yes, therapy helps!
How to educate the emotions of children, in 3 keys (and benefits)

How to educate the emotions of children, in 3 keys (and benefits)

June 17, 2024

Emotional intelligence is one of those forgotten concepts that are missing when we review how we are educating our children. This concept, developed by psychologists such as Daniel Goleman, contemplates the emotional and introspective aspect as an area of ​​special interest when children grow up with good psychological and relational health.

But nevertheless, in a few families and educational institutions, enough effort is devoted to educating the emotions of children . Whether due to lack of time, scarce resources or an educational scheme stagnant in the past, emotions have been underestimated and our children grow up without certain educational guidelines that help them improve self-control, self-esteem, assertiveness or the way of relating. and communicate with other people.


How to educate the emotions? Several psychological keys

Over the past few decades, more and more parents and schools have become aware of the vital importance of the emotional state of children in their academic performance and happiness.

So, What psychological and educational keys can we use to improve the emotional state of children? We review them below.

1. Value the process and not so much the result

Sometimes adults are too focused on the performance of our children: what grades they get on their exams, what their IQ level is, how they compare with other classmates ... This attitude makes them dependent on the resultant praise, and transmits a totally wrong message: the value of the activity they perform depends on whether they are able to solve it correctly .


In the case of advantaged children and those who are good at solving problems (who are not necessarily the most intelligent or those who will have a more promising future), they are positively reinforced by their achievement, but the process is rarely valued. have been carried out to achieve that result. In this way, they are also taught that the enjoyment of activity is totally secondary, since the important thing is that they have been able to solve the problem. As we see, it is not a good strategy.


In addition, in children with a divergent type of thinking and / or those who find it more difficult to solve problems, they are also taught that they are not able to reach a satisfactory conclusion, which may result in the Pygmalion Effect. The importance of enjoying the thought process and the task is not transmitted to them either, since the only important thing is to achieve an objectively correct result.


To avoid this result scheme, it is important to emphasize the thought process, the motivation of the student to fit the pieces of the puzzle, and give the necessary attention and feedback (not excessive) so that he himself will discover the path that leads to the correct result.


2. Perform emotional introspection games

Something as simple as playing guess and defining the emotions of other people can help children recognize, identify and reflect on anger, anger, guilt, shame, joy ...

There are different activities and games that pursue this purpose in one way or another . As parents (or teachers), we can build on these games to ask the children how they felt such emotions, how they felt exactly, what caused them, how they went back to normal, etc.

3. Relaxation

Relaxation allows children to momentarily disconnect from the host of stimuli they receive and reconnect with their breathing, their body, their muscles, their heartbeats ... It is a technique that, when well used, brings great cognitive, emotional and behavioral benefits .


In fact, in many schools they are already implementing some relaxation sessions. These sessions have great benefits, as reported by this study from the University of Valladolid led by Beatriz Peón.


What are the benefits of emotional education?

Emotional learning involves a series of benefits for our children and students. It gives them certain psychological tools to build a vision of their life, of themselves and their environment much more positive. It also helps them manage their fears and conflicts.

Children who develop good emotional intelligence are able to:

  • Increase your resilience, that is, recover before the obstacles and bad feelings you feel at a certain time.

  • Have an optimistic but moderate view of its possibilities.

  • Be more proactive, getting more involved in their tasks and developing new interests.


  • Express their emotions in such a way that they are better able to face relational and personal challenges.

  • Encourage good self-esteem and self-confidence.

  • Be more cooperative and better manage conflicts and group demands.


Why We Need to Foster Emotional Intelligence in Our Kids l SuperSoul Sunday l Oprah Winfrey Network (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment éduquer les émotions des enfants en 3 clés (et avantages)

Comment éduquer les émotions des enfants en 3 clés (et avantages)

Août 4, 2022

L'intelligence émotionnelle est l'un de ces concepts oubliés qui font défaut lorsque nous examinons la manière dont nous éduquons nos enfants. Ce concept, développé par des psychologues tels que Daniel Goleman, envisage l’aspect émotionnel et introspectif comme un domaine d’intérêt particulier lorsque les enfants grandissent avec une bonne santé psychologique et relationnelle.

Cependant, dans quelques familles et établissements d'enseignement, des efforts suffisants sont consacrés à l'éducation des émotions des enfants . Que ce soit par manque de temps, par manque de ressources ou par un système éducatif stagnant dans le passé, les émotions ont été sous-estimées et nos enfants ont grandi sans certaines directives pédagogiques les aidant à améliorer leur maîtrise de soi, leur estime de soi, leur confiance en soi et leurs relations. et communiquer avec d'autres personnes.


Comment éduquer les émotions? Plusieurs clés psychologiques

Au cours des dernières décennies, de plus en plus de parents et d’écoles ont pris conscience de l’importance vitale de l’état émotionnel des enfants dans leurs résultats scolaires et leur bonheur.

Pourtant, Quelles clés psychologiques et éducatives pouvons-nous utiliser pour améliorer l'état émotionnel des enfants? Nous les passons en revue ci-dessous.

1. Valoriser le processus et non le résultat

Parfois, les adultes sont trop concentrés sur la performance de nos enfants: quelles notes obtiennent-ils à leurs examens, quel est leur niveau de QI, comment se comparent-ils à leurs camarades de classe ... Cette attitude les rend dépendants de la louange qui en résulte, et transmet un message totalement faux: la valeur de l'activité qu'ils exercent dépend de leur capacité à la résoudre correctement .


Dans le cas des enfants favorisés et de ceux qui savent bien résoudre des problèmes (qui ne sont pas nécessairement les plus intelligents ni ceux qui auront un avenir plus prometteur), leur réussite les renforce, mais le processus est rarement valorisé. ont été effectués pour atteindre ce résultat. De cette manière, on leur enseigne également que le plaisir de l'activité physique est totalement secondaire, car l'important est d'avoir pu résoudre le problème. Comme on le voit, ce n’est pas une bonne stratégie.


En outre, chez les enfants ayant un type de pensée différent et / ou ceux qui trouvent qu'il est plus difficile de résoudre les problèmes, on leur apprend également qu'ils ne sont pas en mesure de parvenir à une conclusion satisfaisante, ce qui peut entraîner l'effet Pygmalion. L'importance de jouir du processus de pensée et de la tâche ne leur est pas transmise non plus, car la seule chose importante est d'obtenir un résultat objectivement correct.


Pour éviter ce schéma de résultats, il est important de mettre l’accent sur le processus de réflexion, la motivation de l’élève pour s’ajuster aux pièces du casse-tête, et de donner l’attention et les retours nécessaires (non excessifs) afin que lui-même découvre le chemin qui mène au résultat correct.


2. Effectuer des jeux d'introspection émotionnelle

Quelque chose d'aussi simple que de deviner et de définir les émotions des autres peut aider les enfants à reconnaître, à identifier et à réfléchir sur la colère, la colère, la culpabilité, la honte, la joie ...

Il existe différentes activités et jeux qui poursuivent cet objectif d'une manière ou d'une autre . En tant que parents (ou enseignants), nous pouvons nous appuyer sur ces jeux pour demander aux enfants comment ils ont ressenti ces émotions, comment ils se sentaient exactement, ce qui les a causés, comment ils sont revenus à la normale, etc.

3. Détente

La relaxation permet aux enfants de se déconnecter momentanément de l’ensemble des stimuli qu’ils reçoivent et de se reconnecter avec leur respiration, leur corps, leurs muscles, leurs battements de coeur ... C'est une technique qui, bien utilisée, apporte de grands avantages cognitifs, émotionnels et comportementaux .


En fait, de nombreuses écoles organisent déjà des séances de relaxation. Ces sessions ont de grands avantages, comme le rapporte cette étude de l'Université de Valladolid dirigée par Beatriz Peón.


Quels sont les avantages de l'éducation émotionnelle?

L'apprentissage émotionnel comporte une série d'avantages pour nos enfants et nos étudiants. Cela leur donne certains outils psychologiques pour construire une vision de leur vie, d’eux-mêmes et de leur environnement beaucoup plus positive. Cela les aide également à gérer leurs peurs et leurs conflits.

Les enfants qui développent une bonne intelligence émotionnelle sont capables de:

  • Augmentez votre résilience, c’est-à-dire récupérez-vous avant les obstacles et les sentiments négatifs que vous ressentez à un moment donné.

  • Avoir une vision optimiste mais modérée de ses possibilités.

  • Soyez plus proactif, impliquez-vous davantage dans leurs tâches et développez de nouveaux intérêts.


  • Exprimer leurs émotions de manière à ce qu'ils soient mieux à même de faire face aux défis relationnels et personnels.

  • Encouragez la bonne estime de soi et la confiance en soi.

  • Soyez plus coopératif et gérez mieux les conflits et les demandes des groupes.

Articles Connexes