yes, therapy helps!
How to express your emotions: 8 tips

How to express your emotions: 8 tips

February 18, 2024

Virtually no interaction between human beings would make sense if we could not express our emotions. The most important thing in a dialogue, whether in words or without words, is to show desires, intentions, needs and, in general, our way of living emotions. However, doing it the right way is not easy. There are those who do it naturally without needing to think too much about it, but for others it is more complicated.

In this article we will see a series of tips about how to express emotions in a proper way in our personal relationships from day to day.

  • Related article: "The 8 types of emotions (classification and description)"

How to express emotions in 8 steps

Showing what we feel is not only necessary to connect emotionally with other people. In addition, it is therapeutic, necessary. It is complicated to live keeping what we feel , especially if it has to do with experiences with a strong emotional charge.


But where there are conversations, there are also certain dynamics of self-censorship. The fear of what they will say, to give a bad image ... All this makes it not easy to open up to others . Bearing this in mind, expressing feelings is not easy, since it implies showing our most personal and, at times, even intimate side.

However, virtue is in equilibrium, and there is always a way of keeping certain topics too intimate to be shared in any way and expressing what can be revealed, without letting misunderstandings arise. So, let's look at several tips on how to express emotions when relating to others.


1. Map your feelings

It is impossible to express emotion if you do not have a rough idea about what that feeling is . For this reason, it is important to stop and reflect first or in the best possible way in which words can be adjusted to that experience.


So, if necessary, write down on a sheet of paper how you feel, in the most structured way possible. Of course, do not obsess about accuracy, because in the end feelings can never be completely reflected by language: even resorting to metaphors, there will always be facets of them that can not be communicated. Try that the most important thing is translated into words.

This step is important especially at the beginning, not only because of the lack of practice that exists in this phase. Also, it is because if you do not go through this phase, it's easy for us to get stuck , and these situations are usually so unpleasant that they are capable of making us discouraged and that we stop trying to continue making progress in this sense.

2. Do not expect too much

This advice is derived from the previous one. Do not expect too much believing that the passage of time will give you tools to express yourself better. That alone will make you constantly postpone the task of expressing yourself, and Never leave your comfort zone .

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to get out of your comfort zone? 7 keys to achieve it"

3. Choose the time and place well

The context also has communicative power. It is not the same to open up to someone during the course of a university class, than in ** a quiet place without noise **. Therefore, look for a context that adapts to the content you want to convey and that does not lead to confusion.

4. Determine the purpose

What is the purpose you are looking for when expressing what you feel? ¿You just want to vent, or make sure that the other person understands everything you say and help you solve a problem? From this information, it will be easier for you to adapt to the following tips according to your needs.


5. Make sure you do not rely on abstractions alone

To express feelings, abstract concepts must be used, such as "helplessness" or "fear", but it is important to complement this with other content that refers to more concrete and easy to identify elements. That's why it's good use examples from past concrete experiences that give way to a description of objective facts. In this way, the other person will not be lost.

6. Create a narration

Do not limit yourself to describing what you feel in a static way, as if those emotions and feelings were something static. If you show its evolution over time, everything will be more understandable and the other person will be able to identify better with you. Explain why you feel this way and how your emotions emerged.

7. Worry about knowing if you understand

Give the other person the opportunity to ask you if they do not understand something, put yourself in their place, change the formulation of your sentences if you are using unknown references for your interlocutor or interlocutor ... In short, avoid that this experience is a monologue.

8Learn from your mistakes

Human relationships are always imperfect, and that's why there is always something to improve . Every time you decide to express your feelings, be sure to mentally review what happened, and take note of your mistakes to correct them and learn from them. Practice and repetition will lead you to improve in this type of skills, as it happens in the rest.


Tony Robbins Tips On Changing The Way You Feel (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment exprimer ses émotions: 8 conseils

Comment exprimer ses émotions: 8 conseils

Décembre 4, 2022

Pratiquement aucune interaction entre les êtres humains n'aurait de sens si nous ne pouvions pas exprimer nos émotions. La chose la plus importante dans un dialogue, que ce soit en paroles ou sans paroles, est de montrer les désirs, les intentions, les besoins et, en général, notre façon de vivre les émotions. Cependant, le faire de la bonne façon n'est pas facile. Il y a ceux qui le font naturellement sans avoir besoin de trop y penser, mais pour d'autres c'est plus compliqué.

Dans cet article, nous verrons une série de conseils sur la façon d'exprimer des émotions de manière appropriée dans nos relations personnelles au jour le jour.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 types d'émotions (classification et description)"

Comment exprimer ses émotions en 8 étapes

Montrer ce que nous ressentons n'est pas seulement nécessaire pour nouer des liens émotionnels avec d'autres personnes. En plus, c'est thérapeutique, nécessaire. C'est compliqué de vivre en gardant ce que l'on ressent , surtout s’il s’agit d’expériences à forte charge émotionnelle.


