With a Naughty Child (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment éduquer les enfants à l'utilisation d'Internet: 10 conseils

Comment éduquer les enfants à l'utilisation d'Internet: 10 conseils

Novembre 29, 2022

Internet et les nouvelles technologies de l'information et de la communication sont des éléments récemment apparus qui ont néanmoins complètement transformé la société. De nos jours, la plupart des jeunes voient presque inconcevable un monde sans WhatsApp, Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat ou YouTube. Mais bien Les enfants d'aujourd'hui naissent dans un monde où ces applications, réseaux sociaux et technologies sont omniprésents. , ils ne sont pas nés en sachant les utiliser, et bien qu’ils soient des outils puissants et très utiles pour faciliter la vie et la communication, ils comportent aussi des risques.

Par conséquent, il est nécessaire d'apprendre aux enfants à les utiliser. Comment éduquer les enfants à l'utilisation d'Internet faire bon usage de cette ressource? Dans cet article, nous proposons d’offrir quelques directives et conseils à cet égard.


  • Article connexe: "Syndrome FOMO: sentir que la vie des autres est plus intéressante"

Natifs numériques

Beaucoup d’entre nous se souviennent d’une époque de notre vie où Internet était un concept totalement inconnu de la majorité de la population. Même pour ceux d’entre nous qui sont nés dans les années 90, alors que le sujet était déjà un peu plus développé, c’était quelque chose de nouveau et d’étrange à ce que nous devions adapter à l’époque. D'autres personnes l'ont vu naître à des moments ultérieurs de leur vie, avec de plus grandes complications pour comprendre son fonctionnement.

Depuis lors, le réseau de réseaux a évolué de manière incroyable , en augmentant son potentiel et en permettant l’apparition de multiples technologies et applications de base au quotidien. Les enfants d’aujourd’hui sont déjà des natifs numériques (concept proposé par Prensky en 2001), nés dans un environnement dans lequel les nouvelles technologies sont déjà pleinement intégrées. Ce fait fait qu'il existe des différences par rapport aux générations passées, même au niveau neurologique.


Ils ont une plus grande capacité à effectuer plusieurs tâches, une plus grande flexibilité et une plus grande capacité de prise de décision, mais en même temps moins de capacité de mémoire, moins de persévérance et moins de capacité à retarder les gratifications et les résultats.

Comment éduquer les enfants à l'utilisation d'Internet

Les réseaux sont un outil puissant qui facilite la réalisation de tâches multiples et la communication à distance, mais ils ont également un côté obscur. Utilisation frauduleuse de réseaux, escroqueries en ligne, cybercriminels , le toilettage et la cyberintimidation en sont des exemples. Apprendre à utiliser les nouvelles technologies est essentiel pour pouvoir les utiliser correctement. Et c’est pourquoi, ci-dessous, nous indiquons une série de conseils pour éduquer son utilisation.

1. apprendre

Pour éduquer les enfants et les adolescents à l’utilisation des nouvelles technologies, nous devons prendre en compte un facteur très important: même si beaucoup d’entre nous ont vu dans la naissance d’Internet quelque chose qui s’est passé tout au long de notre vie, les nouvelles générations sont nées avec elles comme un élément présent dans le monde entier . Pour eux, c'est quelque chose de naturel et d'intuitif.


2. Mettez-vous à jour

La technologie avance très rapidement et il serait souhaitable que nous soyons informés des caractéristiques des nouveautés et des différents réseaux afin de pouvoir éduquer en connaissance de cause. Il s'agit fondamentalement d'être mis à jour et connaître le type d'environnement numérique qu'ils habitent et les connexions qu'ils ont aujourd'hui . Par exemple, ce n’est pas la même chose d’utiliser des forums où les très jeunes sont majoritaires, comme Instagram ou Curiouscat.me, que des forums Internet sur la philosophie ou la technologie.

3. Parlez de leurs risques

Les réseaux sont pris pour acquis et la sécurité est généralement perçue comme une source de sécurité. Il est nécessaire d'expliquer aux mineurs que, même s'ils présentent de nombreux avantages, ils comportent également des risques et les exposent clairement. Il ne s'agit pas d'avoir peur sans fondement , mais pour montrer qu’il existe des risques importants.

4. Ne pas interdire l'utilisation du réseau

Comme nous l’avons déjà mentionné, l’utilisation des technologies de l’information et de la communication ou des TIC est un élément présent dans nos vies, et dans le cas des enfants actuels depuis la naissance. Certaines personnes peuvent penser que l'interdiction de leur utilisation peut être un moyen d'éviter d'éventuels abus et problèmes. Cependant, il s'agit d'un outil presque omniprésent dans notre quotidien et il est conseillé d'apprendre à gérer rapidement. Interdire ne ferait que rendre l'enfant non conscient de son fonctionnement et, s'il l'utilisait, il pourrait courir un risque beaucoup plus grand du fait de son ignorance. Nous devons superviser, pas interdire.

5. Générer des limites et des règles d'utilisation

Ne pas interdire n'implique pas contre l'utilisation incontrôlée des réseaux par le mineur.Il est nécessaire d’établir des normes et des calendriers d’utilisation, en particulier lorsque les enfants sont petits, pour apprendre à équilibrer l’utilisation des réseaux avec d’autres activités, devoirs et obligations comme formes de loisirs.

6. Naviguer ensemble

La meilleure façon d'enseigner est de donner l'exemple. Surfer sur le net avec les enfants et leur montrer différentes technologies, applications, jeux et informations peut être un moyen de leur permettre de voir les merveilles de la technologie tout en s'initiant à son utilisation. De plus, cela signifie partager avec les enfants un moment qui peut être une source d’apprentissage, de divertissement et de renforcement des liens.

7. Le rôle de la vie privée

Bien que partiellement associé au point de risque, cet élément apparaît comme fondamental et l’une des conséquences les plus importantes. Leur faire comprendre ce qu'est la vie privée et l'importance de chacune des données qu'ils publient, ce qui devrait ou ne devrait pas être publié, ainsi que les risques associés et la façon de protéger cette vie privée un des aspects fondamentaux pour l'éducation et la protection des mineurs en relation avec les environnements virtuels.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Fatigue de la vie privée: la santé mentale endommagée par les réseaux sociaux"

8. Contrôle parental

La création d'environnements virtuels sécurisés est appropriée chez les jeunes enfants, de manière à bloquer les contenus potentiellement offensants ou traumatisants pour les mineurs.

9. Intéressé

Un autre aspect très important est le fait que l'adulte, le membre de la famille ou le responsable de l'enfant est intéressé par leur activité dans le réseau. Non invasif ou exigeant, mais communicatif et sous forme de soutien. De nombreux problèmes du réseau ne sont pas communiqués aux parents en raison de la peur ou de la honte, notre aide pourrait aider à résoudre les problèmes qui pourraient survenir . Le type de relation que nous établissons avec la relation entre l’enfant et les réseaux peut grandement influencer le niveau de confiance et la communication des problèmes dans ce domaine.

10. Respectez votre vie privée

À mesure qu'ils grandissent, les enfants exigeront de plus en plus d'intimité et de respect de la vie privée. Examiner les messages texte qu'ils reçoivent ou leur Facebook n'est pas agréable pour la plupart des adolescents et peut générer une impression de méfiance envers lui.


Enfants et internet : conseils aux parents (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes