yes, therapy helps!
How to find a psychologist to attend therapy: 7 tips

How to find a psychologist to attend therapy: 7 tips

August 14, 2022

There are those who, knowing that they need to attend psychotherapy, do not dare to throw themselves at it simply because it is difficult for them find a psychologist that suits your needs .

However, the truth is that although some people may find this process intimidating, it is not as complicated as one might think, even in countries where this type of service is not very well regulated. Finding a mental health professional is, among other things thanks to the Internet, something that is increasingly simple and accessible for all types of public.

In the following lines we will see several tips on how to find a psychologist to attend our case in a personalized way, taking into account your knowledge and our main specific needs .


  • Related article: "The 8 benefits of going to psychological therapy"

How do I look for a psychologist to take care of me? 7 steps

Follow these guidelines to find a psychologist or a team of psychologists in a psychology center that suits what you are looking for.

1. Determine the severity and nature of your problem

In practice, even if a psychologist sees that he can not work with a case like the one you are presenting, he will advise you in the best possible way so that someone who is specialized in that kind of problems can treat you. But nevertheless, If you take a little time to think about what happens to you, you will have more chances of hitting the first (taking into account that it is very likely that you do not have an objective and realistic view of what really happens, and that it is normal that even you make mistakes in this regard).


So, ask yourself. The first is what kind of problem you have: is it something that has to do mainly with your social relationships, or does it affect you only in a relatively isolated way? Does it have to do with your feelings, with your perception of things, or with both? Is it something automatic, or something that has to do with your way of making decisions?

The second question is how serious is it, what is the intensity of your discomfort or who come in contact with you.

Depending on these issues, later you should look for psychologists with one or another specialization, and with more or less demanding experience requirements, taking into account your availability and your ability to hire therapy sessions with them.

2. Set your spending limit

You have to be realistic and think long-term, keeping in mind that you will need several hours of work from the psychologist. Therefore, keep in mind all the expenses that this reasonable amount of hours will entail, including seemingly minor aspects such as transportation costs , and set a maximum amount of money to devote to this.


3. Decide if you are looking for face-to-face, online or mixed therapy

Many psychologists offer the possibility of attending to their patients through the Internet, by video call or similar. Therefore, depending on your needs, decide if you are looking for only one of the two ways of attending therapy, both of which are good, depending on the circumstances. This step to find a psychologist has to do with what we will see below.

4. Make a first selection of psychologists

If you are interested in face-to-face therapy, you can search specifically Mental health professionals working in your neighborhood or city , either in your own practice or psychotherapy office, or at home. For this, a very useful tool to find these professionals are the directories of psychologists, such as this, which works to find psychologists in Spain.

You can also search Google, although in this case it may cost you a little more to compare .

At the beginning, it is good that you look at two fundamental criteria: price and location (the latter especially in case you are not interested in online therapy).

5. Make sure you have the official titles to exercise

Check that the people you have selected in the first sweep have their collegiate numbers in the Official College of Psychologists in your country, which will guarantee you that you have made the formative trajectory that enables you to exercise psychological intervention in clinical or health settings.

6. Check your specialties

Do not look only at what the person says to specialize: check that you have the graduate degrees that have brought you bases of experience and theoretical foundations in those clinical areas . Keep in mind that the courses and workshops can be a single weekend, while to receive the Expert title many more hours are necessary, and to obtain a Master's degree you have to invest in it for at least one year.

7. Choose a few professionals and ask

In this last phase of the search, you can learn more in depth about the services offered. If you have doubts, which is likely, ask, but choose well what you are looking for answers and ask your questions to the point; read great texts in which someone who is not a client describes their problems and seeks answers to everything is not to anyone's taste and, in any case, your problems they can only be explored in depth in the evaluation phase , in the first sessions.

So, from this last step, you should already be able to choose.

Bibliographic references:

  • Ardila, R. (2004). Psychology in the Future. Madrid: Pyramid.
  • Morris, C. (1997). Introduction to Psychology. Upper Saddle River: Prentice Hall.

50: Therapists Share Their Favorite Self Care Tips (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment trouver un psychologue pour assister à la thérapie: 7 astuces

Comment trouver un psychologue pour assister à la thérapie: 7 astuces

Janvier 26, 2020

Il y a ceux qui, sachant qu'ils doivent suivre une psychothérapie, n'osent pas s'y lancer simplement parce que c'est difficile pour eux trouver un psychologue adapté à vos besoins .

Cependant, la vérité est que, bien que certaines personnes puissent trouver ce processus intimidant, il n’est pas aussi compliqué qu’on pourrait le penser, même dans les pays où ce type de service n’est pas très bien réglementé. Trouver un professionnel de la santé mentale, entre autres grâce à Internet, devient de plus en plus simple et accessible à tous les publics.

Dans les lignes suivantes, nous verrons plusieurs conseils sur la façon de trouver un psychologue pour traiter notre cas de manière personnalisée. en tenant compte de vos connaissances et de nos principaux besoins spécifiques .


  • Article connexe: "Les 8 avantages de la thérapie psychologique"

Comment chercher un psychologue pour prendre soin de moi? 7 étapes

Suivez ces directives pour trouver un psychologue ou une équipe de psychologues dans un centre de psychologie qui convienne à ce que vous recherchez.

1. Déterminez la gravité et la nature de votre problème

En pratique, même si un psychologue s’aperçoit qu’il ne peut pas travailler avec un cas comme celui que vous présentez, il vous conseillera de la meilleure façon possible pour qu’une personne spécialisée dans ce type de problème puisse vous traiter. Cependant, Si vous prenez un peu de temps pour réfléchir à ce qui vous arrive, vous aurez plus de chances de frapper le premier (sachant qu'il est très probable que vous n’avez pas une vision objective et réaliste de ce qui se passe réellement et qu’il est normal que vous fassiez des erreurs à cet égard).


Alors, demandez-vous. Le premier est votre type de problème: s'agit-il principalement de vos relations sociales ou cela ne vous affecte-t-il que de manière relativement isolée? Est-ce que cela a à voir avec vos sentiments, avec votre perception des choses ou avec les deux? Est-ce quelque chose d'automatique, ou quelque chose qui a à voir avec votre façon de prendre des décisions?

La deuxième question est quelle est la gravité de votre malaise ou qui entrent en contact avec vous.

En fonction de ces problèmes, vous devrez ensuite rechercher des psychologues spécialisés dans une ou plusieurs autres professions et exigeant une expérience plus ou moins exigeante, en tenant compte de votre disponibilité et de votre capacité à organiser des séances de thérapie avec eux.

2. Définissez votre limite de dépenses

Vous devez être réaliste et penser à long terme, en gardant à l'esprit que vous aurez besoin de plusieurs heures de travail du psychologue. Par conséquent, gardez à l’esprit toutes les dépenses que ce nombre raisonnable d’heures entraînera, y compris des aspects apparemment mineurs tels que les coûts de transport , et définir un montant maximum d’argent à consacrer à cela.


3. Décidez si vous recherchez une thérapie en face à face, en ligne ou mixte

De nombreux psychologues offrent la possibilité de soigner leurs patients via Internet, par appel vidéo ou similaire. Par conséquent, en fonction de vos besoins, décidez si vous recherchez une seule des deux façons de suivre un traitement, qui sont toutes les deux bonnes, en fonction des circonstances. Cette étape pour trouver un psychologue a à voir avec ce que nous verrons ci-dessous.

4. Faites une première sélection de psychologues

Si vous êtes intéressé par une thérapie en face à face, vous pouvez rechercher spécifiquement Des professionnels de la santé mentale travaillant dans votre quartier ou votre ville , soit dans votre propre cabinet ou votre cabinet de psychothérapie, soit à domicile. Pour cela, les répertoires des psychologues, comme celui-ci, qui permet de trouver des psychologues en Espagne, constituent un outil très utile pour trouver ces professionnels.

Vous pouvez également rechercher sur Google, bien que dans ce cas, la comparaison peut vous coûter un peu plus cher .

Au début, il est bon que vous examiniez deux critères fondamentaux: le prix et l'emplacement (ce dernier en particulier si vous n'êtes pas intéressé par la thérapie en ligne).

5. Assurez-vous d'avoir les titres officiels à exercer

Vérifiez que les personnes que vous avez sélectionnées dans le premier cycle ont leur numéro collégial dans le Collège officiel des psychologues de votre pays, qui vous garantira que vous avez fait la trajectoire formative qui vous permet d'exercer intervention psychologique en milieu clinique ou de santé.

6. Vérifiez vos spécialités

Ne regardez pas seulement ce que la personne dit spécialiser: vérifiez que vous avez les diplômes d'études supérieures qui vous ont amené bases de l'expérience et des fondements théoriques dans ces domaines cliniques . Gardez à l'esprit que les cours et les ateliers peuvent être un seul week-end, alors que pour recevoir le titre d'Expert, il faut beaucoup plus d'heures. Pour obtenir un master, vous devez y investir pendant au moins un an.

7. Choisissez quelques professionnels et demandez

Dans cette dernière phase de la recherche, vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur les services offerts. Si vous avez des doutes, ce qui est probable, demandez, mais choisissez bien ce que vous cherchez et répondez à la question; lire de bons textes dans lesquels une personne qui n'est pas un client décrit ses problèmes et cherche des réponses à toutes ses questions ne convient pas à tous ils ne peuvent être explorés en profondeur que dans la phase d'évaluation , dans les premières séances.

Donc, à partir de cette dernière étape, vous devriez déjà pouvoir choisir.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Ardila, R. (2004). Psychologie dans le futur. Madrid: pyramide.
  • Morris, C. (1997). Introduction à la psychologie. Rivière Upper Saddle: Prentice Hall.

Seance auto-hypnose pour lacher prise (Janvier 2020).


Articles Connexes