Mais là où il y a des conversations, il y a aussi une certaine dynamique d'autocensure. La peur de ce qu'ils vont dire, pour donner une mauvaise image ... Tout cela rend difficile l'ouverture aux autres . Garder cela à l'esprit, exprimer des sentiments n'est pas facile, car cela implique de montrer notre côté le plus personnel et, parfois, le plus intime.

Cependant, la vertu est en équilibre et il existe toujours un moyen de garder certains sujets trop intimes pour être partagés de quelque manière que ce soit et d'exprimer ce qui peut être révélé, sans laisser apparaître de malentendus. Examinons donc plusieurs astuces pour exprimer ses émotions en relation avec les autres.


1. Cartographiez vos sentiments

Il est impossible d'exprimer une émotion si vous n'avez pas une idée approximative de ce que ce sentiment est . Pour cette raison, il est important de s’arrêter et de réfléchir d’abord ou de la meilleure manière possible à l’ajustement des mots à cette expérience.


Donc, si nécessaire, écrivez sur une feuille de papier ce que vous ressentez, de la manière la plus structurée possible. Bien sûr, ne vous laissez pas obséder par la précision, car au final, les sentiments ne peuvent jamais être complètement reflétés par le langage: même en ayant recours à des métaphores, il y aura toujours des facettes qui ne pourront pas être communiquées. Essayez que la chose la plus importante soit traduite en mots.

Cette étape est importante, en particulier au début, non seulement à cause du manque de pratique qui existe dans cette phase. Aussi, c'est parce que si vous ne passez pas par cette phase, il est facile pour nous de rester bloqués , et ces situations sont généralement si désagréables qu’elles sont capables de nous décourager et que nous cessons d’essayer de continuer à progresser dans ce sens.

2. Ne pas trop attendre

Ce conseil est dérivé du précédent. Ne vous attendez pas trop à croire que le temps qui passe vous donnera des outils pour mieux vous exprimer. Cela seul vous fera constamment repousser la tâche de vous exprimer, et Ne quittez jamais votre zone de confort .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Comment sortir de votre zone de confort? 7 clés pour y parvenir"

3. Choisis bien l'heure et le lieu

Le contexte a aussi un pouvoir de communication. Ce n'est pas la même chose de s'ouvrir à quelqu'un pendant le cours universitaire, que dans ** un endroit calme et sans bruit **. Par conséquent, recherchez un contexte qui s’adapte au contenu que vous souhaitez transmettre et qui ne prête pas à confusion.

4. Déterminer le but

Quel est le but que vous recherchez lorsque vous exprimez ce que vous ressentez? ¿Vous voulez juste vous défouler ou vous assurer que l'autre personne comprend tout ce que vous dites et vous aider à résoudre un problème? À partir de ces informations, il vous sera plus facile de vous adapter aux conseils suivants en fonction de vos besoins.


5. Assurez-vous de ne pas compter uniquement sur des abstractions

Pour exprimer des sentiments, il faut utiliser des concepts abstraits, tels que "impuissance" ou "peur", mais il est important de les compléter avec un autre contenu faisant référence à des éléments plus concrets et faciles à identifier. C'est pourquoi c'est bon utiliser des exemples d'expériences concrètes passées qui cèdent la place à une description de faits objectifs. De cette façon, l'autre personne ne sera pas perdue.

6. Créer une narration

Ne vous limitez pas à décrire ce que vous ressentez de manière statique, comme si ces émotions et ces sentiments étaient quelque chose de statique. Si vous montrez son évolution dans le temps, tout sera plus compréhensible et l'autre personne sera capable de mieux s'identifier avec vous. Expliquez pourquoi vous ressentez cela et comment vos émotions ont émergé.

7. Vous inquiétez pas de savoir si vous comprenez

Donnez à votre interlocuteur l'occasion de vous demander s'il ne comprend pas quelque chose, mettez-vous à sa place, modifiez la formulation de vos phrases si vous utilisez des références inconnues de votre interlocuteur ou de votre interlocuteur ... Bref, évitez que cette expérience soit un monologue.

8Apprenez de vos erreurs

Les relations humaines sont toujours imparfaites, et c'est pourquoi il y a toujours quelque chose à améliorer . Chaque fois que vous décidez d'exprimer vos sentiments, assurez-vous de revoir mentalement ce qui s'est passé et prenez note de vos erreurs pour les corriger et en tirer des leçons. La pratique et la répétition vous amèneront à vous améliorer dans ce type de compétences, comme dans le reste.


Théâtre : exprimer ses émotions (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes